User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    Proteus offers a unique experience. The lack of conventional 'gameplay' or objectives was a bit hard to get used to, but obviously that's a very subjective experience. I would definitely recommend checking this out if you're into artistic indie games that are not necessarily all about the gameplay.
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    Awful. Silly pastel colour scheme. Jagged, blocky graphics. Terrible electronic ambient musix/fx, Sluggish controls. No story. No interaction. No gameplay. Tiny playing area. This is quite possibly the worst 'game' I have every played. But Proteus is not 'a game'. I liked Journey. I liked TotalMiner, Terraria, DokiDoki ......... I dont have any problem with minimalist, unusual or indie stuff. But Proteus is absolutely awful. Some will say its a miimalist game. Its not. Proteus is no more a minimalist game than a blank piece of papar is a minimalist novel. Proteus was one of the free game on PSN this month (Aug 2014), so I played it for a good hour trying to like it - but frankly I wouldn't bother even for 'free'. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    It is not a game. This is the demoscene, but not a game.
    It is...................................................................................... FAIL.
  4. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    This game has serious issues. you cannot do anything about it...................................................................................... FAIL
  5. Aug 10, 2014
    0
    "..." That's my review. Empty. Just like this game. Empty of content and gameplay. As a matter of fact, I don't believe this even qualifies as a game. I'm not sure what it is, but I think game developers are really pushing their creative freedom on this one... in the wrong direction. Last time I checked games have a "plot" and "objective", i.e. something you do. Sadly, this just doesn't cut it. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    4
    Proteus is fun for fifteen minutes and has a few cool graphical moments... But ultimately there is nothing to actually do in the game. No problem for a game priced at 3 bucks, but Proteus goes for 14. It simply is not worth the money it asks for.
  7. kg1
    Aug 11, 2014
    0
    Absolutely disgusting.
    No gameplay.
    Awful music.
    There is NOTHING in this game.
    Another pretentious piece of s*** walking simulator.
    This is like a resume of part of what's wrong with the industry right now.
  8. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As most have said this is a bizarre game, but to me in a good way. What most don't understand though is its mysterious. Like when you climb a mountain and find the demonic-like statues in a circle or the awesome rune stone circle at night that speeds up the timeframe and transports you to another world. If you stand still long enough you can start to float all the way up into the sky. I want to know if there's more here, I get a strange sense of wonder and adventure. Sometimes I even get that spooky child-like feeling of "is there something behind me?" or when my controller vibrates for some unknown reason even when I never bump into anything. I loved it, its great for those who want to just let go for a minute. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    42
    Proteus is an interesting curiosity, but it doesn't have enough variety to be at the same level of those indies the players really want. Enjoyable for a few hours, and with some interesting details once the night comes.
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    75
    Proteus is a magnificent experience. Side note is that only a select group of people will enjoy playing this strange, interactive title.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Proteus is a game without a clear goal. In fact, we're not sure whether there is a purpose to it at all. You're just wandering around a deserted island, that is generated at random for every new playthrough. Still, in a strange way, Proteus is very satisfying and not just because there are Trophies to earn. It's a bizarre, relaxed experience, though it definitely isn't for everyone.