Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Feb 8, 2015
    85
    Proteus gives a very particular sensory experience. Even if it's virtual, it won't be hard to forget it. After turning on the screen we won't be able to feel nothing but melancholy.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    85
    If Dear Esther is a dark audiobook, Proteus is an interactive painting. Small things combine to build a living world.
  3. Nov 26, 2014
    80
    It becomes like a dream, and when it concludes, players will wake up refreshed. They will not be able to perfectly describe what they've just experienced, but the feeling and memories will linger.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Proteus is beautiful. It's a different sort of interactive experience that needs to be seen.
  5. 80
    Exceptionally imaginative and deeply mysterious, Proteus isn't for everyone, but explorers and those looking for a change of pace will fall in love.
  6. Simple but wonderfully effective, combining ‘Ooh what’s that?’ invitations to explore with ‘Ooh isn’t that lovely’ moments of beauty. Size doesn’t matter with a gem like this.
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    75
    Proteus is a magnificent experience. Side note is that only a select group of people will enjoy playing this strange, interactive title.
  8. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Proteus is a game without a clear goal. In fact, we're not sure whether there is a purpose to it at all. You're just wandering around a deserted island, that is generated at random for every new playthrough. Still, in a strange way, Proteus is very satisfying and not just because there are Trophies to earn. It's a bizarre, relaxed experience, though it definitely isn't for everyone.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. Aug 10, 2014
    0
    "..."

    That's my review. Empty. Just like this game. Empty of content and gameplay. As a matter of fact, I don't believe this even
    "..."

    That's my review. Empty. Just like this game. Empty of content and gameplay.

    As a matter of fact, I don't believe this even qualifies as a game. I'm not sure what it is, but I think game developers are really pushing their creative freedom on this one... in the wrong direction. Last time I checked games have a "plot" and "objective", i.e. something you do.

    Sadly, this just doesn't cut it.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    Awful. Silly pastel colour scheme. Jagged, blocky graphics. Terrible electronic ambient musix/fx, Sluggish controls. No story. No interaction.Awful. Silly pastel colour scheme. Jagged, blocky graphics. Terrible electronic ambient musix/fx, Sluggish controls. No story. No interaction. No gameplay. Tiny playing area. This is quite possibly the worst 'game' I have every played. But Proteus is not 'a game'. I liked Journey. I liked TotalMiner, Terraria, DokiDoki ......... I dont have any problem with minimalist, unusual or indie stuff. But Proteus is absolutely awful. Some will say its a miimalist game. Its not. Proteus is no more a minimalist game than a blank piece of papar is a minimalist novel. Proteus was one of the free game on PSN this month (Aug 2014), so I played it for a good hour trying to like it - but frankly I wouldn't bother even for 'free'. Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    Proteus offers a unique experience. The lack of conventional 'gameplay' or objectives was a bit hard to get used to, but obviously that's aProteus offers a unique experience. The lack of conventional 'gameplay' or objectives was a bit hard to get used to, but obviously that's a very subjective experience. I would definitely recommend checking this out if you're into artistic indie games that are not necessarily all about the gameplay. Full Review »