User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 288

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2014
    6
    I liked story, even though way they told it was very tortuous. Only thing I didn't like in story was main character. All that angst and thirst for vengeance. Boring. really.

    Free roam was kinda boring, because design of city was too simple and almost all houses and other buildings looked same. Gameplay with all super powers were fun (Shape shifting was very great idea!) , but moving
    I liked story, even though way they told it was very tortuous. Only thing I didn't like in story was main character. All that angst and thirst for vengeance. Boring. really.

    Free roam was kinda boring, because design of city was too simple and almost all houses and other buildings looked same. Gameplay with all super powers were fun (Shape shifting was very great idea!) , but moving especially superjumping and gliding was fumbling
    Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    This game really amazed me, from the beginning to the end. I enjoyed it in most of its aspect, from its storyline to the powers you have in this game. Ideas developers put in this game are awesome, even thought graphics are not very good, this is the only bad point of this game I think (I'm not talking about textures, I didn't like how menus were set up neither their graphics).
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    This is not a good game. The controls aren't very good, the graphics are decent but the environment all looks the same, the buildings all look the same. The powers aren't really fun to use either. And the game can be frustrating as well.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    8
    8.1 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    The story is cool, the gameplay is cool and the environments are cool. But sadly, "cool" doesn't get you too far. It gives you a memorable game with addictive moments, but not a masterpiece.

    If you like InFamous and gruesome superpowers, you will probably love this game.
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    It's a good game, with a vast world to explore, but the story is not credible and loses interest halfway through. But still, it is fun to play with several options in combat, but the combat is messy, sometimes the player does not know which side is being attacked, which leads to an annoying death. It's a good game, but could be better.
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    It's a good game, with a vast world to explore, but the story is not credible and loses interest halfway through. But still, it is fun to play with several options in combat, but the combat is messy, sometimes the player does not know which side is being attacked, which leads to an annoying death. It's a good game, but could be better.
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    I have to say that this game is not one of my favorite in the ps3.i enjoyed the game but it had some flaws and things you couldn't ignore. The story was nothing special for me, but the most important was the gameplay. You could consume the soldier and the population to your evolution and had some variety of weapons in this game. The war between the mutants and the soldiers was good and itI have to say that this game is not one of my favorite in the ps3.i enjoyed the game but it had some flaws and things you couldn't ignore. The story was nothing special for me, but the most important was the gameplay. You could consume the soldier and the population to your evolution and had some variety of weapons in this game. The war between the mutants and the soldiers was good and it was one of the best aspects for me. One of the things i didn't liked where the boss fights, especially the last one. The city was also cool but this game was nothing much surprising or great, basically a good game in my opinion. And another thing, comparing this game to InFamous i would without a doubt choose InFamous, because it has a better story, cool characters and good boss fights. Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    Boring story. Uninspired emo characters. The powers feel no different from each other except for Whipfist.
    If you've seen one of my previous review, you'd know Infamous is my favourite game of all time, so I expected to go into this story and it to be a clone of Infamous with unique power ups, good character and an amazing story, but what did I get? I story with is a completion of King
    Boring story. Uninspired emo characters. The powers feel no different from each other except for Whipfist.
    If you've seen one of my previous review, you'd know Infamous is my favourite game of all time, so I expected to go into this story and it to be a clone of Infamous with unique power ups, good character and an amazing story, but what did I get? I story with is a completion of King Kong Shadow the Hedgehog,the worst bosses ever seen to man kind and the most poorly designed and crafted characters ever made. Amnesia is a very hard thing to get right in video games and this just craps on that idea making Alex Mercer my least favouite character of all time. Now this game has two good things; the cutscenes and some of the gameplay elements, but besides that I can't think of any redeeming qualities. clone of Infamous... I mean Prototype gets a 16 from me which makes me vey angry I have to round up to a 20. Now, in saying that, I will try Prototype 2. Hopefully it will commend for its mistakes, but I doubt it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    a fun game and kinda reminds me of infamous. well u can do a bit more things than infamous in prototype, but i cant remember the entire game cuz i played it for quite a while(Prototype1) and I am still playing Prototype 2 and i think its pretty good so far.
