User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 468 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 468

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it has a story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    do not listen to this silly nintendo fanboy in disgiuse, his name is sonyfanboy92, he is full of lies and no good reason, heres my review. the strory is good it has funny and comedic rivalries and overall is a good singleplayer mode. next let me start off with the unlockables that are just amazng and will keep gamers coming back for more. i wont go into details becase some the unlockable are just too awesome. I woud also like to talk about online and offline mutlplayer, now the multplayer is where the game really shines i would even say it beats smash bros its just that amzing with 20 charactrs and 2 dlc characters that are free , i know this game is gonna be a success so if you want a fun brawler by all means go out and get this game, this game is a 10/10 Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    i know im gonna get smashed. i think this game is better than SSB with more mature characters and a lot of unlockebls you'll be playing this game non stop if you can get through the fanboy CRAP!!!.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very fun and addicting, this is no Smash Brothers clone at all. anyone who loves party brawlers and loves the Playstation Franchise should not miss the chance to pick this up
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For readers, ignore the terrible reviews by the fanboys who cried for Spyro or Crash, or just the ones claiming this game is a clone of SSBB when it's not. All-Stars Battle Royale is unique in it's own way with it's combat system and it's mix of games to form one stage. All 20 (and DLC) characters have bonus costumes (not switched color palettes like SSBB) and each one has their own minions, challenge modes, and story mode. The story for each character is short but there's nothing wrong with that, it's a fighting game, since when did fighting games focus on story? All-Stars Battle Royale truly shines on online when you're competing against others. The game can be a bit unfair and some characters are a bit over powered but there's nothing a good ol' patch can't fix. People who love brawlers should pick this up, or if you're a Sony fanboy and you just want to watch your favorite Sony characters fight to the death then go on ahead and get it. All-Stars Battle Royale is worth the money and time since it truly can compete with other brawlers. And to the Nintendo fanboys bashing this game, news flash, the Super Smash Bros. series isn't the first brawler, the game itself is a clone of classic fighting games. All-Stars Battle Royale just branched off the idea and made itself unique. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    At first I was a little hesitant to purchase this game, but after getting a few hours into the game I really enjoyed it! It was a definite surprise at first. It has a great cast of characters and that's probably what drew my attention. Fun single player mode (Nice whacky story with original voice actors!), tons of unlockable content, very enjoyable multiplayer mode and an overall decent game.
    It's fun, easy and a lot of replay value. Also, a teaser for Raiden! (A taste of what's coming for his upcoming game)
    Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Man you can't help but feel sorry for these losers that try to make people believe that this game is a 0/10 lol they must think we're just dumb as them. Wait for the critics don't listen to the trolls just look at there other reviews 80% of them this is there first review so they're trolls other 20% are nintendo fanboys just look at how they rate nintendo games 10/10 and ps games 0/10 lol pathetic. Expand
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Every bit as good as we were hoping it would be. All Stars truly does step out of the shadows of SSB and become a game totally it's own. The specials system is excellent, and the combat is incredibly deep. Anyone who says you can just mash buttons to victory clearly has not been playing against anyone but easy bots and no one online. The variety of modes is excellent and there's more content than you'll ever have time for. It's the ultimate local multiplayer game as well, I got 3 of my friends to come over on launch day and we played for hours never running out of things to do. It's simply a joy to play. The characters all feel unique and play drastically different, and there are no reskins like in SSB. Each character has a larger moves list than in Smash Bros which ends up letting you create a play style totally unique to you. I'm loving this game and I think it's probably my GotY for fighting games. Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    its one of the best brawlers of all time. i love the minions charecters the online the characters sly cooper specially he feels great and superbot have relay captured the essence of these charecters
  11. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved playing as nathan drake fighting sly cooper. The design is close to supersmash but it is still a great game none the less. You must buy dis game
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    People who haven't played this game brush it off as a Smash clone, which obviously it is influenced a lot by Smash, but in reality is a lot more that merely a clone. Gameplay and overall strategy is very different from Smash, and is possibly even deeper and more competitive. Is it a better game than Smash Brothers Brawl? No. Is it a good game? For sure.
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    After playing this game, it should be in the range of a 8.0 to 9.5 for most people who play it (I put 10 to help counter the rampant Nintendo fanboys that hit hard here). I'd highly suggest giving the game a chance. Most people I know find it incredibly fun, including myself.
  14. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Copy/paste from my VITA review, with minor edits: Very solid game, in fact the game I'm enjoying the most right now. I should first admit I didn't expect anything out of it. I wasn't even a Smash Bros fan to begin with (even if I played the hell of the "Subspace Emissary" mode, back in the day). I found something really 'fresh' in PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale, not sure how to explain. The stages are beautiful, clever and inventive, the characters have a LOT of moves, and it's a totally different experience than Smash Bros if you go past the interface and look of things. For starters, it's not about throwing your opponents off a stage, but try to stack as much kills as possible before the timer runs out. I haven't been frustrated a single time. This game is just plain fun, in fact I can't even think of a single annoying thing. I really didn't expect a lot of it, and ended up being surprised because I expected a Smash Bros clone, but found something totally original and fun. PS: you get the VITA version for 'free' with this, what an awesome deal - I can't believe the VITA version actually runs & feels as good as the PS3 version. SuperBot outdone themselves on this one... Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I would give it a 9, but I see everybody else pushing those 1's pretty hard for no reason. The game is a great franchise fighter for Sony, people who are hating on it cause they have no life and hate that Sony their own fighter now, and it's not a rip off of SSB.
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Two words: Mind. Blown. Wow, I must admit, my expectations and excitement for this game was very low throughout the year. I saw footage, wasn't blown away. Heard the character roster, wasn't blown away. Then, I played the beta. Only four characters, but I still started to get a feel for the game and what exactly Superbot was trying to accomplish. It slowly started to make sense. Sounds weird I know, especially with a game that appears on the surface to be rather shallow. Build meter. Super. Rinse and repeat right? When you first pick up the sticks, understanding what exactly you're supposed to do may feel a little foreign if you haven't done this kind of thing before. But MY OH MY once sink your teeth into it, once you figure out the little nuances and the variations of playstyles depending on the character you pick (characters you're fighting against) AND the level you're fighting in (trust me, it matters) what you discover is a game of mighty depth. A game with gameplay so addictive I have not stop playing for one minute since last night at midnight. It's incredibly fun. Incredibly addictive. Incredibly nuanced. Superbot has pulled off the impossible. They actually made a GREAT FIGHTING GAME combined with a great social experience. Four on Four chaos is how this game was meant to be enjoyed. Even if it's just you, or you and a friend playing, add two AI characters into the mix because when it's four on four the fun factor quadruples to astronomical heights. Ok, whew, now back to the action. Oh, and thank you Superbot. Thank you. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I don't get the extreme polarization between critics and their reviews sometimes. Usually when so many love a franchise and so many despise it, one group is full of it. Whether it's blind nostalgia people are holding onto, or maybe it's a feeling of having to defend their favorite franchise against over saturation or even a legitimate rival of the genre their game falls into, etc.... people for some reason feel the need to take their reviews scores to the extreme ends of the scoring spectrum to make their point. Hating on a game because it borrows another's game's base formula is immature; this has happened and will continue to happen forever with all popular genres. I've seen a few on here commenting on the PASBR's interface, or saying the fun factor just isn't there (which could be a more specific), are legitimate/more appropriate reasons or opinions to review a game badly, but giving it a zero is saying it's complete and utter garbage based off it it not being as good as something else, or call it a budget title just sounds like blind rage to me perpetrated by insecure fans of something else. I have a load of respect for the smash bother's games, as well as for all stars battle royale (after the beta, watching the loads of behind the scenes videos online, and playing this morning) a can say the quality and attention to detail, especially for the fans of either are great. I was very pleased with they've accomplished with these titles on both the Nintendo & PS consoles and hope one day, after xbox decides to jump on this successful band wagon with their awesome entry into this genre, that a cross over between all 3 happens. I haven't played through completely but SO far - (Awesome/Great/Good/OK/Bad) Character art: Awesome, Environment Art: between Great/Good, Gameplay: Great, Sound design/ Music: Good, Animations: Great/good, Packaging (U.I Interface): Good/OK, Fan service: Awesome. Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game! I had a little expectation for it, but bought it and wow was i blown away, so much content too! Everybody has their own story or "arcade" mode like a normal fighter, it may look like smash at first but it is really different.
  19. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Don't judge a book by it's cover. That's the mindset that anyone should have when playing PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale. The comparisons to Super Smash Bros are obvious but All-Stars is a completely different game. A great selection of characters, deep combat system, awesome stages and great graphics on top. Sup-Par presentation and somewhat a lack of game modes aren't enough to bring down an otherwise fantastic game. Definitely a must have game for any PlayStation or fighting game fan. Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Pues a mi me parece un gran juego, estaba claro que se iba a llevar miles de 0 por culpa de los fanboys de Nintendo.
    A parte los jugadores de consolas Sony, estábamos esperando un juego de este tipo durante mucho tiempo, y por fin se ha hecho realidad.
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Take your time. I'm serious; just take a few hours to get use to the system. I know it is similar to a classic game like Smash (which I loved) but it is also different in exciting ways if you gave it a chance. The combo system is great, the characters play enjoyably unique, and it's just another reason to beat up 3 of your friends on a couch! Yes.. the only super killing seems weird at first but it gave my little sister a fighting chance as long as she had one meter, which made it equally exciting for her! Instead of percentages like the great game Smash, it's all about meter. And when they have meter for a SUPER.. YOUR HEART WILL BE PUMPING!! Especially if you play with lives instead of timer; which i prefer. Oh yeah, it's true... the single-player isn't so great , but that shouldn't stop you from playing this balanced 4 player fighter! (Kratos is cheap.. but you can be cheap with all characters!) Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I knew this game was going to be spectacular just because of the Beta. All-Stars is clearly similar to Smash Bros, but it is its own game, and it even happens to do some things better than what inspired it.

    I know it'll be hard for some skeptics to believe, but PlayStation All-Stars is an absolute blast to play especially with friends on the couch or online. It can be a lot of
    chaotic fun because of the great combat, great characters, great ko system, and the interactive stages.

    It has lots of content and great variety in the characters. I know some people would like to have more characters, or other character like Spyro and Crash; but as how the game currently is; it is AWESOME!!! And also you can bet that there will be in the future DLC features those 2 characters mentioned most probably.
    Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great, great combat, great characters, great ko system. It lacks presentation tho, which im fine with tbh. I think that this games downfall will be nintendo fans tearing the game apart. It's sad to see a great game being dismissed because nintendo fans cant handle competition in the genre. I say good luck and thank you Superbot Entertainment. Hopefully we'll see a sequel someday
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game plays real slick. It fits somewhere between the house that Super Smash built and the more traditional fighting games. This doesn't mean hooey if you are playing this as it was meant to be played: as a party game. The game is easy to learn with a few matches and the depth is really there for someone who want to become the resident expert. It is chock full of content, has great gameplay variety and has the potential to spice up Thanksgiving post-dinner for those of you in the United States. Pros:
    Pick up and play
    A lot of modes
    4 player with quick matches
    Interesting characters and stages
    20 Characters
    Good character customization
    Working online play
    Great visuals and audio is top notch

    Cons:
    A few big Sony mascots are missing due to copyright issues
    20 Characters
    Can take a little longer to learn than other Brawlers on the market
    Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Fun game and I look forward to seeing more from this series in the future. Most of the other reviews that give this game a bad rating describe things that are just not true such as being a quick time event and a rehashing of the same game each year. For one their are no annoying quick time events and this is the first entry in the PS allstars series. Also it is not a blatant Smash Bros. copy it is more complex than smash and closer to traditional fighters while still being fun and easy to jump into. The system of wining by kills which is different from other games may seem strange at first but it just works out in the end and will give matches a more entertaining feel and weight to them. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I do not deal for that so many 0, it is a great game that I inspire of a great game. For nothing it is a copy, is more ... it seems more to street fighter that to smash bross... But clear, there can not do to him a game similar to other one, and that could enjoy it in other consoles, for which they are exclusive in others ... bad people ¬¬.
  27. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I'm the biggest Smash brother fan, and I gotta say this game is 10000000000% better than Smash Brother. Nothing in that game can beat this one. It's just so amazing! Supers check, amazing characters check, awesome stages check. It's the whole package.
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I seriously cannot get enough of this game! Even the single-player is well thought out, charming in its writing, and fun to run through with any character. The balancing is perfect, as promised. ;) The multi-player both online and offline is smooth and addicting.
  29. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Just by playing the beta theirs no way this game is a 1 let alone a 0. Tired of fanboys dragging score down cuz their mad siny hit this one outta the park! looks grt plays grt tons of fun. Just seeing a rating of a 0 tells people with any common sense their trolling no game is wirth a 0.
  30. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Dá hadouken Ryu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  31. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I've been playing the beta for hours, and this game for 2 days now : no need to hide the truth (and no need to create accounts just to give bad reviews, Nintendo fans) > this game is truly GREAT.
    Just like you can read it on Destructoid, it's far from a "clone" of SSB, it's a new beast ! I've been playing this not stop with friends since I bought it, we all are having a lot of fun, and
    the game is a lot more technical than Smash : 3 attack buttons, air evade, different supers, a lot of variety among the character movelists, etc.
    Sony bumped the overall genre into a new level ! THE game to purchase this month if you have a few friends to play with, offline OR online (yeah it's not ZombiU all over again with its offline mode lol)
    Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    great game, the gampelay is solid, the modes and story are time consuming and overall great game. The neg user reviews are no less then idiotic and biased
  33. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game, while certainly inspired by Smash bros. the game is it's own entity. The game plays highly differently to Nintendo's franchise and after picking up the game, it's easy to tell the difference. A setback is that the story mode/single player modes get highly repetitive. That being said, the game is extremely fun and definitely a game any playstation fan should pick up. there is something for everyone in there. Characters span all 3 eras of playstation and stages provide representation of even more franchises. Plus the developers are giving DLC support as well as continual patching for balancing issues. The game has some minor flaws, but the overall experience and enjoyability of the game is what shines. 9/10 Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This game **** on Smash, that's all you need to know. Well, not really, but all Nintendo fanboy expected it to totally suck and we ended with a fine opponent. DEAL WITH IT!
  35. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Easily one of the best games this year. Sure it has its flaws(like no 1V1 and a bit unbalanced) but it has proven itself not to be the Smash Brothers clone people assumed it was.

    The game has a learning curve so if you don't like learning curves the game is not right for you. You can play as some of your favorite characters like Kratos, Ratchet, Dante(albeit in his reboot form), Cole,
    Raiden and Sir Daniel Fortesque.

    Every new copy of the game also comes with a free Vita version so if you own a Playstation Vita you have another game added to your collection.

    There is already DLC announced for the game. Kat from Gravity Rush and Emmett Graves from Starhawk are due to be Downloadable Content sometime in Early 2013 which shows that the game will have tons of support for a while now.

    Pro:

    + Fast paced.
    + A good roster for the first game.
    + Fun gameplay.
    + Good online.
    + Each character is varied and there are no clones(Yes even the two Coles play differently)
    + Hours upon hours of unlockables.
    + DLC already announced(may or may not be a good thing but to me it is.)
    +Awesome Soundtrack
    + Great graphics

    Cons: -Unbalanced most of the time.
    - Story mode is lacking.
    - Some questionable missing characters.

    Questionable: ?- Learning Curve(May or may not be your cup of tea)
    ?- Certain characters in the roster( I like everyone but I know some people who are pissed about Big Daddy and Raiden in the game.)

    Rent or Buy? I would say Rent it first and if you have fun with it then buy it. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I freaking love this game. I haven't been this addicted to a video game in such a long time. If you've been on the fence on this game, I suggests that you get it.
  37. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Mixed reviews is good to show to everybody that they are just personal opinions and not the truth. This game will please anyone, like me, that loves tha Playstation brand. Amazing game. 10/10
  38. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    A fantastic game for a number of reasons. You could really tell that Superbot entertainment (the makers of this game) really cared about all the Playstation franchises involved in this game. I smiled sooo many times while playing this game simply because of the great references to all of the Playtstation games involved i all stars. The main reason this game keeps you coming back though is just because of how freaking fun it is. This game is all about strategy and you need to utilize the supers that you gain from beating up on your opponents in creative ways in order to get the max amount of points possible. The online in this game is a heck of a lot of fun and very accessible. Highly recommend picking this game up if your a fan of playstation and even if your not! Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game is fluid, concise and beautiful. It's so memorable and so fun. All of the characters are a blast to use and the music is just goosebump-inducing, it really is. What a great game.
  40. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    First off I never knew this game was coming out and when I did hear about it I didn't even know what kind of game it was but it is pretty damn good. I've had every game system known to man since 1985 and I don't get why people hate this game because it is a PS character game WOW!!!! That is dumb. Are nintendo fanboys that jealous that the only halfway mature game they get is smash brothers and try to talk like its all that it isn't. Also lots of people are talking about the graphics being worse than a Wii game seriously??? You must be playing it on that same **** tv you play your Wii on because the graphics are great. Stuff gets a little small but still good and it runs smooth which is most important to me. As far as the fun factor it is definitely there always fun with every character. It is easy enough to pick up and play but deep enough to learn an array of combos if wanted. Stop hatin play it and have fun oh yeah and the online is like video game CRACK!!!! Expand
  41. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    It is a great game, new paragraph is very enterteining. It is impossible not to compare it with smash bross ... but clear, if we compare all the shooters that exist, they would be quite copies. What it has obtained superbot, is to inspire of a game, without being really a copy ... he enjoys own style.
  42. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Easy to pick up and play with tons of fun characters. Tons of unlocks and online mode is smooth. If your not a fan of party games this may not be the game for you.
  43. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game is far from perfection but I´m optimist with this. We already have 2 new characters FREE next year, if the Dev company continue the support this game will be HUGE. With a LOT of new characters, stages and new features. If you buy this game please continue the support buying the DLCs.
  44. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Perfect 10 where it matters most, the online vs other players. The presentation is excellent, the graphics are beautiful, all the characters are vastly different, online is lag free. It is so different from smash its ridiculous for anybody to even say that. There are free DLC characters coming to. Free. Buy this game, you will not regret it.
  45. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Nothing short of fun and enjoyment exceeding that of the demo. The exclusion of characters is understandable given the negotiations between activision ( for spyro and crash) and Square Enix ( for sora and cloud) I'd probably a **** process. Given that superbot is already at work at future DLC is more than enough reason to pick this up. A great game!
  46. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    A perfect balance between party fighter & actual fighting game. This game has actual combos. I laugh @ people that write it off as a smash clone when it has far superior fighting mechanics, a more varied roster, & far better online play. I wish this game much success & hope for many dlc characters leading up to a sequel. Also buying the Ps3 version gives you a downloadable code for the vita version. That's real value! Expand
  47. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    As someone who has been waiting for this game sense before it was announced, I will say that this is possibly one of the funnest unique fighting games I have ever played next to Smash Bros.The reason that I say that is because all 20 characters feel different than the last & the level mash ups are amazing,gorgeous and innovative.This is also the first fighting game I actually have alot of fun playing by myself or with other.Usually, fighting games are either to repetitive or too complicated but Ps allstars is just right.any one of these characters could have easily been transported into 2-d side scrolling games and would feel awesome to play as.They also all feel like they would from their respected properties which is pretty awesome.Other than that, the game has hundreds of unlockables for each character and tons of content to keep you busy until they add more levels and characters via dlc.Dont even pay attention to any bad reviews because they are all b.s.Give this game a try for both ps vita & ps3. Expand
  48. May 23, 2013
    9
    I find it very amusing that people will gladly play the same street fighter variant over and over but when another fighting game like brawl has a variant come out they get all pissy. This game is different to brawl in it's main mechanic of how you get kills and I actually prefer the mechanic. You build up killing moves by hitting people which is awesome because it means you can't just sit somewhere and not play to win. There isn't a single character I think isn't fun to play or irredeemably bad and sure some characters like kratos are OP when you start but he's just really easy to pick up other characters are better when you master them. I find it ridiculous that people expect to be able to just go online and win against other people without having actually learned how to play the game. Are you really so spoon fed that you expect to just win games when you haven't practiced playing them? Expand
  49. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Seriously dont read the negative reviews, I honestly believe they were playing a different game because this game is amazing. Me and my girlfriend love it and we are both SSB fans, ive bought and played all of them. It's different yes. But it is also unique in how it does things, just give it a try and i can guarantee you will love it, its got alot of replayability and great for playin with friends. Oh and their is so much to unlock its crazy Expand
  50. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    I am very surprise with this game , Ps All Star is a master piece and a must buy game and a collectors item to the playstation fans. Great game with a excellent combat system. Good graphics with brillant colors and sound. The voice chat runs perfect. The online is working good so far in both version ps3 and ps vita. All the characters are well done and mantaing his own personality. I would like to see more more game modes but is cool.
    The interface can be improve to make a futurystic or modern view.
    Definitely is the Smashbrother killer.
    I would like to see. A lots of dlc about avatars, dynamic themes , characters like Crash , Journey character ,Batman, Etzio, Ryu,Scorpion,Cloud and Zephirot and all of them with his own maps Sony can sell separate for all of that that are looking for specific map or character also they can do bundles
    I would like to see a dlc of a story mode itsn have to be too long .
    Superbot and Sony also can add funny characters like kaz hiray and jack tretton with funny skills and specials moves
    Definitely this game needs a sequel with a few improvements like story mode a little bit customization . Sony can sold items like hats, t shirts, shoes , weapons ,sounds ,intro ,specials moves The bad:
    The final boss sucks looks cheap and did not match with the game.
    Expand
  51. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!!! At first, I didn't fully appreciate the game for it's depth; as will most people, but I promise that the more you play, the more you will enjoy it. The game plays nothing like smash (sorry, had to mention it). Besides for the similar button lay-out and 2-D gameplay. Besides that, they are completely different games. The story isn't too strong, but the multiplayer is where it shines. The game plays on a "super" system which is a blast to play around with and has deep combo systems. The characters are really balanced and each feel wholly unique (even with cole and evil cole). Don't judge a book by it's cover and overlook it as just another smash rip-off. This game is fun and the more you play it, THE MORE FUN IT GETS. Collapse
  52. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game has fully lived up to my expectations (AND MORE!) I found the story mode (while not ABSOLUTELY PERFECT) pretty cool since each characters cutscenes felt like that is how it would be like in each of their respective games. With tons of modes for you to get into and really learn the ins and outs of this game as well as be able to practice with your favourite characters (That are all very unique and balanced, those who say otherwise just need to practice more and develop strategies in order to combat a character dubbed "OP") and truly be able to use them effectively. But the real fun is in the multiplayer! both online AND offline, it is super fun, deep and addictive and the more I play, the more I enjoy this game! There are MANY MANY moments within this game that get so intense and I'm like "DAMN, you got me there, but I'm gonna get you next time!". The multiplayer is really amazing with each character having their own distinct playstyles to them which is truly spectacular (ESP in 2v2 where you can combine 2 characters playstyles and use it to your advantage to take out the competition). But that's not all boys and girls (I'm REALLY loving Sweet Tooth in this game), as this game has ALOT of unlockables that will keep you busy for months and months to come! and this games customization features are really good as well! being able to customize my profile so that people recognize who they are dealing with online every time they see my profile card is just great! I absolutely love this game and can't wait to get the DLC that they will release for it! there is literally nothing that I DON'T like about this game! (sure it has its bugs here and there, but I know Superbot will fix them, plus they don't really bother me that much, so it doesn't hinder my experience at all)...YOU HAVE GOT TO GET THIS GAME! Expand
  53. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I give this game a 9 but I'm getting tired of the comments that rate this game 0. This game is really fun and stop comparing it to SSB, SSB has many games out and this is the first game of PlayStation All Stars so of course it's not going be the best. POSITIVES: -Fun game play -Final boss is awesome -It can actually find players (Unlike SSB) -Lots of DLC -A wide arrange of characters
    -Easy trophies (For those who really want trophies)
    -PlayStation exclusive (Common Xbox, PlayStation rules!)
    -Amazing backgrounds
    -Great fighting styles
    -A way to show off things you've unlocked

    NEGATIVES:
    -Players spam moves online
    -Story mode gets very boring and is kinda short
    -There isn't that much players who play online, so you might meet up with the same people
    Expand
  54. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    I have no problems with this game i dont know why people are complaining. The arcade mode is actually fun and the online is just great. I have no problem with the game and just give it a chance.
  55. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, i'm not a fan of unrealistic fighters like this but i was blown away by the quality of this game, and i think it's kinda sad that some Nintendo fanboys are just giving it low scores calling it a clone or whatever, give this game a chance, it's not a clone, beleve me.
  56. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    While the concept of a Cross-Over Party Fighting game is definitly inspired by Super Smash Bros. , no comparisons can be made with the Nintendo successfull franchise. The gameplay is nervous and pretty fun, and some really stressful and therefore really gorgeous 1v1 can be seen. However, the concept of a Super Bar and of killing his opponents only by unleashing that super attack on your opponents becomes redundant... it's still a really fun game for Local Multiplayer. Expand
  57. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    More than I ever hoped for, sure SSB set the bar and that bar does not get toppled by PS-All Stars, but it does get met. The feel is there, those tense moments right at the end of the battle, the eclectic mix of characters brought together in a (mostly) balanced way each with their own style, and the variety in every battle. The kill system doesn't quite reach the levels that SSB hit, and there does need to be some additional balancing, and we do need more levels (Praise be to the age of DLC....) but if you liked SSB, which you should have, then don't pass this one up. Expand
  58. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale is a great brawler/fighting game, with fair amount unique characters and stages, well, except from Cole and Evil Cole, two characters that are practically the same in almost every way (which is silly); but other than those two, the characters are extremely unique with their own massive move sets to show off. The multi-player being the mode to show off the greatness of the whole game, at the same time...The single-player being slightly disappointingly short and not insanely fun, being ultimately not quite the experience of the multi-player. If you want to know... This game is a fair bit different to Smash Bros and is it's own, special game for those fans of Playstation or even those of fighters (as in game genre). This game is definitely recommended; also, those people who have been giving this game 0-4 out of ten are probably trolls. So I give this game... 8.6/10! Expand
  59. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it hasa story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you.
  60. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    The game is good enough to bring amazing fun between friends and online. It has an amazing potential but it really dropped the potential on the solo mode with the stories of each character instead of chosen for each character a CG their chose the stupid and lazy way the art with short dialogues.
  61. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    This game is much better than I expected. The fighting is deep, the controls are perfect, and the supers system works really well and is a nice change of pace from every other fighter. The only annoyance is why the hell is Bioshock Infinite and MG Rising and the new DMC in here when they aren't even released. If any of them end up sucking, they will be forever stuck tarnishing this game.
  62. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This is a really solid game and fun as hell both online and with the kids.
    It's abit of a button basher but I guess I expected that. The list of characters is really good (Dante is me favourite so far). Don't know why people complaining about characters that are not in the line up right now when it's pretty obvious that they will be added later. Already star hawk charcter is being added
    as dlc for free, so it's pretty evident that more characters will be added.
    It's a fun game and achieves what it set out to do. I do hope a mode that adds standard fighting with health bars gets added?.
    The only similarities with ssbb is multiple characters from different games fighting on screen. Playability is totally different. Still doesn't stop reviewers from wanting it to be different and others wanting it to be the same as ssbb ( typical inconsistent reviews).
    Still great game and very enjoyable.
    Go get it!.
    Expand
  63. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I've only played the Smash games a few times, so I came into this game without any preconceptions. It is a BLAST to play. I love the AP mechanic and the super-move-kill gameplay. I have logged dozens of hours on this game since I bought it over the weekend. The only minor gripe I have is that the final boss seems a little underwhelming, but that really is only a very minor gripe.
    I
    like the roster, and hope they add some more Playstation favorites someday (Jumping Flash, or maybe Crash Bandicoot?)

    I highly recommend giving this game a try. It's also nice that you get the Vita version for free when you buy the PS3 version.
    Expand
  64. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    I am very surprised on how much I like this game. I thought that it would be a total rip off of SSB but this game can stand on it
  65. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    WARNING: Before i make this review, to those who think this game is completely a copycat of nintendo's super smash bros. or suggesting that sony can't be creative at all this generation either grow up and be mature or leave that's all. STORY: basically pick the characters you want to play through the mode, fight your rival, defeat the final boss, and earn an ending. I was expecting SuperBot to make some decent storyline for all characters getting involved like how Mortal Kombat 9 and Soul Calibur 5 did it but having a storyline in a fighting isn't exactly easy to make perfectly. GAMEPLAY: The game is the reminiscient of Smash bros where 4 characters duke out in one stage to see who wins but PSABR is different where the only way to win is by filling up the super meter by fighting. Filling it in 3 different levels will determine how powerful the super moves are. You kill the opponent with a super you get 2 points. You die by their super you lose a point. Hazardous enviroments and spawnable weapons can most likely prevent your opponent from earning super meter quickly and steal their meter. Though the point in playing this just killing other characters with just supers isn't exactly the best way to win. If 2 fighters duked each other than all of a sudden a 3rd player can just kill both of them with 1 super no matter what level just isn't exactly good when they said that they were going to make this game very competitive to the fighting genre. There are 20 playable characters already 2 being announced as DLC but to me i think they could have added better popular characters but SuperBot were trying their best to get those characters but no scratch in getting them like ones that started the playstation 1 era but they cant get them to be in the game without dealing financial problems. Also other characters for example Dante not the original one but Ninja theory's version gives negative feedback. Capcom would pull: Oh you want Dante? okay we give you this Dante that everyone doesn't like. Though Dante and other previously exclusive characters made it in the final prodcut so we can forgive them. Not much customization isn't high only when you introduce your character or win with that character. Boss fight isn't impressing mostly because its reminiscing the MvC3 fight with Galatcus where he summons crystalized version of a character and you have to defeat the crystalized characters and the boss himself. I think why they did this is because of a former capcom employee Seth Killian also co--founder of EVO fighting game is involved in this game. The online is fun to tackle against other players but problems are people not spawning again after getting killed by a super or disconnecting in a middle of a match. The game is gonna get patched anyways sooner or later. OVERALL: I liked how sony and superbot were trying their very best in making their own creative version of Smash bros but in my opinion it was well worth trying to making it good but not enough to suddenly surpass Smash bros without fixing problems like online. If your a Playstation user since playstation 1 or person that enjoyed Smash bros then pick up this game later on you will not be disappointed with your money being well spent. I never played Smash bros but i really like this game not for being identical to it but for Sony and SuperBot being creative in their own ways. Expand
  66. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Overall, I really enjoy this game. The music is great, there are many different characters and maps to choose from, and the fighting is just so much fun! For each character there are many different things you can customize about them. You can change their costume, or maybe change their intro, outro, taunt, or victory music. The only problem I have with this game is that most of the cut scenes are just artwork. But the intro cut scene is just amazing! If you liked Super Smash Bros, you will love PlayStation All Stars Battle Royale. Expand
  67. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Ok,I've seen a lot of bad reviews of this game and I had it for Christmas and I can say that this is it.THIS is the ultimate fighting game that the PS3 needed.It looks like SSB but it's a completely different experience.The online is great the kinds of battles that you can find are awesome.The only bad side is that there are missing a lot of characters as: Crash, Spyro, Snake(MGS), Spencer(Bionic Commando), Commander Shepard(Mass Effect) and the old Dante.If you own a copy of SSBB and you play this you'll not feel any difference because they are both great games.Buy this game!!! Expand
  68. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    All you need to know about this game is the gameplay which you'll love if you're a fighting game fan. It's simple yet deep and playing online against a more experienced foe always makes the game interesting and challenges you. However if you are buying this game to reunite with an old favorite like sir daniel fortesque or the classic parapa the rapper I suggest you pass. This game has a barely passable arcade mode that does nothing for the characters. If you really love the characters then you'll find their move set more fan serving then their paper thin plot and rivalries. However if you are considering passing on this game simply because it has a small roster I'd search for another reason. Each character has 3 attack buttons each with 4 moves that is a dozen attacks that have different uses on ground and air. that coupled with the ability to combo makes each character feel very unique and in some cases like DMC's Dante and Bioshock's Big Daddy make you feel as if the character has stepped straight to this game from their own sacrificing little if any of their controls or classic combos. And with DLC on the way I can promise a good deal of content incoming. Overall if you like fighting games with decent online play and highly nuanced characters this is for you, but if you are looking for a place to pal around with some of your old PS1 and PS2 buddies then I suggest you bust out the AV cord and dust off you old PS2. Expand
  69. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is a great game overal, the multiplayer is great! Youll get hooked in no time. There are a lot of unlockables and stuff. The roster is great! And the stages and their music is awesome.the ps3-Vita compatibility works great The only thing that isnt great, but not bad either, is the story mode, it is short but you have 20 different stories. If you own a ps3 or Vita this is a must buy!
  70. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    This game is deep, I'd say the strategy depth is no less than MvC but with all 4 character on the screen at all time.

