User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 974 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 974
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twistsThis is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twists which will make you scratch your head and keep playing just to see what's going on; and new gameplay devices are introduced smoothly and expertly, never overwhelming the player. It's also interesting to see how Valve handled co-op mode: it's a whole new campaign by itself, and it features an indicator system that may not be as effective as using an actual headset, but it's surprisingly functional all the same. All in all, there's nothing wrong to be found here... Unless you're so spoiled about game length to the point that 16 hours devoted to high quality gaming isn't as good as 40 hours managing inventory just so you can endure another 40 hours of medieval fantasy cliches. Then, and only then, Portal 2 isn't the game for you. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Most well designed puzzle game of all time, and it's also the funniest game i've ever played. Truly a genius work of art.
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    A wonderful game that does the original justice while adding wonderful new elements. Do not listen to the trolls, this game isn't 5 hours long or crappy. Not even close to a waste of money.
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    great game but with dated graphics, very short review but sums the game up well. Recommend for people who didn't fail school and can play chess AND can count to ten and name every letter in the alphabet =0
  5. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Gra jest po prostu znakomita. Zdecydowanie najlepsze growe doÅ
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    If I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treatIf I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treat robots/machines today. The three main characters in the game are excellent; chell is quiet, wheatley blabber mouths away and glados is stubborn, it overall creates a interesting experience where you bounce between glados and Wheatleys control throughout the story. The story by the way is awesome. The puzzles are smart, fun and are worth the effort. Its amazing. A must buy game. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It's not too short. It's short, but not too short. The people finishing this quickly simply are great at puzzle games. I don't think most people are so you will get your time out of it. I did.
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Since all you fanboys, and anti-fanboys, can't use a number other than 10, or 0, I'll be the voice of reason. I just finished the single player campaign and have no qualms with offering an 8/10 for this title overall. ~$60 does seem a bit pricey for what amounts to 6-7 hours spc time, but with the hours of enjoyment dropping someone else into an acid bath as an added bonus I'd consider itSince all you fanboys, and anti-fanboys, can't use a number other than 10, or 0, I'll be the voice of reason. I just finished the single player campaign and have no qualms with offering an 8/10 for this title overall. ~$60 does seem a bit pricey for what amounts to 6-7 hours spc time, but with the hours of enjoyment dropping someone else into an acid bath as an added bonus I'd consider it money well spent. Another factor not reasoned by many are potential challenge modes (fewest portals, steps, least time), a la numero un. The story is well crafted, and yes there is a cliffhanger. Do you not want a third installment? Graphics are improved, but not markedly from the original. We are talking about Valve here. For those complaints concerning the stupid hats and glasses offered as DLC, if you don't want a stupid hat or glasses don't buy them!!!11 It's called capitalism, if no one buys the crap it'll either not be offered or will be bundled in the next one.
    tl;dr better graphics than first, little pricey, don't buy extra s#$t 8/10
    Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    This game positively surprised me, as I am normally not a huge puzzle game fan, In fact i hate time.
    But i quite liked Portal 2, except some Puzzles that were ridiculously hard.
  10. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controlsThis is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controls are easy to use, there's a fun story to the game, like I said already, it's a funny game. Also, new character Cave Johnson is nothing short of amazing. The game looks great, and it has a lot of very well done and at times complex puzzles. The length seems to be an issue with some people, but for the type of game that it is, it's about the right length. Overall this game may wind up being the crowning jewel in the Portal series, as it will be very difficult to beat. This is a game that I consider to be an all time great game. Expand
  11. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal. Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly. I needed tons of help to get through the original portal, I
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original
    The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal.
    Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly.
    I needed tons of help to get through the original portal,
    I only got stumped in portal 2 maybe 2 or 3 times total towards the end.
    Portal 2 is even more unpredictable than the original was, there are so many twists and turns with the story and levels that you have no idea where the end of one puzzle is going to take you.
    It was a great and much needed change of pace to go back and forth between testing rooms and half life style locations
    really kept the gameplay and story moving forward, making it almost impossible to put your controller down.
    There are a few added puzzle aspects such as light bridges, anti gravity beams, gels, and being able to redirect laser beams, but if im being honest these additions felt more gimmicky to me than innovative.
    if its not broke don’t fix it.
    I feel like the developers tried to cram too much into this game too fast.
    Portal 2 also features a co op mode, unfortunately though, at least on ps3, there seems to be issues connecting to steam so you are stuck playing local co op rather than online
    this isn’t an issue if you have friends.
    but as glados will tell you
    I don’t have any friends so I couldn’t effectively get through the 6 levels or get a true co op experience.
    I did however play back and forth through a couple of levels and love the challenge added of having to actually effectively work together with now 4 portals.
    Portal 2 is the same charming and addicting puzzle game as the original with still so much added to make it a much better overall experience.
    With the puzzle solving greatly dumbed down, and the characters still hilarious, and a very worthwhile ending, you owe it to yourself to run through this amazingly charming puzzle game.
    for what it is
    First Person Puzzle Platformer:
    9.5/10

    Overall:
    9/10
    Expand
  12. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    For me best game of the year up to now. Im not one of those people that give a 10 if they like a game and a 0 if they dont , that is why the user score is not that good , but im giving it a 10 because i think it deserves it. The writing was EXCELLENT being one of the most funny games i have ever played , the music was OMG if your in to that type and the puzzles where not to difficult butFor me best game of the year up to now. Im not one of those people that give a 10 if they like a game and a 0 if they dont , that is why the user score is not that good , but im giving it a 10 because i think it deserves it. The writing was EXCELLENT being one of the most funny games i have ever played , the music was OMG if your in to that type and the puzzles where not to difficult but well enough made to make you use your brain , which is fine with me . The major complaints about this game is about its day 1 dlc and its length. First of all you should not rate a game by its dlc but what comes in the package. What if the best game in the world for you comes out and the next day dlc comes out for it ? Whould your opinion about the game change in any way ? The correct answer is NO so stop reading reviews from people that gave the game a 2 because it dint have some hats ( wtf ? ) in it for free . Now about the time that it takes you to complete this game i can understand people complaining especially if they rarely buy a game . Thow this game is not short by any means ( about 12-18 hours with coop ) for a game at this age , its probably not enough for some people . If a game has just got single player it should last 60 hours or if it has multiplayer it should last someone a whole year . For me i believe that that VALVe has chosen quality over quantity ( as i said thow its not that short as people keep saying ) so i dont think i should reduct points from it. Before i finish i want to say that this is the ps3 version so you also get steam on your console which gives you steam achievements cross platform coop with the pc and mac steam cloud which allows you to save your ps3 progress and continue on your pc . Oh dint i mention ? if you puy the game for the ps3 you also get a code to download it for free on steam . FOR FREE PEOPLE so its not a complete waste of money is it ? VALVe i Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to continue to play the game. Why? It was so brilliant. That's why.

    The puzzles are interesting, clever and funny. While the enviroment isin't really interesting and I couldn't even hear the music except for the ending, the game just keeps being enough interesting to keep going.
    The game also keeps adding things, making the puzzles feel fresh during the entire singleplayer.

    Every time a puzzle is made, you'll be rewarded with very well done monologue (And sometimes dialogue), which can make you laugh. While GLaDOS does feel a bit worse than before, the dialogue/monologue is still fantastic, proving that Valve does have quality writers (Once again!).

    What about the lenght? It took 5 hours to complete the game, but the puzzles and the dialogue/monologue were absolutely worth it. The game is constantly fun to play and the co-op adds even more lenght for those, who still want to solve puzzles.

    Even, if you're not fan of puzzle games, I recommend you to try this. I'm not fan of puzzle games either, yet the game was very entertaining.
    Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    i loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it anyi loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it any thing under $30 for this game is just about right . it is to short to justify a $60 price tag and even though it has co-op which is kinda neat this game doesnt really need it thats not to say it was tacked on in any sense. its pretty solid its just that i didnt feel a huge disire to play it . what this game should have had and would have justified a $60 price tag at its release would have been creat your own maps and share them with people like Little big planet. now that would have been awsome and ive heard they are working on that but its not due out till mid 2012 aover a year since the game came out... too long of a wait for some thing like that i think. moving on to the single player... its great the script and humor is fantastic and even better then the first for sure . many new additions to how you can solve puzzles . they are just hard enough to where you will have to some times sit for a few minuites and think on the real hard ones but never frustrating to where you wana just give up i felt which is just perfect. the game took me about 6-7 hours to complete so yes it isnt very long . though if you enjoy puzzle games or liked the first Portal it is worth picking up and by now you can get it cheap. Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    I had never played the original Portal before trying it's sequel. I found Portal 2, a real puzzle-action crossover, to be absolutely one of the most exhilarating gaming experiences I have had in the last decade or longer. It's wonderful creative design, fascinating often humorous story, and just plain great challenge to find out how to get to the next room, kept me engaged greatly to it'sI had never played the original Portal before trying it's sequel. I found Portal 2, a real puzzle-action crossover, to be absolutely one of the most exhilarating gaming experiences I have had in the last decade or longer. It's wonderful creative design, fascinating often humorous story, and just plain great challenge to find out how to get to the next room, kept me engaged greatly to it's fascinating conclusion. It's a beautiful, original, deep gaming experience that truly made me wish it wouldn't end. Expand
  16. May 11, 2011
    8
    It's a good game but extremely over-rated by the mainstream media. I enjoyed it, it kept my interest, the graphics were solid, the story kept me driving towards the end in anticipation of what happens and the gameplay is good. The only problem is nothing about it is amazing or even 'really' good; certainly there are far better games out there. However, I enjoyed Portal 2 but it would neverIt's a good game but extremely over-rated by the mainstream media. I enjoyed it, it kept my interest, the graphics were solid, the story kept me driving towards the end in anticipation of what happens and the gameplay is good. The only problem is nothing about it is amazing or even 'really' good; certainly there are far better games out there. However, I enjoyed Portal 2 but it would never be my GOTY and I'll probably trade it in before its value drops. This game, I think, isn't worth 60 bucks. Wait for it to drop to $30-$40 max and you'll get your money's worth. It's a clever puzzle game with some challenge that isn't really too challenging at all. Nonetheless, I enjoyed being in Valve's Skinner box with the 'pellet' being one test closer to the game's conclusion.

