Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 468 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battle Royale is a brawler featuring a broad array of PlayStation characters and worlds. From Kratos to Sly Cooper, Sweet Tooth to Parappa the Rapper, Sony characters from throughout Sony history are brought together in a brawling adventure that's simple to pick up and tough to master. Bring the battle online for competitive multiplayer fury, or go head to head with a group of opponents at your pad to prove who's the top dog. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    91
    Playstation All Stars Battle Royal is an amazing fighting game wrapped in an idea we have seen before. When it comes down to it, what makes a great game in any genre is balance and All Stars has it in droves. Although some will never see its brilliance, I would maintain that once played it could change the mind of many a sceptic. Add to this a return for some of Playstation's well missed characters and awesome value for money in Cross Buy and you have one of the most refreshing fighting games in years.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    As a tribute to the PlayStation family it could have been better, but as a fighting game it's outstanding. Loads of fun based on a great multiplayer will have us playing for a long while.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    83
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale has a lot going for it. I find the single-player a tad disappointing, the learning curve can actually feel too steep for certain characters, and you may start hearing about various combat balancing issues (I'll bet money on that). But the control is rock solid, the entertainment is always of a certain quality with virtually no glaring flaws or drawbacks, the diversity and variety of the roster is absolutely fantastic, and the multiplayer could definitely attract a great many people.
  4. 80
    A tribute to the PlayStation fans that have supported the brand over the years, and whom have been eagerly awaiting a game like this since the advent of Smash Bros. SuperBot has delivered a game that embodies everything these iconic PlayStation franchises and characters offer, and it will surely make PlayStation fans proud.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    75
    All-Stars is clearly similar to Smash Bros., especially because it's far more fun to play with friends. Solo, it quickly becomes repetitive and doesn't give you much reason to continue. If you have company over, however, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale can be a lot of chaotic fun.
  6. Battle Royale is an otherwise tightly designed and technically accomplished fighting game. Consulting our crystal balls – not a euphemism – we see it acquiring a small but dedicated following on the tournament scene. It'll never be as big as Street Fighter or Tekken, but it'll always be present on the periphery. [Christmas 2012, p.70]
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 198
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Collapse
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games on the PS3. Before the game's release I heard about the combat system where you do not dish out damage, but instead build up AP (All-Star Power) for what resembles a "final smash" and I was really disappointed. When I actually bought the game I had no problems with the gameplay and combat system. Online matches aren't very fun, everyone wishes characters like Spyro and Crash could appear in the game, and there should be the option to play Smash style for the people who wanted just that. Still, this is easily one of my most-played games and totally worth the money. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I'm the biggest Smash brother fan, and I gotta say this game is 10000000000% better than Smash Brother. Nothing in that game can beat this one. It's just so amazing! Supers check, amazing characters check, awesome stages check. It's the whole package. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    This game is fun it is a lot like super smash bro.s in looks but it is much harder to master and the play style is different there are many different modes in this game similar to smash bro.s but as much because smash bro.s has had time to fix there mistakes in the past the stages and character designs are awesome but there arent enough characters despite that there is promised dlc coming levels and characters alike the multiplayer works great almost no lag 99% of the time if you are a fan of fighting games or playstation you should get this its very fun Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    An superb take on the brawler genre! Whilst it does have its problems including character balancing issues (Kratos in particular is still a bit of a nuisance.) and at times it feels as if all the skills you've learned in the trial modes don't quite pay off online, as a whole its a great games. Now there are obvious comparisons to SSB but I suggest that's where you stop with artistic concept. The gameplay mechanisms are so different that to go into this expecting SSB is a big mistake. Unlike the team Sora's title this game tries to find a middle ground between party brawler and serious fighter, which leads to its distinctiveness but also it's downfalls. As stated above learning a full