    Let's start with apparent "everyone can mash" simple move sets, how hard would it be to do up/side/down + square/triangle/circle with air variation? Plus 3 throws and block/avoid, I guess this is the most easiest to pick up fighting game like ever, no QCF, no directional
    charge(but have charge type attack), even a 3 year old can pick it up. Couldn't found a better excuse to introduce this to a friend.

    But if you head into online match and get "smashed" by a level 100+ don't be surprised, you haven't learn your and his character yet. The single player mode has vast amount of I'd say carefully designed per character trial( which I don't think all the reviewer thus far get through even one of them in all star level). After go through the "General" ones, you can already get a picture that the developer wants to tell you how this game works, both by character of choice and the 3 difficulty setting. The All-Star is not hard at all in "fighting AI" sense, but when the condition is set it becomes tricky that for some trail I literally struggle for a while to get past(ie. Taunt All-Star is nightmare hard if you don't know Radec's move/super.)

    And after that there is a per character one that designed specifically to your character. You say someone's super 1 suck? There is a trial that you can only count kills when the super 1 hits multiple targets, someone's super 1/2 is op? There is a trial that design to make you either counter or survive through that exact super. No need to record and set condition in practice mode to test it out, the AI does it pretty well while chasing me with giant chicken(And I learn that how fast Fat Princess could move at the same time).

    And from the trial, it is possible that if by enough demand, there could be a crazy amount of rule tweaking can provide to both party and tournament. ie, always on super 1, or get thrown wipe your AP, or only combos can accumulate AP, or only hit multple enemy at same time can accumulate AP. Just by setting conditions of how you gain/lose AP and super, the strategy would change accordingly. I can't even imagine how madly fun this would be in party and tournament.

    Any one say this is a SSBB clone probably get it totally wrong, yeah the bubble shield and ledge recover trick is nice at first but gets old really quick if all people are doing are those. PSASBR from design force you to engage, you won't see people try to play catch and hide after they nail that kill lead right away, you will see more aggressive combat, and deeper super landing/avoid strategy.(Sorry, you suck if you got one sided, better learn that character and know what it can and can't do.) This is a major difference by design, it won't be hard if the team want to put in a mode with health bar and addtional ultra bar to mimic SF, or put in a few more level with pit and change the AP meter into the damage meter as in SSBB, but would it be much fun to do so? Are people really only stuck in one mind set and think this is different than X so it must suck? My only complaint is the cast seems to be there to for 3rd party to sell their new character. But for a new team with fighting game veteran involved in design, I'd say if it gets long term support by fan that support it, you will get more character you like to be in the game.(How long does SSB go to gets Snake?) In conclusion, or TL;DR, this game is great fun and deep, go buy it if you enjoy fighting game.
    Expand
  71. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Yes it plays like Smash Brothers, but does it make it a clone? No. Medal of Honor plays like COD, but no one calls that a clone. It's called a 'genre', perhaps people should look up the definition before slating a game. Of course every game is inspired by the best of that particular genre because they want the game to be good, and for people to like it. If the game didn't add anything different then I could understand people's anger, but All-Stars has a game changer which adds a tactical element to the game - Supers.

