Prototype 2 PlayStation 3

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. May 4, 2012
    74
    While an improvement over the original, Prototype 2 still has significant flaws. Despite that, it's a fun game in spurts and worth looking into if you like sandbox action games or enjoyed the original.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    It's a shame that Radical Entertainment doesn't deliver on their grand promises. Yes, this is a fun game, but an uninteresting story, boring missions and rather dull graphics keep PROTOTYPE 2 from topping its predecessor.
  3. May 22, 2012
    70
    Prototype remains an explosive game and an experience like no other.
  4. 70
    What it may lack in depth, Prototype 2 makes up for in solid open-world action and fun. It's highly recommended to anyone who feels that open-world games have offered too many constraints and would just like to engage in some havoc. However, the game's lack of variety and repetitive mission structure may not offer other gamers the experience that they're looking for, especially when compared to other games in the genre.
  5. Apr 27, 2012
    70
    Story wise, nothing has changed since the first Prototype. You still won't care. You can, however, have fun with the chaotic action and the varied flavors of fighting.
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    70
    Outside of the Trophies I have for my efforts, I doubt I'll remember much of Prototype 2's sterile side missions and curse word-laden dialogue. Prototype 2 is fun, but it sure is forgettable.
  7. Apr 28, 2012
    65
    Prototype 2 is mindless fun, but lacking any glimpse of intelligence. Every element of the story is undermined by simplicity and shallowness. The game excels in creating a brutal interactive playground in which you roam around as a half-god. It's just a shame that this deity doesn't get a moment to shine.
  8. May 22, 2012
    60
    Its cooler moments are offset by a long list of missions that aren't engaging at all. You're a man with an ever-increasing list of insane powers, but the tasks you accomplish with those powers are usually pretty ho-hum. Add to all that a script that makes you want to turn the sound down and a dose of awkward control quirks and you've got a run-of-the-mill open-world game.
  9. Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Like its predecessor, Prototype 2 is an enjoyable distraction rather than a must-play affair. Its varied combat and satisfying traversal mechanics provide the title with a surprisingly solid basis, but a lacklustre plot and dreary setting prevent it from competing with the very best in the open-world genre. There's certainly fun to be had here, but it's of the disappointingly dispensable kind.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Prototype 2 is a masterpiece of open world destruction! Like killing hordes of zombies? of course you do! The game looks and soundsPrototype 2 is a masterpiece of open world destruction! Like killing hordes of zombies? of course you do! The game looks and sounds amazing. I love how many ways there are to kick serious ass! You can be sneaky stealthy ninja type or just a complete beast and charge the obstacles head on. Operate tanks, fly choppers, use tons of weapons or become the weapon. If you like open-world games, if you want to have god-like powers pick this game up now! Getting a new copy gets you Rad-net which opens up a bunch of mini games that are good-times when hanging out with a bunch of peeps. I liked being Alex Mercer, but Heller is even more bad-ass! Two thumbs up, 10 out of 10! Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    This game is very well done. They have really improved since the last prototype and I got to admit I'm enjoying every second of it. If someoneThis game is very well done. They have really improved since the last prototype and I got to admit I'm enjoying every second of it. If someone gives this a bad review then something is seriously wrong with u. 10/10 for me. KEEP IT UP RADICAL :D Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    When you can't be original, be excessive. Prototype has never excelled in writing, but ignoring the question of how New York has been reducedWhen you can't be original, be excessive. Prototype has never excelled in writing, but ignoring the question of how New York has been reduced to bubbling stews of gristle and severed limbs is easy when you can punch a tank until it explodes or taking a running leap over the Empire State building. Prototype 2 is just fun, and a sensible gamer will try not to take it too seriously. A forgettable plot, shallow characters and underwhelming environments can all be forgiven if you just give me enough ways to blow it all up. You won't remember it, but you will enjoy it. Full Review »