Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES 2014 centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. Trueball Tech allows the player to trap or knock on a pass using the analogue stick with detailed bar-centric physics determining the weight shift of the player and the height and speed of the pass, as to how the player's body will automatically shape to receive it. Trueball Tech adds more freedom, with full 360-degree control within several yards around the player and the ability to shield the ball from opposing players, use deft controls to wrong-foot them, and intuitive methods to master close control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is very much what its name implies, an evolution. Konami have taken off the gloves and issued a very strong challenge to EA; whether or not this will translate to actual sales is yet to be seen as this battle will be fought over the coming year.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    Even though some long lasting problems -like the poor AI- are still here, the new edition of PES is one of the best representations of the "beautiful game".
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    It sacrifices little of the feel while introducing some new concepts that I hope stick around. While aspects like the bid to introduce emotion to players remains inconclusive and I'd like the developer refine its control scheme, for the first time in a while the future of the franchise is more exciting than its past.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    The best Pro Evo has been all generation and, for players looking for a more in-depth and grounded game of football, a genuine alternative to FIFA.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Calling it a simulation doesn't quite feel right, but this captures the look and action of a football match better than anything else I've played.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    On the field we run into a more complex and deeper game, in which it’s all about patience and steel nerves. This is partly because PES 2014 is more a soccer simulator than a game and partly because the game part of it still has many flaws. It’s a promising step for the next generation of PES-games though, that much is obvious.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    This new PES 2014 has made efforts in its gameplay, offering freer and more realistic actions, but it disappoints on the technical side. Slowdowns in front of goal are annoying, most of the players (except the stars) are unrecognizable, the public is poorly done... In short, we are still far, far away from catching the ogre FIFA.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 78
  2. Negative: 44 out of 78
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Anyone who despises this game is either deluded or plain stupid...though we're all entitled to our opinions. PES' gameplay is far better than FIFA, it just needs that final off-field mode to fully surpass Fifa. The current sales are already in PES' favour and that shows that people are truly acknowledging PES Collapse
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Gostei do jogo... Tem vários bugs e muitas coisas irritantes. Mas me dá vontade de jogar, ao contrário do 2013 que só era legar jogar com os amigos. Espero que os futuros "patchs" corrijam alguns desses erros. Por enquanto minha nota 8, mas com melhorias pode virar até um 9. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    6
    Okay, where to start. PES 2014 is still PES, I've been playing PES since it was ISS (getting on for 20 years ago) and it hasn't changed all that much in that time, the core gameplay remains recognisable.

    This version however, has quite a few downsides.

    The framerate is shocking, when you're actually in play it's fine but the pre match cutscenes and replays look like .gif files.

    The crowd moves and it looks terrible, they probably have 15 frames of animation, and they're very low res.

    The English commentary is nowhere near as good as it should be, it's possibly the worst of all the sports games that have commentary, it's getting to the point where I just don't think they should include it.

    It is constantly loading something.

    It's still pretty fun though, if you can get it cheap and despise FIFA, go for it. And personally I don't mind the lack of official licenses, I enjoy the editing. I spent many an hour on PES 4 and 5 editing all the premier league teams, but all in all the technical issues this game has disappoint me. I don't think old gen consoles like the PS3 and 360 can handle the new Fox game engine, and it suffers.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    where do i start...i think most PES players were looking forward to this game. Konami come out of the blocks with all the PR they could think of. New Engine, Heart, Mass, blah blah blah, but they seem to have forgot how to create a good football game.

    This game game is clearly not finished. Far too many problems with this game for it to be enjoyable, and at the end of the day even if your trying to simulate a sport or whatever its a game and it has to be fun. Problems are frame rate issues ,especially around the penalty box. Players do not react quick enough, they turn like tanks animations take far to long to complete when tackling etc allow to Ai to exploit you. Unresponsive commands, it takes far too long for players to do what you want them to do after having pressed a button

    Laggy menus, online completely broken, shall i go on??..this year is just a complete and utter mess, underneath it all there seems to be a game trying to get out, but its been very poorly implemented, and I just dont understand how any reviewer can give this a positive score in its current state. Konami need to patch this game and patch it quick. They should be ashamed of releasing this,
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    2
    ¿Why the hell they are selling a incomplete game That might be the worst PES edition of the franchise.... really it's so bad....definitely they must show us a great game the next time Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    1
    I have been playing PES since it was called Winning Eleven and it only came in Japanese (PS1). This is probably one of its worst outings so far. The past couple of games have been bad but playable. I suspect it might get better through updates, but it should not work like this.

    I paid $60 for a FINISHED game, this GAME IS NOT FINISHED. PES has always had game-play glitches especially their previous engine, but this year, it is so unfinished that it is almost unplayable. It is an experiment, clearly has potential, but they are essentially selling an experiment not a finished product.
    Main problems:
    1. The game slows down when play goes into the areas. (Makes me wanna cry)
    2. Shooting mechanism is terrible. (worst than previous games)
    3. Keepers suck, but that has been the case for PES for the past 4 games so I'm pretty sure that is never getting fixed.
    4. I have not been able to play online at all. (their customer services sucks by the way)
    5. Team rosters have not been updated at all, one of the reasons you buy the new game is for the rosters to be up to date.
    6. the screen slows down when you are changing the tactics for your team, there is clearly a frame rate problem.

    They are SELLING AN UNFINISHED GAME even if they are promising an update by November. Why not just release the game in November? I know they had to compete with FIFA 14, but this is just insulting to faithful PES customers.

    LAST PES I EVER BUY. AVOID IT.
    Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    I used to play this game since winning eleven.. This year was the year that made me switch to Fifa and i am so glad that I did.. I will never EVER purchase any product from this company... I won't mind getting a game that I don't like.. but getting a half finished game for full price is a rip off.. Never buy this game. not worth half it's price Expand

See all 78 User Reviews