Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 48
  2. Negative: 11 out of 48
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    5
    If making a football team of wizards is your thing then I recommend buying PES 2008. But the overall game feels average and boring. But you can pick it up for £1 at game nowadays so why not?
  2. FelixC
    Jul 31, 2008
    4
    It seems good at first, but once you get into it it's just infuriatingly inconsistent. One game your defence will be rock-solid and you'll score three goals, then the next game your defence will get cut through like water by terrible teams making runs from their own half, dodging all your attempts to get the ball (and pointing out the most glaring flaw, that player teams haveIt seems good at first, but once you get into it it's just infuriatingly inconsistent. One game your defence will be rock-solid and you'll score three goals, then the next game your defence will get cut through like water by terrible teams making runs from their own half, dodging all your attempts to get the ball (and pointing out the most glaring flaw, that player teams have terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE defensive AI), and then score from a place on the field that you can never score from yourself. Your players don't behave like real soccer players. More often than not, short passes go in the opposite direction to where you are trying to aim, or they will pass halfway down the field into the waiting defence rather than to the wide open man right beside them. Forwards NEVER match winger runs to the corners, and so are never in a position to receive crosses - which is good, because the defence never has them marked anyway. Just a few examples of the awful AI in PES2008.

    In short, the game is extremely flawed. The mechanics themselves are solid most of the time, but the AI is terrible enough that I hardly ever get through more than a game or two without getting mad at the game for just how irrational the events on-screen are.
    Collapse
  3. WordyWordword
    May 29, 2008
    8
    Everything runs quite smoothly apart from the Network facility. Why oh Why oh Why cant Konami manage to sort the LAG out? Other than Tekken DR online, I havent played a game where the lag is so noticable it completely throws you off kilter. If other online programmers can cope (Warhawk, Resistance, Halo etc) with dozens of connections, why is there a problem with just 2???
    Konami = lazy.
    Everything runs quite smoothly apart from the Network facility. Why oh Why oh Why cant Konami manage to sort the LAG out? Other than Tekken DR online, I havent played a game where the lag is so noticable it completely throws you off kilter. If other online programmers can cope (Warhawk, Resistance, Halo etc) with dozens of connections, why is there a problem with just 2???
    Konami = lazy. Rush to get the game out so more money can be made from the unsuspecting public, then sit back while said public struggle with the bugs.
    Do your own testing Konami. Bad bad bad.
    Other than that, the game is as superb as it ever was, rekindling my passion for a game that I still manage to enjoy even when losing.
    Expand
  4. mikeg
    May 20, 2008
    6
    Well ive been a Winning Eleven fan since the PS2 days and i have to say its come to an end. I returned my PES for the new UEFA Euro game today.
    PES sadly has lag issues, blocky graphics, slowdown on replays to name a few. At this stage in High Def. gaming these glitches are are inexcusable!!
    Gameplay was great, but brought down by presentation.
  5. DanHebden
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Brilliant....!!!

    Thought initially that there may have been a backward step, but after playing it to death it just took some getting used to... It has to be played on a HD TV though otherwise problems will be encountered with the frame speed. I cannot stop playing this, and on reflection I feel that it's been tweaked just the righr amount. Heading at goal is more difficult
    Brilliant....!!!

    Thought initially that there may have been a backward step, but after playing it to death it just took some getting used to...

    It has to be played on a HD TV though otherwise problems will be encountered with the frame speed.
    I cannot stop playing this, and on reflection I feel that it's been tweaked just the righr amount. Heading at goal is more difficult now and requires more skill and a bit of luck, but it is way more satisfying when you get one!!