    7.7/10 IMO
    Expand
  17. May 5, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a pretty fun game but it is short. It took me along the lines of 5 hours without much difficulty. It would've been nice to see more puzzles. The first portal seemed much tougher and longer and it was pretty much an experiment by Valve. Portal 2 was supposed to be a full game and it was almost laughable and how easy it was. Other then that the story was enjoyable. Controls threwPortal 2 is a pretty fun game but it is short. It took me along the lines of 5 hours without much difficulty. It would've been nice to see more puzzles. The first portal seemed much tougher and longer and it was pretty much an experiment by Valve. Portal 2 was supposed to be a full game and it was almost laughable and how easy it was. Other then that the story was enjoyable. Controls threw me off sometimes remembering which portals to throw at which point during the more complex later puzzles, but regardless they still weren't much of a challenge. All in all like I said Portal 2 is a fun game, however I would more so recommend renting this game as it's very short and could be completed in one sitting. Expand
  18. May 2, 2011
    8
    I would rate this game an 8.4. It is a pretty game but lacks very much content to make it any higher of score. It can be rented, beaten, and returned in one 5 day period.
  19. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The only criticism of Portal 2 is if you haven't played it. The only negative reviews of Portal come from the inevitable tall poppy syndrome accompanying a critically revered title, or from people that simply haven't played it. Portal defies all expectations following the first game, even the unrealistic ones. The levels are exciting, one of video games most memorable characters, GLaDOS,The only criticism of Portal 2 is if you haven't played it. The only negative reviews of Portal come from the inevitable tall poppy syndrome accompanying a critically revered title, or from people that simply haven't played it. Portal defies all expectations following the first game, even the unrealistic ones. The levels are exciting, one of video games most memorable characters, GLaDOS, makes a return in unprecedented style and wait for it, the game has co-op. Right now this sounds like the most biased review imaginable designed to flog product, all I can say is that with no stake in this game, I'd happily volunteer to stand around selling copies, it is that good. Why you may ask, well, that is a fair question, there are plenty of excuses one could come up with, but none of them are quite fitting. The game is an experience, a revelatory statement that will convert you if you let it. GLaDOS invites you in, know you may never get out. Expand
  20. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    THIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's justTHIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's just that right blend of polished but rustic look that makes every detail seem believable. The controls simple, you shot one thing and the other thing you shoot with have the portals connect, but its that simplicity that will make you wondering just how the creators were able to think up such mind numbing rooms and puzzles that are hard, but not so hard that it will have you rage quitting. When you complete a difficult room, you have a sense of accomplishment that many games just can't match. Above all it's the voice acting that truly sells this game. Your character doesn't talk, but its the 3 other characters that will have you listening to every word they say from the beginning. Some lines are haunting, but most have this charm that will make you laugh or smile because they talk about your doom, they still feel like old friends you don't want to leave. The single player is masterfully done, but in the co-op they find yet another perfect blend of fun and challenge. You and one other can complete more portal challenges that hold their own sense of accomplishment to them. I think Portal 2 is an all around perfect game, it has lasting appeal and great characters plus co-op that will have you coming back for more. Expand
  21. May 9, 2011
    10
    Is Portal 2 the best game ever created? No probably not but is is damn close. I cannot believe the people on here giving it less than 9?! IT IS RIDICULOUS!!! Some of these people need to learn how to see a great game how can they say it's bad? I cannot find any reason why so I suppose I'll have to live with it. GLaDOS is so funny and Wheatly is a great character. It was a shame whatIs Portal 2 the best game ever created? No probably not but is is damn close. I cannot believe the people on here giving it less than 9?! IT IS RIDICULOUS!!! Some of these people need to learn how to see a great game how can they say it's bad? I cannot find any reason why so I suppose I'll have to live with it. GLaDOS is so funny and Wheatly is a great character. It was a shame what happened to him. Expand
  22. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The campaign was fun, its a great puzzle game. Has some brain teasers, and a really great story mode with a fantastic ending, and some fun co-op. I enjoyed the co-op. It has some brain teasers, and was executed very well, you must use teamwork. Its not a co-op styles game where one persons can do all the work. You and your buddy need to work together,This game is absolutely amazing. The campaign was fun, its a great puzzle game. Has some brain teasers, and a really great story mode with a fantastic ending, and some fun co-op. I enjoyed the co-op. It has some brain teasers, and was executed very well, you must use teamwork. Its not a co-op styles game where one persons can do all the work. You and your buddy need to work together, really fun and very well executed. This game is truly awesome 10/10. Expand
  23. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    By far the best game of 2011 so far and for sure a game of the year contender! This game is way better than the original, it just feels bigger and it is funnier, longer and plays better than the original! A MUST BUY.
  24. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    A masterful experience, to say the least. Portal 2 definitely lived up to my expectations. The Co-operative campaign was especially fun, as it allowed for more intricate level designs. The single player campaign was alright, although quite lacking in content. It takes very little time to beat the single player campaign, and the levels generally require very little thought. It seems that,A masterful experience, to say the least. Portal 2 definitely lived up to my expectations. The Co-operative campaign was especially fun, as it allowed for more intricate level designs. The single player campaign was alright, although quite lacking in content. It takes very little time to beat the single player campaign, and the levels generally require very little thought. It seems that, more often than not, you are simply wandering around trying to find where you can place a portal, rather than actually finding a creative way to reach the goal. Nevertheless, this game is certainly worth at least a rental. Expand
  25. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Portal 2 is a puzzle game of genius proportions. It taxes the brain in all the most pleasant ways, providing tons & tons of 'eureaka!' moments throughout. The humor of the game is also spot on, with the cast and writers delighting with their absurdity. The two player co-op mode is utterly fantastic, too. It's as good as or maybe even better than the single player campaign. Portal 2Portal 2 is a puzzle game of genius proportions. It taxes the brain in all the most pleasant ways, providing tons & tons of 'eureaka!' moments throughout. The humor of the game is also spot on, with the cast and writers delighting with their absurdity. The two player co-op mode is utterly fantastic, too. It's as good as or maybe even better than the single player campaign. Portal 2 unquestionably sets a new standard for puzzlers. If you want an excellent head-scratcher to while away the hours, this title will bewilder and amaze you. Expand
  26. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is satisfactory on all levels. It's story is incredibly engaging, it's characters even better, the puzzles and gameplay are hugely expanded and improved from the first, the scope has been increased, and the co-op is great. However, despite the things that Portal 2 does right, you still can't help but feel the game's small size in terms of length and scale to a certain extent. WhiePortal 2 is satisfactory on all levels. It's story is incredibly engaging, it's characters even better, the puzzles and gameplay are hugely expanded and improved from the first, the scope has been increased, and the co-op is great. However, despite the things that Portal 2 does right, you still can't help but feel the game's small size in terms of length and scale to a certain extent. Whie the game is satsifying, it doesn't change the industry and it is far from perfect. Expand
