Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    85
    If Dear Esther is a dark audiobook, Proteus is an interactive painting. Small things combine to build a living world.
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Proteus is beautiful. It's a different sort of interactive experience that needs to be seen.
  3. 80
    Exceptionally imaginative and deeply mysterious, Proteus isn't for everyone, but explorers and those looking for a change of pace will fall in love.
  4. Simple but wonderfully effective, combining ‘Ooh what’s that?’ invitations to explore with ‘Ooh isn’t that lovely’ moments of beauty. Size doesn’t matter with a gem like this.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    75
    Proteus is a magnificent experience. Side note is that only a select group of people will enjoy playing this strange, interactive title.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Proteus is a game without a clear goal. In fact, we're not sure whether there is a purpose to it at all. You're just wandering around a deserted island, that is generated at random for every new playthrough. Still, in a strange way, Proteus is very satisfying and not just because there are Trophies to earn. It's a bizarre, relaxed experience, though it definitely isn't for everyone.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    It is something focused on the audience that wants to try something different. It's unique, and that means not everyone will like it. If you like what you see, probably it deserves a try.
  8. 70
    Many will argue as to whether it’s a ‘real’ game or not, but Proteus’ ability to stimulate your imagination and your senses makes it a more satisfyingly interactive experience than many.
  9. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    Proteus is a unique exploration title that demands very little skill but a great deal of imagination.
  10. Aug 20, 2014
    42
    Proteus is an interesting curiosity, but it doesn't have enough variety to be at the same level of those indies the players really want. Enjoyable for a few hours, and with some interesting details once the night comes.
  11. Nov 27, 2013
    30
    Proteus is an example of a point somewhere on the outskirts of creativity, towards the backend of an ever larger golden spiral. Unfortunately, this bright spark of difference, the uniqueness and the distance from the middle doesn’t guarantee success. In this case what we have here is failure.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Aug 10, 2014
    0
    "..."

    That's my review. Empty. Just like this game. Empty of content and gameplay.

    As a matter of fact, I don't believe this even
    qualifies as a game. I'm not sure what it is, but I think game developers are really pushing their creative freedom on this one... in the wrong direction. Last time I checked games have a "plot" and "objective", i.e. something you do.

    Sadly, this just doesn't cut it.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    It is not a game. This is the demoscene, but not a game.
    It
    is...................................................................................... FAIL. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    This game has serious issues. you cannot do anything about it...................................................................................... FAIL Full Review »