Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 446 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battle Royale is a brawler featuring a broad array of PlayStation characters and worlds. From Kratos to Sly Cooper, Sweet Tooth to Parappa the Rapper, Sony characters from throughout Sony history are brought together in a brawling adventure that's simple to pick up and tough to master. Bring the battle online for competitive multiplayer fury, or go head to head with a group of opponents at your pad to prove who's the top dog. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    91
    Playstation All Stars Battle Royal is an amazing fighting game wrapped in an idea we have seen before. When it comes down to it, what makes a great game in any genre is balance and All Stars has it in droves. Although some will never see its brilliance, I would maintain that once played it could change the mind of many a sceptic. Add to this a return for some of Playstation's well missed characters and awesome value for money in Cross Buy and you have one of the most refreshing fighting games in years.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    As a tribute to the PlayStation family it could have been better, but as a fighting game it's outstanding. Loads of fun based on a great multiplayer will have us playing for a long while.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    83
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale has a lot going for it. I find the single-player a tad disappointing, the learning curve can actually feel too steep for certain characters, and you may start hearing about various combat balancing issues (I'll bet money on that). But the control is rock solid, the entertainment is always of a certain quality with virtually no glaring flaws or drawbacks, the diversity and variety of the roster is absolutely fantastic, and the multiplayer could definitely attract a great many people.
  4. 80
    A tribute to the PlayStation fans that have supported the brand over the years, and whom have been eagerly awaiting a game like this since the advent of Smash Bros. SuperBot has delivered a game that embodies everything these iconic PlayStation franchises and characters offer, and it will surely make PlayStation fans proud.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    75
    All-Stars is clearly similar to Smash Bros., especially because it's far more fun to play with friends. Solo, it quickly becomes repetitive and doesn't give you much reason to continue. If you have company over, however, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale can be a lot of chaotic fun.
  6. Battle Royale is an otherwise tightly designed and technically accomplished fighting game. Consulting our crystal balls – not a euphemism – we see it acquiring a small but dedicated following on the tournament scene. It'll never be as big as Street Fighter or Tekken, but it'll always be present on the periphery. [Christmas 2012, p.70]
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    20
    The constant parallels to Super Smash Bros. eventually undermine Playstation All-Stars, which has nowhere near the generosity, enthusiasm, or longevity of a Super Smash Bros.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 192
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    For real, give this game a chance. if you go in with the mindset of playing this like super smash, then you will only lose every match. This game plays different and is different. The combat system is slick and very fluid. The roster is great, though it leaves a bit more to be desired. In all you will be getting a game that has many unlockables, is a great bang for your money, and is very polished. Get this game. Collapse
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games on the PS3. Before the game's release I heard about the combat system where you do not dish out damage, but instead build up AP (All-Star Power) for what resembles a "final smash" and I was really disappointed. When I actually bought the game I had no problems with the gameplay and combat system. Online matches aren't very fun, everyone wishes characters like Spyro and Crash could appear in the game, and there should be the option to play Smash style for the people who wanted just that. Still, this is easily one of my most-played games and totally worth the money. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I'm the biggest Smash brother fan, and I gotta say this game is 10000000000% better than Smash Brother. Nothing in that game can beat this one. It's just so amazing! Supers check, amazing characters check, awesome stages check. It's the whole package. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I'm probably going to be very biased here. This is a great game if you are a long time Playstation fan. No, i'm not talking about being a fan since the mid PS2 era. I mean a LOOOONG time Playstation fan. Back when the PS1 was fairly big and competing with the N64. This is not to say that people who grew up at a later era, or are just getting into the console can't enjoy this game either. This game, much like Smash, is simply a celebration of the history of systems universe, the memories it made for us as kids, and a great way to show off the oldies to the new generation. Though, the selection of characters is a tad disappointing (for both good and bad reasons), and will leaving you asking "Where's Spyro?" or the like. The gameplay is solid, taking it's Ps and Qs directly from Smash, but adding their own twists. It's a real pick up and play game, but it's difficulty leaves something to be desired (one could clear nearly all of the challenges and stories on All-Star mode (Hard mode)) The stages are interesting, but the amount of things going on at once can strain the eyes a bit. Pulling off supers at the right moment is a tad repettitive, but can be wicked fun if you know what you're doing. The story mode is a little bland, leaving only still images with voice overs narrating over it at the start and end, one interesting cutscene when you face off against your "rival character", and the rest of it is a bunch of battles against random characters. No real rhyme or reason. Customization of characters via their taunts, intros, outros and even their victory music is a nice touch, but it's too bad they couldn't take it a step further and have more customization options for the character itself. Online used to be a bit of a hassle, but since the patch, things seem to be working fine right now. The multi-player vs matches have only a few select modes, which is a little disappointing, but it's possible the developers may create new modes later on. For what it is, the dedication the development team has to keep pumping in content after it's release, and the fact that it is a decently solid 1st entry to the world of 2.5D fighters, you can't entirely go wrong with this little gem. Go and be an All-Star. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Why do people feel the need to sabotage the user review system? Just because you do not like certain aspects of the game, it does not mean the game deserves a 0. Similarly, I'm sure you may think the game is good, but that does not automatically make it worthy of a 10. You're all taking away from the credibility of the score.
