User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 532 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 532
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    SO let me get this straight, will be fast: Smash Bros on Wii DVD = 40 characters, long story mode, no DLC crap. All Stars on Bluray Disc = only 20 characters, will sell the missing ones via DLC. $ONY just doesn't give a sh*t anymore...PLEASE don't support this rip-off. If CAPCOM did this Smash Bros clone, and made a small roster to sell DLC, you would have killed them. So WHY THE HELLSO let me get this straight, will be fast: Smash Bros on Wii DVD = 40 characters, long story mode, no DLC crap. All Stars on Bluray Disc = only 20 characters, will sell the missing ones via DLC. $ONY just doesn't give a sh*t anymore...PLEASE don't support this rip-off. If CAPCOM did this Smash Bros clone, and made a small roster to sell DLC, you would have killed them. So WHY THE HELL would you support such a rip-off and distribute perfect 10's??? The '1' is for Nariko. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    I hate this game, I really do, I wanted to like it, but its soooooo BORING! the online sucks ass, the combat is EXCRUCIATINGLY BORING, I want to whittle their health down, or watch their percentage go up so I can sweep them off thier feet in one swing, not only be able to kill them with super-moves, which leads me to the supermoves, they are... weak to say the least. and a lot of them areI hate this game, I really do, I wanted to like it, but its soooooo BORING! the online sucks ass, the combat is EXCRUCIATINGLY BORING, I want to whittle their health down, or watch their percentage go up so I can sweep them off thier feet in one swing, not only be able to kill them with super-moves, which leads me to the supermoves, they are... weak to say the least. and a lot of them are so stupid. also, minor complaint, but this game doesn't know anything about being knocked on the back Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    So when a company tries to copy a game at least they try to make it good but this game just made me cry,
    the new kill system was worthless half the time all you were doing was button mashing just to get your meter up so you could finally kill someone. Then it comes to only 20 character, are you serious, i mean at least 30 but no 20 instead and then not just that but if you want more then
    So when a company tries to copy a game at least they try to make it good but this game just made me cry,
    the new kill system was worthless half the time all you were doing was button mashing just to get your meter up so you could finally kill someone. Then it comes to only 20 character, are you serious, i mean at least 30 but no 20 instead and then not just that but if you want more then you have to pay for them. this game just made me feel bad. Its not even selling well that just proves my point even more. The thing that affected the most was turning on the game and finding out that crash and spyro are not in the game.
    i would not recommend this game to anyone unless you just have a brother who will play anything no matter how bad it is
    Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    weel there isn't enuf guns and bulletz and the little purlbpe girl gived me a boner so i caunlt play in frant of mom so i plaid cratos and noothin drak because sony has deep charactrs like "Kill all blood gore!" and "Explore kill all!"
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    I personally disliked this game to no end. Although, I did give it a chance and for a while I could manipulate its character unbalance and the broken game mechanics and overpowered moves to actually be pretty high on the leader boards. This never took away the air of a genuinely underdeveloped game idea though. It is almost as if all of the time it took to come out was spent completely onI personally disliked this game to no end. Although, I did give it a chance and for a while I could manipulate its character unbalance and the broken game mechanics and overpowered moves to actually be pretty high on the leader boards. This never took away the air of a genuinely underdeveloped game idea though. It is almost as if all of the time it took to come out was spent completely on just getting it done and not spent at all on play testing. The characters move well and the moves come out well and interact with the world well and all of that, but that's just the basics of the basics in any game type. This was meant to be a multi-player brawler between friends on a singular system or online with leader-boards because no game can survive without it these days. And in that way, they achieved their goal. But the environments were genuinely frustrating and badly interfered with the game-play by zooming out so you cannot see where you are and what you are doing. And that's before they hit you like they are supposed to. Literally any movement from a background obstacle would cause you to lose track of your progress towards defeating an enemy. Unless you have an insanely large television. This game is most fun when you get together with a few close friends and all have a pact at the beginning not to put each other into endless, unbreakable combos until death. This of course is lost with any online play, due to the way many new age gamers are. Items are a nuisance that can be turned off while you play by yourself and if you get your friends to agree. But, once again, the online aspect takes that away brilliantly with settings that can change constantly and almost immediately. Take the latter, and all of the interference's causing visual problems and add crippling lag and unbalanced character moves and specials, along with the demeanor of the online play and you have a lovely spam fest of What in the literal Christ is going on and how can I execute myself as quickly and painlessly as possible so I no longer have to play this sodding game". They were trying to make something different. Or so we were constantly reminded while the opposite is very apparent. Even so. Does not make it any better. Does not make it playable. Does not make it enjoyable. What they made is barely a game. It played largely on the nostalgia effect to no end and it became the only good part of the game. The characters move and feel the way they do in their games? Well how about that. Were we expecting them to destroy that expectation too? Not worth buying it when it just came out and not worth buying it period. Do yourself a favor and pick up a largely more retro fighter and you'll be better off. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    2
    To be frank we all knew when Sony released All Stars that it was going to try to be their answer to the Smash Bros. series but, in typical Sony style the failed to reach expectations. By no means is this a horrible game, far from it. But it lacks refinement in almost every area. To start with, the story. As per the norm with most brawlers it doesn
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    I own probably half of this game's cast in my PS3 collection, but that doesn't that make this game fun to play. Once you get knocked around, you can get beat up without recovering; very different from how Brawl allows characters to roll back when they hit floor. Every character has 30 moves, but the only one you'll feel like using is the extreme long range so you can hard knockdown andI own probably half of this game's cast in my PS3 collection, but that doesn't that make this game fun to play. Once you get knocked around, you can get beat up without recovering; very different from how Brawl allows characters to roll back when they hit floor. Every character has 30 moves, but the only one you'll feel like using is the extreme long range so you can hard knockdown and beat up the other guy when they can't move. Matches of camping and over-powered fighters ruin the balance of this game. Once you get knocked down, the other players will already have an advantage over you. It's a pain in the d!ck. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    3
    Good:
    +Level design +The final boss

