User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 448

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    This game is so awesome and fun with friends.
    In a generation of games that are almost for the 90% shooters, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is something that you usually don't see on a platform like the PlayStation 3, is an old style fighting game which plays like Mortal Kombat + Street Fighter in a 4 players way (don't compare it with Smash Bros, they're completely different).

    Considering the price and the fact this is one of the few PS3 games where you can have fun with friends, you should buy it, expecially if you're a fan of the genre, learning combos is an EXPERIENCE !
    And of course, if you're a PlayStation nostalgic, you're going to LOVE this game !
    10/10
    Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    To be honest of all of the Playstation's first party games, this is fortunately (for the game) and sadly (for Playstation as a whole) the best. I mean yeah, but what is this game and why does it exist. Well basically it's a Super Smash Bros. rip-off that forces ten million bad gameplay choices in to make you believe that it's not a Super Smash Bros. rip-off but a mediocre game, but in truth it's both. First of all what is the story here, well it's basically an arcade mode that makes absolutely no sense at all. What do I mean by this well just try to keep a straight face while reading this next part: Humanity is in shambles... the things that once kept it alive are now taking everything from it and yet they keep fighting a never ending war... so fight Parapa the rappa cause it'll save humanity. So yeah the story's not that good so how about the gameplay. Well it does actually try to add some original spins, but they're all horrible. The first and biggest thing they add is that you defeat enemies by hitting them until you charge up your meter and then hit them again with an attack that kills them, and sadly that is bad because most of the good characters have really crapy finishers... and I mean really crapy finishers. Case in point the Big Daddy who should be unbeatable's main one is through out a little sister at an unbelievably awkward angle, and even if you hit a person it only works if it wants to... and most of the time it doesn't. Next is that the stages have hazards (lols innovation) and once they come out they never, ever, EVER LEAVE... EVER, and most of the time they annoy the heck out of you and mess up the whole fight. So with the main way of beating your enemies destroyed and the stages all sucking because of a stupid design choice who are the characters, well they're RIDICULOUSLY UNBALANCED. What I mean by that is that if you choose Heihachi (I don't know how to spell his name) then you will always loose, but if you choose Kratos you will never loose unless your against the greatest player ever. So with all that why did I give it a 5/10 well that's because it's still a Super Smash Bros.esc game and that keeps it from being a 4 or 3/10. So Sony got away with it this time, but I promise if Sony comes out with another one of these and still pretends like it's not a Super Smash Bros. rip-off then I will show it absolutely no mercy and pan it for what it is. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    This game isn't bad but it feels more like one minigame than a full blown game. Truth be told that I never was a huge fan of smash bros games, and the combat is on par with smash bros in this game. Also the online does not lag (You do need an online pass to play online though), Still the only real mode this game has is 4 player online battle mode. (and local of course but who really has friends at the ready for this?). You can't even play 1vs1 online.. I really don't understand that. Anyway Smash bros has had some serious alternate game modes like an adventure mode and challenge modes and such. This game you will probably be stuck just playing 4 player online.. and that's it.. again it's not bad but it's just not enough variety. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    Its like Smash Bros! But not as good :| The thing that really kills this game is the supers, which is the main aspect of the game! What you do is hit people to get AP. Now if getting AP was the point of the game, then it would be better, but, no. What you have to do is use that AP to get more super energy. Then you use that energy to do a level 1, 2 or 3 finisher (which is the only way to kill enemies) The level 1 usually sucks, & is cancelable by enemy attack. Level 2 is usually better, and is un-cancelable. Level 3 is usually a stage clearer, an invincible transformation, or the latter with a few tweaks to the other players. One positive thing I can say about the supers, is that it has a pretty neat effect. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games on the PS3. Before the game's release I heard about the combat system where you do not dish out damage, but instead build up AP (All-Star Power) for what resembles a "final smash" and I was really disappointed. When I actually bought the game I had no problems with the gameplay and combat system. Online matches aren't very fun, everyone wishes characters like Spyro and Crash could appear in the game, and there should be the option to play Smash style for the people who wanted just that. Still, this is easily one of my most-played games and totally worth the money. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    0
    I hate this game, I really do, I wanted to like it, but its soooooo BORING! the online sucks ass, the combat is EXCRUCIATINGLY BORING, I want to whittle their health down, or watch their percentage go up so I can sweep them off thier feet in one swing, not only be able to kill them with super-moves, which leads me to the supermoves, they are... weak to say the least. and a lot of them are so stupid. also, minor complaint, but this game doesn't know anything about being knocked on the back Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    I like this game, it is almost better than super smash brothers! With some work, I think the inevitable number 2 on ps4 WILL be better than ssb simply because of the system's power...
  8. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    PlayStation All-stars Battle Royale is a good game. The rooster could've been better but I happy with it. The game works that you have a bar in the bottom of the screen. The bar is the Super Meter. When fill up you could kill someone. This is how will win. You have 3 Level Supers. The Super aren't how many people you will kill is more likely you will kill someone. Some character have super that aren't good, but when you kill someone with let says Jak, Sackboy, or others is so satisfying. This game is like Super Bros., but in reverse. Instead pushing them out, you straight up kill them. There are things you could unlock like outros, intros, taunts, a costume per person, icons, background picture, victory music, maybe something else if I remember. Stages are every unique. Instead having one stage, for example Hades, you get two stages in one, like Hades being primary to Patapon being secondary. The music are remix of the stage you're playing , but in the menus and the opening theme is original. I hope there is possible sequel to improve this because this game does let room for improvements. I said get it. Should be around $29.99-$39.99 in PSN. Getting it used or cheaper should be worth it. Plus if get the PS3 or PSVITA ,or vise versa, you get the other version free. So you this only buy this once and getting PSVITA shouldn't be a risk. So getting the 9 score seem logical. Is not best game ever. When I play with friends or family or by myself we always have fun with it. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    While not nearly as good or addicting as Smash Bros, the game is very fun. The gameplay is addicting and fun and most of the characters are fun to use (Raiden especially). However, this game should have been much more. The roster could have been better, the balancing issues are pretty bad (again, Raiden) the arcade mode is garbage and the customization is disappointing. However, playing this game with your friends is whole lot of fun. While not a must have, you should give it a try. Expand
  10. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    I personally disliked this game to no end. Although, I did give it a chance and for a while I could manipulate its character unbalance and the broken game mechanics and overpowered moves to actually be pretty high on the leader boards. This never took away the air of a genuinely underdeveloped game idea though. It is almost as if all of the time it took to come out was spent completely on just getting it done and not spent at all on play testing. The characters move well and the moves come out well and interact with the world well and all of that, but that's just the basics of the basics in any game type. This was meant to be a multi-player brawler between friends on a singular system or online with leader-boards because no game can survive without it these days. And in that way, they achieved their goal. But the environments were genuinely frustrating and badly interfered with the game-play by zooming out so you cannot see where you are and what you are doing. And that's before they hit you like they are supposed to. Literally any movement from a background obstacle would cause you to lose track of your progress towards defeating an enemy. Unless you have an insanely large television. This game is most fun when you get together with a few close friends and all have a pact at the beginning not to put each other into endless, unbreakable combos until death. This of course is lost with any online play, due to the way many new age gamers are. Items are a nuisance that can be turned off while you play by yourself and if you get your friends to agree. But, once again, the online aspect takes that away brilliantly with settings that can change constantly and almost immediately. Take the latter, and all of the interference's causing visual problems and add crippling lag and unbalanced character moves and specials, along with the demeanor of the online play and you have a lovely spam fest of What in the literal Christ is going on and how can I execute myself as quickly and painlessly as possible so I no longer have to play this sodding game". They were trying to make something different. Or so we were constantly reminded while the opposite is very apparent. Even so. Does not make it any better. Does not make it playable. Does not make it enjoyable. What they made is barely a game. It played largely on the nostalgia effect to no end and it became the only good part of the game. The characters move and feel the way they do in their games? Well how about that. Were we expecting them to destroy that expectation too? Not worth buying it when it just came out and not worth buying it period. Do yourself a favor and pick up a largely more retro fighter and you'll be better off. Expand
  11. Dec 30, 2013
    4
    I love the PlayStation and by all means I could be labeled a fan boy. But COME ON! This is not only supposed to be "on par" with SSB but supposed to bring something new. The only thing new was a horrible "kill meter" that was okay if you played solo but was extremely flawed in team matches, the reason I bought this game so me and my son could play. If your partner isn't good and keeps giving up "points" to the enemy's "kill meter" you can end up being the one getting killed due to your partners poor playing. I found myself having to dummy the AI down so they wouldn't constantly beat him up and then turn around and take me out with the damn "kill meter." I loved the graphics, the "kill scenes" were awesome, I loved the characters, the unlockables were cool, but none of that makes sense when you can't even hit the ground before someone builds up a meter and spikes you off the field! I would have given this game a far better score if it didn't rely purely on a "kill meter" to kill someone. If it incorporated the "kill meter" as a bonus to doing well that would have been better, but purely relying on it makes you rely purely on long range attacks to avoid any other character with a "kill meter" boosted. I had high hopes, but SSB still holds the crown for this type of game. Better Luck Next Time PlayStation. Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    It combines characters, environments and ideas into a tight package that manages to keep you entertained. PlayStation All-Stars is its own game, and it even happens to do some things better than what inspired it. You and your friends will have blast with this game especially as a party game.
  13. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Along with the roster that most fans didn't request for, they managed to succeed a spectacular gameplay with each character's different fighting styles. They could've put a bit more effort on stages, but overall the animations around them were pretty enjoyable. The game is not as good as Smash Bros. but I think it's a good enough crossover for Sony.
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    So when a company tries to copy a game at least they try to make it good but this game just made me cry,
    the new kill system was worthless half the time all you were doing was button mashing just to get your meter up so you could finally kill someone. Then it comes to only 20 character, are you serious, i mean at least 30 but no 20 instead and then not just that but if you want more then
    you have to pay for them. this game just made me feel bad. Its not even selling well that just proves my point even more. The thing that affected the most was turning on the game and finding out that crash and spyro are not in the game.
    i would not recommend this game to anyone unless you just have a brother who will play anything no matter how bad it is
    Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    I had hours of fun playing this game. To like this game you will need to learn all the moves, combos and supers. I was expecting this game to suck like most people but when i played it, it totaly changed my mind. There are some problems with the roster and the balancing but the gameplay and design of the game make up for it. Just wait for a sequel to come out it will blow your mind.
  16. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Graphics: The graphics look great; each character appears to look exactly like the actual games they represent, except for drake, the image of his face looks kind of different. Other than that the environments look great, although sometimes while battling I lost view of where my character was at. The game isn’t the best looking game but it definitely does shine. 8.5.

    Sound: Amazing
    sound track, voices acting is there, meaning the correct ones (at least I think) for each character. Reuses of original game sound track are great. 10.

    Gameplay: Similar to Nintendo’s smash, although PlayStation all-stars has its own legs. Only problem is the game has no damage, you continually attack an opponent just to build a super. You can build up to an x3 super which pretty much allows you to kill off everyone on screen. The only problem with this is that not every character is balanced; some characters can get more kills with x3 or even lower super gauges. While it seems like they were designed to be balanced by having some characters build up a super faster, it still feels unbalanced. There are still the over powered characters, and as for the roster it is really good, but a lot more classical PlayStation characters, and multiplatform characters could be there. Overall the game is still a great party game, and an excellent multiplayer game with a good ranking system in which you actually level down. 8.5.

    Story: This is the worst part about the game, the story is lacking a lot. There are certain moments in the arcade portion (one in-game cut scene to be exact) which are fun to watch is, and they should have added more of these. 5.

    Lasting Appeal/Value: Worth it if you’re a fan of PlayStation/fighting games similar to Nintendo’s smash bros. I platinumed the game in 2 days, but the multiplayer will give you endless fun as well as playing with others as a party game. 10.

    Overall Score: 8.4 out of 10.
    Expand
  17. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Playstation all-stars battle royal tried something new for playstation. However SCEA made it obvious that pressure to make the game different from Super Smash Bros. The character are easy to lose on screen and it isn't balanced well enough. The main gripe I have is balance. Kratos does the most damage per second and Sackboy has BY FAR the best Level 3 super. I thought this game could be extremely fun to play with friends but is ended up being me destroying everybody with nathan drakes level 1 and his cheap barrel attack.

    Even with all of it's flaws it is not a bad game. Just a mixed one.

    I give this game a 6/10
    Expand
  18. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Not a bad super smash bros clone. The gameplay is solid and there are a lot of characters to choose from. Very fun with a few friends. My only complaint is the finish system. They should have just taken the percentage system from super smash, but instead they went with finishing moves that have to be built up over the course of the fight. If you catch it at a good price, definitely pick this one up. Expand
  19. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    playstation all stars battler royale is a lousy excuse to promote foreign franchises. bad choice of characters, lack of originality on the part of team santa monica estudios.un plagiarism and poor imitation of super smash bros.THIS GAME ONLY PROVES THAT PLAYSTATION CHARACTER (EXCEPT NATHAN DRAKE) HAS LESS CHARISMA THAN NINTENDO CHARACTER. WORST PLAYSTATION GAME OF EVER!!
  20. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    I love the game, but I wish it had more. Loved the music, really liked the gameplay, especially playing with friends, also stages and visuals, but character roster, story, and balance of characters needs a little bit to look at. And playing random on-line matches aren't that enjoyable unless you're a experienced player who loves to use overpowered characters. But playing with online friends is great when you make it a fair battle. Also, lag and glitches need to be fixed. They happen more online. And I wish they had a in-game reporting system to report rude people online. I wish you can play your own music in the game if you're getting bored with the game music, but it's awesome nevertheless. And also add cross-controller support with the PS Vita, and add the PS Move to the mix. Since it's all about the PlayStation, adding all available game hardware is a plus. Great game, and I hope more will be added soon. Expand
  21. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    This is a wannabe Super Smash Bros, and it does it's job for the most part.
    The character select is fairly small, and as PLAY UK said in their review, "10% of the characters are Cole. "
    The fighting system is fairly simple, nothing terribly unique, but the real good idea this game has is the AP.
    You don't have a health bar, and the only way you die is by a super move. Fighting builds up
    AP, which you use to perform a super. Supers have 3 levels, the level 3 is absolutely devastating in most cases.
    You win by getting the most kills.
    The arcade's story is very basic, and some characters are overpowered (If you fight a team of Kratos and Raiden, give up on life), which is very annoying when people use these characters online, which brings anoither point; this game is meant to be played online.
    The game isn't a perfect fighter, but it makes a fun party game, and can be a blast playing with friends online.
    Expand
  22. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game. The gameplay isn't as "crazy" as Super Smash Bros which is for the better or the worst depending on what you're looking for. This game is more tactical. The music is great, especially the final boss'.

    But it's far from perfect. There's only 20 characters so alot of PS gamers will be disappointed with the selection. Lack of maps though they are creative (each map
    puts two games into one). Lack of modes. Lack of an actual final boss. Lack of unlockables. And unbalanced characters.

    Overall this game lacks alot, but it's still really fun. It's more fitted for the Vita. Don't pay for an expensive price.
    Expand
  23. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    great if you have friends over, but if you don't have the additional characters and you want to play intensively? pass and get a wii with smash bros, this is nothing like like it, it fun for awhile but the gets repetitive and there isnt a campaign or a map maker or anything worth replaying.
  24. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't a horrible game. I mean it is fun in some ways. However, Sony's game are too different to combine, I mean God of war vs. parappa?
    However, the biggest problem I have with this game is that it's a shameless rip-off of the Super Smash Bros. series. A crossover between your biggest characters? Nintendo did it first? Stages to go a long with character? Nintendo did it first, They even went into detail with their stealing, exact same color schemes for players with damage counters? Really? At least be settle about it Sony. This game tries to be better than the SSB series which we all know is impossible. They literally just took Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. franchise piece by piece. Side scrolling-arcade-beat 'em up? NINTENDO. ALREADY. [expletive]. DI. IT! Had they have gone with a 3d world, or free roam gameplay, I would've have been fine with everything else, but ripping off Nintendo piece by piece is unacceptable for any true gaming fan. Again, I mean Nintendo's games have sort of the same feel, so Link vs. Mario isn't mind blowing, and seems even, but Kratos vs. Fat Princess? A rated M game vs a game 5 year olds play. It's ridiculous.
    Expand
  25. Jun 25, 2013
    1
    yo man i bought dis gaem cuz cratos is badest mudafuka out der. and yo purple bich who r u? u aint even gaem. u dnt lift purple neptune bich. Who the fuK is Neptune!?!??!11!1!?!??!11!?!?
  26. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    This game was a great game to play .It contained many of the greatest characters from the PlayStation including jak and daxter, kratos ,ratchet and clank... The only problem with this was the lack of content. I felt like there wasn't enough characters and places to compete with super smash bros. brawl. The single player is good and the online multiplayer is just crazy fun and very competive. Overall this game is a must-have! Expand
  27. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I give this game a 9 but I'm getting tired of the comments that rate this game 0. This game is really fun and stop comparing it to SSB, SSB has many games out and this is the first game of PlayStation All Stars so of course it's not going be the best. POSITIVES: -Fun game play -Final boss is awesome -It can actually find players (Unlike SSB) -Lots of DLC -A wide arrange of characters
    -Easy trophies (For those who really want trophies)
    -PlayStation exclusive (Common Xbox, PlayStation rules!)
    -Amazing backgrounds
    -Great fighting styles
    -A way to show off things you've unlocked

    NEGATIVES:
    -Players spam moves online
    -Story mode gets very boring and is kinda short
    -There isn't that much players who play online, so you might meet up with the same people
    Expand
  28. ZxZ
    Jun 5, 2013
    6
    has amazing graphics and good gameplay but it's nothing new when compared to Super Smash Bros even beat the opponents life points is something you can find some time in Smash Bros. at the end it feels like a copy ONLY RECOMMENDED FOR PLAYSTATION LOVERS
  29. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    I have no problems with this game i dont know why people are complaining. The arcade mode is actually fun and the online is just great. I have no problem with the game and just give it a chance.
  30. May 23, 2013
    9
    I find it very amusing that people will gladly play the same street fighter variant over and over but when another fighting game like brawl has a variant come out they get all pissy. This game is different to brawl in it's main mechanic of how you get kills and I actually prefer the mechanic. You build up killing moves by hitting people which is awesome because it means you can't just sit somewhere and not play to win. There isn't a single character I think isn't fun to play or irredeemably bad and sure some characters like kratos are OP when you start but he's just really easy to pick up other characters are better when you master them. I find it ridiculous that people expect to be able to just go online and win against other people without having actually learned how to play the game. Are you really so spoon fed that you expect to just win games when you haven't practiced playing them? Expand
  31. May 16, 2013
    7
    its a alright game its really fun with friends but its something we have seen before but its only 40 bucks so just get it and try it out i have like 10 hours in the game and its alright
  32. May 12, 2013
    7
    Oh boy another smash bros game! What's that? It's actually different from that series? Really? Actually I'm not joking, it does have certain factors that make it different from that great series. but that can be the major downfall of the game too. First I'll start with what I like, the idea: not original, but cool to see video games icons beat the crap out of each other. The gameplay is good, adding some strategy and combos into it. now to the stuff that I don't entirely agree with, or simply don't enjoy. the roster isn't really doing it for me, I enjoy only about 3 or 4 of the 20 characters, and some can be clearly better than others. The presentation is very lame/boring, showing just pictures of the characters in the background on the main menu and when the game loads, I'm not saying there's a right way to do it, but I wish it wasn't this. All in all, I think it's okay, could've been better. Expand
  33. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Sure, it’s often compared to Super Smash Bros., albeit deservingly, but in this instance the student has surpassed the master. Not only has SuperBot Entertainment created a title that every Sony fab-boy (including myself) has been waiting for, but they nailed it. Like a carefully groomed, ass kicking bonsai tree, the attention to detail it has received provides its beauty. This is where All-Stars roundhouse kicks SSB out of the dojo.
    The care put into every character and stage, from gathering a cast of icons from all eras of Playstation that are incredibly spot-on to stages that transport you to childhood, has shaped an enjoyably quirky atmosphere for all to enjoy. The deep combat mechanics paired with the inclusion of loads of unlockables, online matches (duh) and tournament rankings keep you coming back for more. Well done, SuperBot. Bravo.
    Expand
  34. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    Very fun game, poor story, bad online, but great fighters, tutorials, stages, and costumes. I liked the fact that there was character tutorials to show you how to play as that fighter. Overall an 8 out of 10, worth your money!
  35. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    Super Smash bros melee is a lot better with regards to the controls and responsiveness of the characters.
    Good music. The level design may seem a bit distracting at times. Zeus is overpowered on multilayer since its hard to 1v1 him. More DLC characters are on the way.
  36. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I have owned the game for about a month now and can safely say it is a completly individual game compared to smash bros. you can level up and customise your character but the roster might be a little bland if you dont get the DLC, but when you have them then there is not much this game is missing, the stages each have their own little twists and vary greatly in size just like the characters. If you sre this game and either want a little challenge with other people inline or with friends in the room it is a great buy and well worth it Expand
  37. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    Save some cash and get a real party game. Smash bros... If you already have it and are getting wore out then this might be for you. Family night is smash bros night. Well gonna see how the kids are to this but from just solo play it is a clone. Items seem more added on rather then game changers but its a welcome addition to Family and friends party nights. I really wish they would have tossed in an assassin. They fit a big daddy in there and it started as 360 so yeah. But that aside im pleased with the choices. Expand
  38. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    At a glance, one might see this game and instantly call it Sony's cheap attempt to cash in on the hit that Smash Bros was. However, the game is mechanically equal or even better. The multiplayer is in almost every way better than it's counterpart. The singleplayer, however, is more than lacking. The story mode takes, at most, 45 minutes. The multiplayer offers both a ranked and unranked matchmaking service, and makes it easy to hop in and play with a friend. While it may not be the huge hit Smash Bros was, it certainly competes with it. Expand
  39. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Playstation All-Stars Battle royal, is the newly released game from SuperBot Entertainment. It is exclusively on the PS Vita and the PS3; we took a look at this new game. Playstation All-Stars is Playstations take on Nintendo’s Super Smash bros. Playstation All-Stars lets you play from a great variety of Sony characters, from the little Sackboy, to Kratos, Big Daddy, Raiden and many more! Right now there are overall 20 Characters, and 14 Arenas. Each of the arenas looks amazing, and is a mixture of 2 games, like “Dreamscape” A mixture between LittleBigPlanet and Buzz! Each of the arenas looks beautiful, and the transition between the different games is very smooth, the backgrounds are also very dynamic; it changes throughout the level, and is filled with Easter eggs from all the games. Another thing to take note of in this game is the music, each of the songs are a mash-up of both of the games featured in the level, so we have a God Of War mixed up with Patapon song, and so many other great ones.

    There might be some awesome characters in the game, but we do not feel like all of them fits into the game, SackBoy, PaRappa and Fat Princess, they might add some of the humor to the game, but we do not feel they are necessary at all. We also have some problems with some characters, being a little Overpowered, such as Kratos, and Raiden. We do not feel like the battle system is balanced well enough, but I guess no game ever succeeds in that. Just like Smash Bros, you will enjoy this game the most when you are playing with friends, but they have tried to make single player a little better, by adding; Arcade, Combat Trials and Practice mode. In Arcade, you select a character and uncover the mystery of the merging world leading up to a fight with your character’s rival, and a final boss. These are pretty short, and mostly the same for all the characters, but it is a good way to learn how to play your character. And Combat Trials it is, as you may have thought, trails in combat. Where you can get better to know your character, you get to choose between 35-38 different trials. Where you practice using specefic ways of the combat. The game doesn’t have a health bar at all; you are just getting power from dealing damage, to then use on your Super Attacks which for some people can get you a lot of kills, and some not a lot, it is different from each character. And if you use your Super Attack at a wrong point, you lose all of your power, and you have to build it up again.

    The controls for this game is very responsive, and you can do a load of different combos, which really makes the combat style different from each character and player. Triangle, Square and Circle, are all three attacks, while X is simply jump, having 3 like this makes you able to do alot of things for each of them, if you for example press Triangle, and use the analog stick, you can choose which way you will attack, and if you press up and use one of the attacks, you can fling your opponent up into the sky.

    This is not our Game of the year, but we do think that this is a good series that Sony should keep on doing! It is un-balanced in a way, which makes online play not very good. A health bar is missing, and there is not story in the single player. We give this game 7/10.
    Expand
  40. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Too many people compare this to SSB for no reason! Treat it like it's a different game and maybe you may enjoy it better. The combat in this game is not bad at all. Having to use your specials to get a knockout isn't as bad as you think. Once they've finally release all the DLC they'll do for the game (still hoping for Crash and Spyro), perhaps people will change their minds.
  41. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    I'm going to try and make history as I evaluate this game without mentioning "That game". Y'know, Su- whoops nearly! Anyways.

    Playstation All Stars should really be called "Sony presents Game Marketing for other titles coming out soon", due to the inclusion of characters and locations from games that were not even released when this came out, not to mention a distinct lack of some other
    Playstation legends *coughlaracroftcough*. Anyways, I don't really mind that. But what I do mind is a game that has flaws. BIG flaws. Two in fact.

    The first flaw is the distinct lack of polish the game has. It all feels tacky. The menus, the loading screens, the character models, the almost forgettable story slideshow picture thingies (I swear that they just ripped some concept art off DmC and slapped the awful in game Dante character model over it). Even the "original" music is completely unforgettable and bland. Other games similar to this, where characters from various developers and publishers are included, are almost always presented in the best light possible, which includes top quality User interfaces and music (like Marvel vs Capcom). Why 3rd party devs would give this game rights to use their characters i'll never know. Wait, I do know, I've said it earlier already; Marketing.

    That's my first flaw, and, compared to the other one, poor quality is only a mild issue. Yes, the second flaw was the decider for me between a game that's brilliant and addictive, and a game that's quick to lose its charm. Its the gameplay; more specifically it's the games scoring concept. Originally, the games concept seems quite interesting; beat the other people to get special gauges and use the specials to eliminate the opposition to score points and win. It only takes your third game however to notice how much of a misfire the concept is. As combat is all about building special gauges, you will always spam the same combo; the one that gives you more AP. You can imagine how tedious that gets. I was talking about this to a mate, and he said "Well vary the combos up then!". Why? The combo I use builds the best AP, and there is absolutely no incentive to vary my combos up at all. If the AP built up in a combo would diminish after using too much repetition then yes it would give us a great reason to be creative and different! But no. This includes items, which, because they cant kill anyone, or build AP up as much as a normal combo are completely pointless to use! It gets worse. As it is all about getting AP as quickly as possible, it creates huge differences in character usefulness, ergo, ridiculously overpowered characters, like Kratos. He can gain AP so quickly and efficiently, you can even spam lvl 3 specials with ease (which too is so much more effective than many other lvl 3s). Sooo other than that its fine...

    In all its fine to pick up and play for around 20 mins before you get bored, until you get a little urge to try it again, and realise after 20 mins why you stopped playing before. In business, a company will always try and beat its competitors by doing what they do, but better. Rarely will a business look at its successful competitor and try and do everything different. I guess this applies to Playstation All Stars doesn't it?

    Super Smash Bros (dammit!)
    Expand
  42. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Sony's attempt at a mascot fighter is a fun game and has great potential in the future if the series continues, But comparing it to the main game series you can compare it to "Super Smash Bros." It is not as good, It lacks the iconic characters that Nintendo has under it's belt and one of the things I feel will hurt it as a party game what it is trying to be is the fact that it doesn't work as well as a pick up and play game, the game gets better the more you play it and practice a character which I feel hurts it, But on the other hand it also makes the game have a deep combat system which will be good for some. The game lacks the urgent feeling to the combat that others fighters have where you are losing health from every hit, the only way to kill other players is with Super attacks which means the only attacks that really matter are those. Nonetheless it's a solid title and if you are a PlayStation fan then this is a great game for you, Just like the first Smash Bros, PlayStation All-Stars has a great chance to improve drastically if a sequel happens. Expand
  43. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Embarrassingly devoid of features, Playstation All-stars is just begging to be compared to the Super Smash Bros. series. And it comes across as mediocre on most accounts.

