Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 PlayStation 3

Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as toPES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. Trueball Tech adds more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 90
  2. Negative: 52 out of 90
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Anyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better thanAnyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better than FIFA, it just needs that final off-field mode to fully surpass Fifa. The current sales are already in PES' favour and that shows that people are truly acknowledging PES Collapse
  2. Feb 3, 2016
    8
    PES 2014 is a great sports game that gives FIFA a run for its money. The gameplay is fast and smooth, runs at 60 FPS. The graphics are alsoPES 2014 is a great sports game that gives FIFA a run for its money. The gameplay is fast and smooth, runs at 60 FPS. The graphics are also very nice, thanks to the Fox Engine, that Konami decided to add to give PES 2014 a little extra flair. And i have to say, it worked. The Fox Engine continues to improve from when it was introduced in MGSV Ground Zeroes. Overall, PES 2014 is a game that any FIFA fan should try. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2015
    6
    PES 2014 out of it was a good game but very disapproving until vloran as football games , although the game is a bit difficult, I likePES 2014 out of it was a good game but very disapproving until vloran as football games , although the game is a bit difficult, I like football, my third favorite thing before God and cinema. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    This game dissapointed me,it is just dissapointg to me i am one of the bigest fans i know of pes since i am alive.....i played countless hoursThis game dissapointed me,it is just dissapointg to me i am one of the bigest fans i know of pes since i am alive.....i played countless hours of pes,reaching top rankings,having fun whit frends and then this comes out that for me ruined the franchise....When i first started playing everything seemed normal,when the game started the menu was different it was a little bit strange but...i went to play master league and become legend...everything was missing,the cutscenes,the talking,,everything that made the game fun it was not there and in the match the game just was horrible bugs everywhere and the grapich were horendes but how much i hate this game at the same time i love it.....this broke my heart i was not expecting such a tthing from you konami you were the best in football games....in this game you went the fifa way and they/you failed...miserably...and teh worst thing is every player llooks dam the same.....i went to fc london to rename it and make my own club and every onfe of the players was same i cud not recognize them...this game is dissapointing in every level if you are a fan and a newbe..so it deserves a 3-and this is coming from a old fan of the franchise..dissapointed. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    2
    PES 2014 is worst PES edition ever.
    New engine made it worse. Comparing with PES 2013:
    Graphics- worst Skills- worse and slow, cant
    PES 2014 is worst PES edition ever.
    New engine made it worse. Comparing with PES 2013:
    Graphics- worst
    Skills- worse and slow, cant realize who is better,
    Copycat of FIFA, dont know which fifa but the fact is PES gone to FIFA rout, and if that we PES FANS wanted, we would have converted to FIFA.
    Commentary- same as PES 13, no development and FIFA is much better in that area.
    Atmosphere a bit better.
    MANY,MANY,MANY little details yet to say, but I leave it to KONAMI studio.
    My guess if they make next year same BAD game or if we dont see real touch-development, then I can assure that all will play FIFA soon!
    RIP PES
    Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    the worst pes ever play like s*** It is absolutely copy from Fifa This version must be free not for sale worst of money Nothing to saythe worst pes ever play like s*** It is absolutely copy from Fifa This version must be free not for sale worst of money Nothing to say about this version Waste time buy Fifa 14 is better a lot Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    I used to play this game since winning eleven.. This year was the year that made me switch to Fifa and i am so glad that I did.. I will neverI used to play this game since winning eleven.. This year was the year that made me switch to Fifa and i am so glad that I did.. I will never EVER purchase any product from this company... I won't mind getting a game that I don't like.. but getting a half finished game for full price is a rip off.. Never buy this game. not worth half it's price Expand

See all 90 User Reviews