    Bad:
    -Only 20 characters? Are you kidding me?
    -No Crash Bandicoot
    -No Spyro
    -Gay Dante? (from DmC)
    -Graphics is just horrible
    -Gameplay system is too complicated
    -Horrifying soundtrack
    -Slow paced
  9. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    Very poor gameplay. I bought this in a sale regret it, it has a poor selection of characters and even fewer likeable ones. The multiplayer is broken you'll be pitted against people a much higher level than you and most people just use the overpowered characters. for a game that tries so hard to be like smash bros it falls short at every mark. waste of money and time. 2/10
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Smash Bros except for Sony. The gameplay just doesn't have that fun moment like Smash Bros. Only a few characters are worthing playing, everyone else seems kinda boring to play. Game feels if they were trying to copy Smash Bros. Stages and items all feel the same. Atleast try to be original, it would be hard but having a original idea always leads to a awesome game and this game is not.
  11. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the most iconic characters in gaming history, it also has some of the most bland, simplistic, and uninspiring visuals I have seen in a long time. Anyone would think that a game of this caliber would show off what the PS3 is capable of doing...but is this truly aI just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the most iconic characters in gaming history, it also has some of the most bland, simplistic, and uninspiring visuals I have seen in a long time. Anyone would think that a game of this caliber would show off what the PS3 is capable of doing...but is this truly a PS3 title? or more like a Vita mediocre game ported to the PS3!?
    AUDIO: Well no matter how bad a game can be, the sound is pretty hard to mess up. With that said the sound is proper but not memorable.
    GAMEPLAY: This is where I have to say DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY...although this is NO CLONE to MASH BROTHERS, you will wish it was. This game is plagued by so many under developed gameplay ideas not to mention how badly UNBALANCED this title is...it will irritate you to no end....is it me or these characters have a "floating motion" every time you jump or get hit.!? BOTTOM LINE: With Uninspiring visuals and lack of character detail, an OK audio, and Under developed gameplay ideas I have to say I do regret my purchase....this game needs a day 1 patch right away, but I doubt the graphics can be redone to make them worth of the title "ALL STARS".
    Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2012
    1
    This game is a shameless ripoff. With that said, I played I played this game expecting I can still have some fun with it. I was dead wrong. It doesn't have anywhere near the perfect controls Smash Bros has, and the roster is very lacking. The game only comes with 20 characters, with a lot more being held back for paid DLC. Although Sony has some decent characters and franchises, theyThis game is a shameless ripoff. With that said, I played I played this game expecting I can still have some fun with it. I was dead wrong. It doesn't have anywhere near the perfect controls Smash Bros has, and the roster is very lacking. The game only comes with 20 characters, with a lot more being held back for paid DLC. Although Sony has some decent characters and franchises, they really don't mesh well together at all. Something just felt.. off the whole time I was playing. After only 1 hour of playing I got very bored with it, and very upset I wasted money on it. The only reason I'm not giving it a 0, is because the game is at least playable. Not recommended. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    very cheap and unoriginal copy of smash bros. Lol and that zombie1531 seriosuly better than smash bros? I think ur just fanboy. I played this and got bored in 5 minutes true story. Controls suck. Music sucks and characters are boring
  14. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I have been a fan of all three franchises since 2002 so when I first saw this I was really excited then I saw footage and played it, I know no one asked for my review but as video game developers I thought that you would like to know a life long fan of these great video game characters thoughts on this game. GAME PLAY: what I was hopping for was game play like from the originals (for the dual shock 3 as well as PS move) if you remember all three franchises are under the category of "platform game" while you cant even jump in this game. a few weapons are fun to use like some of the guns and the melee weapons, while there other weapons work okay sometime but there not really as fun as the others, yeah its fun at first but then it gets boring and repetitive. in short its a "sports champions", but less accurate. *little spoiler* STORY:it starts out okay.....then it just does not make sense. How did gleeber and lunk control all those villians? with the crystals? why did gleeber and lunk want to go to sly,ratchet and jak's home worlds? What would they do there, takeover their worlds, the only reason they were able to takeover "gleepbertopia" is that the aliens that lived there were weaker and smaller then they were, and if not, but instead to be the heroes of there worlds, why? In short the story isn't even half as good as the story line's from the original games. I really want to like it but I cant and yes, I know it was probably made to just make money and show what the move can do but they should have also thought of the life long fans. in short Jak, Ratchet and Sly deserve better. Collapse
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    That was huge waste of time and potential game.