    Anyway, I've been enjoying the game thoroughly so far. While at first I assumed you could just button mash your way to victory, I couldn't have been more wrong. The more you experiment with the game, the more you discover of the gameplay mechanics. There really is a hidden depth to it all.
    I do agree that the menus are a little bland, but I don't plan on spending a huge amount of time here, and they are very easy to navigate so I can't complain too much here. It is also a shame that there aren't all that many game modes, but I would likely be focusing most of my time on the multiplayer free for all and team deathmatch anyway, and I'm glad to say these are an absolute blast! Great game, and I expect I'll be spending countless hours with it to come, so well worth the investment in my personal opinion.
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    Super Smash bros melee is a lot better with regards to the controls and responsiveness of the characters.
    Good music. The level design may
    seem a bit distracting at times. Zeus is overpowered on multilayer since its hard to 1v1 him. More DLC characters are on the way. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    I personally disliked this game to no end. Although, I did give it a chance and for a while I could manipulate its character unbalance and the broken game mechanics and overpowered moves to actually be pretty high on the leader boards. This never took away the air of a genuinely underdeveloped game idea though. It is almost as if all of the time it took to come out was spent completely on just getting it done and not spent at all on play testing. The characters move well and the moves come out well and interact with the world well and all of that, but that's just the basics of the basics in any game type. This was meant to be a multi-player brawler between friends on a singular system or online with leader-boards because no game can survive without it these days. And in that way, they achieved their goal. But the environments were genuinely frustrating and badly interfered with the game-play by zooming out so you cannot see where you are and what you are doing. And that's before they hit you like they are supposed to. Literally any movement from a background obstacle would cause you to lose track of your progress towards defeating an enemy. Unless you have an insanely large television. This game is most fun when you get together with a few close friends and all have a pact at the beginning not to put each other into endless, unbreakable combos until death. This of course is lost with any online play, due to the way many new age gamers are. Items are a nuisance that can be turned off while you play by yourself and if you get your friends to agree. But, once again, the online aspect takes that away brilliantly with settings that can change constantly and almost immediately. Take the latter, and all of the interference's causing visual problems and add crippling lag and unbalanced character moves and specials, along with the demeanor of the online play and you have a lovely spam fest of What in the literal Christ is going on and how can I execute myself as quickly and painlessly as possible so I no longer have to play this sodding game". They were trying to make something different. Or so we were constantly reminded while the opposite is very apparent. Even so. Does not make it any better. Does not make it playable. Does not make it enjoyable. What they made is barely a game. It played largely on the nostalgia effect to no end and it became the only good part of the game. The characters move and feel the way they do in their games? Well how about that. Were we expecting them to destroy that expectation too? Not worth buying it when it just came out and not worth buying it period. Do yourself a favor and pick up a largely more retro fighter and you'll be better off. Expand

See all 192 User Reviews