set of moves and how to implement combos might work out effectively for the most part, especially in 1 V 1 but not so much with 4 brawlers on the screen, which is disappointing but not the end of the world as they will still come in handy when your not pelted to the other side of the screen. Finally to get my last to 'bad' points out of the way, the presentation of the game defiately lacks finesse. Bare menus, often WTF VO's for the intro and a slapdash approach to many of the rival battles is slightly disapointing and is a low note. The 'Last boss' is also very disappointing, fair enough I didn't want a boss as hard as Seth or Shao Khan but I did want a boss which wasn't just a collection of fighter from the game it is quite underwhelming and I belive it might have been better to take the Seth approach in having a single boss with the move set of a few of the characters from the game, it just seems like a missed opportunity. With all of this said the game really shines with its seamless cross play functionality and cross save functionality which run flawlessly (albeit without cross trophy support currently). Also some of the deeper depth is great and whilst I moaned a bit about it earlier its certainly nice to have some deeper skill under the hood the the mechanics. The roster is nice and varied and actually I find the close ranged characters better despite many complaining about the long rangers. But most of all its great fun especially in MP, and if you have a whole group of your friends in a party on Vita and PS3 it is an absolute blast to play. Presentation: 7
    Gameplay:8.5
    Graphics: 8
    Longevity: 9.5
    Overall: 8.5
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    7
    Oh boy another smash bros game! What's that? It's actually different from that series? Really? Actually I'm not joking, it does have certain factors that make it different from that great series. but that can be the major downfall of the game too. First I'll start with what I like, the idea: not original, but cool to see video games icons beat the crap out of each other. The gameplay is good, adding some strategy and combos into it. now to the stuff that I don't entirely agree with, or simply don't enjoy. the roster isn't really doing it for me, I enjoy only about 3 or 4 of the 20 characters, and some can be clearly better than others. The presentation is very lame/boring, showing just pictures of the characters in the background on the main menu and when the game loads, I'm not saying there's a right way to do it, but I wish it wasn't this. All in all, I think it's okay, could've been better. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    I personally disliked this game to no end. Although, I did give it a chance and for a while I could manipulate its character unbalance and the broken game mechanics and overpowered moves to actually be pretty high on the leader boards. This never took away the air of a genuinely underdeveloped game idea though. It is almost as if all of the time it took to come out was spent completely on just getting it done and not spent at all on play testing. The characters move well and the moves come out well and interact with the world well and all of that, but that's just the basics of the basics in any game type. This was meant to be a multi-player brawler between friends on a singular system or online with leader-boards because no game can survive without it these days. And in that way, they achieved their goal. But the environments were genuinely frustrating and badly interfered with the game-play by zooming out so you cannot see where you are and what you are doing. And that's before they hit you like they are supposed to. Literally any movement from a background obstacle would cause you to lose track of your progress towards defeating an enemy. Unless you have an insanely large television. This game is most fun when you get together with a few close friends and all have a pact at the beginning not to put each other into endless, unbreakable combos until death. This of course is lost with any online play, due to the way many new age gamers are. Items are a nuisance that can be turned off while you play by yourself and if you get your friends to agree. But, once again, the online aspect takes that away brilliantly with settings that can change constantly and almost immediately. Take the latter, and all of the interference's causing visual problems and add crippling lag and unbalanced character moves and specials, along with the demeanor of the online play and you have a lovely spam fest of What in the literal Christ is going on and how can I execute myself as quickly and painlessly as possible so I no longer have to play this sodding game". They were trying to make something different. Or so we were constantly reminded while the opposite is very apparent. Even so. Does not make it any better. Does not make it playable. Does not make it enjoyable. What they made is barely a game. It played largely on the nostalgia effect to no end and it became the only good part of the game. The characters move and feel the way they do in their games? Well how about that. Were we expecting them to destroy that expectation too? Not worth buying it when it just came out and not worth buying it period. Do yourself a favor and pick up a largely more retro fighter and you'll be better off. Expand

See all 198 User Reviews