    The Combat Mechanics are one-dimensional; build your super meter. The extent to which strategy really comes into play, is only whether or not you will try to save your Supers for level 2 or 3 attacks, with varying
    degrees of success. The characters are fairly balanced, but the lack of health or anything else besides connecting with a super feels stale.

    Additionally, the gameplay mechanics that _are_ well conceived suffer from identity crisis. The regular attacks seem to be made for a different game in mind; not the that ensues during a 4-player free for all. And with no online 1-on-1 matching, this is painfully evident. Playstation All-Stars shines best when playing in 2-on-2 team matches; the weaknesses in design are most mitigated, and the strengths come through the most brightly.

    The character roster is great (although Raiden standing in where Snake should be, and DmC's Dante standing in where the Classic Dante ought to be it's an opaque reminder that this game is standing beneath the shadows of Super Smash Bros and Marvel vs. Capcom). High notes go to Big Daddy, Kratos, Heihachi, Cole, and others, who fit in wonderfully into the game's theming. While there is some design issues with the juxtaposition between realistic and cartoonish characters (and especially_ backgrounds), the overall theme works well.

    Where this game crumbles, for me, is the utter lack of features and incentives to continue playing. "unlockables" are limited to entirely meaningless pattern design options for your online "battle card." While these options are entirely welcome, they are at best a side dish. Yet they make up the majority of what you will be "unlocking." The other unlockables are alternate entrance/victory poses and music themes. These are also welcome; but lest we forget, Heihachi has been doing alternate entrance victory animations since 1994's Tekken. Each character does get an additional costume, which is the only really substantial unlockable. All of these are unlocked by simply _playing the game_. each character "ranks up" the more you play him. Adding insult to the injury, additional costumes have been released as paid dlc.

    Playstation All-Stars is most noticeably lacking in game modes; online ranked/random matches, offline versus, Story, and tutorial. There are no "interesting" diversions among them. The greatest offender _by_far_ is the Story mode. A few still image panels act as the character's intro; a few still image panels act as the character's ending. The "writing" is atrocious, even by Fighting game standards. the opportunity to capitalize on character personality interaction is severely unfulfilled. Every match in the mode is uninspired and non-unique. Each character has one "rival match" with another; it amounts to a 20 second cutscene and meaningless dialogue. After the fight, there isn't even a "resolution" scene of meaningless dialogue. The final boss, while _arguably_ creative, in actual execution is literally just a few clone characters that resemble Smash Bros.'s Polygon team.

    And speaking of Smash bros.; it is hard not to draw comparison. Specifically in features. The N64's 13 year old Super Smash Bros. has more more varied story mode (with target breaking, multiple kirby matches, etc). All-Stars has none of it. SSB: Melee has _considerably_ more variety and interesting things to do; a game more than a decade older than All-Stars.

    It's alarming how quickly you will reach the "wait... That's it?" moment with this game. Unless you are type of gamer who enjoys repetitive online multiplayer battles _as_their_own_reward_, then rent this game to experience it for a time, and move on.

    A _generous_ six out of ten.
    Expand
  44. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    **This review is based on version 1.08**
    The game got some bad press because of some early balance issues and looking a little too much Super Smash Brothers. Fortunately, the balance issues are by and large fixed, and the game is far more fair and stable than at launch.

    Super Smash Brothers and Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale couldn't be a whole lot different, both are fun, but
    very different, I find I prefer PSAS over SSB, and many of my friends who are huge SSB fans agree that this game is definitely a nice change of pace for the party brawler.

    The characters are fun, varied, and each takes a while to master. This game isn't as "pick up and play" oriented as Smash Brothers, but it's not needlessly complicated either.

    Online game modes are fun, and it's a blast to team up with a friend. Offline or Online, playing with humans is far better than it is playing alone.

    As is expected, the single-player story mode is pretty lacking. Cinematic scenes are few, and are made of still pictures of characters with a voice over attached. This isn't a complaint, merely an observation, given that most fighting games aren't designed to be played for story anyway, it's silly to make judgments based on a title's single-player adventure.

    Give this game a try with a few friends!
    Expand
  45. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    At first, I wasn't a big fan of this game. I kept saying, "why doesn't this game play like smash bros!?!" But it actually grew on me. While the offline play is pretty lame, offering little variety in game modes, the online play is where it's at. Connection online is usually solid, which is more than I can say for Super Smash Bros Brawl. The developers are still coming out with new characters and balancing the original ones. The game plays differently than any other game I've ever played, it's refreshing. I would give it a 10 if the single player wasn't so blah. Expand
  46. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Despite having a smaller than expected character roster-seeing how Playstation had decades of icons- this game never fails to please. The characters all feel diverse, and not just copy-and-pastes of each other. The maps are beautifully designed, featuring a mix of different Sony IPs, balanced mapping, and interesting interactions and events in the background. The AP meter approach helps keep this game feel different from SSMB, as it adds a creative way to score. My only complaint is the lack of decent servers, as the entire match will crash or start to get buggy if even a single persons connection is bad. So, for a low budget game, designed by a small developer, near the end of the PS3's life, this game shows promise, and hopefully will gain support for a larger budget sequel. Expand
  47. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    To get this out of the way PS ALL STARS BR>SUPERSMASH, in my opinion, il this game, I JUST GOTTA BELIEVE its so fun, I love t-bagging, it is more fun than in super smash, I love spamming as raiden/dante, I love costumes, many are accurate to the games of the characters, like dante's undershirt appears when you beat son of sparda, the rosie big daddy, in a cutscene IN Parappa the rappa, Parappa is in a rocket, WITH THE SPACE OUTFIT, I also love more than ANYTHING in this game, the online mode! I love t-bagging and seeing others t-bag, it is a thrill when some t-bag when I do, and barely any gets done in the battle, play as Spike, taunt- YOU'LL NEVEAH WIIIYNE, HIALRIOUS, I love the rewarding feeling in ranked match when you belt-up! Now cons, sometimes matches take sooooo long to be found, I just like the filter, except if I use it to perfect specifications for me, I don't want to wait 10 minutes for a 2-14 minutes battle, it's just crap. Also, cheap crap like Kratos's EVERY ATTACK, Drake's Barrels (btw when he pulls that crap on infamous tower I am envisioned to an atari, except Nathan Drake is Donkey Kong, Fat Princess is peach, Sackboy in a Mario Costume is Mario, BULLCRAP), i hate KAT'S BUTT**** GRAVITY PULL, the range is an EXTREMELY cheap opportunity for RIDICULOUS COMBOS! Now things for a sequel (it obviously deserves one). More characters more people know about, Give Kratos less cheap garbage blows. Put an adventure mode. But for now, ITS GREAT Expand
  48. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    After playing this game for the past 3 months, I can definitely say that this game is among my favorite game of 2012. The game is balanced, competitive and fun. This game brings me back to the days of playing with my friends on the couch and playing for bragging rights. In my opinion, this game was underrated and over looked by many people. I think that's a shame because SuperBot Entertainment did an amazing job in developing this great game. I was hoping to see the franchise grow into something great and see more of these games but now thats not the case. I don't consider myself a fight fan, but this game makes it very accessible to anyone and can hang with the others in the fighting genre. I can see myself playing this game for many years to come and its a must buy for any PlayStation fans out there. Expand
  49. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    I'm a HUGE fan of Super Smash Bros. BIG fan. They are my "Go To" fighting games especially when I have a group of friends over. But that all changed with PlayStation All Stars. It's unanimous across the board with all my friends. It is far better in every aspect.In Smash Bros. you don't really have to be in the heat of battle to win. You can camp edges and troll opponents with high percentage and do very little attacking to actually win a fight. PlayStation All Stars does not favor those players in any sort of way. If you want to win, you have to be in the battle attacking. You have to actually be contributing to the fight or you will not even come close to winning. PASBR benefits the players who are skilled with the character they have chosen. It also has one thing above Smash Bros. DIVERSITY. Nearly every character in PASBR plays so differently than the other. If you play about 5 characters in any of the Smash Bros, you have the mechanics for all the other characters that will play exactly the same as the others. All of the characters are so insanely unique in PASBR. They all stand alone with their own unique moves. Much much much more challenging and is far more engaging than Smash Bros. Don't get me wrong, I still and will always love Super Smash, but PlayStation All Stars is far more superior. It is definitely for more aggressive gamers. If you're not an aggressive gamer, you can always go back to camping edges and trolling high percentage players in smash bros. PlayStation All Stars takes some serious skill. Expand
  50. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    The menus seem like that of an N64-era fighting game, and the story is super weak, but it is a fighting game, and that tends to happen. Aside from those issues, I had a lot of fun with this game. The fighters feel very different from each other, but I never feel like I am at a severe disadvantage with any character. If you enjoy playing fighting games online, then PSAS is for you.
  51. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    I'll start this review saying that I'm a huge fan of the Super Smash Brothers franchise and have played all of them almost to infinity. Except Brawl. With that said, I have to say that this game is extremely enjoyable and...fun! Finally a fun and simple game to play with, without bothering super realistic mechanics of graphics (which are good), and just focuses on smacking enemies all around the arena. Just like Super Smash Brothers. Even if it's considered a "rip-off", I'll be honestly fair:: it does somethings differently, enough that it could be considered totally different; for instance, you don't throw your enemies away, but you actually have to kill them with a special skill: that changes some characters' mechanics and skills. The roster also is rather fun and has some nice choices (and some BAD choices too), although some characters aren't exactly fun to play with and are very hard to use...which is good! It gives some depth for some characters, in order to be used properly. Although, a lot of characters have too many ranged attacks, but since you have to use a skill, which is different per character (either range and speed etc), I honestly haven't seen that much unbalance like it should. It has also challenges that, even if silly and kinda uninteresting, they actually are good for training more your character in using the skills he has, so I can't say it's totally useless. Maybe just unappealing. It's not a flawless game, but even if flaws can be either big or small, I have one personal flaw that some may or may not agree: the roster itself. We got some iconic characters from the playstation world (well duh!), most of them are ok...but some are just...right. For instance...where's Crash? Spyro?! Lara Croft?!?!Dante (the white haired)?!!?! CLOUD!?! I just named a few "BIG" iconic characters from the Playstation world, and even if I'm not a big fan of most of these they are STILL important figures of the Playstation world that should have been inside from the very start. Instead, we get..."new dante" from DmC (even if not a fan of either new and old dante, this one is still my less favourite); the Fat Princess...from Fat Princess on PSP (no comment...), Raiden from Metal Gear Solid (....the name itself implies that the main character, is NOT Raiden), Radec from Killzone (really? Killzone? Is Call of Duty next?); Toro from that japanese game (Together Everywhere! it says. Never heard of it). Although, I admit that some other are actually good and I appreciate their addition (Spike from Ape Escape, Daniel from Medievil, Ratchet and Clank, Jak and Daxter, and my favourite: Sly Cooper!!!), the roster could have used a LOT more of iconic characters and I'm almost sure we gonna get more that won't be of our interest (I can almost see Lightning from Final Fantasy XIII in the future...). But it still has potential to deliver most of the iconic characters we loved and still love to this way...and that's what "makes" this game really. It has technical flaws, it can be considered whatever they think it is, it can be better in some other details, but I'm pretty sure that most of us are interested on the game mostly for the simple yet fun mechanics AND the characters themselves. It's like a dive into nostalgia and, as far I can see, the big reason to avoid this game, it's if you prefer more technical or more complex fighting games, with more realistic mechanics and just...more technical details. But if you like simple fighting games where you could bash others with few buttons together with friends just like old times (it has online, and it works...but it's BEST played offline with friends), I highly recommend to give it a try and try enjoying it for what it is. A simple and fun fighting game with your favourite characters of all time! Expand
  52. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    This is a DIFFERENT game than Super Smash Bros. It is not a clone, but definitely draws from the original idea.

