Prince of Persia Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness theSet in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    All told, this is a great debut for the Prince of Persia series on the PS3 and Xbox 360. [Jan 2009, p.74]
  2. Prince of Persia has pulled away from its previous trappings to become its own true game.
  3. Ubisoft Montreal has come tantalisingly close to creating a real masterpiece.
  4. I imagine that most people who go into Prince of Persia with an open mind will find at least a few things to enjoy.
  5. 83
    Prince Of Persia creates a beautiful world, and offers a real sense of wonder, as well as fantastic exploration opportunities. Aside from combat and camera issues, this is fun and a return to form for the prince.
  6. It's still quite a good game--I just wonder why it feels like a step back from the previous trology. [Jan 2009, p.69]
  7. Harking back to Elika for a second, I have to admit she is a fantastic addition to the series, and as gimmicks go she is significantly better than The Sands of Time.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I've played the Sands Saga and I've also played this Prince of Persia. I enjoyed playing the titles on PS2 but I think a 3games Saga is almostI've played the Sands Saga and I've also played this Prince of Persia. I enjoyed playing the titles on PS2 but I think a 3games Saga is almost perfect. It was time to refresh things and Ubisoft did it in a Great way with this Brilliant title. It's not much of a challenge to play as the previous ones but it was think that way, it was created make us have fun and I had A LOT playing this title. Graphics is astonishing, Environments are breathtaking, Gamplay is Spectacular; both platforming and battles (but there is a lack of them in my opinion), Dialogs are well made and the Atmosphere is Beautiful.
    Ok, ending won't be good for the most but the game last about 10hours; who cares about less than one minute?
    You can love it/hate it, I love it: 10/10.
    Expand
  2. NeilD.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    Quite simply the most fun I've had playing a game in years. The fluidity of the platforming, rather than being dumbed-down, frees you up Quite simply the most fun I've had playing a game in years. The fluidity of the platforming, rather than being dumbed-down, frees you up to string together awesome looking moves - all with a great big smile on your face! The combat is incredibly deep and stylish. The lack of death gives the game a more realistic feel - I've often thought death in games just separates you from the imersion into the "hero". It's about time you are rewarded for trying that difficult jump or that more complicated combo, rather than being dumped out to a game over screen and an annoting loading time! I also love the conversation with Elika - sometimes cheesy, but often heartwarming and adds depth to the world Ubisoft Montreal have crafted. All in all, close to genius! Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2015
    9
    A departure from the gameplay of the main series; puts more of a focus on acrobatics and combat is one-on-one and combo-based. Fun game withA departure from the gameplay of the main series; puts more of a focus on acrobatics and combat is one-on-one and combo-based. Fun game with great story, you'll enjoy this even if you're not a fan of other PoP games. The DLC epilogue is overpriced. Expand
  4. DavidB.
    Dec 3, 2008
    7
    I've beaten Sands Of Time 8 times. I got my completion time to under 5 hours. I love that game. I wanted to love this one. It's sad I've beaten Sands Of Time 8 times. I got my completion time to under 5 hours. I love that game. I wanted to love this one. It's sad to think that if just 1 or 2 buttons had been added that this game would be getting a 9 from me. Having 90% of the actions mapped to 1 button has hurt this game in so many ways. PoP has gone from an excercise in gaming grace to simply a theme park ride. The graphics are great, the music is beautiful, the characters fun. Too bad the core elements have been sacrificed. A more complicated control option could have saved this game. It may be better than Warrior Within, but not Two Thrones. At least I can use Sands of Time skins. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    Fun but flawed. The graphics are great and the core, wall running gameplay is at times spectacular. However the repetitive, structured levelFun but flawed. The graphics are great and the core, wall running gameplay is at times spectacular. However the repetitive, structured level design and broken combat makes this a game i loved at first but plodded through after a couple of days.
    Don't get me wrong POP is a good game but it's not the great game it could and perhaps should have been.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and
    If you can play this game for under 10$, it's worth it.

    Beautifull locations, some nice gameplay ideas centering around your movement and decently interesting characters.

    What could go wrong?

    Well, the simple answer is, any thrill of danger or sense of vertigo is utterly demolished by one thing. You can't die. There are some games where this works. This is not one of them. There is just no reason for you to be even slightly cautious, and the game simply becomes a protracted sequence of moving from A to B to C. I'm leaping over a thousand foot drop? Big woop, I can't fall. I might as well be walking down a road.

    Will hold your attention for a good hour, but I suggest playing for half an hour at a time or else you'll begin to not care.

    Go for sands of time instead.
    Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2011
    2
    i did not like this game at all but there are a few redeming points in it that is why it does not get a 0. first off i will say that i neveri did not like this game at all but there are a few redeming points in it that is why it does not get a 0. first off i will say that i never even finished the game i saw it in the under 10$ bin at EB games and thought i would buy it since i have not played PoP at all and PoP was highly acclaimed on the PS2 and thought i would start with this game and get the trilogy pack when it comes out in 2011 but it was a waste of money. graphics are interesting and the cartoon like graphics are different and suit the game but that is the only good thing about this game in my opinion. now for the long list of bad- first i hate the fighting style you only fight one ennemy at a time and when it comes to the bosses it is sometimes really hard to even get a hit in also when you go to finish off most bosses and ennemies you have to do an insane button mashing sequence that took me a couple of times to do before i got it done right. there is also the dialogue in this game they try to hard at some points to be funny that i found it to just be stupid and obnoxous. the story line also left me feeling empty and was one of the reasons i gave up on this game because it is almost always the same thing with the boss battles and the repetitaveness of the game turned it into a chore. i whent into this game with an open mind and even over looked the fighting style of this game for a bit but i could not bring myself to play it any longer and traded it back in for the very small store credit i got for it. stay away from this game it is not worth it and you will not have a fun time Expand

See all 41 User Reviews