  27. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I never played Portal 1, but I had seen the trailers for this game, and it looked pretty cool. A few weeks later, it was on sale for $40 (new) for the weekend at the local game store, so I took advantage of the opportunity and bought it. After just recently beating it (I'm a very slow gamer), I can safely say that it was worth the money. The puzzles are fun and, while plenty of them areI never played Portal 1, but I had seen the trailers for this game, and it looked pretty cool. A few weeks later, it was on sale for $40 (new) for the weekend at the local game store, so I took advantage of the opportunity and bought it. After just recently beating it (I'm a very slow gamer), I can safely say that it was worth the money. The puzzles are fun and, while plenty of them are fairly straight-forward, there are a good number that had me stumped for minutes at a time. The game has taken some heat for being too short, and while I agree that the single-player campaign could be longer, I enjoyed it from start to finish. The graphics, while not particularly mind-blowing and occasionally bland, are adequate. The inventive use of physics is entertaining, the dialogue is witty, and the co-op mode, while lacking some of the customization options of the PC/Mac version, is great fun with a friend. I highly recommend it. Expand
  28. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    A hilariously written sequel.I laughed my way through the single player game in one sitting.The dialogue is what stands out the most in this game. The co-op is good if you have a semi-intelligent partner otherwise you will spend more time explaining to them what to do instead of actually progressing.The gameplay is very similar to the original and some of the puzzles are tricky but thisA hilariously written sequel.I laughed my way through the single player game in one sitting.The dialogue is what stands out the most in this game. The co-op is good if you have a semi-intelligent partner otherwise you will spend more time explaining to them what to do instead of actually progressing.The gameplay is very similar to the original and some of the puzzles are tricky but this shouldn't be a full priced game.However if you are happy with the purchase price,good on ya. Expand
  29. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I'd like to give Portal 2 a 10, honestly I would, but as many have mentioned, it lacks a bit of the freshness of Portal. I was hoping for new mechanics, not just new ways to use existing mechanics. That being said, Portal 2 is an amazing game, filled with great puzzles, witty voice acting, and what is probably the best co-op play since SMB on the NES. The advent of Steam of the PS3 is aI'd like to give Portal 2 a 10, honestly I would, but as many have mentioned, it lacks a bit of the freshness of Portal. I was hoping for new mechanics, not just new ways to use existing mechanics. That being said, Portal 2 is an amazing game, filled with great puzzles, witty voice acting, and what is probably the best co-op play since SMB on the NES. The advent of Steam of the PS3 is a nice touch, and I'm personally excited to see where it goes from here. Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Unlike most of the people on this site giving this game bad reviews, I have actually beaten both single player and co-op, so I have a right to be reviewing the game. First off I would like to say this is NOT a short game, which seems to be the only thing that most people are complaining about. It took me about 14 hours to play through both single player and co-op (including the hour me andUnlike most of the people on this site giving this game bad reviews, I have actually beaten both single player and co-op, so I have a right to be reviewing the game. First off I would like to say this is NOT a short game, which seems to be the only thing that most people are complaining about. It took me about 14 hours to play through both single player and co-op (including the hour me and my friend took to play tag in coop). This will obviously differ depending on how good you are at puzzles, but I have a 133 IQ, so unless you are Einstein or looked at a walkthrough for every puzzle before playing them, it shouldn't take less than ten hours minimum. Also, this is the funniest game i have played since, well, portal 1. In fact this is much funnier than portal 1, and i found myself laughing out loud almost every test chamber. The voice acting is sensational, with great writing and actors who were obviously into their roles. At some points I found myself standing still for five minutes just to listen to what the characters have to say (I waited at the turret production line part for ten minutes just to hear every one liner they say, every one making me laugh) . The story even has a few twists that you will not see coming,and an ending that will make you want to jump up and down at its sheer awesomeness. Obviously the game play isn't for everyone, but if you don't like puzzle games then you shouldn't be playing it anyway. If you do like puzzles, you are unlikely to find a game with more fun, challenging, and creative puzzles than portal 2. The only downside is that, as a puzzle game, there is not much re-playability other than revisiting the story. Fortunately valve has announced that they are going to support it with mod tools on PC and there is likely to be DLC, so we should have a decent amount of new content coming. In conclusion, Portal 2 is a fun, challenging, rewarding puzzle game with an awesome story. If you liked the first Portal,you will love Portal 2. Even if you dont like puzzles it is worth going through just to listen to the characters speak. It obviously doesn't have as much lasting appeal, but the price tag is worth the amount of enjoyment you will get from your first play through. Buy it, and you will love it. The only reason people are complaining about it being too short is that it is so good you don't want it to end. Expand
  31. May 21, 2011
    9
    Another winner from Valve yet again. Great single player which I think surpasses the first game as you don't feel limited with just doing test chambers all the time. The voice acting is where Portal 2 shines, you just can't not laugh at the quirks and comments from Glados (Ellen Mclain), Wheatly (Stephen Merchant) and my favourite Cave Johnson (JK Simmons). The cooperative play is very funAnother winner from Valve yet again. Great single player which I think surpasses the first game as you don't feel limited with just doing test chambers all the time. The voice acting is where Portal 2 shines, you just can't not laugh at the quirks and comments from Glados (Ellen Mclain), Wheatly (Stephen Merchant) and my favourite Cave Johnson (JK Simmons). The cooperative play is very fun to play and adds the length to game. Not much replayablility but aside from that it is a rock solid game. Expand
  32. May 12, 2011
    10
    Such an amazing, awesome game. The ideas are excellent, challenging but not too difficult. Really fun. I do think the price is way too much for today's market, considering how great iphone games are now for .99. Should be about $25. $60 is insane.
  33. May 10, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love a little strategy? Vavle's new Portal 2 absorbs you right from the start with GLaDOS verbally cutting you down between testing and predicting your immanent demise. This is an instant classic. The levels progress in difficulty as you work your way through the challenges with Wheatly, your nut-case guide, at your side to support you at the beggining. I recommend thisWho doesn't love a little strategy? Vavle's new Portal 2 absorbs you right from the start with GLaDOS verbally cutting you down between testing and predicting your immanent demise. This is an instant classic. The levels progress in difficulty as you work your way through the challenges with Wheatly, your nut-case guide, at your side to support you at the beggining. I recommend this FPS/Strategy game to anyone looking to kill time with a smile on their face. Expand
  34. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the originalValve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the original Portal, look incredible with their changing environments. The sound, music and especially voice acting are golden. This is some of the best dialogue and voice acting I have EVER heard in a game, Stephen Merchant especially shines as Wheatley. The story is simple, but memorable, and the environment itself tells the history of Aperture Laboratory. The single player lasted a good 7 or 8 hours, and the co-op mode, which is entirely different from the single player, will tack on another good 4 or 5. The puzzles are fantastic! They are challenging, but never once was I frustrated to the point I got bored or wanted to do something else. All in all, Portal 2 is now at the top of my favorite games ever, and is my new number one from Valve. Expand
  35. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Fantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice toFantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice to look at. Fun and entertaining from beginning to end, worth replaying multiple times, and the co-op is very well done.

    The game is about 7-9 hours long in single player, and maybe 4-5 in multiplayer. Some people think that's not enough content for $60 and ding the game for it, but that's kind of silly; rent the game or wait for the price to drop.

    Despite Gabe's former stance on the PS3 and how badly The Orange Box was ported onto the machine, the PS3 version of Portal 2 is actually slightly better looking than the 360 version (according to Digital Foundry) and runs at a rock-solid framerate. It also comes with a voucher for the PC/Mac version of the game and supports Steam features, including cross-platform online play between PC/PS3 players. The PC version is still the best version overall, but between the consoles, the PS3 version is the way to go.
    Expand
  36. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Great game. Finished single player game in two days because it was so addicting. Great humor and story. Great puzzles. I just wish it didn't have to end so soon.
  37. May 4, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the greatest videogames ever made. I just finished it last night, and I must say that this game has a perfect balance of puzzle and story, seamlessly integrating both. I never had to stop solving puzzles to appreciate the story, but beyond that, I actually felt like I was a part of the story, even though the game is incredibly scripted. Portal 2 has fiendishly clever puzzles.Easily one of the greatest videogames ever made. I just finished it last night, and I must say that this game has a perfect balance of puzzle and story, seamlessly integrating both. I never had to stop solving puzzles to appreciate the story, but beyond that, I actually felt like I was a part of the story, even though the game is incredibly scripted. Portal 2 has fiendishly clever puzzles. While there's always one specific solution, I had plenty of "ah-ha" moments. I never had to refer to any guides, but the puzzles get pretty complicated. There were definitely a few moments where I just scratched my head. I won't spoil it, but there's lots of great back-story and character development for fans of the original game. Lastly, the graphics were phenomenal - I did see some blurry textures here and there, but there was an incredible sense of space, and thought was put into every object in the game. Perhaps the most impressive aspect though, was the way that the environments would change as you moved through them. This is a huge change from the original, of course.

    I know there are some people complaining that Portal 2 was too short, but I thought the length was perfect. It took me about two weeks to finish it, mostly because I only had small segments of time. In contrast with sprawling open-world games, this game gives you a constant sense of direction. It also has a sense of urgency, though you can always solve the puzzles at your own pace. There was a time when I might have complained that 8 hours of gameplay was too short, but at this point I'm more concerned about a 'perfect' experience; Portal 2 is thoughtful and thought-provoking in every moment. It absolutely has might highest recommendation.
    Expand
  38. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    The story - "Valve-styled". It made me play all evening and, after that , all night long...
    Graphics - one of the strongest sides of this game. I'm still affected by these maps with VERY HUGE spaces. I'VE NEVER SEEN anything like this before!!!! It is still misunderstandable how can these maps load in ~10 seconds?! I'm also puzzled how can these maps fit into my notebook videocard's
    The story - "Valve-styled". It made me play all evening and, after that , all night long...
    Graphics - one of the strongest sides of this game. I'm still affected by these maps with VERY HUGE spaces. I'VE NEVER SEEN anything like this before!!!! It is still misunderstandable how can these maps load in ~10 seconds?! I'm also puzzled how can these maps fit into my notebook videocard's memory which is only 256mb, high-detailed?!
    Defects: 1. Game often shuted down. But I suppose that is a bug of my non-legal copy.
    2. The first 10-15 testchambers are really boring! But I understand that they are created for some unique idiots who will buy the second Portal without playing the first one! But as for me, it is really annoying!
    This game EXCEEDED ALL IMAGINABLE EXPECTATIONS!!!!
    Well, there are many small defects in this game, so I'd better rate "9", but this game really affected me... Then the only mark I can give is "10"!
    P.S.:Yes, I'm definitely buying the official copy...
    Expand
  39. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Ingenious puzzles, unique environments, and clever writing combine to make Portal 2 one of the best games of all time. Access to Steam and a free copy of the PC version make the PS3 version of Portal 2 an even better choice.
  40. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of my favorite games of all time, even better than the first. The story, the puzzles, and the characters are all more complex this time around, in a good way. The ending itself is amazing, the moon sequence, followed by the adorable turret opera, topped off with the unexpected return of the (original?) companion cube! Well done Valve! Expand
  41. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Valve picks quality of quantity in portal 2. The voice acting is fantastic, the story is amazing, the game play is loveable. After finishing single player, I can say that this is one of my favorite games. Its length is a tad short. I finished it in an evening and a morning, but like I said, its quality. And you can stretch the time by going for the trophies. But Valve better release someValve picks quality of quantity in portal 2. The voice acting is fantastic, the story is amazing, the game play is loveable. After finishing single player, I can say that this is one of my favorite games. Its length is a tad short. I finished it in an evening and a morning, but like I said, its quality. And you can stretch the time by going for the trophies. But Valve better release some free DLC/ user made levels. In all, if you liked portal a lot, get this
    if you liked the idea of portal but thought it was a tad boring, look up some videos and see if you like it
    If you hated portal, wouldn't recommend it to you.
    Expand
  42. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best Game, sequel is at least as good than the first one.
    I am just not a big fan of Stephen Merchant voice though.



    [spoiler] .
    .
    .
    .
    I still prefer the song from PORTAL
    [spoiler]
    Expand
  43. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Well paced, atmospheric, challenging and ultimately rewarding, this game is really excellent. The visuals are stunning, the story is engaging and the overall aesthetic to the game really draws you in to the world. Whoever cast Stephen Merchant deserves a pay rise. Well done Valve.
  44. May 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! Masterpiece by Valve. Good graphics(Not amazing), and good physics. The game features some very funny characters. The storyline is very balanced, and since it follows up the original Portal, its a bit important you have played the original Portal. The single-player storyline might be a little to short, but its still an awesome game. The Co-op game-play, I personally find veryGreat game! Masterpiece by Valve. Good graphics(Not amazing), and good physics. The game features some very funny characters. The storyline is very balanced, and since it follows up the original Portal, its a bit important you have played the original Portal. The single-player storyline might be a little to short, but its still an awesome game. The Co-op game-play, I personally find very very funny. The Steam integration on the PS3, and the free PC version is just great marketing by Valve, and it works flawless. 10/10

    An DLC has been announced, with news levels and so on! 10/10
    Expand
  45. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    The best game experience in last three years and one of the best games of decade. Studio Valve shows how to do game for gamers and also how to earn big money. Best studio in the whole industry. Story, humour, graphics in Portal 2 - everything is epic here. And... now announced DLC for all platforms FREE - who else can offer it to the players?
  46. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This is hands down the best game I have played in a long time. The story was incredible, and if you dont run crying to the internet for walkthroughs, single player is 7 hours minimum. To all those who are complaining about the length of the game, let me introduce you to a company caled VALVE. If you have the PC or PS3 version, steam will keep the game updated with new things, includingThis is hands down the best game I have played in a long time. The story was incredible, and if you dont run crying to the internet for walkthroughs, single player is 7 hours minimum. To all those who are complaining about the length of the game, let me introduce you to a company caled VALVE. If you have the PC or PS3 version, steam will keep the game updated with new things, including dlc. Now while silly things like costumes cost money, things like new modes, and new levels will be released this summer, for FREE. Thats right, VALVE has always continued its support of their games, and more importantly the people who buy them. There will be plenty of new additions, that wont cost a dime coming in the future to MORE than justify the price... so get over it, dont cheat, enjoy the game, and look forward to FREE additional content http://playstationlifestyle.net/2011/04/29/free-portal-2-dlc-aiming-for-summer-release/ . Expand
  47. May 6, 2011
    10
    What makes me sad, is the amount of haters hating on this game just because of one little flaw. For example: GlaDOS didn't turn out exactly as I expected her to be so this game gets a 0, or, awesome game, 0. This game is exactly what we all want and a perfect sequel for the first Portal. THe humor is amazing, the characters are funny, and I don't know anyone who didn't enjoy the game.
  48. May 8, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. good mental excersise, in the single player and specially in the co op to play with a friend or relative is just so much fun. could be a little longer but the humor that glaados brings make worth the journey. play it.

