User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 808 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 808

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. TG.
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    this game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and ofthis game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and of course, half life is considered like the best game of the decade, which I havn't played, but portal is exactly what people hoped it would be... one of the best games of the decade. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    A solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are inA solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are in the last hour of the game) I'll give it 8/10 and an extra point for the extraordinarily amusing voice-work and the rare inclusion of something as rare as a local co-op campaign. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    An improvement of a sequel if I ever saw one, Portal 2 outdoes its predecessor through new mechanics, more fascinating characters, and a deeper legacy to follow. Its intellectual and comedic genius has managed to break through the medium as something truly unlike anything else out there. Its pure dumb fun with all of the headache of a complex algebra problem. If this sounds like a badAn improvement of a sequel if I ever saw one, Portal 2 outdoes its predecessor through new mechanics, more fascinating characters, and a deeper legacy to follow. Its intellectual and comedic genius has managed to break through the medium as something truly unlike anything else out there. Its pure dumb fun with all of the headache of a complex algebra problem. If this sounds like a bad thing, then you need to try it for yourself, because Portal 2 is well worth it. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed. All legends of the current-gen gaming world. If I said name a PS3 or Xbox game, i'm sure one of those three would be mentioned. Portal 2 is a work of art, a small piece that has had every ounce of effort pumped into it. The writing, the characters, the art, the design, the innovation, really blows you away. I've played this game around 8Grand Theft Auto, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed. All legends of the current-gen gaming world. If I said name a PS3 or Xbox game, i'm sure one of those three would be mentioned. Portal 2 is a work of art, a small piece that has had every ounce of effort pumped into it. The writing, the characters, the art, the design, the innovation, really blows you away. I've played this game around 8 times now and this is the first time i've decided to review it. You can't rate art, but simply be shocked that other people don't think of it as fondly as you do. Portal 2 is one of those things you should experience before you move to next-gen, because there won't be such a masterpiece for a long time. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything! Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting,
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything!

    Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting, and the campaign can be viewed as a bit short, but this is still a game that shouldn't be skipped in my book.
    Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing mind puzzling game well worth 40$ you can play single player or multiplayer with your family. You can play this game for hours and not be bored. Get it soon!!!!
  8. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I could right a long boring review about how awesome this game is but instead I'll just say this: Portal 2 is easily the best puzzle game ever. You should play it.
  9. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The middle of the game goes by at an incredibly slow pace. I almost wanted to hang myself. But the last third of the game is worth the $60 I paid for it alone, and the beginning is full of comedy and adventure. I would say play through the first third, maybe cheat through the second, and then get ready for the greatest third act of any game you will ever play in your life.
  10. May 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I am quite impressed Chell would bother making a game of her adventures with me, but its much funner playing as her. Co-op with Atlas and P-Body is great, but I don't have anyone to play with other then the remaining defective cores.
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out to put another game in until you've completed it, and that could take a very long time depending on how well you can "Think with Portals" Unfortunately the second time around you won't get as much enjoyment out of it because you remember how most puzzles are solved. However these rumours about the game being only 5 hours of entertainment are complete lies, even when speed running and ignoring all the dialog you will not be able to complete the game in any less than around 7-8 hours.

    Then there is the Co-op, which in many games feels like a quickly added extra feature that didn't really need to be there at all. Not with Portal 2, it is set shortly after the end of the single player campaign and occasionally hints at it without creating any spoilers. The characters are unique and all around amazing with their own form of character development that can better many other games out their where the character can actually talk!

    Another nice fact is that this is the first game that allows you to access steam via a console, and can even connect directly to your account and you can then download the PC version for free and even share achievements and Trophies. All extra downloadable content is free also.

    One of the biggest regrets of mine is that I missed Portal 1 and went straight for this.
    DO NOT miss this game.
    Expand
  12. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've ever heard. The puzzles are smart, but not to the extent where you're so stuck you have to look up answers online. The puzzles are challenging enough to make the gamer feel a strong sense of reward when the "ah-ha!" moment forms. If you like puzzles in your games, you owe it to yourself to play Portal 2.
    Expand
  13. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Just hands down an amazing game that is unlike anything else. The unique gameplay and fun puzzles go hand in hand with the very funny dialogue that is present from the very beginning.
  14. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good. Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good.

    Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of pointless walking trying to find where you need to put a portal. It was poor game design there. The graphics are sub par for this generation. The graphics are a little grainy.

    But still a brilliant game, 9/10.
    Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It's not too short. It's short, but not too short. The people finishing this quickly simply are great at puzzle games. I don't think most people are so you will get your time out of it. I did.
  16. Mar 4, 2013
    6
    The humour alone is reason enough to buy Portal 2. The gameplay is enjoyable and there are funny and likeable characters spread evenly throughout the game. The biggest issue is how short and easy the game is. I don't play a lot of puzzle games and I finished it in just under 6 hours. That's just too short and with little replayability since most of the game is figuring out the puzzlesThe humour alone is reason enough to buy Portal 2. The gameplay is enjoyable and there are funny and likeable characters spread evenly throughout the game. The biggest issue is how short and easy the game is. I don't play a lot of puzzle games and I finished it in just under 6 hours. That's just too short and with little replayability since most of the game is figuring out the puzzles (which aren't very hard anyway) it was very underwhelming. Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Let me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more backgroundLet me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more background info than you can imagine. The puzzles are separated by their elements and go from relatively simple to complicated. Despite the potential of a huge difficulty, it is very simplistic. Why? Each chapter of the single-player introduces a new element to the puzzles. From lasers to jumping platforms, it's all really fun and when it all come together, you'll feel like a genius. The Co-op is the best I've seen, you actually have to cooperate in these puzzles and Valve gives you a very efficient way of doing so. The ping system is very smooth and also includes some fun gestures you can do as you finish a puzzle with glee. This game has so much potential, it's a masterpiece that should go down in history. Expand
  18. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Next to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more thanNext to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more than it bargains for. Portal is good for anyone of any age. Solve these masterpieces of puzzles, work together with friends, and own the generation of robotics and a "small" lab procedure (no pun intended). I did a review on the PC version, and I said the exact same thing. Highly recommended to anyone of any age, of any kind. Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Loved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to thisLoved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to this game, really making it two games in one. None of the puzzles are too difficult, I remember only one where I just could not figure out, but eventually I did, and it was a lot of fun in the process. Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best Games i have played in the last 10 Years. Fantastic Single-Player and well made Coop-Levels. Intelligent Puzzles and a nice Atmosphere with wonderful Speakers (German Version).
    Thanks Valve for this Game!
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    value made the best puzzle game i ever played . portal 2 have great coop mode . it has good story . great gameplay.portal 2 is one of the best game of 2011
  22. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    The controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this gameThe controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this game to virtually anyone. The most astonishing achievement isn't the accomodating puzzles which vary in difficulty, the perfectly paced progression, the humour or fun co-op, but the ability to play cross-platform with PC with no problems at all, and no lag whatsoever. Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2012
    3
    wth!? why the 9.5!!? seriously, im a big fan of portal, such a good interactive and brainy game, but no storyline, no characters, no of nothing, seriously overrated game
  24. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This game is easily the best game I have played since Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for the game-boy. The haters are wrong. Everything about this game, the voice acting, the game-play, the puzzles, and everything else, are fantastic. I am a little bit sad that the PS3 version doesn't come with the level making update, but this game is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone.
  25. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the only reason I would not give the first portal a 10 is because of it's length, But this on is great. cool cinematics, clever dialogue, good story, and you even got to see how Aperture laboratories started out. this is one of my favorite games and it fully deserves a 10 Expand
  26. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This game is epic !!! Create a new kind of game ,who expired many people to think diferent , that a game is much more than just press buttons !!!puzzles + innovative gameplay+comedy+awesome story=Portal2
  27. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    If I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treatIf I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treat robots/machines today. The three main characters in the game are excellent; chell is quiet, wheatley blabber mouths away and glados is stubborn, it overall creates a interesting experience where you bounce between glados and Wheatleys control throughout the story. The story by the way is awesome. The puzzles are smart, fun and are worth the effort. Its amazing. A must buy game. Expand
  28. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controlsThis is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controls are easy to use, there's a fun story to the game, like I said already, it's a funny game. Also, new character Cave Johnson is nothing short of amazing. The game looks great, and it has a lot of very well done and at times complex puzzles. The length seems to be an issue with some people, but for the type of game that it is, it's about the right length. Overall this game may wind up being the crowning jewel in the Portal series, as it will be very difficult to beat. This is a game that I consider to be an all time great game. Expand
  29. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such A Masterpiece, I can't tell it in one review. It is not about puzzle gameplay (which is awesome and gets 10 for good puzzles) and Presentation (still 10) but for story and athmosphere which get 11 out of 10. Funny jokes, good voice-acting, well written phrases for characters are the main points of Portal 2. The Co-op is 10 too. In all other games, co-op is just to play with friend, here you must think a lot before acrually getting puzzle into action. The only bad thing about this game, is that it was made by Valve. That means no part 3, ever. Espcially due to the fact that developers wraped-up the story at the end completely. But lets not forget that Valve loves to give what they do for the game later for free, so maybe there will be a Continuation to the story of GLaDOS and Chell. And let's not forget the best OMG moment in gaming history. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to
    Some say this game is way too short compared to the price. I would say it too 99% of the time, but not in this one. Quality over quantity.

    To be honest, I've never been big fan of puzzle games. I usually miss something and I don't like being stuck in a single problem for more than few minutes. I would have given up in playing this game due to that, but the game still made me want to continue to play the game. Why? It was so brilliant. That's why.

    The puzzles are interesting, clever and funny. While the enviroment isin't really interesting and I couldn't even hear the music except for the ending, the game just keeps being enough interesting to keep going.
    The game also keeps adding things, making the puzzles feel fresh during the entire singleplayer.

    Every time a puzzle is made, you'll be rewarded with very well done monologue (And sometimes dialogue), which can make you laugh. While GLaDOS does feel a bit worse than before, the dialogue/monologue is still fantastic, proving that Valve does have quality writers (Once again!).

    What about the lenght? It took 5 hours to complete the game, but the puzzles and the dialogue/monologue were absolutely worth it. The game is constantly fun to play and the co-op adds even more lenght for those, who still want to solve puzzles.

    Even, if you're not fan of puzzle games, I recommend you to try this. I'm not fan of puzzle games either, yet the game was very entertaining.
    Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Excellent game and one of the best co-op experiences out there, Steam integration works well, the goofy and sometimes dark humor's very funny, loved gladOS, wheatley, CJ, Atlas and P-body. the only negative i can think of is that this doesn't have as many extras as the PC version, which is a waste for a blu-ray disc, not even the Cave Johnson commercials.
  32. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best gaming experiences ever made. You feel like you are really in a live science experiment. The game is like playing thru a Pixar movie. The characters are hilarious. This game is masterful.
  33. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendously designed puzzles, very difficult at times.


