Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Instantly gratifying but off-target and eventually weary. [Feb 2013, p.74]
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    60
    Does its best to please Sony lovers, but falls down as a brawler. Makes you want to dust off your old games, not play this. [Jan 2013, p.105]
  3. A short-term thrill. It's still two years till the PlayStation's official 20th anniversary. With any luck, 2014 will see a deeper and more enticing sequel to this game.
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars makes a couple of design decisions that make the whole thing feel a little more awkward than it should. Also, for a game that's supposed to bring together the greatest heroes of the PlayStation platforms, it's missing too many key figures.
  5. Sadly, though, there's an irritating delay when dealing attacks, and when you're trying to compensate for that in a retina-melting arena environment while three tiny blurs of furious colour attack you in unison, it's all too easy to lose track of who or where you are, let alone whether you nailed the previous three button-presses of your desired combo.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    It's a competent clone then, certainly better than others that have been attempted over the years, but nothing more than that. Clearly the PlayStation deserves a vastly more significant game to honour its influence on gaming. Copying Nintendo's own celebration seems not only wrong-headed but borderline offensive. In this case fans definitely deserve better.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    For all of SuperBot's noble efforts in creating an accessible yet technical fighter, you can't play PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale without ever feeling like something crucial is deeply lacking. The weak roster and poor presentation actively works against the title, and while there's enjoyment to be found this is a game that's highly unlikely to stick in your mind or, more vitally, ever be asked for at parties.
  8. Dec 18, 2012
    55
    Nauseatingly basic and lazily produced, this should be avoided by all but fervent PS devotees. [Jan 2013, p.63]
  9. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 475 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 198
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. ThisFor real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, itAmazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review.do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Full Review »