    To score a kill you must build up your AP meter by beating up your opponents. Once you are able to use a super, you must time it carefully to maximize the number of opponents you can hit, and to avoid wasting it. There are three levels of super, so you also have to choose between waiting and using a more powerful one, or using weaker ones more frequently. Although the game can easily be picked up and played by anyone, the best players will always be planning their supers, and will be one step ahead of their opponents. Everything which is in this package is of great quality. The graphics are crisp, and the sound is great (the game has an awesome opening tune). The variety of characters is good, but could do with more classics like Crash & Spyro who Activision probably didn't allow permission to include. Maps are inventive, but could do with a few more. The story is a bit of a let down, but for a brand new IP which is focused on multiplayer, it's not too much of an issue. There are plenty of unlockables, and multiplayer modes (again more would be good). The cross-play with Vita is by far one of the best things I've seen in gaming. It is identical to the PS3 version and plays flawlessly. The save file transfers automatically, so there is no hassle in continuing where you left off. All in all this is a must have for any PlayStation and Smash Bros fan. Though it is slightly light on the content, for a first game in what I hope turns into a series it's still pretty damn good. They have clearly focused on quality over quantity, and with the promise of DLC there is still plenty to keep you busy over the holidays. I gave this a 10 because the overall score deserves a boost. With a slight lack of content I would give it a 9/10.
    Expand
  72. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Please don't listen to the b.s. that the negative reviewers are trying to feed you and let me put it to you straight. This game is really amazing. Playing stock mode with my friends, I haven't this much fun in multiplayer since Halo 1 came out. Don't compare it to SSBB. Don't play it like SSBB. If you do you will definitely lose. Battle Royale is far more combo based than Brawl and it is harder for new players to win. Only being able to kill players with certain attacks may sound like a really stupid idea, but it actually plays out to be an incredibly strategic experience, especially when playing 1 on 1. The game also feels better put together than Brawl, although this is expected with the time gap between the games. Yes, only 20 characters, but more are on the way via dlc (which has been announced for early next year and will be free for two weeks, so keep an eye out. Hopefully, they will do all dlc like this.) Superbot has already stated that they know how important characters like Crash are and they are doing what they can to get them, but people forget about how many legal problems there are in making a game like this. Unlike Brawl, none of the characters are clones of each other. Even good Cole and evil Cole have 90% different move sets. Superbot did a great job pulling moves from the characters games and mapped them to the same button whenever possible. Stage design is also amazing, mixing two games for crazy and hilarious results.

    Now for the reason why I did not give the game a ten. The story mode is bad. Very bad. There is actually little story at all. Every character has a static, comic book like intro, a rival cut scene, and a static, comic-book like ending. I expected a lot more in a cross over like this. The potential was so high. Also, the final boss was a bit of a letdown. He is just cheesy (although the battle is kind of fun).

    I can't really comment on the online as I haven't played it yet but I played the beta and saw pretty much no lag at all.

    Even with a bad story, the game is still a blast to play, particularly with friends. A definite buy for anyone that wants to see their favorite characters again.
    Expand
  73. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised by this game. I will admit, I was a little bit skeptical at first as I was worried that the combat would be broken or very unbalanced and that it would be just a lazy knockoff of super smash bros brawl. I was wrong. The graphics are great, combat is quite technical and more varied than super smash bros as you have light, medium and heavy attacks and you can also perform various combos with each character, meaning it's not all button mashing. After you've finished each character's story, you'll spend most of your time online, which is quite fun and it is easy to find a match. However, I'm just slightly disappointed with the roster. There's just about 20 characters and while that's not too bad, I was expecting a lot more recognisable favorites such as Spyro, Crash Bandicoot, Sora and maybe even Solid Snake. I don't see the point in adding characters like Toro the cat. All in all, I really enjoyed this game. Well worth the money, every playstation owner should pick this up. Also, the PS3 version comes with a download for the PS Vita version of the game, which is fantastic. Expand
  74. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Lots of fun to play with friends and plenty to do when playing alone. It's really good! The vita version is exactly the same as well. Just hope crash is added as dlc :)
  75. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. Music and menu makes it look like I just grabbed it out of the 5$ bargain bin, but it plays like a fresh, polished, party fighting game. Some of the supers are better than others, but keep playing, you'll find a good balance.
  76. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Ob man wohl als fette kleine Prinzessin eine Chance gegen den Gott des Krieges Kratos hat? Diese und viele weitere Fragen haben uns schon Jahre lang gequält. Jetzt können wir endlich selber herausfinden wer in einem solch ungleichen Kampf die Oberhand haben würde.
    Ich denke inzwischen dürften alle gemerkt haben von welchem Titel wir gerade reden. Natürlich ist es
    Playstation All-Stars : Battle Royale. Bevor wir aber nun zum Test kommen möchten wir ein Vorurteil schon mal aus dem Weg räumen. Playstation All Stars ist kein Super Smash Bros Klon. Es ist zwar nicht zu bestreiten das Expand
  77. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    This game is really fun to play. I've thus far spent more than 20 hours with the game's story and trial mode and I'm still coming back for more whenever I have time. My friends and I really had a blast playing it together. Once they got used to the whole "only-deaths-with-supers" concept, everyone loved it. I must admit that I never played smash-brothers so I can't really compare to that but for me this was a really unique and fun experience. The online multiplayer also works great and gives you almost the same experience as having friends over playing. The only criticism I have is that the story mode is bland and unimaginative. The trial mode is also somewhat lame. If they had taken a few lessons from Nether Realms on this note and I would have easily given it a 10. Kratos also needs fixing, he's really over-powered (at least on a low-level, like me and my friends). Expand
  78. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I didn't want to bring up smash for this review, but it seems there is no choice and it must be said over and over again. This game is NOT super smash bros, so stop making the comparison. PSASBR is a very good game in his own way. It has a small learning curve, but there are plenty of tutorials to make you familiar with this game and each character.

    This game was made for multiplayer,
    and that I what I based my score on. The multiplayer in this game is great, playing with friends online or offline is a certainty of fun. Twenty characters is a good amount to start a franchise with. Again I have to make the comparison with smash, yes smash has more characters, but the first smash didn't had much characters as well. It might even had less then Battle Royale has right now. I see this game is being reviewed with very high scores, but then there are some low ones in there as well. Who are, from my prespective mostly of people who are defending smash and feel like this is a rip off. To those I say: Try the game, don't make a conclusion without even having touched the game. It is a very good game, in his one right. Expand
  79. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    An epic game and a hilarious game. Super Smash Bros can't have characters like PlayStation and the characters are great. The PlayStation and Sony Computer Entertainment made a awesome game.
  80. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    I'm a HUGE fan of Super Smash Bros. BIG fan. They are my "Go To" fighting games especially when I have a group of friends over. But that all changed with PlayStation All Stars. It's unanimous across the board with all my friends. It is far better in every aspect.In Smash Bros. you don't really have to be in the heat of battle to win. You can camp edges and troll opponents with high percentage and do very little attacking to actually win a fight. PlayStation All Stars does not favor those players in any sort of way. If you want to win, you have to be in the battle attacking. You have to actually be contributing to the fight or you will not even come close to winning. PASBR benefits the players who are skilled with the character they have chosen. It also has one thing above Smash Bros. DIVERSITY. Nearly every character in PASBR plays so differently than the other. If you play about 5 characters in any of the Smash Bros, you have the mechanics for all the other characters that will play exactly the same as the others. All of the characters are so insanely unique in PASBR. They all stand alone with their own unique moves. Much much much more challenging and is far more engaging than Smash Bros. Don't get me wrong, I still and will always love Super Smash, but PlayStation All Stars is far more superior. It is definitely for more aggressive gamers. If you're not an aggressive gamer, you can always go back to camping edges and trolling high percentage players in smash bros. PlayStation All Stars takes some serious skill. Expand
  81. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    After playing this game for the past 3 months, I can definitely say that this game is among my favorite game of 2012. The game is balanced, competitive and fun. This game brings me back to the days of playing with my friends on the couch and playing for bragging rights. In my opinion, this game was underrated and over looked by many people. I think that's a shame because SuperBot Entertainment did an amazing job in developing this great game. I was hoping to see the franchise grow into something great and see more of these games but now thats not the case. I don't consider myself a fight fan, but this game makes it very accessible to anyone and can hang with the others in the fighting genre. I can see myself playing this game for many years to come and its a must buy for any PlayStation fans out there. Expand
  82. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    **This review is based on version 1.08**
    The game got some bad press because of some early balance issues and looking a little too much Super Smash Brothers. Fortunately, the balance issues are by and large fixed, and the game is far more fair and stable than at launch.