    First, the biggest WOW factor" for me is the cross-play/cross-buy between the Vita and PS3 version. This is an idea that is fantastic. Not only is the value of the purchase significant, but the whole idea is something I've been waiting for awhile now. The character roster is
    doable. It is not going to satisfy everyone. You will always have those "where is this character?" and "why didn't they include this character?" people, but the amount of playable characters is sufficient for a first go-around. The characters feel like you took them directly out of their original games and put them into the battle arena. What I mean is that they characters actually feel like they do in their own games, which is something I can't say for Super Smash Bros. The story mode is lazy with really no substance. It's the biggest detractor. They had a huge opportunity to blow any Super Smash comparisons out of the water with a superb single player story, but entered the same pitfall and ended up actually considerably worse than its prime competitor. The unlockables are great, but still not as solid as Super Smash. I had spent many hours with SSB Brawl that had more meaningful and varied unlockables. The games biggest gameplay difference is the Special Gauge. Once this meter fills up, you perform your special which is the only way to get kills. This style will grow on you, but it makes character selection more heavy on their specials than the normal combat moves. The game seems to focus on online play, which is definitely fine by me. It's fun and connection is pretty seamless.

    Overall, I'd definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  53. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    Offline Gameplay is fun. I like the variety of characters so far and cannot wait for the dlc. As far as Online its a bit laggy. Somebody can be laying on the ground and magically do their level 1 and your dead. A laggy Kratos is ohh sooooo annoying. People still get kicked out the party so hopefully next patch they can fix that. Monthly DLC is a must for this game to keep it selling because so far employees are getting the axe and sony just left the premises. Good luck Superbot. Expand
  54. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    A very fun game with a great cast of characters and easy to pick up controls mastering the combos is the tricky part). Its a great party game, competitive game, and also great for spectating. Its no a perfect game with a lack-luster story and a pretty bad online feature and not so much cut scenes. Its more of a traditional fighter then most brawlers. But all in all its a must have for playstaion players. Expand
  55. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I'm probably going to be very biased here. This is a great game if you are a long time Playstation fan. No, i'm not talking about being a fan since the mid PS2 era. I mean a LOOOONG time Playstation fan. Back when the PS1 was fairly big and competing with the N64. This is not to say that people who grew up at a later era, or are just getting into the console can't enjoy this game either. This game, much like Smash, is simply a celebration of the history of systems universe, the memories it made for us as kids, and a great way to show off the oldies to the new generation. Though, the selection of characters is a tad disappointing (for both good and bad reasons), and will leaving you asking "Where's Spyro?" or the like. The gameplay is solid, taking it's Ps and Qs directly from Smash, but adding their own twists. It's a real pick up and play game, but it's difficulty leaves something to be desired (one could clear nearly all of the challenges and stories on All-Star mode (Hard mode)) The stages are interesting, but the amount of things going on at once can strain the eyes a bit. Pulling off supers at the right moment is a tad repettitive, but can be wicked fun if you know what you're doing. The story mode is a little bland, leaving only still images with voice overs narrating over it at the start and end, one interesting cutscene when you face off against your "rival character", and the rest of it is a bunch of battles against random characters. No real rhyme or reason. Customization of characters via their taunts, intros, outros and even their victory music is a nice touch, but it's too bad they couldn't take it a step further and have more customization options for the character itself. Online used to be a bit of a hassle, but since the patch, things seem to be working fine right now. The multi-player vs matches have only a few select modes, which is a little disappointing, but it's possible the developers may create new modes later on. For what it is, the dedication the development team has to keep pumping in content after it's release, and the fact that it is a decently solid 1st entry to the world of 2.5D fighters, you can't entirely go wrong with this little gem. Go and be an All-Star. Expand
  56. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    Very poor gameplay. I bought this in a sale regret it, it has a poor selection of characters and even fewer likeable ones. The multiplayer is broken you'll be pitted against people a much higher level than you and most people just use the overpowered characters. for a game that tries so hard to be like smash bros it falls short at every mark. waste of money and time. 2/10
  57. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    weel there isn't enuf guns and bulletz and the little purlbpe girl gived me a boner so i caunlt play in frant of mom so i plaid cratos and noothin drak because sony has deep charactrs like "Kill all blood gore!" and "Explore kill all!"
  58. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Its not a great game, the characters are quite uninteresting and the art sucks, but if you have friends at your home.. the 4 player mode is a blast!!!
  59. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    A look at this game and you instantly think. "Oh look, trying to cash in on Super Smash Bros." I can see why people would say that, and I thought it myself. After playing this, I found it wasn't a complete clone of SSB. The gameplay is simple. Attack the enemy until they die. Each character is from a PlayStation title (Uncharted Littlebigplanet etc.) and they all have different unique attacks which I like. Like I said in my Far Cry 3 review, graphics don't make a game but I still mention them. The graphics are average, not bad, not good but you can deal with it. Gameplay, is a rather mixed bag. Can be fun, can be bad, glitches ruining the flow, some characters annoying and some voice actors haven't got their original actors. Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale is a mixed bag, unless its at a price of about 25 bucks, then I recommend a rent. I reward this game a 6/10, 6/10 doesn't mean sh**, it means *Meh*. Buy this game if its 30 bucks or less. Expand
  60. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    An epic game and a hilarious game. Super Smash Bros can't have characters like PlayStation and the characters are great. The PlayStation and Sony Computer Entertainment made a awesome game.
  61. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    So this game doesn't have the same amount of content that smash bros. has, but it has high replay value and a more advanced fighting system. The result is a flawed but very fun brawler.
  62. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    This game, is really good for a game. While we all know it's based of Super Smash Bros, this game is good in it's own right. While the game has it's own bad side (under powered characters to overpowered characters, no actual cut screens in story mode, Toro with that flying glitch that flies your character to the top of the screen and be unreachable). This game is also good too. It is both a clone of SSB and not a clone of SSB. While it copies the four-player fighting style, items usage, etc, this game is also unlike SSB. It replace the % damage meter, and replace it with its own Super Move Meter, it also remove the death by flying off screen that annoyed us for ages. True, they don't add the PSOne mascots like Spyro and Crash, but have its own great roster (Spike, Jak, PaRappa, and Raiden), and unlike SSBB, which it barley any third-party characters (only Snake and Sonic), All-star has a good amount of third-party characters ( 8 of the 20 characters are third-party), with more characters yet to come. The stages on All-stars are not too many to most people liking, it is a good amount. The Stages of this games did a good job with combining games together, like "Dreamscape" (based on LittleBigPlanet and Buzz!). The Stages of All-Star, like SSB, have stage dangers, but unlike SSB, the stage dangers aren't needed to be forced on too much, and will not present danger after awhile (you can even turn of stage dangers). To sum it all up, All-Stars might not beat SSB, but if All-Stars becomes a series, it would eventually past the SSB series. Expand
  63. Jan 16, 2013
    2
    To be frank we all knew when Sony released All Stars that it was going to try to be their answer to the Smash Bros. series but, in typical Sony style the failed to reach expectations. By no means is this a horrible game, far from it. But it lacks refinement in almost every area. To start with, the story. As per the norm with most brawlers it doesn
  64. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    I remember playing super smash for hours on end when I was younger, and I was expecting a similar experience but with characters that I had attachment to in the playstation universe that I spent a lot more time on. Unfortunately i didn't click quite as well as I hoped but what I did play I really enjoyed. I completed over half the campaigns but I find this game to be more of a local multiplayer rather than a play through all the campaigns by myself. The concept of using Supers to get kills was concerning when it was first announced but after playing the beta I wasn't so bothered by it and now having played the actual game I've gotta say, I really like it. I'm not very familiar with how fighting games tend to en structured but I found it frustrating that some characters first supers were super easy to get and really effective, white other took forever to build up a sup that turned out to be fairly crappy. Maybe playing with more characters and understanding their techniques would overcome that issue but I don't foresee myself playing with characters I'm not interested in. I thought the levels were good but didn't really feel myself taking advantage of them and rather just adapting to those that were dynamic throughout the match. Visually I thought it looked great and even on the vita I was impressed. Online is a lot of fun too, and being able to play with a friend is great. It's unfortunate that people didn't get into it all that much, it definitely deserves a fan base. I'd say that if you have a ps3 and are into fighting games it is definitely worth it, especially if it's on sale. Expand
  65. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    This game is fun it is a lot like super smash bro.s in looks but it is much harder to master and the play style is different there are many different modes in this game similar to smash bro.s but as much because smash bro.s has had time to fix there mistakes in the past the stages and character designs are awesome but there arent enough characters despite that there is promised dlc coming levels and characters alike the multiplayer works great almost no lag 99% of the time if you are a fan of fighting games or playstation you should get this its very fun Expand
  66. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    First off I never knew this game was coming out and when I did hear about it I didn't even know what kind of game it was but it is pretty damn good. I've had every game system known to man since 1985 and I don't get why people hate this game because it is a PS character game WOW!!!! That is dumb. Are nintendo fanboys that jealous that the only halfway mature game they get is smash brothers and try to talk like its all that it isn't. Also lots of people are talking about the graphics being worse than a Wii game seriously??? You must be playing it on that same **** tv you play your Wii on because the graphics are great. Stuff gets a little small but still good and it runs smooth which is most important to me. As far as the fun factor it is definitely there always fun with every character. It is easy enough to pick up and play but deep enough to learn an array of combos if wanted. Stop hatin play it and have fun oh yeah and the online is like video game CRACK!!!! Expand
