Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2010 focuses on enhancing the excitement of matches between players, making for a truly challenging experience that constantly tests the player. Intuitive zonal defending covers spaces and players need to look constantly for new ways to attack. PES 2010 focuses on being a real soccer simulation, as it requires both strategic play and quick reactions, as in real life. In addition to key out-field elements, goalkeepers are more versatile and with abilities matching those of modern shot-stoppers. The game's referees have also been reworked, with smarter AI elements allowing them to make more balanced calls during matches. PES 2010 has undergone a major visual revamp, with its celebrated player likenesses and animations now even closer to those of real-life players - including live player expressions to be depicted with an improved lighting system which differentiates between various conditions! [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 93
    While a true sense of 'evolution' may be in short supply, Pro Evolution 2010 remains nothing short of a convincing return to form for Konami thanks to streamlined presentation, unpredictable gameplay, intuitive tactical planning, consistently variable challenge and a much-improved online service.
  2. Only the missing licenses and the commentator will let you take notice in a negative way. Great graphics, great game!
  3. 83
    Last year Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 wasn’t really good. This year Pro Evolution Soccer is back as it’s meant to be. Nice gameplay in the great Master League and a lot of other playable options. One point that’s still missing, are all of the official licenses.
  4. Though the mode on hand are all old hat, they've been greatly refined. The online experience in particular is vastly improved.
  5. Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 is not the turning point everyone’s been waiting for over the past year. Yet again. The scarce number of novelties, and the low level of innovation and realism, opposite to a gameplay engine in desperate need for a rethinking, eventually have turned THE soccer simulation into something closer to an arcade game. Strangely enough, a game we may still like, though.
  6. 72
    PES diehards will defend the strangely robotic take on the beautiful game, but those wanting a flowing, realistic game should eye up the old adversary. [Issue#185, p.76]
  7. Five years on from what was arguably the series' peak there has been no substantial development and no willingness to reflect the ambition of its own title - something we cannot abide. [Dec 2009, p.105]

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Moonz
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    NO matter what critics say, it all comes down to the fans. If a player is into the authenticity of the gameplay, tactics, movements and formation then this is the current best game in town. If you feel like just dribbling past defenders and shooting as if shooting a gun in a 3rd person game then go for Fifa. True footballers would pick PES! Expand
  2. somethingatt
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    This game got harsh backlash from the media because of two admittedly horrible years before and the FIFA hype. This time it's back on form [kind of]...The PES elements can be seen here, the randomness of football, the variety of every match and team and the players (variety- something FIFA badly lacks) are all here for you to see. Granted, the gameplay needs a bit of ironing out but if you were a PES fanatic in the PS2 days and love how much care goes into recreating a match feel, you WILL get an excellent match feel with this edition. The core PES feel is here. Add on top of that a superbly improved Master League mode (they obviously been secretly working on this for at least 3 years), community mode that keeps stats of matches between you and your mates, and finally a lagless enough to be playable online mode and this is a PES that makes you see a light at the end of the tunnel and something any PES fanatic can pick up and fall in love with within 2-3 matches. This is finally a football game I fell in love with this gen and PES2011 will perfect the formula (hence the 9 for this one). Expand
  3. MarkC
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Its simple really. If you are into tactical soccer, like tinkering with formations and monitoring the growth of your players, if you expect a striker to behave like a striker when forced to take up defensive duties and know the difference between a defensive midfielder and a fullback, then this is the soccer game to play. When compared to the other soccer videogame, this actually plays like the sport. Anyone who plays soccer understand that you entire team does not sprint forward as soon as you obtain possession, but this seems to escape the programmers at EA. Very simply put, FIFA 10 plays like a hockey game without the sticks...and it doesnt suprise me seeing as how the game is made in Canada. If soccer/football is your favorite sport then choose PES. If you are a casual gamer..choose Fifa Expand
  4. MarkD
    Dec 29, 2009
    6
    First let me say I was a huge PES fan on the ps1/ps2, it was clearly the most realistic, most enjoyable football game. Back then I thought Fifa was for kids with its high scoring games and poor gameplay. Things have changed. I can't understand some of the reviews when I read them. Ok I will say that graphically PES 2010 has improved on all previous games. The player faces are very good - much better than Fifa. The CL Mode is well presented and PES is better in terms of player individuality. Gameplay wise this version is no where near the best PS2 versions such as PES5 and PES6. There are a number of reasons for this. Player movement is robotic and stiff in comparison to Fifa's 360 movement, which is well implemented. The passing is just horrible, passes are under hit all the time, the ball is stuck under players feet, you can only make basic passes or you lose the ball. We are playing with players worth millions of £ yet they cant make any decent passes. Passing on Fifa is a little ping pong at times but atleast the game reacts when you press a button. Also on Fifa the passes go where you want them to go. The problems with PES gameplay go on and on, there is bad button lag. Nothing more frustrating when you press pass/shoot and it takes another 5 seconds for your player to execute the shot/pass. It should react instantly and be free flowing like it used to be, what have you done Konami. The goalkeepers are not great, the game is weak in the animation department compared to Fifa. The game feels scripted as though they want to make low scoring games. The gameplay (which is what matters most) is nothing compared to the PES games I used to love on the ps2. On a plus point the game is more challenging than Fifa, possibly because its more scripted. Graphics a big improvement this year. I don't like the nets they are not realistic, the ball often does a silly movement when it hits the net. Overall I am very disappointed with the PES games on the PS3. When I moved to next gen consoles I was most looking forward to a next-gen PES, I thought it would be amazing. However the series has gone backwards. It was always ahead in the gameplay department but now its behind in every department. The frustrating, unreactive gameplay added with the fakeness of PES makes this game very poor overall. I have tried it the last few years but Fifa is better, but not without its own faults. I wish Konami would have improved upon the ps2 versions as now we are left with mediocre football games. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Aunque supera a su antecesor (Pro Evolution Soccer 2009) se queda muy atrás de su senda y de su lucha contra Fifa, perdiendo claramente este año, decepcionante tanto para seguidores poco fieles, como para los mas fieles de la saga, un juego para olvidar, Konami dejaba asi claramente que su reinado en Playstation 3 quedaba lejos, no como en Playstation 2, una lastima, porque el juego prometía incluso a los menos optimistas...pero no valía lo suficiente... Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    PES 2010 was showing its age when it just came out. Very outdated and poor animations, poor AI, but it still feels like the real thing. Menus and modes are great. Collapse
  7. Steve
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    The worst Pro Evo game I have played. In terms of gameplay it is horrific. Player movement off the ball is an absolute joke. Players take too long to release the ball when shooting. Keepers are as bad as I have ever seen in a football game. I gave it 1 point because it is still better than FIFA but this game, it's just an absolute disgrace. I don't know how anyone who is a genuine football fan can call this game anything other than the massive pile of crap that it is. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews