Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Poker Night 2 is the sequel to Poker Night where you play poker with a bunch of "weirdos" officially licensed, triple 'A' characters such as Claptrap, Brock Samson, Ash Williams, and Sam.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Poker is a lot of fun when played amongst good company, which is definitely the case in Poker Night 2. Claptrap from Borderlands and GlaDOS from Portal steal the show with their goofy remarks. But once you have collected all the goodies, you just want to seat yourself at a real poker table. [June 2013, p.90]
  2. May 14, 2013
    70
    It’s definitely more fun than it has any right to be, but its lasting appeal is seriously questionable.
  3. 55
    Hidden underneath all the issues with Poker Night 2, there’s an enjoyable game. If Telltale manages to patch Poker Night 2 on the PS3 to a level where it runs smoothly, you should buy it, especially if you’re a fan of the characters features in the game. Since we aren’t at that point yet, hold on to your money.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    55
    Undeniably funny and entertaining. Too bad it's a dreadful poker game. [Issue#232, p.83]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    A pretty decent poker game, but that's not the reason you should get it. You should get it in order to sit around and play poker with some fantastic licensed characters and listen to the hilarious dialog. If there's one thing that Telltale games has proved over the years it's that they know how to capture what makes an established series so great. It's truly like you are sitting down and playing poker with these characters, and the conversations and lines of dialog that you hear are incredibly funny. I've laughed out loud numerous times while playing this game.

    As for the gameplay it's what you would expect from a poker game. You get to play Omaha and Texas Hold'em and can unlock some sweet prizes. It's perfectly enjoyable but unfortunately technical issues do plague the game. Every now and then the game will freeze for a second or two in the middle of playing. It doesn't ruin the game, but it is a noticeable issue. The only other issue with the game is that after you unlock everything there's not much reason to keep playing, unless you just love poker. But even then once the dialog starts repeating most of the magic in this game fades away.

    Still even with it's issues "Poker Night 2" is another great game from Telltale. They once again prove that they know how to capture what makes these characters, and the works of fiction that they come from, so great. Even more impressive is how they manage to bring several characters from several different series and put them together into a good poker game. All in all you can consider me impressed with this game. It's a lot of fun and super hilarious.
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    The game is very fun, charactes are so amazing, I can't even begin to describe it. Some of their line got me laughing so hard, I almost fell out of the chair. But the freezing problem made of by constant saving of the game makes experience not as fun as it could be. Still, very fun game. Expand
  3. May 8, 2014
    7
    People are so damn easy to anger when it comes down to video games. Do they even realize the Poker Night franchise is like a mini-game made by the folks at Telltale? This isn't a normal franchise that a dev will invest on. Telltale's employees were going to get paid for nothing since they were ahead of time on their schedule for their main games. So, they decided to work on some other game in-between and that's how Poker Night 1 and 2 saw the light of day.

    Alright, so maybe it won't justify the occasional freezes, but at least you can't expect it to be a big budget blockbuster like GTA, for the love of Miyamoto!

    Yeah, it does freeze a lot. And it is annoying. And it will indeed affect my rating. Now let's move on, shall we?

    This game is funny. You're bound to know a least one of the 4 characters sitting at the table - they are so diverse and they all have their own fans. The interaction between them is hilarious. Whoever wrote the dialogues for this game should do stand up. The conversations keep you entertained and are very similar to real life poker games - of course, you don't talk with robots or talking dogs, but you will chat about all sorts of things. It has a relaxed laid-back feeling to it which is, to me, essential in poker games.

    The character animations are nicely done and so are the graphics, considering this isn't a big budget game.

    The music is especially good. It features new renditions of songs heard in Borderlands, Army of Darkness, Venture Bros and Sam & Max and they're all nice, smooth jazz tunes. It adds an atmosphere to the game for sure. Once you unlock stuff, you end up unlocking new "levels" that come with new songs as well, so there's a lot of diversity here for a poker game.

    Now, this game only is playable offline, so the IA had to be good. And it is pretty good for a AI. Sure, it will sometimes behave abnormally ( going all in with just a pair of 6's with no cards on the table yet ), but most of the time, it will simulate real players in a pretty believable manner. It can bluff relatively well. After some hours, you can identify the AI's behavior and have a pretty good idea of what to come, but it's still better than the vast majority of poker AI's out there. In comparison, the Red Dead Redemption poker AI is mentally challenged. Poker Night's AI will not let you win easily, that's for sure, but it is not "cheating" at all. It's simply aware of the % of chances it might or might not win with the cards it has. It might be a little more ahead of you in that department, but if you are slightly experinced at the game, you'll hold your own pretty well. Don't believe those who claim this game is too difficult or impossible to beat. It's just a good simulation of what an average poker game is in real life with people who actually know what they are doing.

    I noticed there's a way to get the players drunk by paying them drinks. I never really saw the so-called effects of the drinks. The game says the characters are more prone to show their emotions which could tell whether or not they have a good hand. Sure, some animations do tell, but sometimes it's just confusing. How are you supposed to know Claptrap is bluffing when the dude's a robot?

    Unfortunately, once you've figured out the AI, the game becomes easier and easier and the dialogues end up repeating over and over again. There's no multiplayer ( that could've been the redeeming factor - too bad ). This game lacks replay value once you've unlocked everything. If Telltale really wants this franchise to become a serious poker franchise, they need to add multiplayer in their next installment of Poker Night.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    4
    I love telltale, although I never heard about Poker Night 2 until today, when I found it free for PS Plus subscribers. Otherwise, pay 8 dollars. Thank god I didn't do the latter.
    Sure, the dialogue is fun, and for a portal geek as I am, seeing GLaDOS doing maleficent jokes along with Claptrap, Ash from Army of Darkness, Sam from Sam and Max and Brock from whatever is he from was super enjoyable...The first playthroughs. Then it is a boring, repetitive game with some serious technical issues.
    The enjoyment is quickly cut short by the poor graphics and framerate, along with several freezes...ALL THE TIME. It practically makes it unplayable. The animations sometimes come late, the lyp syncing is bad...The game on a technical point of view is an utter complete disaster, and some of the worst I have played.
    The first playthroughs, I loved the dialogue and jokes the characters made. But after you played a lot, they start to repeat, with no more variation. The game tries to keep replayability by an unlocking system with themed cards and coins from Portal, Borderlands, Sam and Max, etc. The truth is, with only two game modes and limited dialogue options, there are not that many reasons to keep coming back. And the freezes are so annoying it is barely any enjoyment.
    My recommendation? Don't buy this game. Sure, it has some of gaming's best characters and some tongue-to-cheek humour, but it is also a poorly developed, empty and horribly bland game. Just grab some cards and play poker in real life. It sure freezes less.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Almost unplayable on PS3. It freezes way too much to be enjoyable. While the banter is mildly entertaining, this is one of the worst poker mediums I've ever played. Collapse
  6. May 5, 2013
    2
    This game is broken on PS3. The stuttering and freezes isn't occasional. It is ALL OF THE TIME. Makes a slow game of poker even slower. For some reason it wants to save between hands and it will just stutter the audio. I think it saves between hands because it will also freeze indefinitely causing you to restart every once and a while. Telltale dumps some shoddy stuff on PS3 again. Not sure how you can screw up a POKER GAME. The dialog is hit miss on the funny but is hampered by a delivery on PS3 that is less than ideal. Buy elsewhere if you find the characters so hilarious you want to play Poker with them. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    The game is fun. I like omaha poker. The characters are a whoot and taking claptraps money is a blast. To bad the game stutters and freezes. Why release such a game Expand

See all 9 User Reviews