Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    87
    You will need training. You need skills and lightning fast reactions. But in return you'll get magical moments that only Pro Evolution Soccer can deliver – even though the engine and overall presentation need an overhaul.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    Wake up, everyone! With PES 2013, Konami has finally pulled off the excellent game it's been threatening to release for the last couple of years. On the scale of dramatic football comebacks it's not quite up there with That Night in Barcelona (© Clive Tyldesley) or The Miracle of Istanbul, but it surely comes close.
  3. 90
    PES 2013 gives fans what they want. More control over the ball, more autonomy in the pass and shot, and more power and more characterization in well-known defensive players.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    88
    In the great football war, Pro Evo may come up short to rival FIFA when it comes to an across-the-board feature set, but I think the gameplay is better in Konami's title. With this iteration Konami is inching the franchise forward by both refining its product while not being afraid to try new things.
  5. 90
    Konami's back in the game, and they are fielding all their starters.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    88
    The PES game we've been waiting for since 2007. [Issue#223, p.82]
  7. Sep 29, 2012
    91
    Tweaked in all the right places, 2013 is the finest PES of the PS3 generation, delightfully recreating the ebb and flow of the modern game. [Nov 2012, p.102]
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    PES 2013 has made huge strides forward in how it plays over last year's game.
  9. Sep 16, 2012
    90
    PES is back with the best episode of the HD era. It's still one step behind FIFA when we talk about technical aspects, but it brings back that little 'something' we loved on PS2 that made it special. The new additions to the control system and the detail put into every match to make them different are some of the key elements we feel are worth mentioning. PES 2013 is finally able to fight the supremacy FIFA has this generation.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 32
  2. Negative: 13 out of 32
  1. Sep 30, 2012
    1
    Much better teamwork, better online play, best of the PS3 generation.... Then Konami decide to remove the league option stopping you from playing with friends in 1 location unless you want to go back to the days of writing a league table on some paper. For the simple fact they removed a core mechanic behind playing with friends and organised tournaments PES 2013 gets a 1 as it is simply unplayable and has 50 of us involved in North East England PES tournaments and buy our own copies for practice during the week are now having to look at the enemy in FIFA which would still allow us to play in the manner we have been accustomed to. Whoever made that decision at Konami should be sacked and never work in gaming again as they quite simply have zero grasp of the games target market. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    It seems that Konami had finally able to put a title Pro Evolution Soccer franchise on top as the most beloved by most players. If that does not happen with version 2013, which still suffers from distrust of those who "migrated" to FIFA, upcoming releases should heat up this dispute - in which the winner is the gamer. If you missed the news for game modes, technical improvements have created a fun environment and refers to the history of PES, joining new details, but without losing the essence that established the franchise. The retouched graphics, the highlight even higher for Brazil and complete control over their actions in the field ensure three points for Pro Evolution Soccer. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    I'll be honest, I initially bought this game over Fifa 13 because a). I liked the demo and b). I fancied a change from Fifa's claustrophobic playing area. I was so wrong ... and this is why. Pes is fine in single player. The Champions league complete with official licence is actually entertaining. Most of my time is spent playing online though and unfortunately this is what lets PES down. I really tried to like it, I was always a PES man in days gone by but it has remained deeply rooted in the past. PES is so erratic that it exceeds being frustrating. Imagine controlling a game for 85 minutes with a deserved victory in grasp only to concede two goals in five minutes because of a flawed control or A.I. system. I regularly came across this problem online ... suffice to say, the controller flew across the room several times, the dog covered his ears as I unloaded a tirade of expletives at the screen and the game disc ... after only 2 weeks of play went back to the shop to be traded for something less frustrating and more enjoyable. I considered the loss of £11 in two weeks a bargain as , had I kept PES it would have cost me a fortune to replace my 51" 3D Plasma due to Dualshockhittingthescreenitis ! So, FIFA 13 is now my game of choice, it does everyth... MOST things I want it too. I still get frustrated from time to time but at least now it is down to my lack of skill rather than dodgy A.I. or the ridiculous physics engine. I would genuinely love a brilliant PES game, I really would but until they up the quality and iron out the game breaking flaws, I'll stick to what I know delivers. Full Review »