  10. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    Although not the most graphically impressive game, it features innovative game-play and a decent story-line. [PROTOTYPE]'s open world mechanics and liberty of movement make it a good addition to anyone's collection.
  11. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    Prototype is a good game. It has an open world, although you have nothing to explore in it. It has decent graphics, although it lacks serious polish in the city people, cars and trees, especially. The sound is forgettable and there is no soundtrack, what I think is bad. The story didn't catch me, but it's not bad. Maybe a little confusing though. What's really really cool about this gamePrototype is a good game. It has an open world, although you have nothing to explore in it. It has decent graphics, although it lacks serious polish in the city people, cars and trees, especially. The sound is forgettable and there is no soundtrack, what I think is bad. The story didn't catch me, but it's not bad. Maybe a little confusing though. What's really really cool about this game is the gameplay. You can run on the walls, jump higher than you can imagine and rip apart people's limbs with cool powers. All you do is to cause chaos. Also, you can drive vehicles and the controls are very nice.
    In sum, Prototype is a game that deserves being played. If you're feeling bored and wanna make the world burn, Prototype is a nice choice.
    Expand
  12. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    This game had the potential of being so much more than its final product, but sadly ends up being a flawed mixed bag before anything else. The story follows Alex Mercer who has been infected with a virus that gives you insane powers. Though these powers are a lot of fun accessing them couldn't be more cumbersome due to the clumsy weapon wheel that always takes you out of the action. A lotThis game had the potential of being so much more than its final product, but sadly ends up being a flawed mixed bag before anything else. The story follows Alex Mercer who has been infected with a virus that gives you insane powers. Though these powers are a lot of fun accessing them couldn't be more cumbersome due to the clumsy weapon wheel that always takes you out of the action. A lot of times there is simply too much action. Be prepared for numerous tanks shooting at you at oce and dozens of cheap deaths. There are often too many enemies on screen at once and sometimes it feels like you aren't making any progress. The story is almost as flawed as the gameplay. It's filled with poorly developed characters, unnecessary twists and cutscenes, and some abysmal voice acting. All this being said there is some fun to be had here. The combat feels fluid and responsive. Besides the weapon wheel the combat is great. Otherwise, Prototype is a game that is incredibly mediocre and ripe with flaws. Expand
  13. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    Generally un-imaginative game. I cannot believe this game scored as high as it generally has. After the vaguest of introductions, game launches you into missions. Poor back-story. Uninteresting ongoing storyline. Unimaginative combat system and game dynamics.
  14. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Loved the game. I feel 79 is not doing justice to this one. There is awesome feeling of super powers, the city feels alive and wast and the battle mechanics work well. The tech behind the game is amazing and graphics are good.
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    This game makes me sad. Not because I hated the game, but because this game could have been sooooooo much better had Activision actually delayed the games release and actually gave the developers more time to finish the damn thing. The graphics in the game are pittiful and the story is a mess that has great moments that are taped together with scotch tape. The game loves giving you coolThis game makes me sad. Not because I hated the game, but because this game could have been sooooooo much better had Activision actually delayed the games release and actually gave the developers more time to finish the damn thing. The graphics in the game are pittiful and the story is a mess that has great moments that are taped together with scotch tape. The game loves giving you cool powers and awesome moves, but the game's difficult suffers for it. The grunts are no match for you, while the super powered enemies seem to be there to over compensate for your awesome powers by doing rediculous damage and hit you in large numbers. To say the combat is unbalanced is an understatment. The boss battles are the worst offenders, as they are bobarded by enemies that make the fights huge **** But the reason this game makes me sad the most is the fact that it had all the potential in the world. The story problems just needed some more meat to them. The enemies just needed to be balanced better. The developers just needed to be given more time to give the game more detail. I left this game disappointed, and seeing all the good scores this game has been getting only makes me even more disappointed. Let's just hope the second one can improve on this game's missteps. Expand
  16. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Bought it at $20. Fun game, the controls are easy, i had good times killing and wreaking havoc to people. Missions are unique and memorable for gamers like me. Upgrades are cool too.