    Not to be missed.....
    Expand
  6. LukeR
    Apr 1, 2008
    0
    Worst revision yet, the most broken of the series. Basically pick the team with the fastest players and you can't lose. In this game speed>>all. Online is a joke. Very dissapointing and the sad thing about all of this is the PS2 version is still the premier version to play....Avoid this game at all costs
  7. Sean
    Mar 15, 2008
    5
    Huge disappointment! I have played PES/Winning 11 for many years and it has always been a particular favorite of mine. Unfortunately PES2008 is very mediocre. Online games are unplayable. The graphics may be 720p but are less pleasing than the PS2 version of Winning 11. The slowdowns on the PS2 didn
  8. TomT
    Mar 13, 2008
    6
    Ive been hearing of PES' ssupposed greatness for years and had yet to experience it first hand. I now have the game and Im still waiting. This game is nagged by flaws and lazy development. there is no excuse for the frame rate drops or even for the last gen graphics. It looks almost like a PS2 port.
    Now Im no graphics junkie, unless nothing else seems to be done right. Id probably
    Ive been hearing of PES' ssupposed greatness for years and had yet to experience it first hand. I now have the game and Im still waiting. This game is nagged by flaws and lazy development. there is no excuse for the frame rate drops or even for the last gen graphics. It looks almost like a PS2 port.
    Now Im no graphics junkie, unless nothing else seems to be done right. Id probably like the game more if I didnt get all caught up in the PES hype, because it sure didnt deliver for me.
    Expand
  9. DemetriosS.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Despite its flaws of slow frame rate on replays and online lag, this game continues to improve game play year after year. Improvements include, ball control, individual defending, ball physics, shooting, and the A.I. runs off the ball just to name a few. For the people saying they are going to FIFA this year.........go ahead and have fun with that ball control that looks and feels like Despite its flaws of slow frame rate on replays and online lag, this game continues to improve game play year after year. Improvements include, ball control, individual defending, ball physics, shooting, and the A.I. runs off the ball just to name a few. For the people saying they are going to FIFA this year.........go ahead and have fun with that ball control that looks and feels like the ball is on a string and players that don't make runs and look like they are skating instead of running. Pro evolution might lack some flash but you can't beat PES game play.........period. Expand
  10. JohnD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    5
    Spoiled by some intrusive technical flaws, disappointing frame rate in-game - especially when rendering replays - being the most obvious. Not very good quality software, feels rushed. May be fixed via online patches but if you pay top dollar for a game you kind of expect it to just work. Apart from that, the gameplay is just the same old thing, the graphics are smartened up a bit for the Spoiled by some intrusive technical flaws, disappointing frame rate in-game - especially when rendering replays - being the most obvious. Not very good quality software, feels rushed. May be fixed via online patches but if you pay top dollar for a game you kind of expect it to just work. Apart from that, the gameplay is just the same old thing, the graphics are smartened up a bit for the new platform but ruined by rendering issues and there's really nothing new in it. Might as well get an earlier incarnation for the PS2 and save yourself some money. Expand
  11. MichaelHarden
    Nov 12, 2007
    4
    probably worth a six but i gave it a four just because i feel so jipped. What was once a near perfect simulation of football on the ps2 and pc, is now a choppy rough half finished excuse of a game that only wants your money. The ps3 is ment to be next generation! unbelievable.
  12. DarylL.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    So the latest pro evo finally hits the PS3 but was it worth the wait and the hype? The answer; almost. Pro evolution 2008 delivers what is essentially the raw gameplay from previous versions that engrosses football fans so much that it leaves their bums sore. Multiplayer as always is great and can't be flawed. However despite all its gameplay greatness it just doesn't live up to So the latest pro evo finally hits the PS3 but was it worth the wait and the hype? The answer; almost. Pro evolution 2008 delivers what is essentially the raw gameplay from previous versions that engrosses football fans so much that it leaves their bums sore. Multiplayer as always is great and can't be flawed. However despite all its gameplay greatness it just doesn't live up to the expectations of the so called new generation football game. Fair enough it looks better here and there but there's no 'wow' factor to make this game truly great. Expand
  13. Limanima
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    I played the PES demo, and I realy didn't like it. But the truth is that I don't like soccer games in general. The main reason I don't like them, is because they seem sooooooo sloooooow. The players take ages to run 10 meters, and that is anoying. Where are the fast paced games like the good old Sensible Soccer or Kick Off? I think the main probem with this games, is the I played the PES demo, and I realy didn't like it. But the truth is that I don't like soccer games in general. The main reason I don't like them, is because they seem sooooooo sloooooow. The players take ages to run 10 meters, and that is anoying. Where are the fast paced games like the good old Sensible Soccer or Kick Off? I think the main probem with this games, is the pursuit of realism, which in my opinion affects gameplay. The worth with PES is that it doesn't seem like a next gen game graphicaly speaking. There's nothing there that the good old PS2 won't do. Expand
