Prince of Persia PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 253
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    Fun but flawed. The graphics are great and the core, wall running gameplay is at times spectacular. However the repetitive, structured level design and broken combat makes this a game i loved at first but plodded through after a couple of days.
    Don't get me wrong POP is a good game but it's not the great game it could and perhaps should have been.
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    Not a fan of this one at all. The reboot to me was a failure. Not sure why its has such good reviews, its very disappointing. Also, with the ending-which I won't say what it is-, you feel as if you wasted all your time with everything you did. Just frustrating and annoying. Main character not likeable. Prefer older versions of Prince of Persia.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    6
    The game itself is a 7.5 in my book... but the fact that the ACTUAL ENDING of the game I s contained in DLC is a @#$%! disgraceful customer abuse at it's most disturbing. Go F yourselves Ubisoft.
  4. anonymous
    Dec 2, 2009
    5
    Sincerely, if it had another name, it would have been a good game for casuals, the only mistake was to put it the name of prince of persia. I think that something similar would have happened if we present borderlands as unreal tournament. It´s not the same, but you know...
  5. TylerH.
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    I'm split on this game, let me explain why. The graphics are phenominal in the way that there portrayed, very beautiful. Aside from that, when you first begin playing, it is really cool and the dialogue between the characters is well done. But soon, you'll begin to see what I saw (maybe) and get tired of it. The game gets repetitive... to the point where I want to finish the I'm split on this game, let me explain why. The graphics are phenominal in the way that there portrayed, very beautiful. Aside from that, when you first begin playing, it is really cool and the dialogue between the characters is well done. But soon, you'll begin to see what I saw (maybe) and get tired of it. The game gets repetitive... to the point where I want to finish the game but i just dont want to waste the time right when i could be repeating Fallout 3 and still find things i haven't yet found. Basically, your lead to believe your in an open world where you can go anywhere and do anything... wrong again Ubisoft. 3rd game now where your "free roam" environments aren't true to word (farcry 2/assasins creed both were exaggerated). You can select which location to begin, and from there you repeat a few wall climbs over and over until you get to 1 enemy (same enemies you fight throughout). After beating him and repeating a few wall climbs, you face the maps boss, once beaten, you heal the land. Now afterward, the land is healed, and you can collect orbs. Rinse and repeat for the next 20 locatins. The game feels like its missing something. A nice feature in the menu was the ability to chance costumes, but it cant overcome the flaws. I.E. when your trying to turn a crank, it will tend to ignore which direction you tell it to turn and go the opposite. I bought into the hype for this game, and I wish I had learned my lesson from the other over hyped games to date (ex. Haze, Farcry 2 to name a couple). Now this game isn't a complete waste, I do like it, I just can't play it very long and nothing other than its graphics stand out to me or appeal to interest. Worth trying, just rent before ever purchasing. Expand
  6. MohamedN.
    Dec 11, 2008
    7
    As much as Ubisoft has gone far with the improvement in characters, moves, concept art, consistently amazing sound track by Stuart Chattwood, in the new Prince of Persia.... As much as they have been a dissappointment to Prince of Persia lovers with changing the whole story line as well as the extreme downgrade with the prince's combat moves (where r the combos, wall jumps, column As much as Ubisoft has gone far with the improvement in characters, moves, concept art, consistently amazing sound track by Stuart Chattwood, in the new Prince of Persia.... As much as they have been a dissappointment to Prince of Persia lovers with changing the whole story line as well as the extreme downgrade with the prince's combat moves (where r the combos, wall jumps, column spins, etc...). I think if a sequel was made combining the improvements done reusing the older versions' amazing combat moves and story line (at least remotely related), Ubisoft will be able to produce the biggest and most popular action game of all time. Expand
  7. JustinM
    Dec 20, 2008
    6
    Overall its a fun game, its a very good looking game as well. Problems I had with the game are that it's combat became incrediblly repetative after a while, the game is easy, and the ending is by far the worst ending that I have seen in a game in recent memory. Rent if you must play this game, but I recomend to stay away.
  8. DavidB.
    Dec 3, 2008
    7
    I've beaten Sands Of Time 8 times. I got my completion time to under 5 hours. I love that game. I wanted to love this one. It's sad to think that if just 1 or 2 buttons had been added that this game would be getting a 9 from me. Having 90% of the actions mapped to 1 button has hurt this game in so many ways. PoP has gone from an excercise in gaming grace to simply a theme park I've beaten Sands Of Time 8 times. I got my completion time to under 5 hours. I love that game. I wanted to love this one. It's sad to think that if just 1 or 2 buttons had been added that this game would be getting a 9 from me. Having 90% of the actions mapped to 1 button has hurt this game in so many ways. PoP has gone from an excercise in gaming grace to simply a theme park ride. The graphics are great, the music is beautiful, the characters fun. Too bad the core elements have been sacrificed. A more complicated control option could have saved this game. It may be better than Warrior Within, but not Two Thrones. At least I can use Sands of Time skins. Expand