    Superb dialogue that makes it more than a puzzle game and a must try for a fan of any genre.
  34. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    waring portal 2 fans please don't read this i can't be bothered with idiots. this game is a puzzle game and so you expect puzzles i thought it was to easy, and it isn't just me my young friend said it was to easier and he thinks call of duty is the best serious every. says a lot. this game got a six because it has an okay story, good graphics and co-op but compared to other games that camewaring portal 2 fans please don't read this i can't be bothered with idiots. this game is a puzzle game and so you expect puzzles i thought it was to easy, and it isn't just me my young friend said it was to easier and he thinks call of duty is the best serious every. says a lot. this game got a six because it has an okay story, good graphics and co-op but compared to other games that came out like batman arkham city, l.a noire and Deux ex human revolution this game doesn't come close Expand
  35. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Portal 2 is a puzzle game of genius proportions. It taxes the brain in all the most pleasant ways, providing tons & tons of 'eureaka!' moments throughout. The humor of the game is also spot on, with the cast and writers delighting with their absurdity. The two player co-op mode is utterly fantastic, too. It's as good as or maybe even better than the single player campaign. Portal 2Portal 2 is a puzzle game of genius proportions. It taxes the brain in all the most pleasant ways, providing tons & tons of 'eureaka!' moments throughout. The humor of the game is also spot on, with the cast and writers delighting with their absurdity. The two player co-op mode is utterly fantastic, too. It's as good as or maybe even better than the single player campaign. Portal 2 unquestionably sets a new standard for puzzlers. If you want an excellent head-scratcher to while away the hours, this title will bewilder and amaze you. Expand
  36. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    This game positively surprised me, as I am normally not a huge puzzle game fan, In fact i hate time.
    But i quite liked Portal 2, except some Puzzles that were ridiculously hard.
  37. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    THIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's justTHIS is how great gameplay, controls and story should flow. Valve has once again created a masterpiece of modern gaming. From the moment i woke up in a room and told to look around to the ending song i was just sitting there going "What could they do next?" and they threw more mind bending puzzles and voice acting that still stick with me to this day. When it comes to visuals, it's just that right blend of polished but rustic look that makes every detail seem believable. The controls simple, you shot one thing and the other thing you shoot with have the portals connect, but its that simplicity that will make you wondering just how the creators were able to think up such mind numbing rooms and puzzles that are hard, but not so hard that it will have you rage quitting. When you complete a difficult room, you have a sense of accomplishment that many games just can't match. Above all it's the voice acting that truly sells this game. Your character doesn't talk, but its the 3 other characters that will have you listening to every word they say from the beginning. Some lines are haunting, but most have this charm that will make you laugh or smile because they talk about your doom, they still feel like old friends you don't want to leave. The single player is masterfully done, but in the co-op they find yet another perfect blend of fun and challenge. You and one other can complete more portal challenges that hold their own sense of accomplishment to them. I think Portal 2 is an all around perfect game, it has lasting appeal and great characters plus co-op that will have you coming back for more. Expand
  38. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; theThis has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; the ending is exactly when it should be! The voice acting is certainly amongst the best you get. As a game, the controls are exactly what you would expect and pretty easy to get to grips with. Portal 2 is genius. Full stop. Expand
  39. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and myThis game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and my portal buddy sitting next to me. It was due to this that I could get a platinum as this game needs constant online multi p communication. What a game. Bring on Portal 3. Expand
  40. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best Puzzle game of all time, and it is in the top for best game of all time. The story is engrossing, unique and hilarious. Also if you like multiplayer you would love this game.
  41. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is really the best game i have ever played. Maybe the Graphics aren't as nice as in other games but the gameplay is the best. The new gameplay elements are fantastic and very nice integratet into the game.
  42. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    i loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it anyi loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it any thing under $30 for this game is just about right . it is to short to justify a $60 price tag and even though it has co-op which is kinda neat this game doesnt really need it thats not to say it was tacked on in any sense. its pretty solid its just that i didnt feel a huge disire to play it . what this game should have had and would have justified a $60 price tag at its release would have been creat your own maps and share them with people like Little big planet. now that would have been awsome and ive heard they are working on that but its not due out till mid 2012 aover a year since the game came out... too long of a wait for some thing like that i think. moving on to the single player... its great the script and humor is fantastic and even better then the first for sure . many new additions to how you can solve puzzles . they are just hard enough to where you will have to some times sit for a few minuites and think on the real hard ones but never frustrating to where you wana just give up i felt which is just perfect. the game took me about 6-7 hours to complete so yes it isnt very long . though if you enjoy puzzle games or liked the first Portal it is worth picking up and by now you can get it cheap. Expand
  43. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there apart from the first game of course, be sure to play that first if you can. And I haven't even mentioned the two player co-op missions yet. They're great and add a lot to this as well. Unbeatble quality and experience in this game, easily gets a ten from me. Well done Valve.
    Expand
  44. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. Everything about it is PERFECT. It's an amazing follow up to Portal 1. The voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find these days, the plot is phenomenal, and the puzzles are well thought out and just the right difficulty. Hell, even the co-op, which I was skeptical of at first, was downright brilliant and provides a whole new experience and perspective on howPortal 2 is fantastic. Everything about it is PERFECT. It's an amazing follow up to Portal 1. The voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find these days, the plot is phenomenal, and the puzzles are well thought out and just the right difficulty. Hell, even the co-op, which I was skeptical of at first, was downright brilliant and provides a whole new experience and perspective on how to play the game. If you don't buy this game, you're doing yourself an injustice. Expand
  45. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to tell if it is good. it is. very good. i would reccomend it to the whole family, as for a fps, it has a low level of violence, and is generally light hearted. great game improved. buy this now. or later. just make sure you do so.
    Expand
  46. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    This game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second thirdThis game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second third of the game. Expand
  47. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    very fun and challenging game. The puzzles are incredible. half way through it jumps into a long story mode and it is very fun. the ending was great and i LOVE Wesley. great game much was improved from the 1st game. and the co-op is even more difficult and requires you to think more. i'd recommend this game to anyone that likes puzzle games.
  48. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Now that the year of gaming has come to an end Portal 2 is safe in it's spot as the best game of 2011. Despite a lot of good games released nothing came close. Not just GOTY but GOTD (D=decade).
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 doesn't add anything new to the mix of it's game play, but rather it refines and perfects it to the point of where it amazes me. With the added Co-op with your friends at home, friends at their homes, or friends on Steam. Personally this is my GOTY of 2011, with some of the most lovable voice acting and humor in a game around.
  50. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending

    The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like gels, light bridges, lasers, and gravity beams. It's just great. If you don't play it, you are depriving yourself of one of the best experiences you can have, not just as a gamer, but as a person.
    Expand
  51. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    "Portal 2" Does almost everything its predecessor did. The new things? Well, that's where valve made some decisions I don't agree with. The whole game feels play-tested to a fault, every puzzle practically screaming at you how it should be solved. In the story campaign (yes, it's brief, but I consider that neither a good or bad thing), I never felt for a moment like I experimenting with"Portal 2" Does almost everything its predecessor did. The new things? Well, that's where valve made some decisions I don't agree with. The whole game feels play-tested to a fault, every puzzle practically screaming at you how it should be solved. In the story campaign (yes, it's brief, but I consider that neither a good or bad thing), I never felt for a moment like I experimenting with different methods to find my way forward, because all the puzzles were shoved into my face. There were no tantalizing moments where I saw a crack in the wall and thought "Look, an escape!" The escape is programmed in for you. As a result of this hand-holding, I don't think I was stumped for more than a few minutes at any time. This was clearly to make sure every player gets through the game and enjoys the clever narrative and excellent voice acting (Wheatley is truly a great character). But this wasn't a battle of me against a disembodied threat. This was me being hand-held through a movie. There was hardly any of those clever immersion moments that valve is so good at creating-with its gameplay. At several points, the game took control away from me and- by god, a cutscene? Why can't I move when the threat is right in front of my face? Puzzles are interrupted halfway for the story to move forward, when I do have control of the story I must do things where I'm thinking "Hm. This seems like a bad idea," and there really is, at some points, only ONE place to put your next portal. The multiplayer is neat if you have a friend who is EXACTLY as good as you at solving puzzles so neither finishes the game for the other, but don't try solving puzzles online while using symbols "Demon's Souls" style to communicate complex thoughts that aren't "Immenent fire," and are more "Put the portal here, I'll jump through it get a portal over there and you...etc." All criticism aside, this is a well made game, and plenty of fun to play if not much of a challenge. Almost too well made. You'll enjoy it, briefly, and move on. Just as long as you aren't looking for anything too ground breaking, like, y'know, "Portal." Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Great game, clever level design, I just wish the single-player game was a little longer, maybe by an hour or so, but still overall it is fun. The puzzles are very rewarding when you figure out the solution.
  53. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    A great game with easy controls, semi-hard puzzles, awesome story and co-op missions. It does fall flat the middle of the game but picks of great afterwards.
  54. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Superb game ! Went back to it today and picked up some trophies and played the free co-op DLC. The voice acting and music compliment the gameplay superbly. A must buy
  55. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    A game with puzzles that are enjoyable by adults is a rare treat. The new coop mode is especially welcome, and lives up to my expectations. This is really misclassified as a "first person shooter", and belongs rather in a lonely "mature puzzlers" category.
  56. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is satisfactory on all levels. It's story is incredibly engaging, it's characters even better, the puzzles and gameplay are hugely expanded and improved from the first, the scope has been increased, and the co-op is great. However, despite the things that Portal 2 does right, you still can't help but feel the game's small size in terms of length and scale to a certain extent. WhiePortal 2 is satisfactory on all levels. It's story is incredibly engaging, it's characters even better, the puzzles and gameplay are hugely expanded and improved from the first, the scope has been increased, and the co-op is great. However, despite the things that Portal 2 does right, you still can't help but feel the game's small size in terms of length and scale to a certain extent. Whie the game is satsifying, it doesn't change the industry and it is far from perfect. Expand
  57. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game and a relief from all the generic FPS games out today. Well designed, funny and very clever execution. I loved the first Portal game and this takes the idea and converts it into a stand-alone A class title. Just the right length, certainly didn't feel robbed, and replay value from Co-Op mode. Excellent.
  58. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I never played Portal 1, but I had seen the trailers for this game, and it looked pretty cool. A few weeks later, it was on sale for $40 (new) for the weekend at the local game store, so I took advantage of the opportunity and bought it. After just recently beating it (I'm a very slow gamer), I can safely say that it was worth the money. The puzzles are fun and, while plenty of them areI never played Portal 1, but I had seen the trailers for this game, and it looked pretty cool. A few weeks later, it was on sale for $40 (new) for the weekend at the local game store, so I took advantage of the opportunity and bought it. After just recently beating it (I'm a very slow gamer), I can safely say that it was worth the money. The puzzles are fun and, while plenty of them are fairly straight-forward, there are a good number that had me stumped for minutes at a time. The game has taken some heat for being too short, and while I agree that the single-player campaign could be longer, I enjoyed it from start to finish. The graphics, while not particularly mind-blowing and occasionally bland, are adequate. The inventive use of physics is entertaining, the dialogue is witty, and the co-op mode, while lacking some of the customization options of the PC/Mac version, is great fun with a friend. I highly recommend it. Expand
  59. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Portal 2
    Portal Still Alive stunned gamers in 2007 with its interesting puzzles and intriguing concept. Now Portal is back, but everything has changed. No longer is the protagonist (Chell) confined to the sterile white environments of the test chambers in the first game. Now Chell finds herself in a larger adventure with a new enemy. This said the question remainsâ
  60. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    I wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quiteI wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quite as strong storywise. I really hope there will be some dlc (I'd pay for it!). Definitly remommended. Expand
  61. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. DefinitelyIt is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  62. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Like with the first Portal, this series or franchise is meant to be played by "intelligent' people . Its a puzzle game combined with shooter characteristics, though few people don't tolerate that. But forget what this dumb head says, Portal 2 is game that you need to play by his originality, complex design, humorous scenes and top notch gameplay. Valve is sometimes getting negative viewsLike with the first Portal, this series or franchise is meant to be played by "intelligent' people . Its a puzzle game combined with shooter characteristics, though few people don't tolerate that. But forget what this dumb head says, Portal 2 is game that you need to play by his originality, complex design, humorous scenes and top notch gameplay. Valve is sometimes getting negative views because of their late products, but with no doubts they are probably one of the best companies out there. So if you see Portal 2 or if you have plans to buy it ( or like the puzzle genre) just do it, of course is somewhat short. Expand
  63. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal was a very interesting game. It was a mix of a puzzle game, a first person shooter and a platformer. It not only was a success, but was also super fun, if short. Now we've got a sequel, and the good news is that it's even better. Portal 2 now has a more complex story, unlike the first, which was just that "you are a test subject, do these test chambers". With Portal 2, you have a robot companion called Wheatley (voiced by Stephen Merchant) who is your key to getting past the awoken GLADoS, before becoming the main bad guy and final boss at the end. The writing is superb, providing a great combination of humour and character development as GLADoS realises what her true self was before becoming her robot self. Portal 2 also makes a lot of improvements in the gameplay. The levels feel a lot larger, requiring you to think more outside the box and the Portal gun also makes the game run a lot faster than before. The campaign is still kind ofshort, clocking in at around 6/7 hours, but is still longer than a good number of first person shooters out there. While Portal 2 has no competitive multiplayer at hand, it does have co-operative multiplayer. The co-op follows on from the end of the single player campaign, though the story is no where near as important in the co-op. All of the puzzles, however, do feel just as great as the single player puzzles. Even better is that the PS3 owners get to play with the owners of the PC and Mac versions with the Steam integration, unlocking achievements and even chatting with their Steam friends without needing the Steam client on PC/Mac. Xbox owners are a bit left behind with this, which is a shame, but the game plays no differently in single and multiplayer, which is nice, showing that Valve put the same amount of love in the Xbox version as they did with the others.
    My final verdict on Portal 2? It's one of the best games of 2011 thus far and other games have got to do A LOT to beat it. The gameplay is a challenge, but the good type of challenge, the story and voice acting is superb by the whole cast ( J.K. Simmons as Aperture Science CEO, Merchant and Ellen McLain returning as the ex-bad bot GLADoS) and the co-op adds to it all. The length isn't as much of a problem as others say, but once it's all over, you'll just want to start again. Why? Because Portal 2 manages to reach a level of quality that other games can't even get close to.
    Expand
  64. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    either you love Valve or hate them, but they sure know how to create a world that you just want to go back to again and again. Would be very difficult to out do portal 2, but the bar for all games has just been raised higher.
  65. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    wow people are giving this low scores because of its length have they played the multiplayer

    This game is a fun engaging puzzle game with a very good story attached to it if you like portal 1 this is a must buy if you like the half life setting this game has more of that if you like a puzzle game you can't go wrong with getting this game. The time it took me to finish the single player
    wow people are giving this low scores because of its length have they played the multiplayer

    This game is a fun engaging puzzle game with a very good story attached to it if you like portal 1 this is a must buy if you like the half life setting this game has more of that if you like a puzzle game you can't go wrong with getting this game. The time it took me to finish the single player was about 7.5 hours those hours are the funnest hours you will ever have BUT you should play in 1 hour sessions as it might get repetitive. the multiplayer however is an extra 7 hours long so your getting 14 hours of gameplay compared to Mw2 where you would get 6 hours at most of gameplay so time isn't issue with this game

    My advice: Get it
    Expand
  66. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a very solid puzzle game which continues where Portal left off. I really enjoyed Portal in the Orange Box, it was a short but sweet experience and very humorous. Portal 2 continued this well for the most part with some great additions. You can get at least 15 hours gameplay from Portal 2 (including co-op). The positives:
    + Great example of humour in a video game, especially
    Portal 2 is a very solid puzzle game which continues where Portal left off. I really enjoyed Portal in the Orange Box, it was a short but sweet experience and very humorous. Portal 2 continued this well for the most part with some great additions. You can get at least 15 hours gameplay from Portal 2 (including co-op). The positives:
    + Great example of humour in a video game, especially with the inclusion of Steven Merchant. P.S. I love the turrets, they are amazing. + Loved the co-op, had great fun playing this with my brother. + Steam integration was a fantastic addition and I hope all future Valve games also include this. + The puzzles are really well done, since they never feel to over whelming. The negatives:
    - The environments fit the theme of the game, but they can feel a little bland and tire on your towards the end of the game.
    - Portal 2 felt a little dragged out. It was great getting the extra puzzles but in terms of the story it felt unnecessarily stretched.
    - Lack of replay value (but at least there are trophies, which are a good incentive to play a second time and find the secrets)
    Expand
  67. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    If you don't wanna pay $60 for the game then rent it... Or just wait till the price drops. O look its under $30 now on glyde... Quit your gripping. Its obviously worth it if more than 90% of the users disagree with you.
  68. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact,A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact, you don't have to be!) . Ignore those who go on about value for money - it took me a week to finish the single player, playing about 2 hrs a night and I'm sure co-op offers even more. And I bought it for £25. The script is fun and considering there are only 3 characters in single player mode it really draws you in. If you fancy something a bit different, get this. Expand
  69. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The sequal to a award-winning puzzle game, Portal 2 has a lot of expectations. Thankfully, it lives up to those. The game looks sharp, and the early levels had my jaw open most of the time. All 3 main characters are voiced amazingly, and the dialouge is nothing short of hilarious. The gameplay is as sharp as ever, and the new puzzle obstacles are unique, and none of them feel tacked on.The sequal to a award-winning puzzle game, Portal 2 has a lot of expectations. Thankfully, it lives up to those. The game looks sharp, and the early levels had my jaw open most of the time. All 3 main characters are voiced amazingly, and the dialouge is nothing short of hilarious. The gameplay is as sharp as ever, and the new puzzle obstacles are unique, and none of them feel tacked on. The twists and turns in the plot can become absolutely ridicoulous (In a good way). Don't listen to the idiots complaining about the length of the game. The main campaign takes anywhere from 6-8 hours, depending on how smart you are, and is still a blast the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th times through. That would have been enough in my book, but the game goes even further and gives you a second, COMPLETELY DIFFERENT campaign just for co-op. That can take about 4 hours, and supports local and online co-op. This is a great game and easily takes the crown for my favorite puzzle games, and one of my favorite games in general. Expand
  70. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying this is a BIAS review... original Portal was EPIC. If you haven't played it yet then get your a** on steam ( or buy the Orange Box) and play it already. That said this is a ten fold improvement on all fronts... The characters are great, the pacing is perfect and the few difficulty spikes are followed by a sense of accomplishment that is better left for you toLet me start by saying this is a BIAS review... original Portal was EPIC. If you haven't played it yet then get your a** on steam ( or buy the Orange Box) and play it already. That said this is a ten fold improvement on all fronts... The characters are great, the pacing is perfect and the few difficulty spikes are followed by a sense of accomplishment that is better left for you to find out for yourself. PLEASE!!! PLEASE!!! do NOT get online and cheat your way through the puzzles by looking at a walk through. This game will be enjoyed so much more if you take you time and figure it out on your own. Final verdict... BUY IT NOW!!! Expand
  71. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made . Don't make yourself the ignorance of not playing this all time masterpiece Awesome character design spectacular writing and amazing overall gameplay experience I didn't regret buying . Perfect in all ways!
  72. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is at least as good as Portal, or dare I say it, better! The game is perhaps a bit unbalanced though, the first half or more of the game contains quite easy puzzles and then they're getting a lot harder fast. I really liked that they told the hidden story so to speak, with the old facility underneath it all, it gave depth to the game without being pretentious. Nary a dull moment and the finale was great! Brought a little tear to my eye. ;-) Expand
  73. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a brilliantly witty, tongue-in-cheek game. The single player aspect took me a good 12 hours to get through, puzzling over each test chamber, sometimes then having a moment of eureka and realising how easy it is to solve. The voice work is brilliant, with Stephen Merchant giving a touch of sarcastic humour to the game, with Glados as sinister as always. The co-op, which leads onPortal 2 is a brilliantly witty, tongue-in-cheek game. The single player aspect took me a good 12 hours to get through, puzzling over each test chamber, sometimes then having a moment of eureka and realising how easy it is to solve. The voice work is brilliant, with Stephen Merchant giving a touch of sarcastic humour to the game, with Glados as sinister as always. The co-op, which leads on from the end of the single player campaign, is really good too, but works best with a friend in the room or over a microphone. Me and my mate completed it largely mic-free and we had some hilarious cases of misunderstanding and frustration. The graphics are nice too, even on PS3, which comes with a free PC copy which is also nice and hopefully this will happen more in future. Overall, Portal 2 is great fun, 4/5. Expand
  74. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Playing this game was an excellent use of my time. The story was encapsulating, the puzzles were with lack of a better word, puzzling and the physics of the portals were mind boggling. Steven Merchant made an excellent cast member, he made the Wheatley character incredibly entertaining and funny. Best game of the year so far. Anybody who gives a bad review is either not a fan of puzzlePlaying this game was an excellent use of my time. The story was encapsulating, the puzzles were with lack of a better word, puzzling and the physics of the portals were mind boggling. Steven Merchant made an excellent cast member, he made the Wheatley character incredibly entertaining and funny. Best game of the year so far. Anybody who gives a bad review is either not a fan of puzzle games or is stuck at a certain puzzle and has gotten frustrated. Expand
  75. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my life, simply put. When i got done with Portal I was amazed at the quality of the game, (although being a side game) only to be even more impresses with Portal 2, it deserves game of the year and it'll get it! P.S.- It's a short game, so if you're looking to conserve money, rent it, beat it, and return it.
  76. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The perfect combination of puzzles and fps gaming, plus a wonderful co-op. The only problem is that the source shows its age but this amazing music make you forgive. Expand
  77. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I did not even play the first portal, and yet i am so convinced Valve have created a monster franchise out of this game. It was funny, witty, and truly cynical in it's humor. Thanks for the great game Valve. A plus for Playstation 3 owners, you get a free version of Portal 2 for Steam on PC, definitely sold me the copy I bought. But honestly, I did not even play the PC version. What II did not even play the first portal, and yet i am so convinced Valve have created a monster franchise out of this game. It was funny, witty, and truly cynical in it's humor. Thanks for the great game Valve. A plus for Playstation 3 owners, you get a free version of Portal 2 for Steam on PC, definitely sold me the copy I bought. But honestly, I did not even play the PC version. What I did like though, was to be able to play my Steam friends through the PSN while they were on Steam!!!! That was such a great idea. Expand
  78. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Gra jest po prostu znakomita. Zdecydowanie najlepsze growe doÅ
  79. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    Really good puzzle game that even manages to attract fps fans to try it out. For me as a single player it's a bit short though as I really don't care about co-ops and multiplayer.
  80. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Best Game Summer 2011! This is the game Portal again with a fleshed out Story, New Mechanics, and Incredible Online Functions. Without telling you every spoiler, if you read other reviews and feel concerned with this games length, here is the truth. The Single Player mode is 3x as long as Portal 1. Then add on the Co-Op, that's where all the meat is. This game is worth your buy (especiallyBest Game Summer 2011! This is the game Portal again with a fleshed out Story, New Mechanics, and Incredible Online Functions. Without telling you every spoiler, if you read other reviews and feel concerned with this games length, here is the truth. The Single Player mode is 3x as long as Portal 1. Then add on the Co-Op, that's where all the meat is. This game is worth your buy (especially if you enjoy other Valve games)! Expand
  81. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the originalValve is one of my favorite developers, not just because of their games, but because of their care for their fans. They truly listen, and to top it off, support indie developers with promotional deals like the potato sack. Valve is one rarely to disappoint, and I am glad to say this is their best creation since Half-Life 2. The graphics, though running on the same engine as the original Portal, look incredible with their changing environments. The sound, music and especially voice acting are golden. This is some of the best dialogue and voice acting I have EVER heard in a game, Stephen Merchant especially shines as Wheatley. The story is simple, but memorable, and the environment itself tells the history of Aperture Laboratory. The single player lasted a good 7 or 8 hours, and the co-op mode, which is entirely different from the single player, will tack on another good 4 or 5. The puzzles are fantastic! They are challenging, but never once was I frustrated to the point I got bored or wanted to do something else. All in all, Portal 2 is now at the top of my favorite games ever, and is my new number one from Valve. Expand
  82. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    great game but with dated graphics, very short review but sums the game up well. Recommend for people who didn't fail school and can play chess AND can count to ten and name every letter in the alphabet =0
  83. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are thePortal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are the extra mile, with puzzles more brain bending than any of the ones found in the single player campaign, you'll be spending almost as much time working these out with a friend as you did in the single player campaign. If you like puzzles, and enjoy a fun narrative with legitimately enjoyable characters, play this game. Expand
  84. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    VALVE is on their game. Mostly just basically look forward to intense gameplay, beautiful graphics, great multiplayer, great story, and great everything else. Remarkable game.
  85. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. The visuals are great and gameplay is challenging at times. The announcement of the free upgrade with challenge mode will keep me nipping in and out of the game for some time. I love the fact that for once a third-party developer made the game look and perform better on the PS3 than the 360. Good work. Now announce Half-Life 3!
  86. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I bought the game, pre-owned, with the intention of trading it in as soon as I finished it, upon finishing it I knew that I could never sell this game. thought the first Portal was a great game, but too short. However Portal 2 is much longer, and so much better. Without doubt Portal 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The puzzles are at times challenging but never frustrating,I bought the game, pre-owned, with the intention of trading it in as soon as I finished it, upon finishing it I knew that I could never sell this game. thought the first Portal was a great game, but too short. However Portal 2 is much longer, and so much better. Without doubt Portal 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The puzzles are at times challenging but never frustrating, the voice acting is amazing and it is just an all round brilliant game. I would recommend anybody and everybody to buy this game. Hopefully there will be a third! Expand
  87. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    Portal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get whyPortal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get why this game is getting these high ratings by the critics, yes it is a unique game and not some run of the mill shooter like all those other shooters out there but that doesnt make it that good. I played the game for about 7 hours and finished it, but after solving all the puzzles replaying would be stupid en boring.
    In my honest opinion valve gets to much credit, this game should not be in the top 10 on metacritic, right up there with Baldur's Gate 2, the best game ever made (and which is over 200 hours of gameplay for the same money) Sorry for my ranting but i just think this game is overrated.....dont shoot me!
    Expand
  88. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    the people who bash this game don't know what they're talking about, this is without doubt the best game of the year so far, and for me, even the decade. it's an achievement in video game game play, and a milestone in video game storytelling.
  89. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Rather than go on about how much I loved the game, let me instead leave you with some helpful notes.

    -The game plays like a tutorial. That is, the learning curve is extremely linear. Very rarely are you asked to do something complicated without being made to do a simple version of it a level or two before. Still, very rarely is anything explicitly spelled out. -As I see it, there
    Rather than go on about how much I loved the game, let me instead leave you with some helpful notes.


    -The game plays like a tutorial. That is, the learning curve is extremely linear. Very rarely are you asked to do something complicated without being made to do a simple version of it a level or two before. Still, very rarely is anything explicitly spelled out.


    -As I see it, there are two different negative reactions to this. Seasoned players from Portal 1 are aware of this system and take full inventory of the tools available to him. These people complain that the game is too easy.
    Then there are the people who get stuck on a very specific part with a simple solution and they say the game is too hard.


    -Addressing the people in that second camp... The most common criticism I hear goes something like, "you're stuck in one section of the game forever looking for that one part of the wall you're supposed to shoot."
    You can get stuck in this game, but rarely if ever does it involve finding that one random spot to stick a portal. If you're firing wildly on the horizon, fishing for a spot to progress, you're doing it wrong. Progress is never accidental.


    -"I liked the test chamber parts, but the middle part sucked."
    As convincing as these non-test areas are, they're really test areas, just dirtier-looking. Anyone who attempts to navigate these parts normally is going to get stuck.


    -The story is well-written, well-acted, and well-paced. Some people are critical of it, comparing it to the first game. This is my take: The first game is interesting and elegant in a way that surprises you. What looks like a simple but unique puzzle game actually has an interesting, dark sense of humor. The sequel, unable to deliver this same kind of surprise, instead makes an effort to introduce new characters and bothers to flesh them out. But it doesn't lose its dark sense of humor.


    -Co-op is more of the same but with a buddy. The story isn't as complex, but the puzzles are more difficult. (although they are mostly confined to the obvious test chambers people seem to like) My advice? Play with someone you know you're not going to fight with. At any one point you'll feel stupid because the other guy figured something out before you could, or you'll be frustrated with the guy you're dragging along. Compared to most co-op games, this one is unforgiving in that success is clearly success and failure is clearly failure.


