Portal 2 PlayStation 3

Portal 2 Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 959 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Portal 2 is the sequel to the title named "Game of the Year" 2007 by over 30 publications around the world. Portal 2 promises to break new ground in next generation gaming by expanding the award-winning recipe of innovative gameplay, immersive story, and creative inclusion of musicPortal 2 is the sequel to the title named "Game of the Year" 2007 by over 30 publications around the world. Portal 2 promises to break new ground in next generation gaming by expanding the award-winning recipe of innovative gameplay, immersive story, and creative inclusion of music while also introducing multiplayer co-op game modes. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Portal 2 Co-Op Trailer #2
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    A mere ten minutes here will yield more memorable moments than you're likely to squeeze out of the entirety of most other games this year. In all aspects of its design, Portal 2 is genius.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Portal 2 couldn't be Portal, but it's the next best thing. It's a longer, funnier, more emotional plummet through Aperture's perplexing laboratory, and its meticulous detail, perfect pacing, and kinetic, mind-expanding puzzles make it a blazingly memorable experience. It's so damn memorable, already feel nostalgic about it.
  3. 100
    Portal 2 is an instant classic, a driver of innovation and originality, where everything is far from settled by the law of the bullet, but within the limits of physics.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    94
    The dialogue from Stephen Merchant, J.K. Simmons and, of course, Ellen McClain as GLaDOS steals the show. The writing is top-notch, and you will actually be upset if you miss some of the quips and humorous banter.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    That Valve has been able to imbue so much depth to what is, at its heart, a sophisticated puzzle game proves once again it's not the genre that counts. It's the talent. Combine it with a superb physics-based game mechanic and you've got an experience that defies easy categorisation and can be recommended without reservation. [June 2011 p.67]
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 227
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Another wonderful masterpiece brought to you by VALVe. This is A+ quality, well worth the $50 bucks.
    Everything looks so good in this game,
    Another wonderful masterpiece brought to you by VALVe. This is A+ quality, well worth the $50 bucks.
    Everything looks so good in this game, the source engine seems to have evolved, it looks prettier than ever.
    If you liked the first installment of Portal, i'm sure you'll love Portal 2 with passion.
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single playerI can honestly say that this game is one of the best games I've *ever* played, if not the best. I've already played through the single player 3 times, and pretty much done all of the co-op. Everything about it is so good, from the story, the humour, the game play, the test chambers, characterisation, and the detail in the graphics. And I didn't find one glitch anywhere. It is so well crafted, and really is at the peak of not only what Valve can do, but where gaming has arrived in general. I just cannot recommend this game enough. You'll have so much fun listening to the voice-overs, and you'll feel super-smart solving the puzzles. I really have gone as far as I can with this game, and I'm still hungry for more, so I just can't wait for Valve to release some DLC, that I believe they're going to sometime in June. I really don't understand why some people are giving this a low score, because honestly I feel this is a masterpiece, where the sum of the parts delivers something so much greater. Don't hesitate in getting this - it's truly amazing. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    It is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a freshIt is a simple idea which is executed brilliantly and it does get extremely difficult. There is nothing like it out there and it is a fresh breath of air from all these new first person games in particular FPS. The characters are cool and you do care about them. The fault I had with it is that a few of the early chapters are slightly boring but most of the time it's great fun. Definitely one of the best games out there especially if you like puzzles. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I found this game an excellent sequel. For me, it is the games writing that really sets it apart. The comedy and voice acting is brilliantI found this game an excellent sequel. For me, it is the games writing that really sets it apart. The comedy and voice acting is brilliant and at times they manage to even scare you despite you knowing there are no actual enemies in the game (as it is all puzzle based). The player gets to explore and understand the history of Aperture laboratories and makes the relatively closed world of the first instalment a much bigger one.

    On a puzzle based note, I did feel that the puzzles weren't as challenging as I thought they would be. I was expecting a much steeper difficulty curve, with only a couple of the puzzles posing any real difficulty (maybe I have been thinking with portals too long?). That said, there is no reason not to pick this title up if you are a fan of good puzzle games, a fan of the first one, or just very entertaining and clever writing. At the time of writing this, PSN has been down since its release so I am unable to comment on the cooperative mode, however, I have heard from fellow Steam users that it is just as good as the single player experience, if not with harder puzzles.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    i loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked upi loved the first portal and that says alot mainly because im not big into puzzle solving games but i had alot of fun with it when i picked up the orange box years ago. when portal 2 came out i heard many people complain it was to short to justify its $60 price tag and after being burned by valve on left for dead i waited to pick it up new for $24.99. which after playing through it any thing under $30 for this game is just about right . it is to short to justify a $60 price tag and even though it has co-op which is kinda neat this game doesnt really need it thats not to say it was tacked on in any sense. its pretty solid its just that i didnt feel a huge disire to play it . what this game should have had and would have justified a $60 price tag at its release would have been creat your own maps and share them with people like Little big planet. now that would have been awsome and ive heard they are working on that but its not due out till mid 2012 aover a year since the game came out... too long of a wait for some thing like that i think. moving on to the single player... its great the script and humor is fantastic and even better then the first for sure . many new additions to how you can solve puzzles . they are just hard enough to where you will have to some times sit for a few minuites and think on the real hard ones but never frustrating to where you wana just give up i felt which is just perfect. the game took me about 6-7 hours to complete so yes it isnt very long . though if you enjoy puzzle games or liked the first Portal it is worth picking up and by now you can get it cheap. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Very fun game! A fan of the first game, Portal 2 has more of a story to it with the same challenging puzzles as the first. On chapter 7 andVery fun game! A fan of the first game, Portal 2 has more of a story to it with the same challenging puzzles as the first. On chapter 7 and it's been a fun ride so far, can't stop playing the damn game! Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more...
    .
    The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas,
    As good as Portal 2 was, I just wanted a little more...
    .
    The single player campaign was really quite good but felt lacking in some areas, maybe some of the sections got tedious around the middle of the game but overall it was pretty good.

    The Co-op was alright but the story was lacking and didn't really inspire much thought.

    This game probably deserves an 7 but to even it out i'm giving it a 0.
    Expand

See all 227 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.