  9. andret
    Jan 2, 2009
    7
    Graphically the game has a signature that makes it very beautiful to the eyes. And the special effects are astounding. On top of that, there are no glitches whatsoever. The sounds are very deep, the music amazing. I guess the problem is the gameplay. We are very lucky that this game doesn't make you die during all the platforming acrobatics movements...very lucky! In fact it hides Graphically the game has a signature that makes it very beautiful to the eyes. And the special effects are astounding. On top of that, there are no glitches whatsoever. The sounds are very deep, the music amazing. I guess the problem is the gameplay. We are very lucky that this game doesn't make you die during all the platforming acrobatics movements...very lucky! In fact it hides all the problems of control, camera and too tight areas. And those aspects can become frustrating fast. If you don't like jumping and running, stay away from this game. This is a pure platformer with very little else then the story. The gameplay is quite parent with Assassin Creed's platform elements, no doubt about it. The combat system is ok, but maybe too repetitive at times. The story is good and the dialogues are funny, but you can see the end by 10 miles (a bit sad). Overall, this is a quality is there, but the gameplay feels old fast. Only for those who like platforming. Expand
  10. HunterWolf
    Jan 22, 2009
    7
    Well .. i can't say i didn't enjoy it .. it is surely and a fun experience and a very interesting change they made to the Prince Franchise, but with that change came good things and bad things, let me sum them up. quickly. The Good: ------------ -Stunning Artistic Graphics ( unbelievably artistic and unique from the beautiful main menu to the last minute, and nothing beats Well .. i can't say i didn't enjoy it .. it is surely and a fun experience and a very interesting change they made to the Prince Franchise, but with that change came good things and bad things, let me sum them up. quickly. The Good: ------------ -Stunning Artistic Graphics ( unbelievably artistic and unique from the beautiful main menu to the last minute, and nothing beats seeing the world transom in real time for the first time ) -Excellent Musical Score ( the music is really enchanting and wonderful, some of the best music soundtracks i heard in a while ) -Character Interaction ( the optional dialogs between Prince and Elika are very fun to hear and make them feel more real and alive ) -Acrobatics and Traveling Mechanics ( mainly 90% of the time you are jumping in the air with no ground under you, its almost like flying .. well you do fly for real too thanks to the new magical-pads system which works nicely ) The Bad: ---------- -The Combat ( messed up, repetative and very generic specially the whole one-on-one affair, yes ... sometimes it looks good when you pull a full combo but in the end it is very frustrating and a down grade from the previous prince game excellent combat systems which mixed enviromental acrobatics and deep combat seemlessly ) -The Open World ( while it is not done very badly it kinda kills the feeling of progression, i don't mind a mid-game fork in which you have a choice between different paths or have the choice to go to a group of places in any order like in Warrior Within .. but not the whole game ) Recommended for Prince enthustiasts ( try to get along with the cranky combat ) and a good buy for fans of the action/adventure genre. Expand
  11. peter
    Feb 18, 2009
    5
    First let me say that I am a huge fan of the Prince of Persia games. that being said this game is WAY overrated. I hated it! I only finished it because I hated the idea of wasting the money more. It's too easy, and very predictable in play, you can't die and the story, especially the ending makes no sense at all. Did I say I hated it? I hated it!
  12. JohnK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    7
    I was really looking forward to this game, as I am big fan of the action/adventure games but PoP is a big disappointment. I do like the graphics and art style of the game, but its basically too repetitive. You do the same things over and over, fight the same bosses, and jump from place to place. After a couple of hours, I was bored. I don't want to say more than this for those who I was really looking forward to this game, as I am big fan of the action/adventure games but PoP is a big disappointment. I do like the graphics and art style of the game, but its basically too repetitive. You do the same things over and over, fight the same bosses, and jump from place to place. After a couple of hours, I was bored. I don't want to say more than this for those who are getting it, but play it and see if you agree. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and decently interesting characters. What could go wrong? Well, the simple answer is, any thrill of danger or sense of vertigo is utterly demolished by one thing. You can't die. There are some games where this works. This is not one of them. There
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and decently interesting characters.

    What could go wrong?

    Well, the simple answer is, any thrill of danger or sense of vertigo is utterly demolished by one thing. You can't die. There are some games where this works. This is not one of them. There is just no reason for you to be even slightly cautious, and the game simply becomes a protracted sequence of moving from A to B to C. I'm leaping over a thousand foot drop? Big woop, I can't fall. I might as well be walking down a road.

    Will hold your attention for a good hour, but I suggest playing for half an hour at a time or else you'll begin to not care.

    Go for sands of time instead.
    Collapse
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    Visually beautiful but the core gameplay is just not that fun. The game does not have very much in common with the original franchise and is focused more on collecting orbs than combat. The dialogue is also very campy and makes you cringe. Being a big fan of the original franchise, I really tried to love it, but couldn't.
  15. Apr 11, 2016
    6
    The main body of the game is a joy to play; Exploring some of the most visually stunning enviroments and scenery ever seen in a game with one of most althletic characters ever is just about as good as it gets. Yes, ther's some issues with the pacing, challenge (you can't die) and the combat that mean this just falls short of all time classic status. However this is still one of the PS3The main body of the game is a joy to play; Exploring some of the most visually stunning enviroments and scenery ever seen in a game with one of most althletic characters ever is just about as good as it gets. Yes, ther's some issues with the pacing, challenge (you can't die) and the combat that mean this just falls short of all time classic status. However this is still one of the PS3 games that will make you (and anyone else watching) say "gosh", "wow" the most Expand
  16. May 2, 2015
    7
    Prince Of Persia creates a beautiful world, and offers a real sense of wonder, as well as fantastic exploration opportunities. Aside from combat and camera issues, this is fun and a return to form for the prince.
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and decently interesting characters. What could go wrong? Well, the simple answer is, any thrill of danger or sense of vertigo is utterly demolished by one thing. You can't die. There are some games where this works. This is not one of them. There
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and decently interesting characters.

    What could go wrong?

    Well, the simple answer is, any thrill of danger or sense of vertigo is utterly demolished by one thing. You can't die. There are some games where this works. This is not one of them. There is just no reason for you to be even slightly cautious, and the game simply becomes a protracted sequence of moving from A to B to C. I'm leaping over a thousand foot drop? Big woop, I can't fall. I might as well be walking down a road.

    Will hold your attention for a good hour, but I suggest playing for half an hour at a time or else you'll begin to not care.

    Go for sands of time instead.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 93
    It has its shortcomings, but I already sense that Prince of Persia will be one of the few games from this generation that I carry with me for the next decade.
  2. 94
    Ubisoft has delivered an incredibly polished, tremendously enjoyable and utterly lovable experience here. It takes all the best elements of previous franchise entries then expands and refines them to create an absolutely unforgettable adventure. It’s magical in every sense of the word.
  3. GamePro
    100
    All told, this is a great debut for the Prince of Persia series on the PS3 and Xbox 360. [Jan 2009, p.74]