Proteus Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Proteus is a minimalist game of pure exploration and sublime discovery in a musical wilderness environment. There are no challenges and no goals other than those set by the player. A reactive audio mixing system allows the player to explore the environment as music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    85
    If Dear Esther is a dark audiobook, Proteus is an interactive painting. Small things combine to build a living world.
  2. 80
    Exceptionally imaginative and deeply mysterious, Proteus isn't for everyone, but explorers and those looking for a change of pace will fall in love.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Proteus is beautiful. It's a different sort of interactive experience that needs to be seen.
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Proteus is a game without a clear goal. In fact, we're not sure whether there is a purpose to it at all. You're just wandering around a deserted island, that is generated at random for every new playthrough. Still, in a strange way, Proteus is very satisfying and not just because there are Trophies to earn. It's a bizarre, relaxed experience, though it definitely isn't for everyone.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    It is something focused on the audience that wants to try something different. It's unique, and that means not everyone will like it. If you like what you see, probably it deserves a try.
  6. 70
    Many will argue as to whether it’s a ‘real’ game or not, but Proteus’ ability to stimulate your imagination and your senses makes it a more satisfyingly interactive experience than many.
  7. Nov 27, 2013
    30
    Proteus is an example of a point somewhere on the outskirts of creativity, towards the backend of an ever larger golden spiral. Unfortunately, this bright spark of difference, the uniqueness and the distance from the middle doesn’t guarantee success. In this case what we have here is failure.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As most have said this is a bizarre game, but to me in a good way. What most don't understand though is its mysterious. Like when you climb a mountain and find the demonic-like statues in a circle or the awesome rune stone circle at night that speeds up the timeframe and transports you to another world. If you stand still long enough you can start to float all the way up into the sky. I want to know if there's more here, I get a strange sense of wonder and adventure. Sometimes I even get that spooky child-like feeling of "is there something behind me?" or when my controller vibrates for some unknown reason even when I never bump into anything. I loved it, its great for those who want to just let go for a minute. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    Proteus offers a unique experience. The lack of conventional 'gameplay' or objectives was a bit hard to get used to, but obviously that's a very subjective experience. I would definitely recommend checking this out if you're into artistic indie games that are not necessarily all about the gameplay. Collapse
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    This game has serious issues. you cannot do anything about it...................................................................................... FAIL Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    Awful. Silly pastel colour scheme. Jagged, blocky graphics. Terrible electronic ambient musix/fx, Sluggish controls. No story. No interaction. No gameplay. Tiny playing area. This is quite possibly the worst 'game' I have every played. But Proteus is not 'a game'. I liked Journey. I liked TotalMiner, Terraria, DokiDoki ......... I dont have any problem with minimalist, unusual or indie stuff. But Proteus is absolutely awful. Some will say its a miimalist game. Its not. Proteus is no more a minimalist game than a blank piece of papar is a minimalist novel. Proteus was one of the free game on PSN this month (Aug 2014), so I played it for a good hour trying to like it - but frankly I wouldn't bother even for 'free'. Expand
  5. kg1
    Aug 11, 2014
    0
    Absolutely disgusting. No gameplay. Awful music. There is NOTHING in this game. Another pretentious piece of s*** walking simulator. This is like a resume of part of what's wrong with the industry right now. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    0
    "..."

    That's my review. Empty. Just like this game. Empty of content and gameplay.

    As a matter of fact, I don't believe this even
    qualifies as a game. I'm not sure what it is, but I think game developers are really pushing their creative freedom on this one... in the wrong direction. Last time I checked games have a "plot" and "objective", i.e. something you do.

    Sadly, this just doesn't cut it.
    Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    It is not a game. This is the demoscene, but not a game.
    It
    is...................................................................................... FAIL. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews