User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 146
  2. Negative: 33 out of 146
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    I'll be honest, I initially bought this game over Fifa 13 because a). I liked the demo and b). I fancied a change from Fifa's claustrophobic playing area. I was so wrong ... and this is why. Pes is fine in single player. The Champions league complete with official licence is actually entertaining. Most of my time is spent playing online though and unfortunately this is what lets PESI'll be honest, I initially bought this game over Fifa 13 because a). I liked the demo and b). I fancied a change from Fifa's claustrophobic playing area. I was so wrong ... and this is why. Pes is fine in single player. The Champions league complete with official licence is actually entertaining. Most of my time is spent playing online though and unfortunately this is what lets PES down. I really tried to like it, I was always a PES man in days gone by but it has remained deeply rooted in the past. PES is so erratic that it exceeds being frustrating. Imagine controlling a game for 85 minutes with a deserved victory in grasp only to concede two goals in five minutes because of a flawed control or A.I. system. I regularly came across this problem online ... suffice to say, the controller flew across the room several times, the dog covered his ears as I unloaded a tirade of expletives at the screen and the game disc ... after only 2 weeks of play went back to the shop to be traded for something less frustrating and more enjoyable. I considered the loss of £11 in two weeks a bargain as , had I kept PES it would have cost me a fortune to replace my 51" 3D Plasma due to Dualshockhittingthescreenitis ! So, FIFA 13 is now my game of choice, it does everyth... MOST things I want it too. I still get frustrated from time to time but at least now it is down to my lack of skill rather than dodgy A.I. or the ridiculous physics engine. I would genuinely love a brilliant PES game, I really would but until they up the quality and iron out the game breaking flaws, I'll stick to what I know delivers. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Hi Guys, Ineed your help please, how can replace my online player, I need to have a new team from Zero, can someone guide me please? I have a team but i keep on loosing matches, i need to start from the beginning again, please help
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I'll dive straight to the point with this one. PES 13 is a frustrating game,in a very good way. The reason I fell in love with this the PES series was PES 5 as it had this frustration factor:It's bloody hard to score,it's bloody hard to keep possession and it's bloody hard to defend. PES 13 has that same factor fused into this edition. Manual shooting is a headache so one has to make damnI'll dive straight to the point with this one. PES 13 is a frustrating game,in a very good way. The reason I fell in love with this the PES series was PES 5 as it had this frustration factor:It's bloody hard to score,it's bloody hard to keep possession and it's bloody hard to defend. PES 13 has that same factor fused into this edition. Manual shooting is a headache so one has to make damn certain you're accurate with your shooting. Manual passing is a pain because pressing X won't pull of a pass Xavi or Iniesta might envy. Nothing is easy about this game and that is why in my opinion it will never gain the same admiration that it's competition has. I constantly hear complaints of it's presentation and commentary and so forth but have any gamers out there realised that Konami isn't interested in any of these things? I could go on forever trying to explain the game in detail but our ''critics'' from major websites have done that already. One thing I will point out is that the reason PES will never gain the respect FIFA has is licenses. Football gamers have such an attachment towards the Barclays Premiership that they fail to realise that FIFA feels nothing like the real thing(football that is). I enjoy a challenge. I enjoy racking my brain wondering how to break an opponent's defence. I enjoy the pressure of the pressure of looking for an away goal to send me into the final of the Champions League.PES 13 does that for me. No FIFA game has ever done that for me. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 17, 2012
    80
    With an improved player AI, you'll be able to pull off some great attacking raids. [Jan 2013, p.77]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2012
    80
    A mixed bag: mostly entertaining, yet still a bit frustrating experience. Slowed down tempo, refined attacking AI and new defending controls are welcomed additions. However, Konami should forget the dribbling controls and keep on improving passing, AI and physics engine. [Nov 2012]
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    PES 2013 is a very respectable soccer game that maintains its excellence on the field but unfortunately fall further behind in the bells and whistles department making it a distant runner-up in this year's battle for soccer supremacy.