    -It's short. I finished it in two days playing pretty steadily. If you're on the kind of budget that allows you one game all year, this might not be for you. But if your budget allows two games, get a nice multi-player that lasts you a while and Portal 2.
    Expand
  90. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    A masterful experience, to say the least. Portal 2 definitely lived up to my expectations. The Co-operative campaign was especially fun, as it allowed for more intricate level designs. The single player campaign was alright, although quite lacking in content. It takes very little time to beat the single player campaign, and the levels generally require very little thought. It seems that,A masterful experience, to say the least. Portal 2 definitely lived up to my expectations. The Co-operative campaign was especially fun, as it allowed for more intricate level designs. The single player campaign was alright, although quite lacking in content. It takes very little time to beat the single player campaign, and the levels generally require very little thought. It seems that, more often than not, you are simply wandering around trying to find where you can place a portal, rather than actually finding a creative way to reach the goal. Nevertheless, this game is certainly worth at least a rental. Expand
  91. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single player 3 times, and pretty much done all of the co-op. Everything about it is so good, from the story, the humour, the game play, the test chambers, characterisation, and the detail in the graphics. And I didn't find one glitch anywhere. It is so wellI can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single player 3 times, and pretty much done all of the co-op. Everything about it is so good, from the story, the humour, the game play, the test chambers, characterisation, and the detail in the graphics. And I didn't find one glitch anywhere. It is so well crafted, and really is at the peak of not only what Valve can do, but where gaming has arrived in general. I just cannot recommend this game enough. You'll have so much fun listening to the voice-overs, and you'll feel super-smart solving the puzzles. I really have gone as far as I can with this game, and I'm still hungry for more, so I just can't wait for Valve to release some DLC, that I believe they're going to sometime in June. I really don't understand why some people are giving this a low score, because honestly I feel this is a masterpiece, where the sum of the parts delivers something so much greater. Don't hesitate in getting this - it's truly amazing. Expand
  92. May 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal 2 is an engrossing and clever masterpiece. Everything, from the first minute to the last, is extroaordinary. The hilarity of Wheatley's mischief, the shock of betrayal, the happiness of GLaDOS' change of heart...everything is sewn together perfectly. Expand
  93. May 30, 2011
    9
    Portals genius is the way it takes a simple premise (get from A to B using portals) and turns it into one of the most mind boggling, original and downright addictive games you'll ever play. Even if you don't normally like puzzle games i'd urge you to at least try this as apart from being one of the best games of this generation it's also like no other game this generation.
    Is it perfect?
    Portals genius is the way it takes a simple premise (get from A to B using portals) and turns it into one of the most mind boggling, original and downright addictive games you'll ever play. Even if you don't normally like puzzle games i'd urge you to at least try this as apart from being one of the best games of this generation it's also like no other game this generation.
    Is it perfect? No, but it's not far off. If you want to be picky then, yeah, it's a little bit short and lacks genuine replay value but does any of that really break the game in any way or stop it being one of the greatest puzzle games ever? Hell no!
    Collapse
  94. May 30, 2011
    9
    Valve has yet again put together an absolutely fantastic game and sequel to their previous hit, Portal. In this one, the campaign is much longer, more diverse, more challenging and funnier. It goes by quite fast, but it's because you're having so much fun. The voice actors are superb and the puzzles are even better than last time. The intuitive additions to the franchise all add somethingValve has yet again put together an absolutely fantastic game and sequel to their previous hit, Portal. In this one, the campaign is much longer, more diverse, more challenging and funnier. It goes by quite fast, but it's because you're having so much fun. The voice actors are superb and the puzzles are even better than last time. The intuitive additions to the franchise all add something that helps the gameplay and enhances the possibilities. The soundtrack is also extremely well-done and original and will be something you'll want to revisit. To aid in replay value, Valve have added a phenomenal co-op section of the game where two people can work together. These puzzles are harder and more challenging than you ever thought or saw in single player. However, even with co-op and promised DLC, the game does suffer from a lack of replay value. There are added commentary tracks in each level (but not near enough) and little surprises to add icing to the cake (which is a lie) but in the end you can only play the game so much before you have everything memorized and it's no longer enjoyable. Hopefully the promised DLC as well as potential future DLC will fix this issue, as it's a fantastic game. Expand
  95. May 29, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twistsThis is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twists which will make you scratch your head and keep playing just to see what's going on; and new gameplay devices are introduced smoothly and expertly, never overwhelming the player. It's also interesting to see how Valve handled co-op mode: it's a whole new campaign by itself, and it features an indicator system that may not be as effective as using an actual headset, but it's surprisingly functional all the same. All in all, there's nothing wrong to be found here... Unless you're so spoiled about game length to the point that 16 hours devoted to high quality gaming isn't as good as 40 hours managing inventory just so you can endure another 40 hours of medieval fantasy cliches. Then, and only then, Portal 2 isn't the game for you. Expand
  96. May 29, 2011
    10
    The original Portal quickly became a sensation in the gaming industry, so how do you follow it up, like this. Portal 2 does practically every thing right, it's laugh out loud funny, has brilliant puzzle design, and has a deep, rich back story about Apeture you will get to learn. The normal campaign will probably clock in from 5 to 7 hours on your first play through a the co-op will takeThe original Portal quickly became a sensation in the gaming industry, so how do you follow it up, like this. Portal 2 does practically every thing right, it's laugh out loud funny, has brilliant puzzle design, and has a deep, rich back story about Apeture you will get to learn. The normal campaign will probably clock in from 5 to 7 hours on your first play through a the co-op will take about as long. that's around 10 to 14 hours considering you don't play through it again. And that's not what you do in Portal, you replay it countless times because it an excellent game. Overall, is Portal 2 better than the original? Well in terms of game play, to me it makes the original look like a tech demo because of all these creative new elements in the game. In terms of humor, music, and design it's also better. But in terms of which game changed the industry and will be most likely be remembered more, Portal 1 will always win. Expand
  97. May 28, 2011
    9
    I thought this game was absolutely brilliant. My only qualm would be that, although the story is indeed good, it is slightly too repetitive. Co-op also feels like a completely additional story line. How ever I also think it could require a tab more creativity to solve the puzzles. Good length, good plot, great additions, Great game! Well worth the money.
  98. May 27, 2011
    1
    This game infuriates me. The original is one of my all time favorites, but this one takes a game that was about strategy and turns it into a game where you spend most your time searching for that one spot that you are able to create a portal just so you can progress. The environments are not as appealing, the new droid with a British accent is lame (but the original GladOS still kicksThis game infuriates me. The original is one of my all time favorites, but this one takes a game that was about strategy and turns it into a game where you spend most your time searching for that one spot that you are able to create a portal just so you can progress. The environments are not as appealing, the new droid with a British accent is lame (but the original GladOS still kicks ass) and to be honest I have to force myself to play and get through the levels. It's simply not fun, engaging, or compelling. Expand
  99. May 27, 2011
    9
    From top to bottom, there is a lot to love about Portal 2, and not much to dislike. It is quite possibly the best delivery of a puzzle game, well, ever. Itâ
  100. May 26, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory.Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory. There's just a sense of satisfaction that you don't get in other games when you figure out a chamber. I was thrilled with the Steam integration, the cousin and father both game on PC and by getting this version, I'm able to play with them on both platforms. Some of you may find if useless, but it's an option that's better to have and not need, then to need and not have. Now the issues I have is that the online coop is strictly based on your friends list, either PSN or Steam. Not everybody I know is going to play the same games as me, so a form on online matchmaking would have been nice; especially since a few trophies rely on your friends list, which I find rather unfair to achieve. I did love the split screen option, that's something too many games have gotten away from (and its full split screen the way its meant to be, not cut off like Resistance 2 or just the corners of the tv like in Killzone 3).Couple of other minor issues, parts are too linear and just it should have been longer. Aside from that, this is an enjoyable experience that any true gamer would be missing out if they didn't try. If your on any edge, just wait for the price drop and you will not be disappointed. Expand
  101. May 30, 2011
    0
    Portals genius is the way it takes a simple premise (get from A to B using portals) and turns it into one of the most mind boggling, original and downright addictive games you'll ever play. Even if you don't normally like puzzle games i'd urge you to at least try this as apart from being one of the best games of this generation it's also like no other game this generation.
    Is it perfect?
    Portals genius is the way it takes a simple premise (get from A to B using portals) and turns it into one of the most mind boggling, original and downright addictive games you'll ever play. Even if you don't normally like puzzle games i'd urge you to at least try this as apart from being one of the best games of this generation it's also like no other game this generation.
    Is it perfect? No, but it's not far off. If you want to be picky then, yeah, it's a little bit short and lacks genuine replay value but does any of that really break the game in any way or stop it being one of the greatest puzzle games ever? Hell no!
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]