  67. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale is a great brawler/fighting game, with fair amount unique characters and stages, well, except from Cole and Evil Cole, two characters that are practically the same in almost every way (which is silly); but other than those two, the characters are extremely unique with their own massive move sets to show off. The multi-player being the mode to show off the greatness of the whole game, at the same time...The single-player being slightly disappointingly short and not insanely fun, being ultimately not quite the experience of the multi-player. If you want to know... This game is a fair bit different to Smash Bros and is it's own, special game for those fans of Playstation or even those of fighters (as in game genre). This game is definitely recommended; also, those people who have been giving this game 0-4 out of ten are probably trolls. So I give this game... 8.6/10! Expand
  68. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    The game is not that bad with people saying it's a ssb clone. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE it's just sony's turn to do it with PlayStation characters. The game is fun with your family or friends. But there are some cons about the game. There are glitches in online, people using op characters such as kratos, raiden or dante. The game just doesn't really feel like a ssb clone to me. My excuse is also they made the supers only to kill people so no health....Just killing people with supers. I can't really get a game in 1st anyway because people using the op characters and people who just don't try other characters. The game deserves a 7/10 though it's not great enough to be a ssb clone but a good one to say the least. Expand
  69. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    The game is good enough to bring amazing fun between friends and online. It has an amazing potential but it really dropped the potential on the solo mode with the stories of each character instead of chosen for each character a CG their chose the stupid and lazy way the art with short dialogues.
  70. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    Only twenty characters, and none are unlock able within the game itself, the other characters are probably five bucks apiece. Good job Sony, a game that was made worse than one made almost five years ago. These are the other things that mess up the game, 1. Some moves seem similar 2. The final boss for the story mode in this game isn't the one that is mainly attacking, also stealing the silvered idea from ultimate marvel vs capcom 3/marvel vs. capcom 3 for ones actually head on attacking you 3. Most boring credits in video game history 4. You get hit way too far with certain attacks 5. Only able to kill with special attack/item 6. Parappa the rapper and a cat seem out of place 7. Dante from DmC? 8. No real reason for fighting each other in story mode 9. Can only use x to jump. There are also positive things that are in this game 1. Bosses from other games in final boss fight 2. Cut scenes for story mode 3. Characters look like they should 4. Fairly unique attacks 5. Ranking system 6. Unlock able things for all characters 7. Enjoyable to play. Lists for both sides will go on for a long time, each about equalling each other. Overall 6.4/10 Expand
  71. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Ok,I've seen a lot of bad reviews of this game and I had it for Christmas and I can say that this is it.THIS is the ultimate fighting game that the PS3 needed.It looks like SSB but it's a completely different experience.The online is great the kinds of battles that you can find are awesome.The only bad side is that there are missing a lot of characters as: Crash, Spyro, Snake(MGS), Spencer(Bionic Commando), Commander Shepard(Mass Effect) and the old Dante.If you own a copy of SSBB and you play this you'll not feel any difference because they are both great games.Buy this game!!! Expand
  72. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    Playstation All-Stars is a game that stands on its own. Well this game imports aspects from Super Smash Bros., it is it's own game. Playstation All-Stars incorporates a different new game play system, only being able to KO people through the use of special moves that you build by landing attacks and combos. The roster currently features 20 characters, with more on the way for DLC. The games unlock system could be better as leveling up your characters only allow you to customize your characters and unlock icons etc. instead of your character getting better, however the characters have quite a few customizable options. Offline Arcade Mode is simply battle after battle with no story behind the differing characters. Single Player Mode in general can prepare you for Online Play. Pros: - Maps are very detailed with events throughout the battle - Great multiplayer that is pretty balanced - Not laggy - Fun - Cons: - Single Player isn't detailed - Leveling characters up isn't beneficial. Expand
  73. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    While the concept of a Cross-Over Party Fighting game is definitly inspired by Super Smash Bros. , no comparisons can be made with the Nintendo successfull franchise. The gameplay is nervous and pretty fun, and some really stressful and therefore really gorgeous 1v1 can be seen. However, the concept of a Super Bar and of killing his opponents only by unleashing that super attack on your opponents becomes redundant... it's still a really fun game for Local Multiplayer. Expand
  74. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Wow i see a lot of hate in this. Giving a zero to a game? Seriously a zero? i understand a 4 but a 0 coming from people that just give 10's to nintendo and wii games is just lame. This is not about a console war, but about giving fair ratings to the games. If you didn't played it or you just don't like the Playstation just don't rate the games and come back for the nintendo. I like this game, it's not perfect but i have a lot of fun playing it on multiplayer and solo. And playing with some of my favorite characters of my loved games is just awesome. And again Kratos came and kicked-ass in this game. Expand
  75. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    I wish I could claim that this brought all my PS fantasies to life. But NO. I think it's just as good as SS in many ways but it just does feel big enough. Do you know what I mean?
  76. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    Is a very nice game overall, very addictive and fun.
    The cons of the game are the following: The rooster is poor (quality) for what it could be and makes you feel "incomplete" and with a lot of economical problems for having it good, makes you think that Dante for example maybe wouldn't be there if it weren't for his new game.
    Smaller roster, they could have added more characters of the
    same game like they have done with Infamous.
    feeling that the game is "incomplete", they could have more costumes, the character screens contains holes obviosly for futher characters that probably make it if the 3rd party wants, but thats the feeling a "they could have...".
    The best:
    Feeling of using each character extremely well done, when i use Drake for example i feel his hit and run style like if i were playing Uncharted, same as Dante and his combo cancels.
    Cool stages with lots of details.
    Very fun and addictive multiplayer.
    Expand
  77. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    All you need to know about this game is the gameplay which you'll love if you're a fighting game fan. It's simple yet deep and playing online against a more experienced foe always makes the game interesting and challenges you. However if you are buying this game to reunite with an old favorite like sir daniel fortesque or the classic parapa the rapper I suggest you pass. This game has a barely passable arcade mode that does nothing for the characters. If you really love the characters then you'll find their move set more fan serving then their paper thin plot and rivalries. However if you are considering passing on this game simply because it has a small roster I'd search for another reason. Each character has 3 attack buttons each with 4 moves that is a dozen attacks that have different uses on ground and air. that coupled with the ability to combo makes each character feel very unique and in some cases like DMC's Dante and Bioshock's Big Daddy make you feel as if the character has stepped straight to this game from their own sacrificing little if any of their controls or classic combos. And with DLC on the way I can promise a good deal of content incoming. Overall if you like fighting games with decent online play and highly nuanced characters this is for you, but if you are looking for a place to pal around with some of your old PS1 and PS2 buddies then I suggest you bust out the AV cord and dust off you old PS2. Expand
  78. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    More than I ever hoped for, sure SSB set the bar and that bar does not get toppled by PS-All Stars, but it does get met. The feel is there, those tense moments right at the end of the battle, the eclectic mix of characters brought together in a (mostly) balanced way each with their own style, and the variety in every battle. The kill system doesn't quite reach the levels that SSB hit, and there does need to be some additional balancing, and we do need more levels (Praise be to the age of DLC....) but if you liked SSB, which you should have, then don't pass this one up. Expand
  79. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    I love this game, the gameplay is great, graphics are good for what it is and levelling up is addictive. The issue with it is, is that the game is so unbalanced. Cratos is rediculasly overpowered and I can't stress over powered enough and sir Daniel is near useless. I just found out that an update is coming to make only sack boy less powerful and he is one of the weaker characters! Another complaint is that the supposed "story mode" has pretty much no story. A positive though is cross buy and cross play with the vita works absolutely perfectly. If you have a vita and ps3 this is a great feature, being able to carry on your games progress from the ps3 on the go with the vita is something that is amazing to actually do. Overall it's a good game with addictive elements and seamless cross play but some frustrating issues holds it back from being any where near the standerd of its rival super smash bros. Expand
  80. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    Arcade=Fun and Funny. Great time playing
    Online-If it wasnt for the OverlySpammable nature of players playing online this game would get at least a 9.5. Been playing online with a friend since it came out and all we have seen is spam...spam...spam...spam...spam...spam...kratos....spam....raiden....spam...spam...spam. Thats how it is. its rediculous. And i thought Brawl had alot of
    spammers NOPE!!!! All Stars promotes spamming. Its not a bad game its just the players that play it have no concept of the game or how to use the characters correctly. You can tell whos played brawl and who hasnt its sad.
    Offline wise-9.5/10
    Online-6.3/10
    Expand
  81. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I didn't want to bring up smash for this review, but it seems there is no choice and it must be said over and over again. This game is NOT super smash bros, so stop making the comparison. PSASBR is a very good game in his own way. It has a small learning curve, but there are plenty of tutorials to make you familiar with this game and each character.

    This game was made for multiplayer,
    and that I what I based my score on. The multiplayer in this game is great, playing with friends online or offline is a certainty of fun. Twenty characters is a good amount to start a franchise with. Again I have to make the comparison with smash, yes smash has more characters, but the first smash didn't had much characters as well. It might even had less then Battle Royale has right now. I see this game is being reviewed with very high scores, but then there are some low ones in there as well. Who are, from my prespective mostly of people who are defending smash and feel like this is a rip off. To those I say: Try the game, don't make a conclusion without even having touched the game. It is a very good game, in his one right. Expand
  82. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Overall, I really enjoy this game. The music is great, there are many different characters and maps to choose from, and the fighting is just so much fun! For each character there are many different things you can customize about them. You can change their costume, or maybe change their intro, outro, taunt, or victory music. The only problem I have with this game is that most of the cut scenes are just artwork. But the intro cut scene is just amazing! If you liked Super Smash Bros, you will love PlayStation All Stars Battle Royale. Expand
  83. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, if you read the negative reviews you'll see how ridiculous they are. I wasn't expecting much of this game but believe me, it surprises you, by the way it hasa story mode and lots of unlockables. Don't let trolls fool you.
  84. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, i'm not a fan of unrealistic fighters like this but i was blown away by the quality of this game, and i think it's kinda sad that some Nintendo fanboys are just giving it low scores calling it a clone or whatever, give this game a chance, it's not a clone, beleve me.
  85. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    On the outside PS All-Stars Battle Royale appeares to have the making of a huge brawling epic. The concept of all our PS All-Stars scrapping in imaginitive and fantastically crafted environments is a fabulous concept. For what All-Stars Battle Royale visually presents to the player, it doesn't disappoint. But when you play it, some of the magic starts to unravel and repetition starts sticking in. Each fight can simply be finished with mindless button spamming and the game never encourages different play styles. Sure this problem is similar with most fighters, but All Stars Battle Royale is likely to gain criticism for this. The prologue and epilogue cutscenes are lazy alternatives for full blown cutscenes and the final boss encounter is a total pushover of button spamming. Sure, this makes the game very accessible for Playstation fans and casual gamers, but there isn't a significant challenge, even on the legend setting. The best part about ASBR is that it has glimpses of brilliant rival potential. Seeing Drake and Sly or Ratchet/Clank and Jak/Daxter talking trash to each other are truly great snippets. Also that salivating Madeon backing intro shows the potential that All Stars Battle Royale has. It's a decent enough distraction for massive playstation fans, but is a real disappointment considering the monolithic potential it had combining the personalities of all these characters together. Expand
  86. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    A roster filled with Sony's flagship characters along with some recognizable third party visitors thrown into the mix. While bearing some similarities to the Smash Bros. series PlayStation All-Stars is a great game in it's own right.
  87. dz9
    Nov 30, 2012
    6
    Right off the bat, it is obvious that PS All Stars Battle Royale borrows inspiration from Super Smash Bros, but the similarities soon die there, but not for the better. Let's start with the good, PS All Stars has managed to integrate many different elements from various Playstation universes into one brawl successfully. The Playstation fan will be in awe after seeing how each character controls how they do in their actual titles, such as Nathan Drake's cover system attacks and Daunte's ability to chain Ebony and Ivory... such fan service should be applauded. But that's where the good ends, the gameplay itself is stale, sluggish, and bland. The main problem is that it's not dynamic like SSB, even with it's complex fighting mechanic (love it or hate it), the attacks never seem to be that rewarding. Which could contribute to the fact that there is no health system of any kind, leaving defense almost useless save for a few instances. The Good: Great artstyle, great integration of characters, amazing fan service, addicting online. The Bad: Stale unrewarding gameplay, bland and short campaign. Expand
  88. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I freaking love this game. I haven't been this addicted to a video game in such a long time. If you've been on the fence on this game, I suggests that you get it.
  89. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    A fun beat-em-up with 4 players, but as a fighting game it's horrendously flawed.

    If you're reading this you probably already know the premise of PlayStation All-Stars; A 4 play beat-em-up featuring (mostly) Sony characters.

    PSABR's combat system, which makes super moves the only method to get kills it both it's greatest strength and most crippling weakness. In a 4 player match, you
    can beat on other players gain super meter very quickly and strategize on which super would be best for their situation, leading to some genuinely fun moments in gameplay. 4 player (and 2v2 variants) fighting is unfortunately where the fun ends with this game. In a 1v1 setting it's horribly paced and fundamentally broken. When fighting against one person, super meter builds more slowly, often causing matches to drag on. This would not be a problem if match setting could be modified to include time as well as stock, but currently you can only choose one or the other. 1v1 character balance is also very poor. Characters like Raiden, Dante and Kratos have attacks with quick start up, long reach and a lot of active frames. This leads to getting hit when you thought an attack animation ended and getting hit when you thought an attack would miss. Many character also have easier ways to hit confirm into a LVL1 super than others. For example, Dante can combo, cancel, and then go into super for a guaranteed kill. Considering that LVL1 builds faster than any other super, his combos can build a full meter, and not many other characters can do this, this gives him a significant advantage, and that's barely scratching the surface of problems. I have played many competitive fighters and this game is in no way, shape or form a competitive fighter.

    The graphics for the game make the game look like a downloadable or budget title. The sound is fairly good. Most of the the themes come straight from their respective games. The slight remixes and music mash ups are entertaining.

    In terms of gametypes the game is very barebones with just the standard variations of supers-only-kill modes. The unlockable extras for each character are a welcome feature, but it ultimately feels....insubstantial. Especially considering the price of the game.

    (This small chunk of my review is opinionated and has little to do with the overall quality of the game): The roster for this game is also sorely lacking. I know fans of this game have their own camps, each asking for their third party character to make the roster for whatever reason, but what about Sony's first parties? Where are Level 5's character's? What about Team ICO? No Wipeout, No Wild Arms, No Legend of Dragoon, War of the Monsters, Frequency, Folklore, Mark of Kri, The list goes on. The creation of this game seems less about celebration of PlayStation throughout it's history and more about advertising their most currently relevant franchises, which would more than explain the incarnations of characters from unreleased games (at the time of this post).

    In the end, this game is quite fun as a 4 player mash up. Just don't expect it to be fun as anything else.
    Expand
  90. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I've only played the Smash games a few times, so I came into this game without any preconceptions. It is a BLAST to play. I love the AP mechanic and the super-move-kill gameplay. I have logged dozens of hours on this game since I bought it over the weekend. The only minor gripe I have is that the final boss seems a little underwhelming, but that really is only a very minor gripe.
    I
    like the roster, and hope they add some more Playstation favorites someday (Jumping Flash, or maybe Crash Bandicoot?)

    I highly recommend giving this game a try. It's also nice that you get the Vita version for free when you buy the PS3 version.
    Expand
  91. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    This game is really fun to play. I've thus far spent more than 20 hours with the game's story and trial mode and I'm still coming back for more whenever I have time. My friends and I really had a blast playing it together. Once they got used to the whole "only-deaths-with-supers" concept, everyone loved it. I must admit that I never played smash-brothers so I can't really compare to that but for me this was a really unique and fun experience. The online multiplayer also works great and gives you almost the same experience as having friends over playing. The only criticism I have is that the story mode is bland and unimaginative. The trial mode is also somewhat lame. If they had taken a few lessons from Nether Realms on this note and I would have easily given it a 10. Kratos also needs fixing, he's really over-powered (at least on a low-level, like me and my friends). Expand
  92. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game has fully lived up to my expectations (AND MORE!) I found the story mode (while not ABSOLUTELY PERFECT) pretty cool since each characters cutscenes felt like that is how it would be like in each of their respective games. With tons of modes for you to get into and really learn the ins and outs of this game as well as be able to practice with your favourite characters (That are all very unique and balanced, those who say otherwise just need to practice more and develop strategies in order to combat a character dubbed "OP") and truly be able to use them effectively. But the real fun is in the multiplayer! both online AND offline, it is super fun, deep and addictive and the more I play, the more I enjoy this game! There are MANY MANY moments within this game that get so intense and I'm like "DAMN, you got me there, but I'm gonna get you next time!". The multiplayer is really amazing with each character having their own distinct playstyles to them which is truly spectacular (ESP in 2v2 where you can combine 2 characters playstyles and use it to your advantage to take out the competition). But that's not all boys and girls (I'm REALLY loving Sweet Tooth in this game), as this game has ALOT of unlockables that will keep you busy for months and months to come! and this games customization features are really good as well! being able to customize my profile so that people recognize who they are dealing with online every time they see my profile card is just great! I absolutely love this game and can't wait to get the DLC that they will release for it! there is literally nothing that I DON'T like about this game! (sure it has its bugs here and there, but I know Superbot will fix them, plus they don't really bother me that much, so it doesn't hinder my experience at all)...YOU HAVE GOT TO GET THIS GAME! Expand
  93. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Ob man wohl als fette kleine Prinzessin eine Chance gegen den Gott des Krieges Kratos hat? Diese und viele weitere Fragen haben uns schon Jahre lang gequält. Jetzt können wir endlich selber herausfinden wer in einem solch ungleichen Kampf die Oberhand haben würde.
    Ich denke inzwischen dürften alle gemerkt haben von welchem Titel wir gerade reden. Natürlich ist es
    Playstation All-Stars : Battle Royale. Bevor wir aber nun zum Test kommen möchten wir ein Vorurteil schon mal aus dem Weg räumen. Playstation All Stars ist kein Super Smash Bros Klon. Es ist zwar nicht zu bestreiten das Expand
  94. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. Music and menu makes it look like I just grabbed it out of the 5$ bargain bin, but it plays like a fresh, polished, party fighting game. Some of the supers are better than others, but keep playing, you'll find a good balance.
  95. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Lots of fun to play with friends and plenty to do when playing alone. It's really good! The vita version is exactly the same as well. Just hope crash is added as dlc :)
  96. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    There are two major complaints that get made a lot when assessing this game. First is that it is a rip-off of Smash Bros. It is no more a copy of Smash Bros. than Street Fighter is a copy of Soulcalibur or Call of Duty is a copy of Halo. It is a different game in the genre of platform brawler, and as such has some similarity to all the other games in the genre (which is why it's called a genre). The second is that it doesn't play like Smash Bros (sadly enough, I've seen some reviews where both critiques were made in the same review). Once again, it is a different game in the same genre. Now that we have that cleared up, I would like to say that I love Super Smash Bros. We played it religiously in my dorms, to the point where we sometimes refered to each others by our preferred characters (I think on facebook somewhere there is still an album dedicated to those vicious tournaments...). However, looking objectively, Smash Bros. is not invulnerable, and Playstation All-Stars Battle Royal (referred to from here as PSASBR, even though both are a mouthful) does many things better in my opinion.

    Since this genre is all about characters, let's get that out of the way right here, right now. Although I am solidly in the Playstation category of video game players, I have also played a lot of nintendo games. Nintendo has fostered the most iconic characters the gaming industry will ever have, and PSASBR can not match that roster. In fact, I was at first a little put off by the strange mix-and-match of characters. Who can blame me when you can have a psychopathic clown, a cartoon karate cat, a space soldier, and an undead knight killing each other on the same stage? My advice: play through the story mode. It's not that great of a plot, but it helps you get to know the characters a little bit better. This will make the game much more fun since some people may not know much about the roster going into it. Another roster-related complaint is its size: only 20 playable characters. Although we have been spoiled with large fighting games recently, I would like to remind everyone that 20 is within the middle range for fighting games, and more characters are en route via free DLC (yes, you read that right).

    The core gameplay mechanic is what sets this game apart, and where it competes with Smash Bros. As you attack your fellow opponents, you gain energy, which you bank for level 1, level 2, or level 3 super-moves. When you release a super and land a successful attack, the character you hit temporarily disappears from the screen, and you score a kill. That's it. No health bars, no percentage meters making you lighter, and no death from falling off the stage. This game is more technique-oriented and it shows it by giving each character three attacks per button (normal, sideways on left stick, up on left stick, and down on left stick) for a total of nine different attacks (the fourth button is for jumping). On top of that, you can tilt the right stick to grapple your opponent, giving you three more options there (side, up, down), and you can block and pick up items to use. Items do a number of things from simply attacking from a distance to stealing meter from other players in the form of blue orbs. The best thing about this setup is that it favors actual fighting. Nobody can win by running away and waiting for the other players to weaken each other. If you don't fight, you don't build meter, and you can't score kills. End of story. And after having that one Smash Bros. player who picks Jigglypuff and floats around the stage until everyone is at 300% damage before joining the fray, it feels pretty damn good.

    While this is a promising start to a new PS franchise for us to enjoy, there are a few drawbacks. Some items are overpowered; a skilled player can steal an entire level's worth of meter with certain items. Perhaps the most inexplicable, though, is the existence of stun protection. Certain characters have moves that will temporarily knock a character unconscious, forcing them to crumple to the ground. These characters are made invulnerable until they recover from the stun, breaking up any potential combos or kill shots you may wish to use after. Justifying this in a game with no health bars would take some explaining, especially since Okizeme is a huge part of many fighting games with health bars!

    In short, this is a great addition to the platform brawler genre, and any Playstation fan with friends to play against will get many hours of enjoyment from this game. I look forward to a sequel to improve on what looks to be a great formula.
    Expand
  97. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    This game is much better than I expected. The fighting is deep, the controls are perfect, and the supers system works really well and is a nice change of pace from every other fighter. The only annoyance is why the hell is Bioshock Infinite and MG Rising and the new DMC in here when they aren't even released. If any of them end up sucking, they will be forever stuck tarnishing this game.
  98. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I just can't express my disappointment enough with this game! So here is my review: GRAPHICS: For a PS3 game that has some of the most iconic characters in gaming history, it also has some of the most bland, simplistic, and uninspiring visuals I have seen in a long time. Anyone would think that a game of this caliber would show off what the PS3 is capable of doing...but is this truly a PS3 title? or more like a Vita mediocre game ported to the PS3!?
    AUDIO: Well no matter how bad a game can be, the sound is pretty hard to mess up. With that said the sound is proper but not memorable.
    GAMEPLAY: This is where I have to say DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY...although this is NO CLONE to MASH BROTHERS, you will wish it was. This game is plagued by so many under developed gameplay ideas not to mention how badly UNBALANCED this title is...it will irritate you to no end....is it me or these characters have a "floating motion" every time you jump or get hit.!? BOTTOM LINE: With Uninspiring visuals and lack of character detail, an OK audio, and Under developed gameplay ideas I have to say I do regret my purchase....this game needs a day 1 patch right away, but I doubt the graphics can be redone to make them worth of the title "ALL STARS".
    Expand
  99. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised by this game. I will admit, I was a little bit skeptical at first as I was worried that the combat would be broken or very unbalanced and that it would be just a lazy knockoff of super smash bros brawl. I was wrong. The graphics are great, combat is quite technical and more varied than super smash bros as you have light, medium and heavy attacks and you can also perform various combos with each character, meaning it's not all button mashing. After you've finished each character's story, you'll spend most of your time online, which is quite fun and it is easy to find a match. However, I'm just slightly disappointed with the roster. There's just about 20 characters and while that's not too bad, I was expecting a lot more recognisable favorites such as Spyro, Crash Bandicoot, Sora and maybe even Solid Snake. I don't see the point in adding characters like Toro the cat. All in all, I really enjoyed this game. Well worth the money, every playstation owner should pick this up. Also, the PS3 version comes with a download for the PS Vita version of the game, which is fantastic. Expand
  100. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!!! At first, I didn't fully appreciate the game for it's depth; as will most people, but I promise that the more you play, the more you will enjoy it. The game plays nothing like smash (sorry, had to mention it). Besides for the similar button lay-out and 2-D gameplay. Besides that, they are completely different games. The story isn't too strong, but the multiplayer is where it shines. The game plays on a "super" system which is a blast to play around with and has deep combo systems. The characters are really balanced and each feel wholly unique (even with cole and evil cole). Don't judge a book by it's cover and overlook it as just another smash rip-off. This game is fun and the more you play it, THE MORE FUN IT GETS. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    Playstation All-Stars battle Royale: Not the all-star moment everyone was hoping for, Playstation All-Stars battle Royale is instead a decent enough fighter with serious balance problems and a boring cast. [March 2013]
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    It adds that element of strategizing, especially in online play, where a player can knock out all three of their opponents in fell swoop. Plus, much to my amazement, a character I had no experience using won me my first online match – thank you, Jak.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Overall, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is mildly fun.