    I played the Demo not long ago, I think I never played a fighting game as horrible as this one... And I thought Street Fighter IV would be the game that would disgust me from fighting games ! Nah, this one takes the cake. I really, ugly version of Super Smash Bros.It just felt like a waste of time and potential game for PS brand.
    That was huge waste of time and potential game.

    I played the Demo not long ago, I think I never played a fighting game as horrible as this one... And I thought Street Fighter IV would be the game that would disgust me from fighting games ! Nah, this one takes the cake. I really, ugly version of Super Smash Bros.It just felt like a waste of time and potential game for PS brand. These games have nothing to offer for PS brand SHM guys.
    Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Just another rehash of a tired old franchise to cash in while they wait for the next cash-in this time next year. The fact that they can release the same game every year for the past 4 years and still get money is a slap in the face to any real developer that takes time to craft a good game. The campaign is dull and overscripted, the online is cheesy and full of 12 year olds screaming inJust another rehash of a tired old franchise to cash in while they wait for the next cash-in this time next year. The fact that they can release the same game every year for the past 4 years and still get money is a slap in the face to any real developer that takes time to craft a good game. The campaign is dull and overscripted, the online is cheesy and full of 12 year olds screaming in the mic, and the game is still full of cheaters. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Well, this game is complete garbage. Wish I didn't preorder... This is a disgrace to fighting games. If you played one, you've played them all. Same thing. I had high expectations and was completely disappointed
  18. Jun 25, 2013
    1
    yo man i bought dis gaem cuz cratos is badest mudafuka out der. and yo purple bich who r u? u aint even gaem. u dnt lift purple neptune bich. Who the fuK is Neptune!?!??!11!1!?!??!11!?!?
  19. Nov 13, 2015
    0
    Very bad music - check
    Boring gameplay - check
    Really only 20 characters? - check!
    Weak characters(Drake badass guy in Uncharted weak in this game,Heichachi Mishima the best Tekken character ever! is very weak in this game -_- and this has only 2 good characters Sly and Kratos) - check!
    $ony try to make's this "badass" SSB clone but they fail
    Don't waste your money!
  20. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't a horrible game. I mean it is fun in some ways. However, Sony's game are too different to combine, I mean God of war vs. parappa?
    However, the biggest problem I have with this game is that it's a shameless rip-off of the Super Smash Bros. series. A crossover between your biggest characters? Nintendo did it first? Stages to go a long with character? Nintendo did it first, They even went into detail with their stealing, exact same color schemes for players with damage counters? Really? At least be settle about it Sony. This game tries to be better than the SSB series which we all know is impossible. They literally just took Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. franchise piece by piece. Side scrolling-arcade-beat 'em up? NINTENDO. ALREADY. [expletive]. DI. IT! Had they have gone with a 3d world, or free roam gameplay, I would've have been fine with everything else, but ripping off Nintendo piece by piece is unacceptable for any true gaming fan. Again, I mean Nintendo's games have sort of the same feel, so Link vs. Mario isn't mind blowing, and seems even, but Kratos vs. Fat Princess? A rated M game vs a game 5 year olds play. It's ridiculous.
