Prototype 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 179
  2. Negative: 32 out of 179
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2012
    7
    Prototype 2 is a better looking but more of the same version of the original prototype. P2 although still great fun too play does not seem to be no-where near as challenging as the original was. This i think is another case of pandering to the casual gamers while alienating the hardcore of players who supported the original. Even on insane it does not seem more difficult to beat thePrototype 2 is a better looking but more of the same version of the original prototype. P2 although still great fun too play does not seem to be no-where near as challenging as the original was. This i think is another case of pandering to the casual gamers while alienating the hardcore of players who supported the original. Even on insane it does not seem more difficult to beat the missions you just get slower health regeneration. There are actually very few new power upgrades and also a dissapointing amount of new infected enemies with no real infected big boss battles that take 20minutes to beat these have been replaced with infected humans with replica blade arms and such. The only really challenging boss is alex mercer himself as he cheats with animation moves that you cannot block. so you just have to learn the timing and spam your most powerful moves to beat him. Also the challenges that were available in the original from the start. Are this time only available in the radnet edition and half of these are on a timed release. Designed either to keep you playing or a clever marketing strategy to stop you trading the game in after you complete it. Over-all prototype 2 is fun and highly playable but there are not enough new mission ideas, bosses or a strong enough main story. Worth playing but if you dont you are not missing anything. If you still own the original replay that instead. Expand
  2. May 3, 2012
    7
    Prototype 2 is really a mixed blessing, it's a step forward atleast, perhaps a drunken step but still... The graphics has improved (duh) and it looks actually pretty good until you get to the so called "Red Zone". That part felt really bland after having fun in the first two zones which had gotten alot of care and attention while the last zone was more or less a direct copy of the map fromPrototype 2 is really a mixed blessing, it's a step forward atleast, perhaps a drunken step but still... The graphics has improved (duh) and it looks actually pretty good until you get to the so called "Red Zone". That part felt really bland after having fun in the first two zones which had gotten alot of care and attention while the last zone was more or less a direct copy of the map from the first game, or a part of it. Still, while the gameplay is still very similar to, well it goes back to "The Incredible Hulk" so while it's not new per say, it still felt fun and fresh. Like the first game, it's pretty repetitive, but unlike the first game, it hides it alot better. I never actually felt like I needed more variety, only later in the game when a certain enemy type kept appearing a bit too often... To avoid spoilers I'll leave it at that. Still, it kept me entertained throughout, that is because it has a bunch of collectibles and side quests. Which is good, because the story itself isn't very long which I noticed on my second playthrough when I didn't want to do the side stuff, it's perhaps 6-8 hours... So I can't say if I'd recommend buying it for the story, no, this game is more for those who enjoy fun parkour and collectibles. Which is somewhat my cup of tea so I'll give it a 7/10, it was a fun game but it could have been better with even more polish. Expand
  3. May 25, 2012
    7
    prototype2 could be one of my faviorte destruction free roam sanbox game ever it is fun but after playing it and finshing the main story line and th side missions that were very repetetive i didnt see a reason to come back the collectibles offer new mutations and all but what good are mutations there isint a of use for them this was dissaponment i still remeber one of the interviews thatprototype2 could be one of my faviorte destruction free roam sanbox game ever it is fun but after playing it and finshing the main story line and th side missions that were very repetetive i didnt see a reason to come back the collectibles offer new mutations and all but what good are mutations there isint a of use for them this was dissaponment i still remeber one of the interviews that proudcers had whith gamestop promised us by the end of the game everyones heller will be diffrent than the other thats not what happned in the end you have the same amount of powers as annyone that finished the game the only reason i gave it a 7 and not a 6 is becuase of gameplay voice acting wasnt bad but coudl have been better and cut sences are not what you would expect from a 2012 game . thats all i can say thanks Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    When you can't be original, be excessive. Prototype has never excelled in writing, but ignoring the question of how New York has been reduced to bubbling stews of gristle and severed limbs is easy when you can punch a tank until it explodes or taking a running leap over the Empire State building. Prototype 2 is just fun, and a sensible gamer will try not to take it too seriously. AWhen you can't be original, be excessive. Prototype has never excelled in writing, but ignoring the question of how New York has been reduced to bubbling stews of gristle and severed limbs is easy when you can punch a tank until it explodes or taking a running leap over the Empire State building. Prototype 2 is just fun, and a sensible gamer will try not to take it too seriously. A forgettable plot, shallow characters and underwhelming environments can all be forgiven if you just give me enough ways to blow it all up. You won't remember it, but you will enjoy it. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    Prototype 2 The best and worst of a Broavision apology Before I do my actual review, I'd like to start out by saying, while this game was in "preorder" Status, a Gamestop employee swore to me several times that Prototype 2 was supposed to be an apology for their terrible first game. I had my fears about Prototype 2, the first game was seriously bad, the graphics were shoddy, the city was aPrototype 2 The best and worst of a Broavision apology Before I do my actual review, I'd like to start out by saying, while this game was in "preorder" Status, a Gamestop employee swore to me several times that Prototype 2 was supposed to be an apology for their terrible first game. I had my fears about Prototype 2, the first game was seriously bad, the graphics were shoddy, the city was a very generic mass of... crap.... the storyline was utterly confusing and in shambles... the entire game was just bad... BUT... it had potential... and Prototype 2 surprisingly built on everything good, while trying it's hardest to scale back the bad.... PT2 is a game based on that of super heroes, and two super entities stand out the most whenever I play this game, Venom and the Hulk... Venoms ability to morph himself, and spread himself into everything and the Hulks speed, and jumping combine to make PT 1&2 heroes Alex Mercer and James Heller respectively... In the first game this was a very awkward combination, where movement and fighting were two very different things the only thing you could do was jump... However in the second game, it's a lot more fluid, the two entities of attacking and moving seem to flow better... Still shoddy camera angles plague this entire game... so much so, that I died several times, because I had no idea what was going on, where the enemy was, or where I was shooting... the game Tried to fix this with a lackluster targeting system... Camera angles... They're important... The story line is terrible... there are so many twists and turns, broken scenes and poor character development, that I really want to try to forget it... kind of like that one night in highschool... I felt like M. Night Shamalayns Mentally unstable brother wrote this script... it's just awful... not to mention the cussing... There was enough cussing to last a life time.... James Heller had very little character development... in fact the only instance of anything near character development in this entire game was when he decided NOT to cuss... I mean kill someone... He always cuss' DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR THE STORY The action in this game is fast paced, bloody as hell and pretty awesome, with a skill tree similar to the previous game, you get upgrades based on, leveling up, certain enemies you kill, and "sub" missions, which can take awhile to finish... The difficulty of this game is almost nonexistent... I mean that by, the hardest boss in this game is the camera angle... (Damn you) Prototype 2 is a bloody awesome game... after you unlock all of Mr. Heller's personal armory, you can go on rampages, be nearly invincible, or you can covertly sneak your way through the entire game... while it would seem this is a very mixed game, it's really not... but the controls have been streamlined for maximum fun TL;DR If you like to just **** **** up, this game is for you, but honestly nothing about it screams, $59.99, Rent it, or wait till it's on sale or something... 75/100 7/10 3/5 Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    This was a fun game to play. Pretty much if you enjoyed the first game you'll probably enjoy this one too. I thought the game was a bit on the easy side and it does get kind of repetitive towards the end. In my opinion, it's not really much of a step up from the first one, it's more on the same level than anything else. It's at least worth checking out. I don't regret playing it but IThis was a fun game to play. Pretty much if you enjoyed the first game you'll probably enjoy this one too. I thought the game was a bit on the easy side and it does get kind of repetitive towards the end. In my opinion, it's not really much of a step up from the first one, it's more on the same level than anything else. It's at least worth checking out. I don't regret playing it but I don't know if I'll ever play it again. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    ok so this game is fun but if you have played the first game then you are not going to see anything new in the way of gameplay. there is absolutly nothing wrong with this at all and im glad that they kept the gameplay the same because it is just pure fun. i find the story fell far from my expectations especially with all the hype surrounding this game about an in depth story. Heller isok so this game is fun but if you have played the first game then you are not going to see anything new in the way of gameplay. there is absolutly nothing wrong with this at all and im glad that they kept the gameplay the same because it is just pure fun. i find the story fell far from my expectations especially with all the hype surrounding this game about an in depth story. Heller is just an angry person who spits out swears for no aparent reason most of the time and yes he may have lost his family but when the whole story is built on Heller trying to get revenge it just turns into a forgettable action game. another thing that gets to me is (unless it was explained in the 1st game and i just forgot about it) why did Alex Mercer become a villian at no point in this game did it explain why he is the bad guy and it seems like they didnt want to make a new villain so they just made it Alex. another gripe of mine is the length of the story. i finished the game in one sitting of about 6 hours and after all is said and done there is not much re-playability in this game other than searching the city for hidden stuff or doing the missions in the new web of intrigue but those did not interest me because i personally dont like spending too much of my time trying to find collectables. now dont get me wrong i still enjoyed the game very much i just did not like the short cliche action story. the 2 games should be experianced but dont waste your money on it just rent the games and send them back Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    First, I would like to say that Prototype 2 is leagues better than its predecessor. However, that doesn't mean it lacks any issues. Storytelling is still a problem in the sequel and the game tends to take itself too seriously. Heller is just another one dimensional character that uses an unnecessary amount of swear words and is angry all the time. The voice acting has improved but not myFirst, I would like to say that Prototype 2 is leagues better than its predecessor. However, that doesn't mean it lacks any issues. Storytelling is still a problem in the sequel and the game tends to take itself too seriously. Heller is just another one dimensional character that uses an unnecessary amount of swear words and is angry all the time. The voice acting has improved but not my much.That doesn't stop it from being a great time though. Enemies no longer gang up on you in ridiculous numbers which makes it less frustrating. Your powers are also mapped to two face buttons eliminating the need for a weapon wheel. The graphics have improved but the world still feels lacking. If you're looking for a game with a great story look elsewhere, but if you want a great time with loads to do check out Prototype 2. Expand
  9. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    A lot of awesome powers are available here to play with. They, along with the black-and-white, Sin City style cutscenes, show that the developers were trying hard to make the next big superhero game. However the fact that you're doing basically the exact same thing throughout the entire game means that it's not quite ready to compete with the big boys of the open-world genre.

    Still,
    A lot of awesome powers are available here to play with. They, along with the black-and-white, Sin City style cutscenes, show that the developers were trying hard to make the next big superhero game. However the fact that you're doing basically the exact same thing throughout the entire game means that it's not quite ready to compete with the big boys of the open-world genre.

    Still, it's got enough humor (which seems at odds in the beginning with the dark material) and gory action to still be a fun experience. All it asks is that you enjoy the non-stop destruction. Given how awesome the powers at your disposal are it's hard not to. The repetition means that things aren't too impressive, but it never quite spoiled the fun I had with it.

    My total score for the game is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved prototype 1 And I love prototype 2..
    This time around the prototype franchise has improved in places where number one didn't quite make it and unfortunately prototype 2 doesnt quite make it in some area's either, Prototype 2 Looks and sounds better and has some of the most unique and insane abilities and ways to kill people I've seen in any game in recent years..
    this is a game "anyone" can enjoy for many hours, if they love to slay zombies, hear terrible one liners, and feel like a complete badass, then pick this one up..
    My personal favorite thing to do is just zoom around the city at break neck speeds, many good times there..
    Expand
  11. Jun 17, 2016
    7
    [Based on the assumption that you know what this game is all about, so just thoughts]
    When a lot of things came on screen I found it difficult to keep track of my character. Everybody has the same bland colors so you end up just blending in. Also there is a particular enemy that is so large it can take up the whole screen even pushing your character out of the shot.
    A decent story that
    [Based on the assumption that you know what this game is all about, so just thoughts]
    When a lot of things came on screen I found it difficult to keep track of my character. Everybody has the same bland colors so you end up just blending in. Also there is a particular enemy that is so large it can take up the whole screen even pushing your character out of the shot.

    A decent story that got ridiculous at times as action movies tend to do. The end was satisfying though so all is forgiven.

    Collectibles give you power ups for completing them not just a trophy so that is an actual incentive in my book.
    Expand
  12. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    Before I begin I just want to say that I have never played the first game. I watched the recap feature available on this game and did a little research afterwords. But have never played it. That being said Prototype 2 blew me away. The story while not the most original was pretty decent. The gameplay is easy but nonetheless satisfying. I especially liked how the claws and the blade made meBefore I begin I just want to say that I have never played the first game. I watched the recap feature available on this game and did a little research afterwords. But have never played it. That being said Prototype 2 blew me away. The story while not the most original was pretty decent. The gameplay is easy but nonetheless satisfying. I especially liked how the claws and the blade made me feel like I was playing a hack n' slash game (Devil May Cry and God of War being my favorites). The character of James Heller is your typical revenge seeking anti-hero. Personally I feel it fits with this game. The open-world aspects are one of my favorite features. There were times when I just popped the desk in and ran around looking for enemies. So I could either kick their a$$e$, or run away just to see if I could outrun them Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    It's a shame that Radical Entertainment doesn't deliver on their grand promises. Yes, this is a fun game, but an uninteresting story, boring missions and rather dull graphics keep PROTOTYPE 2 from topping its predecessor.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jun 12, 2012
    80
    In the end you have a sequel that improves upon its predecessor. It's a better game in terms of presentation and content, and if you didn't play the original then you're going to rip through this with a silly smile on your face. We're not sure that it's going to hold your attention though, and that's a shame as Heller's brutal adventures are amongst the best you'll have. [June 2012, p72]
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 30, 2012
    80
    While Prototype 2's story has its faults, the game is nevertheless jam-packed with fun things to do. [July 2012, p.76]