User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 974 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 974
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a fantastic game. Those who are complaining about the short length (it's about 7-8 hours without rushing) are neglecting to mention that those 7-8 hours are pure excitement. There is never a dull moment. No item finding, no leveling up, no fetch-quests. Without all the fluff common in other games, it leaves an incredibly well-written narrative coupled with mind-bending puzzlesPortal 2 is a fantastic game. Those who are complaining about the short length (it's about 7-8 hours without rushing) are neglecting to mention that those 7-8 hours are pure excitement. There is never a dull moment. No item finding, no leveling up, no fetch-quests. Without all the fluff common in other games, it leaves an incredibly well-written narrative coupled with mind-bending puzzles and jaw dropping set-pieces. Could it have been longer? Sure. But what you get is a fully satisfying experience, and it'll be easy to go back and play it multiple times. This one will be hard to beat for GotY. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Valve picks quality of quantity in portal 2. The voice acting is fantastic, the story is amazing, the game play is loveable. After finishing single player, I can say that this is one of my favorite games. Its length is a tad short. I finished it in an evening and a morning, but like I said, its quality. And you can stretch the time by going for the trophies. But Valve better release someValve picks quality of quantity in portal 2. The voice acting is fantastic, the story is amazing, the game play is loveable. After finishing single player, I can say that this is one of my favorite games. Its length is a tad short. I finished it in an evening and a morning, but like I said, its quality. And you can stretch the time by going for the trophies. But Valve better release some free DLC/ user made levels. In all, if you liked portal a lot, get this
    if you liked the idea of portal but thought it was a tad boring, look up some videos and see if you like it
    If you hated portal, wouldn't recommend it to you.
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I found this game an excellent sequel. For me, it is the games writing that really sets it apart. The comedy and voice acting is brilliant and at times they manage to even scare you despite you knowing there are no actual enemies in the game (as it is all puzzle based). The player gets to explore and understand the history of Aperture laboratories and makes the relatively closed world ofI found this game an excellent sequel. For me, it is the games writing that really sets it apart. The comedy and voice acting is brilliant and at times they manage to even scare you despite you knowing there are no actual enemies in the game (as it is all puzzle based). The player gets to explore and understand the history of Aperture laboratories and makes the relatively closed world of the first instalment a much bigger one.

    On a puzzle based note, I did feel that the puzzles weren't as challenging as I thought they would be. I was expecting a much steeper difficulty curve, with only a couple of the puzzles posing any real difficulty (maybe I have been thinking with portals too long?). That said, there is no reason not to pick this title up if you are a fan of good puzzle games, a fan of the first one, or just very entertaining and clever writing. At the time of writing this, PSN has been down since its release so I am unable to comment on the cooperative mode, however, I have heard from fellow Steam users that it is just as good as the single player experience, if not with harder puzzles.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best Game, sequel is at least as good than the first one.
    I am just not a big fan of Stephen Merchant voice though.



    [spoiler] .
    .
    .
    .
    I still prefer the song from PORTAL
    [spoiler]
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is excellent all the way through. The puzzles are great, and are presented along a well executed curve of difficulty. The voice acting and humor are both top notch. I would absolutely recommend trying this game out, especially if you have played through the first Portal and are a fan. And for those who are giving it 0's to even out the score to what you think it should be, anPortal 2 is excellent all the way through. The puzzles are great, and are presented along a well executed curve of difficulty. The voice acting and humor are both top notch. I would absolutely recommend trying this game out, especially if you have played through the first Portal and are a fan. And for those who are giving it 0's to even out the score to what you think it should be, an average is supposed to be an average of everyone's opinion, not what you think it should be. Don't ruin the site for everyone. Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    never played the first so dont know about the sandbox style of the first..and when my misses bought me this game i was not looking forward to playing it(i like to shoot things) but it blew me away and i got addicted!! now if only the psn was working so i can co-op online
  7. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Well paced, atmospheric, challenging and ultimately rewarding, this game is really excellent. The visuals are stunning, the story is engaging and the overall aesthetic to the game really draws you in to the world. Whoever cast Stephen Merchant deserves a pay rise. Well done Valve.
  8. May 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! Masterpiece by Valve. Good graphics(Not amazing), and good physics. The game features some very funny characters. The storyline is very balanced, and since it follows up the original Portal, its a bit important you have played the original Portal. The single-player storyline might be a little to short, but its still an awesome game. The Co-op game-play, I personally find veryGreat game! Masterpiece by Valve. Good graphics(Not amazing), and good physics. The game features some very funny characters. The storyline is very balanced, and since it follows up the original Portal, its a bit important you have played the original Portal. The single-player storyline might be a little to short, but its still an awesome game. The Co-op game-play, I personally find very very funny. The Steam integration on the PS3, and the free PC version is just great marketing by Valve, and it works flawless. 10/10

    An DLC has been announced, with news levels and so on! 10/10
    Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    The best game experience in last three years and one of the best games of decade. Studio Valve shows how to do game for gamers and also how to earn big money. Best studio in the whole industry. Story, humour, graphics in Portal 2 - everything is epic here. And... now announced DLC for all platforms FREE - who else can offer it to the players?
  10. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This is hands down the best game I have played in a long time. The story was incredible, and if you dont run crying to the internet for walkthroughs, single player is 7 hours minimum. To all those who are complaining about the length of the game, let me introduce you to a company caled VALVE. If you have the PC or PS3 version, steam will keep the game updated with new things, includingThis is hands down the best game I have played in a long time. The story was incredible, and if you dont run crying to the internet for walkthroughs, single player is 7 hours minimum. To all those who are complaining about the length of the game, let me introduce you to a company caled VALVE. If you have the PC or PS3 version, steam will keep the game updated with new things, including dlc. Now while silly things like costumes cost money, things like new modes, and new levels will be released this summer, for FREE. Thats right, VALVE has always continued its support of their games, and more importantly the people who buy them. There will be plenty of new additions, that wont cost a dime coming in the future to MORE than justify the price... so get over it, dont cheat, enjoy the game, and look forward to FREE additional content http://playstationlifestyle.net/2011/04/29/free-portal-2-dlc-aiming-for-summer-release/ . Expand
  11. May 6, 2011
    10
    What makes me sad, is the amount of haters hating on this game just because of one little flaw. For example: GlaDOS didn't turn out exactly as I expected her to be so this game gets a 0, or, awesome game, 0. This game is exactly what we all want and a perfect sequel for the first Portal. THe humor is amazing, the characters are funny, and I don't know anyone who didn't enjoy the game.
  12. May 8, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. good mental excersise, in the single player and specially in the co op to play with a friend or relative is just so much fun. could be a little longer but the humor that glaados brings make worth the journey. play it.

    darthgamer79
    Expand
  13. May 9, 2011
    9
    With the hype surrounding this game, I doubted it could possibly match expectations, but Valve has pulled it off. Once again, the writing and voice-acting are superb and hilarious, the puzzles are challenging, but not frustrating, and the pacing is well done, smoothly introducing the player to new elements..The quality matches up, down the line, even to the end credits song, which is asWith the hype surrounding this game, I doubted it could possibly match expectations, but Valve has pulled it off. Once again, the writing and voice-acting are superb and hilarious, the puzzles are challenging, but not frustrating, and the pacing is well done, smoothly introducing the player to new elements..The quality matches up, down the line, even to the end credits song, which is as equally catchy as "Still Alive", a feat I thought frankly, impossible. The game is on the short side, though longer than the first, with the addition of an excellent co-op mode, and the nature of the game means there isn't really any re-playability once you've solved the puzzles. (unless one wants to enjoy the story experience again.) It'll be up to each individual to decide on whether they think it's worth the price, but the question of whether the game itself matches the first Portal is a resounding "Yes!"â Expand
  14. May 10, 2011
    9
    In no way was I disappointed. In fact, I was very impressed with the game overall. I expected GLaDOS to be slightly more vengeful but she still managed to amuse me. CO-OP was a fun addition. As long as we can get some harder "tests" in the coming DLC then I won't have anything negative to say.
  15. May 23, 2011
    10
    SHOUT OUT! TO ANYONE THAT LOVES PUZZLES, THIS IS YOUR GAME. This game is so much fun, I wish it didnâ
  16. May 14, 2011
    9
    A true masterpiece of a game that is oozing in quality from start to finish. The voice acting and script are the best of any videogame I've ever played, and the gameplay feels rewarding and continually evolves with new elements and challenges, both in solo and co-op play. It's an incredible experience and you absolutely have to play it. That said, I really think the game is a must rentA true masterpiece of a game that is oozing in quality from start to finish. The voice acting and script are the best of any videogame I've ever played, and the gameplay feels rewarding and continually evolves with new elements and challenges, both in solo and co-op play. It's an incredible experience and you absolutely have to play it. That said, I really think the game is a must rent rather than a must buy. While replay value is there, a lot of the appeal for me came through the storytelling and initial buzz of figuring out a puzzle, which is inevitably lost on a second playthrough. That isn't to say it's not worth the money, but I feel you could enjoy the bulk of the game in a solid weekend. Expand
  17. May 15, 2011
    10
    Well worth it to play, I understand the PC gamers' agonies over the game and feel sympathy for them. But still, this game is incredibly polished, has professional voice acting, and has one of best co-ops of any game! the story is engaging throughout due to humor provided by GlaDoS, Wheatley, and Cave Johnson. They pretty much run the whole story as you are only the background character.Well worth it to play, I understand the PC gamers' agonies over the game and feel sympathy for them. But still, this game is incredibly polished, has professional voice acting, and has one of best co-ops of any game! the story is engaging throughout due to humor provided by GlaDoS, Wheatley, and Cave Johnson. They pretty much run the whole story as you are only the background character. Why criticize? Expand
  18. May 18, 2011
    9
    Let me preface this by saying that Portal 2 is one of the most well-written games I've ever played, and the voice acting completely compliments it in the best way possible. However, fantastic writing and sound doesn't mean you can get away with a perfect score. If you liked Portal, you won't be disappointed at all here. The campaign is pretty much 5 times longer than the first Portal, andLet me preface this by saying that Portal 2 is one of the most well-written games I've ever played, and the voice acting completely compliments it in the best way possible. However, fantastic writing and sound doesn't mean you can get away with a perfect score. If you liked Portal, you won't be disappointed at all here. The campaign is pretty much 5 times longer than the first Portal, and there are a lot more elements to solve the puzzles. Solving puzzles are so satisfying, but when you fully master the new puzzle elements, the game is pretty much over, and the new stuff isn't used as much as you'd like to. Portal 2 is a great game, but I just want more, and it didn't deliver enough of the new stuff. Maybe it's a good sign of making me want more. Expand
  19. May 19, 2011
    9
    Okay fellow portal makers PORTAL 2 is here and let me tell you it is Amazing.It is everything a great game should be. A great single player experience,a new Multiplayer Co op feature gives a lot more value for your money and gets some crazy puzzles starting.Now let me start with this the cast is awesome from the once again laugh out loud funny GLADOS to the extremely witty British humor ofOkay fellow portal makers PORTAL 2 is here and let me tell you it is Amazing.It is everything a great game should be. A great single player experience,a new Multiplayer Co op feature gives a lot more value for your money and gets some crazy puzzles starting.Now let me start with this the cast is awesome from the once again laugh out loud funny GLADOS to the extremely witty British humor of Wheatley.The game has some new features like repulsion Gel which is a very nice feature it allows players to experiment with the environment. Also now we have lasers replacing the ORBS from the first game,the ending is superb and in a way makes you a little sad inside i wont spoil it for you though.But yea its a Amazing game if you liked the first game you will adore this one. Expand
  20. May 29, 2011
    10
    The original Portal quickly became a sensation in the gaming industry, so how do you follow it up, like this. Portal 2 does practically every thing right, it's laugh out loud funny, has brilliant puzzle design, and has a deep, rich back story about Apeture you will get to learn. The normal campaign will probably clock in from 5 to 7 hours on your first play through a the co-op will takeThe original Portal quickly became a sensation in the gaming industry, so how do you follow it up, like this. Portal 2 does practically every thing right, it's laugh out loud funny, has brilliant puzzle design, and has a deep, rich back story about Apeture you will get to learn. The normal campaign will probably clock in from 5 to 7 hours on your first play through a the co-op will take about as long. that's around 10 to 14 hours considering you don't play through it again. And that's not what you do in Portal, you replay it countless times because it an excellent game. Overall, is Portal 2 better than the original? Well in terms of game play, to me it makes the original look like a tech demo because of all these creative new elements in the game. In terms of humor, music, and design it's also better. But in terms of which game changed the industry and will be most likely be remembered more, Portal 1 will always win. Expand
  21. May 26, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory.Portal 2 does a lot right, and my score is an 8 only for a few minor issues that I have. This is an excellent squeal to the first. The character dialogue is brilliant and funny and is just an enjoyable game to play. Some parts fly by a little quickly and the overall length of the game could be longer, but for what it is, its one of the best gaming experiences I've had in recent memory. There's just a sense of satisfaction that you don't get in other games when you figure out a chamber. I was thrilled with the Steam integration, the cousin and father both game on PC and by getting this version, I'm able to play with them on both platforms. Some of you may find if useless, but it's an option that's better to have and not need, then to need and not have. Now the issues I have is that the online coop is strictly based on your friends list, either PSN or Steam. Not everybody I know is going to play the same games as me, so a form on online matchmaking would have been nice; especially since a few trophies rely on your friends list, which I find rather unfair to achieve. I did love the split screen option, that's something too many games have gotten away from (and its full split screen the way its meant to be, not cut off like Resistance 2 or just the corners of the tv like in Killzone 3).Couple of other minor issues, parts are too linear and just it should have been longer. Aside from that, this is an enjoyable experience that any true gamer would be missing out if they didn't try. If your on any edge, just wait for the price drop and you will not be disappointed. Expand
  22. May 27, 2011
    9
    From top to bottom, there is a lot to love about Portal 2, and not much to dislike. It is quite possibly the best delivery of a puzzle game, well, ever. Itâ
  23. May 28, 2011
    9
    I thought this game was absolutely brilliant. My only qualm would be that, although the story is indeed good, it is slightly too repetitive. Co-op also feels like a completely additional story line. How ever I also think it could require a tab more creativity to solve the puzzles. Good length, good plot, great additions, Great game! Well worth the money.
  24. May 29, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twistsThis is an improvement in every way, shape or form to the first game. Don't pay attention to the disgruntled PC gaming fans - they're mostly pissed off that this gem isn't 'theirs' anymore, and therefore are looking for every straw man they can to diss the game. Fact is, the single player campaign is at least three times as long as the previous one; it features a couple of plot twists which will make you scratch your head and keep playing just to see what's going on; and new gameplay devices are introduced smoothly and expertly, never overwhelming the player. It's also interesting to see how Valve handled co-op mode: it's a whole new campaign by itself, and it features an indicator system that may not be as effective as using an actual headset, but it's surprisingly functional all the same. All in all, there's nothing wrong to be found here... Unless you're so spoiled about game length to the point that 16 hours devoted to high quality gaming isn't as good as 40 hours managing inventory just so you can endure another 40 hours of medieval fantasy cliches. Then, and only then, Portal 2 isn't the game for you. Expand
  25. May 30, 2011
    9
    Valve has yet again put together an absolutely fantastic game and sequel to their previous hit, Portal. In this one, the campaign is much longer, more diverse, more challenging and funnier. It goes by quite fast, but it's because you're having so much fun. The voice actors are superb and the puzzles are even better than last time. The intuitive additions to the franchise all add somethingValve has yet again put together an absolutely fantastic game and sequel to their previous hit, Portal. In this one, the campaign is much longer, more diverse, more challenging and funnier. It goes by quite fast, but it's because you're having so much fun. The voice actors are superb and the puzzles are even better than last time. The intuitive additions to the franchise all add something that helps the gameplay and enhances the possibilities. The soundtrack is also extremely well-done and original and will be something you'll want to revisit. To aid in replay value, Valve have added a phenomenal co-op section of the game where two people can work together. These puzzles are harder and more challenging than you ever thought or saw in single player. However, even with co-op and promised DLC, the game does suffer from a lack of replay value. There are added commentary tracks in each level (but not near enough) and little surprises to add icing to the cake (which is a lie) but in the end you can only play the game so much before you have everything memorized and it's no longer enjoyable. Hopefully the promised DLC as well as potential future DLC will fix this issue, as it's a fantastic game. Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    wow people are giving this low scores because of its length have they played the multiplayer

    This game is a fun engaging puzzle game with a very good story attached to it if you like portal 1 this is a must buy if you like the half life setting this game has more of that if you like a puzzle game you can't go wrong with getting this game. The time it took me to finish the single player
    wow people are giving this low scores because of its length have they played the multiplayer

    This game is a fun engaging puzzle game with a very good story attached to it if you like portal 1 this is a must buy if you like the half life setting this game has more of that if you like a puzzle game you can't go wrong with getting this game. The time it took me to finish the single player was about 7.5 hours those hours are the funnest hours you will ever have BUT you should play in 1 hour sessions as it might get repetitive. the multiplayer however is an extra 7 hours long so your getting 14 hours of gameplay compared to Mw2 where you would get 6 hours at most of gameplay so time isn't issue with this game

    My advice: Get it
    Expand
  27. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    great game but with dated graphics, very short review but sums the game up well. Recommend for people who didn't fail school and can play chess AND can count to ten and name every letter in the alphabet =0
  28. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Rather than go on about how much I loved the game, let me instead leave you with some helpful notes.

    -The game plays like a tutorial. That is, the learning curve is extremely linear. Very rarely are you asked to do something complicated without being made to do a simple version of it a level or two before. Still, very rarely is anything explicitly spelled out. -As I see it, there
    Rather than go on about how much I loved the game, let me instead leave you with some helpful notes.


    -The game plays like a tutorial. That is, the learning curve is extremely linear. Very rarely are you asked to do something complicated without being made to do a simple version of it a level or two before. Still, very rarely is anything explicitly spelled out.


    -As I see it, there are two different negative reactions to this. Seasoned players from Portal 1 are aware of this system and take full inventory of the tools available to him. These people complain that the game is too easy.
    Then there are the people who get stuck on a very specific part with a simple solution and they say the game is too hard.


    -Addressing the people in that second camp... The most common criticism I hear goes something like, "you're stuck in one section of the game forever looking for that one part of the wall you're supposed to shoot."
    You can get stuck in this game, but rarely if ever does it involve finding that one random spot to stick a portal. If you're firing wildly on the horizon, fishing for a spot to progress, you're doing it wrong. Progress is never accidental.


    -"I liked the test chamber parts, but the middle part sucked."
    As convincing as these non-test areas are, they're really test areas, just dirtier-looking. Anyone who attempts to navigate these parts normally is going to get stuck.


    -The story is well-written, well-acted, and well-paced. Some people are critical of it, comparing it to the first game. This is my take: The first game is interesting and elegant in a way that surprises you. What looks like a simple but unique puzzle game actually has an interesting, dark sense of humor. The sequel, unable to deliver this same kind of surprise, instead makes an effort to introduce new characters and bothers to flesh them out. But it doesn't lose its dark sense of humor.


    -Co-op is more of the same but with a buddy. The story isn't as complex, but the puzzles are more difficult. (although they are mostly confined to the obvious test chambers people seem to like) My advice? Play with someone you know you're not going to fight with. At any one point you'll feel stupid because the other guy figured something out before you could, or you'll be frustrated with the guy you're dragging along. Compared to most co-op games, this one is unforgiving in that success is clearly success and failure is clearly failure.


    -It's short. I finished it in two days playing pretty steadily. If you're on the kind of budget that allows you one game all year, this might not be for you. But if your budget allows two games, get a nice multi-player that lasts you a while and Portal 2.
    Expand
  29. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    the people who bash this game don't know what they're talking about, this is without doubt the best game of the year so far, and for me, even the decade. it's an achievement in video game game play, and a milestone in video game storytelling.
  30. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I bought the game, pre-owned, with the intention of trading it in as soon as I finished it, upon finishing it I knew that I could never sell this game. thought the first Portal was a great game, but too short. However Portal 2 is much longer, and so much better. Without doubt Portal 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The puzzles are at times challenging but never frustrating,I bought the game, pre-owned, with the intention of trading it in as soon as I finished it, upon finishing it I knew that I could never sell this game. thought the first Portal was a great game, but too short. However Portal 2 is much longer, and so much better. Without doubt Portal 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The puzzles are at times challenging but never frustrating, the voice acting is amazing and it is just an all round brilliant game. I would recommend anybody and everybody to buy this game. Hopefully there will be a third! Expand
  31. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. The visuals are great and gameplay is challenging at times. The announcement of the free upgrade with challenge mode will keep me nipping in and out of the game for some time. I love the fact that for once a third-party developer made the game look and perform better on the PS3 than the 360. Good work. Now announce Half-Life 3!
  32. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made . Don't make yourself the ignorance of not playing this all time masterpiece Awesome character design spectacular writing and amazing overall gameplay experience I didn't regret buying . Perfect in all ways!
  33. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are thePortal 2 marries the wonderfully mind bending game mechanics and love to hate character of GLaDOS from the first Portal, and give them the narrative and fully realized world they deserve. While the single player campaign runs a little on the short side (between 6-10 hours depending on the player), its genuinely engaging enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. The Co-op levels are the extra mile, with puzzles more brain bending than any of the ones found in the single player campaign, you'll be spending almost as much time working these out with a friend as you did in the single player campaign. If you like puzzles, and enjoy a fun narrative with legitimately enjoyable characters, play this game. Expand
  34. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Excellent game and one of the best co-op experiences out there, Steam integration works well, the goofy and sometimes dark humor's very funny, loved gladOS, wheatley, CJ, Atlas and P-body. the only negative i can think of is that this doesn't have as many extras as the PC version, which is a waste for a blu-ray disc, not even the Cave Johnson commercials.
  35. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Gra jest po prostu znakomita. Zdecydowanie najlepsze growe doÅ
  36. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I did not even play the first portal, and yet i am so convinced Valve have created a monster franchise out of this game. It was funny, witty, and truly cynical in it's humor. Thanks for the great game Valve. A plus for Playstation 3 owners, you get a free version of Portal 2 for Steam on PC, definitely sold me the copy I bought. But honestly, I did not even play the PC version. What II did not even play the first portal, and yet i am so convinced Valve have created a monster franchise out of this game. It was funny, witty, and truly cynical in it's humor. Thanks for the great game Valve. A plus for Playstation 3 owners, you get a free version of Portal 2 for Steam on PC, definitely sold me the copy I bought. But honestly, I did not even play the PC version. What I did like though, was to be able to play my Steam friends through the PSN while they were on Steam!!!! That was such a great idea. Expand
  37. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The perfect combination of puzzles and fps gaming, plus a wonderful co-op. The only problem is that the source shows its age but this amazing music make you forgive. Expand
  38. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my life, simply put. When i got done with Portal I was amazed at the quality of the game, (although being a side game) only to be even more impresses with Portal 2, it deserves game of the year and it'll get it! P.S.- It's a short game, so if you're looking to conserve money, rent it, beat it, and return it.
  39. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Playing this game was an excellent use of my time. The story was encapsulating, the puzzles were with lack of a better word, puzzling and the physics of the portals were mind boggling. Steven Merchant made an excellent cast member, he made the Wheatley character incredibly entertaining and funny. Best game of the year so far. Anybody who gives a bad review is either not a fan of puzzlePlaying this game was an excellent use of my time. The story was encapsulating, the puzzles were with lack of a better word, puzzling and the physics of the portals were mind boggling. Steven Merchant made an excellent cast member, he made the Wheatley character incredibly entertaining and funny. Best game of the year so far. Anybody who gives a bad review is either not a fan of puzzle games or is stuck at a certain puzzle and has gotten frustrated. Expand
  40. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The sequal to a award-winning puzzle game, Portal 2 has a lot of expectations. Thankfully, it lives up to those. The game looks sharp, and the early levels had my jaw open most of the time. All 3 main characters are voiced amazingly, and the dialouge is nothing short of hilarious. The gameplay is as sharp as ever, and the new puzzle obstacles are unique, and none of them feel tacked on.The sequal to a award-winning puzzle game, Portal 2 has a lot of expectations. Thankfully, it lives up to those. The game looks sharp, and the early levels had my jaw open most of the time. All 3 main characters are voiced amazingly, and the dialouge is nothing short of hilarious. The gameplay is as sharp as ever, and the new puzzle obstacles are unique, and none of them feel tacked on. The twists and turns in the plot can become absolutely ridicoulous (In a good way). Don't listen to the idiots complaining about the length of the game. The main campaign takes anywhere from 6-8 hours, depending on how smart you are, and is still a blast the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th times through. That would have been enough in my book, but the game goes even further and gives you a second, COMPLETELY DIFFERENT campaign just for co-op. That can take about 4 hours, and supports local and online co-op. This is a great game and easily takes the crown for my favorite puzzle games, and one of my favorite games in general. Expand
  41. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    If you don't wanna pay $60 for the game then rent it... Or just wait till the price drops. O look its under $30 now on glyde... Quit your gripping. Its obviously worth it if more than 90% of the users disagree with you.
  42. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact,A truely wonderful game. Quite unique in today's Market. This is not a game I would normally go for but the sheer lack of decent games out until the winter this year forced my hand.... And I'm so glad as it's one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.it's fun and it gets you thinking without being irritating. You feel like a genius when you finish some of the tests (when, in fact, you don't have to be!) . Ignore those who go on about value for money - it took me a week to finish the single player, playing about 2 hrs a night and I'm sure co-op offers even more. And I bought it for £25. The script is fun and considering there are only 3 characters in single player mode it really draws you in. If you fancy something a bit different, get this. Expand
  43. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a very solid puzzle game which continues where Portal left off. I really enjoyed Portal in the Orange Box, it was a short but sweet experience and very humorous. Portal 2 continued this well for the most part with some great additions. You can get at least 15 hours gameplay from Portal 2 (including co-op). The positives:
    + Great example of humour in a video game, especially
    Portal 2 is a very solid puzzle game which continues where Portal left off. I really enjoyed Portal in the Orange Box, it was a short but sweet experience and very humorous. Portal 2 continued this well for the most part with some great additions. You can get at least 15 hours gameplay from Portal 2 (including co-op). The positives:
    + Great example of humour in a video game, especially with the inclusion of Steven Merchant. P.S. I love the turrets, they are amazing. + Loved the co-op, had great fun playing this with my brother. + Steam integration was a fantastic addition and I hope all future Valve games also include this. + The puzzles are really well done, since they never feel to over whelming. The negatives:
    - The environments fit the theme of the game, but they can feel a little bland and tire on your towards the end of the game.
    - Portal 2 felt a little dragged out. It was great getting the extra puzzles but in terms of the story it felt unnecessarily stretched.
    - Lack of replay value (but at least there are trophies, which are a good incentive to play a second time and find the secrets)
    Expand
  44. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    either you love Valve or hate them, but they sure know how to create a world that you just want to go back to again and again. Would be very difficult to out do portal 2, but the bar for all games has just been raised higher.
  45. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portal was a very interesting game. It was a mix of a puzzle game, a first person shooter and a platformer. It not only was a success, but was also super fun, if short. Now we've got a sequel, and the good news is that it's even better. Portal 2 now has a more complex story, unlike the first, which was just that "you are a test subject, do these test chambers". With Portal 2, you have a robot companion called Wheatley (voiced by Stephen Merchant) who is your key to getting past the awoken GLADoS, before becoming the main bad guy and final boss at the end. The writing is superb, providing a great combination of humour and character development as GLADoS realises what her true self was before becoming her robot self. Portal 2 also makes a lot of improvements in the gameplay. The levels feel a lot larger, requiring you to think more outside the box and the Portal gun also makes the game run a lot faster than before. The campaign is still kind ofshort, clocking in at around 6/7 hours, but is still longer than a good number of first person shooters out there. While Portal 2 has no competitive multiplayer at hand, it does have co-operative multiplayer. The co-op follows on from the end of the single player campaign, though the story is no where near as important in the co-op. All of the puzzles, however, do feel just as great as the single player puzzles. Even better is that the PS3 owners get to play with the owners of the PC and Mac versions with the Steam integration, unlocking achievements and even chatting with their Steam friends without needing the Steam client on PC/Mac. Xbox owners are a bit left behind with this, which is a shame, but the game plays no differently in single and multiplayer, which is nice, showing that Valve put the same amount of love in the Xbox version as they did with the others.
    My final verdict on Portal 2? It's one of the best games of 2011 thus far and other games have got to do A LOT to beat it. The gameplay is a challenge, but the good type of challenge, the story and voice acting is superb by the whole cast ( J.K. Simmons as Aperture Science CEO, Merchant and Ellen McLain returning as the ex-bad bot GLADoS) and the co-op adds to it all. The length isn't as much of a problem as others say, but once it's all over, you'll just want to start again. Why? Because Portal 2 manages to reach a level of quality that other games can't even get close to.
    Expand
  46. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. DefinitelyIt is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  47. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and myThis game was so entertaining and wickedly funny to boot. The voice acting is second to none and the lines are memorable and quotable. I laughed so much at Cave Johnson and "the lemons" I was crying. The physics of this game are phenomenal and the plot, gameplay and entertainment factor is so high. Multiplayer would have been a trophy nightmare had I not had two ps3's, two games and my portal buddy sitting next to me. It was due to this that I could get a platinum as this game needs constant online multi p communication. What a game. Bring on Portal 3. Expand
  48. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    I wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quiteI wouldn't know what more I could get from a computer game. Actualley, I would: more of the same. The single player campaign is absolutely great. Fun, with just the right difficulty to give you something to think about and maybe come back a day later without ever having you completly stuck. The coop campaign is maybe even more fun (provided you play with a nice friend), although not quite as strong storywise. I really hope there will be some dlc (I'd pay for it!). Definitly remommended. Expand
  49. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game and a relief from all the generic FPS games out today. Well designed, funny and very clever execution. I loved the first Portal game and this takes the idea and converts it into a stand-alone A class title. Just the right length, certainly didn't feel robbed, and replay value from Co-Op mode. Excellent.
  50. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    The controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this gameThe controls are clunky as hell compared to the PC version, but at least setting up a split-screen co-op game is quick and easy. The puzzles in co-op weren't as difficult as I was expecting; Chapter 7 in the main story was much more challenging but the co-op is still fun. Solutions aren't instantly apparent, but they don't require hours of thought either. I would highly recommend this game to virtually anyone. The most astonishing achievement isn't the accomodating puzzles which vary in difficulty, the perfectly paced progression, the humour or fun co-op, but the ability to play cross-platform with PC with no problems at all, and no lag whatsoever. Expand
  51. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    A game with puzzles that are enjoyable by adults is a rare treat. The new coop mode is especially welcome, and lives up to my expectations. This is really misclassified as a "first person shooter", and belongs rather in a lonely "mature puzzlers" category.
  52. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Superb game ! Went back to it today and picked up some trophies and played the free co-op DLC. The voice acting and music compliment the gameplay superbly. A must buy
  53. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    A great game with easy controls, semi-hard puzzles, awesome story and co-op missions. It does fall flat the middle of the game but picks of great afterwards.
  54. May 24, 2015
    8
    This is a great puzzle game wrapped in Half-Life packaging. The voice acting of Stephen Merchant is full of English banter (just like The Office UK) which keeps the tone up beat and relaxed. The story is highly original and well put together. The levels I found to always be challenging, but never frustrating - which was perfect. It may sometimes look like a action/shooter, but rememberThis is a great puzzle game wrapped in Half-Life packaging. The voice acting of Stephen Merchant is full of English banter (just like The Office UK) which keeps the tone up beat and relaxed. The story is highly original and well put together. The levels I found to always be challenging, but never frustrating - which was perfect. It may sometimes look like a action/shooter, but remember this is just a clever puzzle game at heart. Expand
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 doesn't add anything new to the mix of it's game play, but rather it refines and perfects it to the point of where it amazes me. With the added Co-op with your friends at home, friends at their homes, or friends on Steam. Personally this is my GOTY of 2011, with some of the most lovable voice acting and humor in a game around.
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Great game, clever level design, I just wish the single-player game was a little longer, maybe by an hour or so, but still overall it is fun. The puzzles are very rewarding when you figure out the solution.
  57. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like
    What more can I say, It's the best?

    It's a sequel that is not just "more of the same." While the first one was puzzle focused game in small, sterilized environments, the second one is a story driven puzzle game with varied environments. It is just as funny as the fist one as well, and has a great ending

    The puzzles are just as entertaining as well, especially with the new elements like gels, light bridges, lasers, and gravity beams. It's just great. If you don't play it, you are depriving yourself of one of the best experiences you can have, not just as a gamer, but as a person.
    Expand
  58. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. TG.
  59. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Now that the year of gaming has come to an end Portal 2 is safe in it's spot as the best game of 2011. Despite a lot of good games released nothing came close. Not just GOTY but GOTD (D=decade).
  60. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    very fun and challenging game. The puzzles are incredible. half way through it jumps into a long story mode and it is very fun. the ending was great and i LOVE Wesley. great game much was improved from the 1st game. and the co-op is even more difficult and requires you to think more. i'd recommend this game to anyone that likes puzzle games.
  61. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    This game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second thirdThis game had a very entertaining and hilarious story line that explained a lot of the events in the original Portal. The puzzles were a lot of fun to figure out and not once was I frustrated. I'm still playing the co-op eight months after the game's release, thanks to some great--and free--downloadable content. One point off for a too-slow pace for two hours or so in the second third of the game. Expand
  62. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to
    portal 2 is a bizarre game. it is also probably the best this year. it is a game that in the future will be seen as revolutionary, fantastic, and classic. gameplay is good, premise is good, script is good, execution is good and it is a fantastically well rounded game in all areas. the great cast add to the perfection.

    i am not here to lecturer you on what you do in the game. i am here to tell if it is good. it is. very good. i would reccomend it to the whole family, as for a fps, it has a low level of violence, and is generally light hearted. great game improved. buy this now. or later. just make sure you do so.
    Expand
  63. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. Everything about it is PERFECT. It's an amazing follow up to Portal 1. The voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find these days, the plot is phenomenal, and the puzzles are well thought out and just the right difficulty. Hell, even the co-op, which I was skeptical of at first, was downright brilliant and provides a whole new experience and perspective on howPortal 2 is fantastic. Everything about it is PERFECT. It's an amazing follow up to Portal 1. The voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find these days, the plot is phenomenal, and the puzzles are well thought out and just the right difficulty. Hell, even the co-op, which I was skeptical of at first, was downright brilliant and provides a whole new experience and perspective on how to play the game. If you don't buy this game, you're doing yourself an injustice. Expand
  64. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there
    Quality over quantity I think. Of course it can be nice to have a long game but it wouldn't really suit this game so well. If you're just going to play it in one player and that's it, buy it then trade it in.. or just rent it.

    But make sure you do play it, it's an incredible game, so witty and funny, and the puzzles are so well thought out. There is honestly nothing like this out there apart from the first game of course, be sure to play that first if you can. And I haven't even mentioned the two player co-op missions yet. They're great and add a lot to this as well. Unbeatble quality and experience in this game, easily gets a ten from me. Well done Valve.
    Expand
  65. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    A solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are inA solid successor to Portal, didn't satisfy me background-story-wise (although the scripted events in the campaign are amazing), and the puzzles get a bit too messy to be as beautiful as they sometimes were in the first game. I found the length to be satisfying... for the last couple of hours, I expected the game to end anytime soon, and it kept going (and some of the high points are in the last hour of the game) I'll give it 8/10 and an extra point for the extraordinarily amusing voice-work and the rare inclusion of something as rare as a local co-op campaign. Expand
  66. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is really the best game i have ever played. Maybe the Graphics aren't as nice as in other games but the gameplay is the best. The new gameplay elements are fantastic and very nice integratet into the game.
  67. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best Puzzle game of all time, and it is in the top for best game of all time. The story is engrossing, unique and hilarious. Also if you like multiplayer you would love this game.
  68. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; theThis has to be my favourite game of 2011! Even if, like me, you hate puzzle games, you'll still love this game. The gaming market has pretty much been reduced to FPS and racing games, but this thing is great if you fancy a change from the usual conventions of your average game. Some have argued there isn't enough gameplay but I thought the storyline was witty and brilliantly written; the ending is exactly when it should be! The voice acting is certainly amongst the best you get. As a game, the controls are exactly what you would expect and pretty easy to get to grips with. Portal 2 is genius. Full stop. Expand
  69. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Loved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to thisLoved the original portal, and did not expect this one to disappoint, either. In fact I love puzzle games, and good stories, having braid as one of my all time favs. This game if fun, exciting, thought-provoking, imaginative, funny, and adds new mechanics that help this so much more. The introduction of coop alone should warrant value much appreciation because it adds so much more to this game, really making it two games in one. None of the puzzles are too difficult, I remember only one where I just could not figure out, but eventually I did, and it was a lot of fun in the process. Expand
  70. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    This game positively surprised me, as I am normally not a huge puzzle game fan, In fact i hate time.
    But i quite liked Portal 2, except some Puzzles that were ridiculously hard.
  71. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendously designed puzzles, very difficult at times.


    Superb dialogue that makes it more than a puzzle game and a must try for a fan of any genre.
  72. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best gaming experiences ever made. You feel like you are really in a live science experiment. The game is like playing thru a Pixar movie. The characters are hilarious. This game is masterful.
  73. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    An improvement of a sequel if I ever saw one, Portal 2 outdoes its predecessor through new mechanics, more fascinating characters, and a deeper legacy to follow. Its intellectual and comedic genius has managed to break through the medium as something truly unlike anything else out there. Its pure dumb fun with all of the headache of a complex algebra problem. If this sounds like a badAn improvement of a sequel if I ever saw one, Portal 2 outdoes its predecessor through new mechanics, more fascinating characters, and a deeper legacy to follow. Its intellectual and comedic genius has managed to break through the medium as something truly unlike anything else out there. Its pure dumb fun with all of the headache of a complex algebra problem. If this sounds like a bad thing, then you need to try it for yourself, because Portal 2 is well worth it. Expand
  74. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    If I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treatIf I was to sum up Portal 2 in one word it would be insane. The game fights against every other FPS's cheep selling of, "More explosions=more products sold" to deliver a game which runs by its own rules to produce pure puzzling perfection. It creates a tone of a machine driven underworld with you as a outcast human, simply sent to be tested on and eventually die, essentially how we treat robots/machines today. The three main characters in the game are excellent; chell is quiet, wheatley blabber mouths away and glados is stubborn, it overall creates a interesting experience where you bounce between glados and Wheatleys control throughout the story. The story by the way is awesome. The puzzles are smart, fun and are worth the effort. Its amazing. A must buy game. Expand
  75. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such A Masterpiece, I can't tell it in one review. It is not about puzzle gameplay (which is awesome and gets 10 for good puzzles) and Presentation (still 10) but for story and athmosphere which get 11 out of 10. Funny jokes, good voice-acting, well written phrases for characters are the main points of Portal 2. The Co-op is 10 too. In all other games, co-op is just to play with friend, here you must think a lot before acrually getting puzzle into action. The only bad thing about this game, is that it was made by Valve. That means no part 3, ever. Espcially due to the fact that developers wraped-up the story at the end completely. But lets not forget that Valve loves to give what they do for the game later for free, so maybe there will be a Continuation to the story of GLaDOS and Chell. And let's not forget the best OMG moment in gaming history. Expand
  76. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controlsThis is a game that should be a lot of fun to anyone who plays it. However, if you have played the first Portal this game should be even better. A lot of the humor in this game makes reference to the previous game, which is the main reason for that. However, there is still enough humor that doesn't require knowing the events of the previous game. The gameplay itself is great. The controls are easy to use, there's a fun story to the game, like I said already, it's a funny game. Also, new character Cave Johnson is nothing short of amazing. The game looks great, and it has a lot of very well done and at times complex puzzles. The length seems to be an issue with some people, but for the type of game that it is, it's about the right length. Overall this game may wind up being the crowning jewel in the Portal series, as it will be very difficult to beat. This is a game that I consider to be an all time great game. Expand
  77. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the only reason I would not give the first portal a 10 is because of it's length, But this on is great. cool cinematics, clever dialogue, good story, and you even got to see how Aperture laboratories started out. this is one of my favorite games and it fully deserves a 10 Expand
  78. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This game is epic !!! Create a new kind of game ,who expired many people to think diferent , that a game is much more than just press buttons !!!puzzles + innovative gameplay+comedy+awesome story=Portal2
  79. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This game is easily the best game I have played since Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for the game-boy. The haters are wrong. Everything about this game, the voice acting, the game-play, the puzzles, and everything else, are fantastic. I am a little bit sad that the PS3 version doesn't come with the level making update, but this game is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone.
  80. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    value made the best puzzle game i ever played . portal 2 have great coop mode . it has good story . great gameplay.portal 2 is one of the best game of 2011
  81. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best Games i have played in the last 10 Years. Fantastic Single-Player and well made Coop-Levels. Intelligent Puzzles and a nice Atmosphere with wonderful Speakers (German Version).
    Thanks Valve for this Game!
  82. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Next to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more thanNext to Team Fortress 2, this is the best Valve game ever made. It was worth the money I spent. The game has beautiful arts, the controls fit nicely, and the game itself is determined to blow you away completely. The game features a multiplayer game mode where you can actually test your intelligence with your friends and solve puzzles together. Portal is underrated, and deserves more than it bargains for. Portal is good for anyone of any age. Solve these masterpieces of puzzles, work together with friends, and own the generation of robotics and a "small" lab procedure (no pun intended). I did a review on the PC version, and I said the exact same thing. Highly recommended to anyone of any age, of any kind. Expand
  83. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Let me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more backgroundLet me just get this out of the way, Portal 2 is just absolutely brilliant. Forget about the easy puzzles and short single player. The characters are well done and gameplay very smooth. Valve has lived up to their standards and have created a truly amazing game. Portal 2 is a true sequel to the original that took us all by surprise. The story is very mysterious, with much more background info than you can imagine. The puzzles are separated by their elements and go from relatively simple to complicated. Despite the potential of a huge difficulty, it is very simplistic. Why? Each chapter of the single-player introduces a new element to the puzzles. From lasers to jumping platforms, it's all really fun and when it all come together, you'll feel like a genius. The Co-op is the best I've seen, you actually have to cooperate in these puzzles and Valve gives you a very efficient way of doing so. The ping system is very smooth and also includes some fun gestures you can do as you finish a puzzle with glee. This game has so much potential, it's a masterpiece that should go down in history. Expand
  84. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've
    Portal 2 is a first-person puzzler. I had my doubts because I thought the view/camera would limit the gamer's ability to solve the puzzles. I've also never enjoyed elements of first-person games other than the shooting parts.

    Portal 2 puts all concerns to rest as it is one of the best games of the year. The presentation/story is great with some of the funniest video-game writing I've ever heard. The puzzles are smart, but not to the extent where you're so stuck you have to look up answers online. The puzzles are challenging enough to make the gamer feel a strong sense of reward when the "ah-ha!" moment forms. If you like puzzles in your games, you owe it to yourself to play Portal 2.
    Expand
  85. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Just hands down an amazing game that is unlike anything else. The unique gameplay and fun puzzles go hand in hand with the very funny dialogue that is present from the very beginning.
  86. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good. Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of
    This game is brilliant. The characters are entirely unique and is a brilliant sequel that already expands on the original in almost every facet.

    The ending is one of the best endings to a video game. The whole portal design is flawless and the physics engine is very good.

    Overall, a great game. However, I did lose interest towards halfway through the game where there was a lot of pointless walking trying to find where you need to put a portal. It was poor game design there. The graphics are sub par for this generation. The graphics are a little grainy.

    But still a brilliant game, 9/10.
    Expand
  87. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out
    Portal 2 is single handedly the best game I have ever played. The story line is gripping and intense, the characters are beautifully written to the point where almost every "Top 10" style review on game characters will argue about who deserves the top slot out of GLaDOS and Wheatley, both from this one game.

    The first time you play through the game you will not want to take the disc out to put another game in until you've completed it, and that could take a very long time depending on how well you can "Think with Portals" Unfortunately the second time around you won't get as much enjoyment out of it because you remember how most puzzles are solved. However these rumours about the game being only 5 hours of entertainment are complete lies, even when speed running and ignoring all the dialog you will not be able to complete the game in any less than around 7-8 hours.

    Then there is the Co-op, which in many games feels like a quickly added extra feature that didn't really need to be there at all. Not with Portal 2, it is set shortly after the end of the single player campaign and occasionally hints at it without creating any spoilers. The characters are unique and all around amazing with their own form of character development that can better many other games out their where the character can actually talk!

    Another nice fact is that this is the first game that allows you to access steam via a console, and can even connect directly to your account and you can then download the PC version for free and even share achievements and Trophies. All extra downloadable content is free also.

    One of the biggest regrets of mine is that I missed Portal 1 and went straight for this.
    DO NOT miss this game.
    Expand
  88. May 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I am quite impressed Chell would bother making a game of her adventures with me, but its much funner playing as her. Co-op with Atlas and P-Body is great, but I don't have anyone to play with other then the remaining defective cores.
  89. Mar 21, 2016
    10
    Portal 2 is an incredible game that has anything that any gamer can hope for, with great puzzles, an excellent campaign, as well as incredibly interesting co-op.
  90. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The middle of the game goes by at an incredibly slow pace. I almost wanted to hang myself. But the last third of the game is worth the $60 I paid for it alone, and the beginning is full of comedy and adventure. I would say play through the first third, maybe cheat through the second, and then get ready for the greatest third act of any game you will ever play in your life.
  91. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    I could right a long boring review about how awesome this game is but instead I'll just say this: Portal 2 is easily the best puzzle game ever. You should play it.
  92. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    It is a brain challenge type of game, at times confusing, but very rewarding. I loved all portals. Graphics are great, funny and intriguing. Gets curiouser and curiouser ;)
  93. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing mind puzzling game well worth 40$ you can play single player or multiplayer with your family. You can play this game for hours and not be bored. Get it soon!!!!
  94. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything! Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting,
    9.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 10).

    This is truly addictive puzzle-gaming at its best. I could also almost credit "Portal 2" to be the greatest Co-Op experience ever. The humor is also spot on, and so are the characters, and the gameplay. Let's just say that Portal 2 is over-all spot on on pretty much everything!

    Some people may find the game a bit repetitive with the portal-shooting, and the campaign can be viewed as a bit short, but this is still a game that shouldn't be skipped in my book.
    Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed. All legends of the current-gen gaming world. If I said name a PS3 or Xbox game, i'm sure one of those three would be mentioned. Portal 2 is a work of art, a small piece that has had every ounce of effort pumped into it. The writing, the characters, the art, the design, the innovation, really blows you away. I've played this game around 8Grand Theft Auto, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed. All legends of the current-gen gaming world. If I said name a PS3 or Xbox game, i'm sure one of those three would be mentioned. Portal 2 is a work of art, a small piece that has had every ounce of effort pumped into it. The writing, the characters, the art, the design, the innovation, really blows you away. I've played this game around 8 times now and this is the first time i've decided to review it. You can't rate art, but simply be shocked that other people don't think of it as fondly as you do. Portal 2 is one of those things you should experience before you move to next-gen, because there won't be such a masterpiece for a long time. Expand
  96. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    The original Portal grabbed in players by the dozen with its innovative gameplay, but Portal 2 masters that innovation and pushes it beyond fathomable limits which makes this game an absolute treat to experience.

    Despite it only containing three main speaking parts, the narrative is enriched with brilliant comedy; the game is abundant in giggle-inducing witticisms and sometimes dark
    The original Portal grabbed in players by the dozen with its innovative gameplay, but Portal 2 masters that innovation and pushes it beyond fathomable limits which makes this game an absolute treat to experience.

    Despite it only containing three main speaking parts, the narrative is enriched with brilliant comedy; the game is abundant in giggle-inducing witticisms and sometimes dark humour. There isn't much to say about the gameplay; it's fluid, it's easy to pick up, it's different, and it's thought-provoking.

    Even though the concept is simple, Valve managed to introduce new elements other than basic portals without making it seem like a desperate attempt to add more. The new elements are introduced in an easy way that isn't patronising and it flows well with the game's narrative.

    The game's soundtrack is a stroke of brilliance, being able to set the scene for almost any scenario, from sound snippets being interwoven into the gameplay during exhilarating segments; slow sci-fi undertones to add a sense of isolation and encapsulation or cacophonous metallic clangs when things really pick up.

    There isn't much wrong that can be said about this game but some gamers might find some of the puzzles too challenging as the game progresses and some might complain about it's rather short length.

    Overall, you wouldn't be wrong to say this is one the greatest video games of the 21st century and it's safe to say that Valve have definitely hit it out of the park with this one.
    Expand
  97. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    this game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and ofthis game made puzzle games fun again. every aspect about this game is pretty close to flawless. the gameplay is top notch, the dialogue and voice acting is some of the funniest I've ever seen, and the story is actually pretty interesting if you follow all the lore and what not. if you think about it, this game is actually a spin off of half life since its in the same universe, and of course, half life is considered like the best game of the decade, which I havn't played, but portal is exactly what people hoped it would be... one of the best games of the decade. Expand
  98. May 1, 2017
    10
    This game is one of the most visually stunning games I have ever played, this along with the must-play portal based puzzle solving make this game a game not to miss!
  99. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal. Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly. I needed tons of help to get through the original portal, I
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original
    The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal.
    Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly.
    I needed tons of help to get through the original portal,
    I only got stumped in portal 2 maybe 2 or 3 times total towards the end.
    Portal 2 is even more unpredictable than the original was, there are so many twists and turns with the story and levels that you have no idea where the end of one puzzle is going to take you.
    It was a great and much needed change of pace to go back and forth between testing rooms and half life style locations
    really kept the gameplay and story moving forward, making it almost impossible to put your controller down.
    There are a few added puzzle aspects such as light bridges, anti gravity beams, gels, and being able to redirect laser beams, but if im being honest these additions felt more gimmicky to me than innovative.
    if its not broke don’t fix it.
    I feel like the developers tried to cram too much into this game too fast.
    Portal 2 also features a co op mode, unfortunately though, at least on ps3, there seems to be issues connecting to steam so you are stuck playing local co op rather than online
    this isn’t an issue if you have friends.
    but as glados will tell you
    I don’t have any friends so I couldn’t effectively get through the 6 levels or get a true co op experience.
    I did however play back and forth through a couple of levels and love the challenge added of having to actually effectively work together with now 4 portals.
    Portal 2 is the same charming and addicting puzzle game as the original with still so much added to make it a much better overall experience.
    With the puzzle solving greatly dumbed down, and the characters still hilarious, and a very worthwhile ending, you owe it to yourself to run through this amazingly charming puzzle game.
    for what it is
    First Person Puzzle Platformer:
    9.5/10

    Overall:
    9/10
    Expand
  100. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    I see many websites due their Best Video Games of All Time, well in terms of my list, the game that would ultimately dominate it is Portal 2. After thinking about it, Portal 2 is perfect, the game has good humor, very good story, atmospheric soundtrack, great visuals, and there is no hole in terms of Gameplay either; hell even the length of the game is perfect. Everything is perfectlyI see many websites due their Best Video Games of All Time, well in terms of my list, the game that would ultimately dominate it is Portal 2. After thinking about it, Portal 2 is perfect, the game has good humor, very good story, atmospheric soundtrack, great visuals, and there is no hole in terms of Gameplay either; hell even the length of the game is perfect. Everything is perfectly design with nothing to show if this game was rushed. This game isn't my favorite game of all time but I can say that the game I'd consider to be best is Portal 2. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 continues the original's model, both in terms of gameplay and humor, and reviewing it poses just as many challenges. So let's just get this out of the way right now: Portal 2 is videogame nirvana for the thinking man.
  2. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]