PlayStation Move Ape Escape Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You will travel through time in search for Specter to help your new partners, Tohko and Tsukushi. Pipo monkeys will come and try to steal their favorite bananas from you. Chase around and capture more than 700 monkeys, the largest number of franchise! Get yourself ready with the Move controller and capture the pipo monkeys!! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    60
    Ape Escape is quite funny, but the gameplay is too repetitive and boring to keep you motivated.
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    56
    A disappointing game, that although succeeds in being a game for all types of public, is too repetitive and has a very limited cooperative gameplay.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    52
    Long-term Ape fans will be disappointed. [Sept 2011, p.92]
  4. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Short, boring and not very inspired. This is exactly what we feared about Move: a rerun of Wii's worst mistakes.
  5. 40
    Not even nicely suited apes are able to save this repetitive, visually obsolete and boring game. You better get drunk before trying this ape hunt. [Issue#207]
  6. Jul 29, 2011
    40
    A wasted opportunity to show off Move control. [Sept 2011, p.102]
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    30
    The original Ape Escape was charming and innovative, but this entry is as basic as motion gaming gets. What really hurts is that there's no reason why Ape Escape couldn't have been the game to take the waggle genre to the next level, if only it had a bit more passion behind it.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    единственная нормальная игра на эту парашу пс 3, озон и ваномас мрази =* Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    I am really surprised why you have rated this game so low. Of course it is not a must-have production, but just an entertainment to fulfill short time. Yes, the goals are almost the same, but I could really enjoy 20-30 minute`s sessions with Ace Escape. If you don`t predict a lot from that game, you can be surprised how much fun it it gonna give you. I paid for that about 3000JPY, which means about 28 USD and I do not regret. I am sure I will be back to Ace Escape after tiring day at work or during relaxing days at home for make me a good mood. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    this is NOT ape escape. Ape escape is about freedom and catching monkeys. Its about using the dualshock analog controller. NOT about using a dumb stick to move the gadgets around. This game is trash. I cant BELIEVE they used time they could of used for ape escape 4 on this hunk of trash. I want my money back sony. Collapse