    Super Smash Brothers and Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale couldn't be a whole lot different, both are fun, but
    very different, I find I prefer PSAS over SSB, and many of my friends who are huge SSB fans agree that this game is definitely a nice change of pace for the party brawler.

    The characters are fun, varied, and each takes a while to master. This game isn't as "pick up and play" oriented as Smash Brothers, but it's not needlessly complicated either.

    Online game modes are fun, and it's a blast to team up with a friend. Offline or Online, playing with humans is far better than it is playing alone.

    As is expected, the single-player story mode is pretty lacking. Cinematic scenes are few, and are made of still pictures of characters with a voice over attached. This isn't a complaint, merely an observation, given that most fighting games aren't designed to be played for story anyway, it's silly to make judgments based on a title's single-player adventure.

    Give this game a try with a few friends!
    Expand
  83. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Too many people compare this to SSB for no reason! Treat it like it's a different game and maybe you may enjoy it better. The combat in this game is not bad at all. Having to use your specials to get a knockout isn't as bad as you think. Once they've finally release all the DLC they'll do for the game (still hoping for Crash and Spyro), perhaps people will change their minds.
  84. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I have owned the game for about a month now and can safely say it is a completly individual game compared to smash bros. you can level up and customise your character but the roster might be a little bland if you dont get the DLC, but when you have them then there is not much this game is missing, the stages each have their own little twists and vary greatly in size just like the characters. If you sre this game and either want a little challenge with other people inline or with friends in the room it is a great buy and well worth it Expand
  85. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    This game was a great game to play .It contained many of the greatest characters from the PlayStation including jak and daxter, kratos ,ratchet and clank... The only problem with this was the lack of content. I felt like there wasn't enough characters and places to compete with super smash bros. brawl. The single player is good and the online multiplayer is just crazy fun and very competive. Overall this game is a must-have! Expand
  86. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Along with the roster that most fans didn't request for, they managed to succeed a spectacular gameplay with each character's different fighting styles. They could've put a bit more effort on stages, but overall the animations around them were pretty enjoyable. The game is not as good as Smash Bros. but I think it's a good enough crossover for Sony.
  87. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    PlayStation All-stars Battle Royale is a good game. The rooster could've been better but I happy with it. The game works that you have a bar in the bottom of the screen. The bar is the Super Meter. When fill up you could kill someone. This is how will win. You have 3 Level Supers. The Super aren't how many people you will kill is more likely you will kill someone. Some character have super that aren't good, but when you kill someone with let says Jak, Sackboy, or others is so satisfying. This game is like Super Bros., but in reverse. Instead pushing them out, you straight up kill them. There are things you could unlock like outros, intros, taunts, a costume per person, icons, background picture, victory music, maybe something else if I remember. Stages are every unique. Instead having one stage, for example Hades, you get two stages in one, like Hades being primary to Patapon being secondary. The music are remix of the stage you're playing , but in the menus and the opening theme is original. I hope there is possible sequel to improve this because this game does let room for improvements. I said get it. Should be around $29.99-$39.99 in PSN. Getting it used or cheaper should be worth it. Plus if get the PS3 or PSVITA ,or vise versa, you get the other version free. So you this only buy this once and getting PSVITA shouldn't be a risk. So getting the 9 score seem logical. Is not best game ever. When I play with friends or family or by myself we always have fun with it. Expand
  88. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games on the PS3. Before the game's release I heard about the combat system where you do not dish out damage, but instead build up AP (All-Star Power) for what resembles a "final smash" and I was really disappointed. When I actually bought the game I had no problems with the gameplay and combat system. Online matches aren't very fun, everyone wishes characters like Spyro and Crash could appear in the game, and there should be the option to play Smash style for the people who wanted just that. Still, this is easily one of my most-played games and totally worth the money. Expand
  89. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    This is by far my favorite PS3 game of all time.
    One of the few DECENT PS3 games with 4 players in local, the fun is infinite and the competitive part of the game is seriously the best I've ever seen, the combo system is PERFECT and the roster, even if one or two characters aren't great choice, is very good.
    Stop comparing this game to Super Smash Bros, the only thing it has in common is
    the main concept, but it plays in a completely (and way more competitive) way, they're just two different games of the same genre, like Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat. Expand
  90. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    This game is AMAZING!!!! At first, I didn't fully appreciate the game for it's depth; as will most people, but I promise that the more you play, the more you will enjoy it. The game plays nothing like smash (sorry, had to mention it). Besides for the similar button lay-out and 2-D gameplay. Besides that, they are completely different games. The story isn't too strong, but the multiplayer is where it shines. The game plays on a "super" system which is a blast to play around with and has deep combo systems. The characters are really balanced and each feel wholly unique (even with cole and evil cole). Don't judge a book by it's cover and overlook it as just another smash rip-off. This game is fun and the more you play it, THE MORE FUN IT GETS. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    Playstation All-Stars battle Royale: Not the all-star moment everyone was hoping for, Playstation All-Stars battle Royale is instead a decent enough fighter with serious balance problems and a boring cast. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Overall, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is mildly fun.