  14. BarryP.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I've been a die hard pro evo fan since its incarnation(international superstar soccer on the snes)and to say i was let down by this title wouldn't be unfair.As with most people who bought a PS3 on its launch,i've found that it's just a glorified ps2 at the moment(ie no original ps3 titles,i've spent the last 6 months playing pro evo 6 on it and pretty much nothing I've been a die hard pro evo fan since its incarnation(international superstar soccer on the snes)and to say i was let down by this title wouldn't be unfair.As with most people who bought a PS3 on its launch,i've found that it's just a glorified ps2 at the moment(ie no original ps3 titles,i've spent the last 6 months playing pro evo 6 on it and pretty much nothing else)so the chance to get my hands on a 100% next gen pro evo had me a little excited.Unfortunatley it didn't deliver.If you ignore the actual game play for a moment and spend some time focusing on the other aspects of the game(i.e training master league etc) you realise that it is a step backward in almost every way.Training challenges are no more,PES points which were accumulated from playing games and used to purchase upgrades like new stadiums and classic players are no where to be seen.In fact to unlock the classic teams all you have to do is win the world cup with the modern counterpart.This may of been rewarding,however you can choose the easiest difficulty and shortest match time to achieve it......challenging,i dont think so. As for the actual gameplay,some improvements have been made although with the exception of diving nothing is too far from previous pro evo outings.All in all i think i may be dusting off my copy of PES 6 until next year. Expand
  15. PerryG.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Since I've been using my PS3 mostly to play the PS2 edition of PES 6 -- yes, the PS3 games lineup is that bad -- I was looking forward to the next-gen PES 2008. It's good, not great. Via HDMI, the slow-down isn't too bad, it certainly doesn't make the game unplayable. But replays are jerky, and you do wonder why they're having trouble getting a steady frame-rate. Since I've been using my PS3 mostly to play the PS2 edition of PES 6 -- yes, the PS3 games lineup is that bad -- I was looking forward to the next-gen PES 2008. It's good, not great. Via HDMI, the slow-down isn't too bad, it certainly doesn't make the game unplayable. But replays are jerky, and you do wonder why they're having trouble getting a steady frame-rate. Player models are comparable to Virtua Tennis 3 -- sort-of impressive, but not very lifelike. Oddly, the animations are quite poor, Peter Crouch seems to run with his legs bent like a hobbit. I haven't downloaded an edit file to see how the game looks with proper kits, but Konami has again missed some obvious ways to improve the atmosphere (crowd noise is so-so, esp. compared with Fifa; and why no national anthems for international games?). The bright spot is Jon Champion's commentary, he's outstanding. Lawro has good lines but reads them like he's in a school play, he's a terrible voice actor. PES fans will be relieved to have a next-gen version, but there's huge scope for improvement -- maybe via a patch to resolve the slowdown issues, surely in PES 2009 next year. If they release a shoddy title next time around, Fifa may finally grind out a win. Seabass, give us national anthems and smooth framerates and remember that we love you! Expand
  16. WillR.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    I'm a hardened Pro Evo fan, harking back from the days of ISS Pro and having recently bought a PS3, I couldn't wait! I'd heard some nasty rumours about it not being great and seen some mixed reviews. Some people had mentioned FIFA being better ...?? Well, I think this game's great. Much improved from the last game, I've noticed only a few flaws. The replays are I'm a hardened Pro Evo fan, harking back from the days of ISS Pro and having recently bought a PS3, I couldn't wait! I'd heard some nasty rumours about it not being great and seen some mixed reviews. Some people had mentioned FIFA being better ...?? Well, I think this game's great. Much improved from the last game, I've noticed only a few flaws. The replays are awful (sooo glitchy!), online play is slow and the ref';s whistle is annoyingly quick! Otherwise, I love it. Room for improvement next time, but a solid effort! Expand
  17. DanielF.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Shocking!!! I'm a big fan of PES put this so called next gen version is just shocking. Awful slow down's with poor glitches in the graphics. Looks like they made the game in 5 minutes. Again no licensed english prem, oh they do have newcastle & spurs...but they forget to tell you they lost man united and that over team from London. The game play is too quick (arcade like) Sorry Shocking!!! I'm a big fan of PES put this so called next gen version is just shocking. Awful slow down's with poor glitches in the graphics. Looks like they made the game in 5 minutes. Again no licensed english prem, oh they do have newcastle & spurs...but they forget to tell you they lost man united and that over team from London. The game play is too quick (arcade like) Sorry Konami but this game is going back to the shop, I hate to say this as im no fan, but it looks like i will have to have FIFA 2008 instead, least they have made a effort with this years game. Expand
  18. CarloA.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    The first impression is quite shocking. Everything seems moving too fast and very annoying slowdowns just leave you a little bit disappointed. Then, quite magically, after 15 minutes you are completely involved in the game. You are really part of the match and the players are so responsive you just imagine you are playing. Graphics is great. The refs (at least until now) are too severe! The first impression is quite shocking. Everything seems moving too fast and very annoying slowdowns just leave you a little bit disappointed. Then, quite magically, after 15 minutes you are completely involved in the game. You are really part of the match and the players are so responsive you just imagine you are playing. Graphics is great. The refs (at least until now) are too severe! Great gam, a must have for ps3 owners. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    86
    A backward step in some ways. But it's still PES, and so remains horrifyingly addictive. [Dec 2007, p.62]
  2. Konami's first Pro Evolution Soccer game for the PS3 plays well but suffers from noticeable slowdown and feels somewhat unfinished.
  3. Play UK
    70
    PES 2008 stumbles, rather than sprints onto the PS3, leaving us with the first Pro Evo game that falls short of the FIFA franchise. We expected a revolutionised football title that'd set the series back on course, but this is just shameful. [Issue#159, p.78]