    darthgamer79
    Expand
  49. May 9, 2011
    9
    With the hype surrounding this game, I doubted it could possibly match expectations, but Valve has pulled it off. Once again, the writing and voice-acting are superb and hilarious, the puzzles are challenging, but not frustrating, and the pacing is well done, smoothly introducing the player to new elements..The quality matches up, down the line, even to the end credits song, which is asWith the hype surrounding this game, I doubted it could possibly match expectations, but Valve has pulled it off. Once again, the writing and voice-acting are superb and hilarious, the puzzles are challenging, but not frustrating, and the pacing is well done, smoothly introducing the player to new elements..The quality matches up, down the line, even to the end credits song, which is as equally catchy as "Still Alive", a feat I thought frankly, impossible. The game is on the short side, though longer than the first, with the addition of an excellent co-op mode, and the nature of the game means there isn't really any re-playability once you've solved the puzzles. (unless one wants to enjoy the story experience again.) It'll be up to each individual to decide on whether they think it's worth the price, but the question of whether the game itself matches the first Portal is a resounding "Yes!"â Expand
  50. May 10, 2011
    9
    In no way was I disappointed. In fact, I was very impressed with the game overall. I expected GLaDOS to be slightly more vengeful but she still managed to amuse me. CO-OP was a fun addition. As long as we can get some harder "tests" in the coming DLC then I won't have anything negative to say.
  51. May 14, 2011
    9
    A true masterpiece of a game that is oozing in quality from start to finish. The voice acting and script are the best of any videogame I've ever played, and the gameplay feels rewarding and continually evolves with new elements and challenges, both in solo and co-op play. It's an incredible experience and you absolutely have to play it. That said, I really think the game is a must rentA true masterpiece of a game that is oozing in quality from start to finish. The voice acting and script are the best of any videogame I've ever played, and the gameplay feels rewarding and continually evolves with new elements and challenges, both in solo and co-op play. It's an incredible experience and you absolutely have to play it. That said, I really think the game is a must rent rather than a must buy. While replay value is there, a lot of the appeal for me came through the storytelling and initial buzz of figuring out a puzzle, which is inevitably lost on a second playthrough. That isn't to say it's not worth the money, but I feel you could enjoy the bulk of the game in a solid weekend. Expand
  52. May 18, 2011
    9
    Let me preface this by saying that Portal 2 is one of the most well-written games I've ever played, and the voice acting completely compliments it in the best way possible. However, fantastic writing and sound doesn't mean you can get away with a perfect score. If you liked Portal, you won't be disappointed at all here. The campaign is pretty much 5 times longer than the first Portal, andLet me preface this by saying that Portal 2 is one of the most well-written games I've ever played, and the voice acting completely compliments it in the best way possible. However, fantastic writing and sound doesn't mean you can get away with a perfect score. If you liked Portal, you won't be disappointed at all here. The campaign is pretty much 5 times longer than the first Portal, and there are a lot more elements to solve the puzzles. Solving puzzles are so satisfying, but when you fully master the new puzzle elements, the game is pretty much over, and the new stuff isn't used as much as you'd like to. Portal 2 is a great game, but I just want more, and it didn't deliver enough of the new stuff. Maybe it's a good sign of making me want more. Expand
  53. May 19, 2011
    9
    Okay fellow portal makers PORTAL 2 is here and let me tell you it is Amazing.It is everything a great game should be. A great single player experience,a new Multiplayer Co op feature gives a lot more value for your money and gets some crazy puzzles starting.Now let me start with this the cast is awesome from the once again laugh out loud funny GLADOS to the extremely witty British humor ofOkay fellow portal makers PORTAL 2 is here and let me tell you it is Amazing.It is everything a great game should be. A great single player experience,a new Multiplayer Co op feature gives a lot more value for your money and gets some crazy puzzles starting.Now let me start with this the cast is awesome from the once again laugh out loud funny GLADOS to the extremely witty British humor of Wheatley.The game has some new features like repulsion Gel which is a very nice feature it allows players to experiment with the environment. Also now we have lasers replacing the ORBS from the first game,the ending is superb and in a way makes you a little sad inside i wont spoil it for you though.But yea its a Amazing game if you liked the first game you will adore this one. Expand
  54. May 26, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory.Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory. There's just a sense of satisfaction that you don't get in other games when you figure out a chamber. I was thrilled with the Steam integration, the cousin and father both game on PC and by getting this version, I'm able to play with them on both platforms. Some of you may find if useless, but it's an option that's better to have and not need, then to need and not have. Now the issues I have is that the online coop is strictly based on your friends list, either PSN or Steam. Not everybody I know is going to play the same games as me, so a form on online matchmaking would have been nice; especially since a few trophies rely on your friends list, which I find rather unfair to achieve. I did love the split screen option, that's something too many games have gotten away from (and its full split screen the way its meant to be, not cut off like Resistance 2 or just the corners of the tv like in Killzone 3).Couple of other minor issues, parts are too linear and just it should have been longer. Aside from that, this is an enjoyable experience that any true gamer would be missing out if they didn't try. If your on any edge, just wait for the price drop and you will not be disappointed. Expand
  55. May 27, 2011
    9
    From top to bottom, there is a lot to love about Portal 2, and not much to dislike. It is quite possibly the best delivery of a puzzle game, well, ever. Itâ
  56. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are thePortal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are the extra mile, with puzzles more brain bending than any of the ones found in the single player campaign, you'll be spending almost as much time working these out with a friend as you did in the single player campaign. If you like puzzles, and enjoy a fun narrative with legitimately enjoyable characters, play this game. Expand
  57. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Excellent game and one of the best co-op experiences out there, Steam integration works well, the goofy and sometimes dark humor's very funny, loved gladOS, wheatley, CJ, Atlas and P-body. the only negative i can think of is that this doesn't have as many extras as the PC version, which is a waste for a blu-ray disc, not even the Cave Johnson commercials.
  58. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    either you love Valve or hate them, but they sure know how to create a world that you just want to go back to again and again. Would be very difficult to out do portal 2, but the bar for all games has just been raised higher.
  59. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. DefinitelyIt is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  60. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and myThis game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and my portal buddy sitting next to me. It was due to this that I could get a platinum as this game needs constant online multi p communication. What a game. Bring on Portal 3. Expand
  61. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    I wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quiteI wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quite as strong storywise. I really hope there will be some dlc (I'd pay for it!). Definitly remommended. Expand
  62. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game and a relief from all the generic FPS games out today. Well designed, funny and very clever execution. I loved the first Portal game and this takes the idea and converts it into a stand-alone A class title. Just the right length, certainly didn't feel robbed, and replay value from Co-Op mode. Excellent.
  63. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    The controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this gameThe controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this game to virtually anyone. The most astonishing achievement isn't the accomodating puzzles which vary in difficulty, the perfectly paced progression, the humour or fun co-op, but the ability to play cross-platform with PC with no problems at all, and no lag whatsoever. Expand
  64. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Superb game ! Went back to it today and picked up some trophies and played the free co-op DLC. The voice acting and music compliment the gameplay superbly. A must buy
  65. May 24, 2015
    8
    This is a great puzzle game wrapped in Half-Life packaging. The voice acting of Stephen Merchant is full of English banter (just like The Office UK) which keeps the tone up beat and relaxed. The story is highly original and well put together. The levels I found to always be challenging, but never frustrating - which was perfect. It may sometimes look like a action/shooter, but rememberThis is a great puzzle game wrapped in Half-Life packaging. The voice acting of Stephen Merchant is full of English banter (just like The Office UK) which keeps the tone up beat and relaxed. The story is highly original and well put together. The levels I found to always be challenging, but never frustrating - which was perfect. It may sometimes look like a action/shooter, but remember this is just a clever puzzle game at heart. Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Great game, clever level design, I just wish the single-player game was a little longer, maybe by an hour or so, but still overall it is fun. The puzzles are very rewarding when you figure out the solution.
  67. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending

    The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like gels, light bridges, lasers, and gravity beams. It's just great. If you don't play it, you are depriving yourself of one of the best experiences you can have, not just as a gamer, but as a person.
    Expand
  68. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. TG.
  69. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Now that the year of gaming has come to an end Portal 2 is safe in it's spot as the best game of 2011. Despite a lot of good games released nothing came close. Not just GOTY but GOTD (D=decade).
  70. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    This game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second thirdThis game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second third of the game. Expand
  71. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to tell if it is good. it is. very good. i would reccomend it to the whole family, as for a fps, it has a low level of violence, and is generally light hearted. great game improved. buy this now. or later. just make sure you do so.
    Expand
  72. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there apart from the first game of course, be sure to play that first if you can. And I haven't even mentioned the two player co-op missions yet. They're great and add a lot to this as well. Unbeatble quality and experience in this game, easily gets a ten from me. Well done Valve.
    Expand
  73. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    A solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are inA solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are in the last hour of the game) I'll give it 8/10 and an extra point for the extraordinarily amusing voice-work and the rare inclusion of something as rare as a local co-op campaign. Expand
  74. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is really the best game i have ever played. Maybe the Graphics aren't as nice as in other games but the gameplay is the best. The new gameplay elements are fantastic and very nice integratet into the game.
  75. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best Puzzle game of all time, and it is in the top for best game of all time. The story is engrossing, unique and hilarious. Also if you like multiplayer you would love this game.
  76. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; theThis has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; the ending is exactly when it should be! The voice acting is certainly amongst the best you get. As a game, the controls are exactly what you would expect and pretty easy to get to grips with. Portal 2 is genius. Full stop. Expand
  77. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Loved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to thisLoved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to this game, really making it two games in one. None of the puzzles are too difficult, I remember only one where I just could not figure out, but eventually I did, and it was a lot of fun in the process. Expand
  78. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendously designed puzzles, very difficult at times.


    Superb dialogue that makes it more than a puzzle game and a must try for a fan of any genre.
  79. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such A Masterpiece, I can't tell it in one review. It is not about puzzle gameplay (which is awesome and gets 10 for good puzzles) and Presentation (still 10) but for story and athmosphere which get 11 out of 10. Funny jokes, good voice-acting, well written phrases for characters are the main points of Portal 2. The Co-op is 10 too. In all other games, co-op is just to play with friend, here you must think a lot before acrually getting puzzle into action. The only bad thing about this game, is that it was made by Valve. That means no part 3, ever. Espcially due to the fact that developers wraped-up the story at the end completely. But lets not forget that Valve loves to give what they do for the game later for free, so maybe there will be a Continuation to the story of GLaDOS and Chell. And let's not forget the best OMG moment in gaming history. Expand
  80. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the only reason I would not give the first portal a 10 is because of it's length, But this on is great. cool cinematics, clever dialogue, good story, and you even got to see how Aperture laboratories started out. this is one of my favorite games and it fully deserves a 10 Expand
  81. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This game is easily the best game I have played since Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for the game-boy. The haters are wrong. Everything about this game, the voice acting, the game-play, the puzzles, and everything else, are fantastic. I am a little bit sad that the PS3 version doesn't come with the level making update, but this game is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone.
  82. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    value made the best puzzle game i ever played . portal 2 have great coop mode . it has good story . great gameplay.portal 2 is one of the best game of 2011
  83. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best Games i have played in the last 10 Years. Fantastic Single-Player and well made Coop-Levels. Intelligent Puzzles and a nice Atmosphere with wonderful Speakers (German Version).
    Thanks Valve for this Game!
  84. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Next to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more thanNext to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more than it bargains for. Portal is good for anyone of any age. Solve these masterpieces of puzzles, work together with friends, and own the generation of robotics and a "small" lab procedure (no pun intended). I did a review on the PC version, and I said the exact same thing. Highly recommended to anyone of any age, of any kind. Expand
  85. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Let me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more backgroundLet me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more background info than you can imagine. The puzzles are separated by their elements and go from relatively simple to complicated. Despite the potential of a huge difficulty, it is very simplistic. Why? Each chapter of the single-player introduces a new element to the puzzles. From lasers to jumping platforms, it's all really fun and when it all come together, you'll feel like a genius. The Co-op is the best I've seen, you actually have to cooperate in these puzzles and Valve gives you a very efficient way of doing so. The ping system is very smooth and also includes some fun gestures you can do as you finish a puzzle with glee. This game has so much potential, it's a masterpiece that should go down in history. Expand
  86. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've ever heard. The puzzles are smart, but not to the extent where you're so stuck you have to look up answers online. The puzzles are challenging enough to make the gamer feel a strong sense of reward when the "ah-ha!" moment forms. If you like puzzles in your games, you owe it to yourself to play Portal 2.
    Expand
  87. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Just hands down an amazing game that is unlike anything else. The unique gameplay and fun puzzles go hand in hand with the very funny dialogue that is present from the very beginning.
  88. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good. Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good.

    Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of pointless walking trying to find where you need to put a portal. It was poor game design there. The graphics are sub par for this generation. The graphics are a little grainy.

    But still a brilliant game, 9/10.
    Expand
  89. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out to put another game in until you've completed it, and that could take a very long time depending on how well you can "Think with Portals" Unfortunately the second time around you won't get as much enjoyment out of it because you remember how most puzzles are solved. However these rumours about the game being only 5 hours of entertainment are complete lies, even when speed running and ignoring all the dialog you will not be able to complete the game in any less than around 7-8 hours.

    Then there is the Co-op, which in many games feels like a quickly added extra feature that didn't really need to be there at all. Not with Portal 2, it is set shortly after the end of the single player campaign and occasionally hints at it without creating any spoilers. The characters are unique and all around amazing with their own form of character development that can better many other games out their where the character can actually talk!

    Another nice fact is that this is the first game that allows you to access steam via a console, and can even connect directly to your account and you can then download the PC version for free and even share achievements and Trophies. All extra downloadable content is free also.

    One of the biggest regrets of mine is that I missed Portal 1 and went straight for this.
    DO NOT miss this game.
    Expand
  90. May 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I am quite impressed Chell would bother making a game of her adventures with me, but its much funner playing as her. Co-op with Atlas and P-Body is great, but I don't have anyone to play with other then the remaining defective cores.
  91. Mar 21, 2016
    10
    Portal 2 is an incredible game that has anything that any gamer can hope for, with great puzzles, an excellent campaign, as well as incredibly interesting co-op.
  92. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The middle of the game goes by at an incredibly slow pace. I almost wanted to hang myself. But the last third of the game is worth the $60 I paid for it alone, and the beginning is full of comedy and adventure. I would say play through the first third, maybe cheat through the second, and then get ready for the greatest third act of any game you will ever play in your life.
  93. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I could right a long boring review about how awesome this game is but instead I'll just say this: Portal 2 is easily the best puzzle game ever. You should play it.
  94. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    It is a brain challenge type of game, at times confusing, but very rewarding. I loved all portals. Graphics are great, funny and intriguing. Gets curiouser and curiouser ;)
  95. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing mind puzzling game well worth 40$ you can play single player or multiplayer with your family. You can play this game for hours and not be bored. Get it soon!!!!
  96. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything! Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting,
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything!

    Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting, and the campaign can be viewed as a bit short, but this is still a game that shouldn't be skipped in my book.
    Expand
  97. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    The original Portal grabbed in players by the dozen with its innovative gameplay, but Portal 2 masters that innovation and pushes it beyond fathomable limits which makes this game an absolute treat to experience.

    Despite it only containing three main speaking parts, the narrative is enriched with brilliant comedy; the game is abundant in giggle-inducing witticisms and sometimes dark
    The original Portal grabbed in players by the dozen with its innovative gameplay, but Portal 2 masters that innovation and pushes it beyond fathomable limits which makes this game an absolute treat to experience.

    Despite it only containing three main speaking parts, the narrative is enriched with brilliant comedy; the game is abundant in giggle-inducing witticisms and sometimes dark humour. There isn't much to say about the gameplay; it's fluid, it's easy to pick up, it's different, and it's thought-provoking.

    Even though the concept is simple, Valve managed to introduce new elements other than basic portals without making it seem like a desperate attempt to add more. The new elements are introduced in an easy way that isn't patronising and it flows well with the game's narrative.

    The game's soundtrack is a stroke of brilliance, being able to set the scene for almost any scenario, from sound snippets being interwoven into the gameplay during exhilarating segments; slow sci-fi undertones to add a sense of isolation and encapsulation or cacophonous metallic clangs when things really pick up.

    There isn't much wrong that can be said about this game but some gamers might find some of the puzzles too challenging as the game progresses and some might complain about it's rather short length.

    Overall, you wouldn't be wrong to say this is one the greatest video games of the 21st century and it's safe to say that Valve have definitely hit it out of the park with this one.
    Expand
  98. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    this game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and ofthis game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and of course, half life is considered like the best game of the decade, which I havn't played, but portal is exactly what people hoped it would be... one of the best games of the decade. Expand
  99. May 1, 2017
    10
    This game is one of the most visually stunning games I have ever played, this along with the must-play portal based puzzle solving make this game a game not to miss!
  100. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    I see many websites due their Best Video Games of All Time, well in terms of my list, the game that would ultimately dominate it is Portal 2. After thinking about it, Portal 2 is perfect, the game has good humor, very good story, atmospheric soundtrack, great visuals, and there is no hole in terms of Gameplay either; hell even the length of the game is perfect. Everything is perfectlyI see many websites due their Best Video Games of All Time, well in terms of my list, the game that would ultimately dominate it is Portal 2. After thinking about it, Portal 2 is perfect, the game has good humor, very good story, atmospheric soundtrack, great visuals, and there is no hole in terms of Gameplay either; hell even the length of the game is perfect. Everything is perfectly design with nothing to show if this game was rushed. This game isn't my favorite game of all time but I can say that the game I'd consider to be best is Portal 2. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]