    Expand
  21. Dec 30, 2013
    4
    I love the PlayStation and by all means I could be labeled a fan boy. But COME ON! This is not only supposed to be "on par" with SSB but supposed to bring something new. The only thing new was a horrible "kill meter" that was okay if you played solo but was extremely flawed in team matches, the reason I bought this game so me and my son could play. If your partner isn't good and keepsI love the PlayStation and by all means I could be labeled a fan boy. But COME ON! This is not only supposed to be "on par" with SSB but supposed to bring something new. The only thing new was a horrible "kill meter" that was okay if you played solo but was extremely flawed in team matches, the reason I bought this game so me and my son could play. If your partner isn't good and keeps giving up "points" to the enemy's "kill meter" you can end up being the one getting killed due to your partners poor playing. I found myself having to dummy the AI down so they wouldn't constantly beat him up and then turn around and take me out with the damn "kill meter." I loved the graphics, the "kill scenes" were awesome, I loved the characters, the unlockables were cool, but none of that makes sense when you can't even hit the ground before someone builds up a meter and spikes you off the field! I would have given this game a far better score if it didn't rely purely on a "kill meter" to kill someone. If it incorporated the "kill meter" as a bonus to doing well that would have been better, but purely relying on it makes you rely purely on long range attacks to avoid any other character with a "kill meter" boosted. I had high hopes, but SSB still holds the crown for this type of game. Better Luck Next Time PlayStation. Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2014
    1
    This is my 1st P3 game and all I culd think about was SuperSmash Bros. This game is the same as SSB except with lesser characters and its just an imitation of a GREAT game ....SSB..... Otherwise..... its noting special, just another poor clone.
  23. Sep 7, 2014
    4
    It's a complete ripoff/tryto smash bros., unfortunately it lacks the things that made smash bros. fun to play, the game play is very repetitive and the extra paid characters just makes it worst
  24. Jan 23, 2015
    4
    Didnt enjoy it at all. The roster is awful wheres spyro,crash and cloud? those are trye ps all stars not freaking Fat princess.... Who the hell even is that? Whatever the gameplay is very boring and repititive and to top it all of..... DMC dante!?!
  25. May 15, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2015
    4
    Is this game just a simple Super Smash Brothers Clone? Or is it a new fighting game that brings new mechanics to life to make the perfect fighter - let's find out in my review!

    A: Music/Sounds The Music in this game simply isn't that good. It isn't fitting, and usually seems like some sort of rock song that doesn't match with the environment. The sounds aren't that good either, every
    Is this game just a simple Super Smash Brothers Clone? Or is it a new fighting game that brings new mechanics to life to make the perfect fighter - let's find out in my review!

    A: Music/Sounds

    The Music in this game simply isn't that good. It isn't fitting, and usually seems like some sort of rock song that doesn't match with the environment. The sounds aren't that good either, every hit doesn't have a satisfying sound to go with it, generally just some gimmicky noise that only goes with the element (Like a stupid zap for Cole's lightning) Either way, if you want music/sounds - I wouldn't get this game.

    2/10

    B: Graphics

    The graphics for this game are pretty good, to be honest. But take one second to look closely at each character, and you might be disappointed. If you look at Cole, for example - he looks almost NOTHING like he does in the InFamous games. The graphics are ok, but the characters/environments don't entirely look like their respective games. It isn't like Smash Bros. Where they have their own take on the graphic style, they're trying to make it look like how they do in their games - but they just fail. In the end, the graphics aren't how they could, should look in the PS3 era.

    5/10

    C: Gameplay

    Ugh, not this. They basically just copied Super Smash Brothers' gamestyle, and smashed it into this. I'm someone who put about 50 hours into this game, and 1000s of hours into Smash Bros - so I know what I'm saying when this is the case. Generally, there might not be a problem with that - Smash Bros is great! But unfortunately, they fail so hard at it. They tried to make it unique with the crappy killing mechanic, but ultimately fail. Not to mention, jumping requires

    1/10 WITH my Thumbs Down of Crap

    D: Story

    Ugh, screw this game's story. You choose one of your 20 (or so) characters, and fight a bunch of bad guys. Then, you will eventually encounter your rival. There is a cutscene, which leads to a fight. It hardly explains why they want to fight, they just want to. The cutscene is also pretty badly made, with both of the characters saying things that they wouldn't usually say. Then it finishes off after the fight with your rival with an okay boss fight against some head. Who is he? I dunno. Why does he hate you? I dunno. He just does. Either way, the story is extremely poorly put together.

    5/10 (Only because of cutscene)

    In the end, this game is NOT worth the purchase. It can be fun with a couple of friends for a few minutes. Then, the novelty wears off. Then the game gets boring. Take the new Smashbros for example. Over 80 stages, and over 55 characters. That. Is. HUGE in comparison to this. This just... sucks. For your own good, don't get this game unless you can get it for $3.

    4/10 WITH my Thumbs Down of Crap
    Expand
  27. May 21, 2016
    3
    This is just a shameless Smash clone. There is almost nothing good about this game. The moves are pathetic and some of the finisher moves are unfair. The game is mostly just a button masher. This is because many of the moves are useless and you basically just want to punch and kick instead. The worst part-- to play online, you need to BUY AN ONLINE PASS. I kid you not. You need to pay $10This is just a shameless Smash clone. There is almost nothing good about this game. The moves are pathetic and some of the finisher moves are unfair. The game is mostly just a button masher. This is because many of the moves are useless and you basically just want to punch and kick instead. The worst part-- to play online, you need to BUY AN ONLINE PASS. I kid you not. You need to pay $10 extra just to play the only good mode in the game. This is one of the worst fighting games I have ever played. The Vita version is slightly better but don't get this game on PS3. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I have been a fan of all three franchises since 2002 so when I first saw this I was really excited then I saw footage and played it, I know no one asked for my review but as video game developers I thought that you would like to know a life long fan of these great video game characters thoughts on this game. GAME PLAY: what I was hopping for was game play like from the originals (for the dual shock 3 as well as PS move) if you remember all three franchises are under the category of "platform game" while you cant even jump in this game. a few weapons are fun to use like some of the guns and the melee weapons, while there other weapons work okay sometime but there not really as fun as the others, yeah its fun at first but then it gets boring and repetitive. in short its a "sports champions", but less accurate. *little spoiler* STORY:it starts out okay.....then it just does not make sense. How did gleeber and lunk control all those villians? with the crystals? why did gleeber and lunk want to go to sly,ratchet and jak's home worlds? What would they do there, takeover their worlds, the only reason they were able to takeover "gleepbertopia" is that the aliens that lived there were weaker and smaller then they were, and if not, but instead to be the heroes of there worlds, why? In short the story isn't even half as good as the story line's from the original games. I really want to like it but I cant and yes, I know it was probably made to just make money and show what the move can do but they should have also thought of the life long fans. in short Jak, Ratchet and Sly deserve better. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 15, 2013
    73
    Playstation All-Stars battle Royale: Not the all-star moment everyone was hoping for, Playstation All-Stars battle Royale is instead a decent enough fighter with serious balance problems and a boring cast. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Overall, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is mildly fun.