  17. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I thought this was one of the best games I've played in a long time. There is something about defying gravity... I did not see any of the negatives others spoke about. I found the accuracy spot on and I didn't feel the graphics suffered whatsoever. Movement was smooth and natural. The ability to go anywhere in the city in 3D is so much better than those games where they lead you by theI thought this was one of the best games I've played in a long time. There is something about defying gravity... I did not see any of the negatives others spoke about. I found the accuracy spot on and I didn't feel the graphics suffered whatsoever. Movement was smooth and natural. The ability to go anywhere in the city in 3D is so much better than those games where they lead you by the one way maze. I highly recommend it. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    i really liked this game i just wish the story was a little bit longer that is why this game does not get a 10 from me. this is also a very unique game in the fact that you can become anyone else in the game that isnt infected and the story is alright just a little confusing at some points and since there is no online mode the game should have a long story line and be able to keep youi really liked this game i just wish the story was a little bit longer that is why this game does not get a 10 from me. this is also a very unique game in the fact that you can become anyone else in the game that isnt infected and the story is alright just a little confusing at some points and since there is no online mode the game should have a long story line and be able to keep you entertained for hours on end but sadly there is not much to do after you beat the final boss but play through the story again and maybe play the side missions but they feel random and get a little boring after a bit. it may seem as though i am just bashing the game which is why ill say something good about it now :). there is constant action and lots of blood and gore which gets your heart pumping and gets you hooked to playing this game for hours and that time just flys by without you realizing and considering the huge expanse you can roam in and no load times beetween areas the graphics are actually pretty good because keep in mind that you play in New York City, which is huge! there is also many different types of powers and many different ways to do the missions that you play through and love it. i loved this game but i really wish the story was longer or at least made some kind of online mode to kill each other with the powers we have aquired in the story mode so this is why i recomend renting this game instead of buying it but i hope that the sequal does some of the things mentioned above but just to be sure im going to be renting that before i buy it :) Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    This game has lackluster graphics, a disgustingly put together story, TERRIBLE voice acting (save for Mercer, who's gritty-ish voice fit his character), and worst of all, lame missions. Then again, I don't care, I have spent the last 45 minutes of my day running over civilians in a tank... that I am holding. This game is about mindless bloodshed and mass murder, and I love it. I loveThis game has lackluster graphics, a disgustingly put together story, TERRIBLE voice acting (save for Mercer, who's gritty-ish voice fit his character), and worst of all, lame missions. Then again, I don't care, I have spent the last 45 minutes of my day running over civilians in a tank... that I am holding. This game is about mindless bloodshed and mass murder, and I love it. I love getting that achievement for killing 53,956 infected, I love the final 2 missions: one of mass murder/chasing/yelling, the other of an epic boss fight that took me days to beat. I love just running around in the vast city, hijacking helicopters. Lastly, Alex Mercer. He looks cool, sounds cool, and does cool things. He is freaking cool. He's a murder, a monster, a terrorist. He's something less than human.. but also something more. He, like this game, has flaws, but kicks ass. I recommend a rental at least if you want to de-stress in the form of omnicide. Expand
  20. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    as far as sandbox games go this is an ok game, i would recommend that someone interested in this game go out and buy infamous instead, after playing both games its definitely the way to go and the graphics are much better
  21. TherBigmac
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Graphics: Let's get one thing out of the way. While the graphics in this game are not bad (A little better than Grand theft auto 4) they don't compare to titles like uncharted or Arkham asylum. And the reasoning behind this is quite simple. A large portion or your PS3's processing power in working in the HUGE environments since you're pretty much free to go wherever Graphics: Let's get one thing out of the way. While the graphics in this game are not bad (A little better than Grand theft auto 4) they don't compare to titles like uncharted or Arkham asylum. And the reasoning behind this is quite simple. A large portion or your PS3's processing power in working in the HUGE environments since you're pretty much free to go wherever (or as high) as you want. Gameplay and Overall feeling of the game: Mind-blowing. Imagine being in a GTA / sandbox type of environment where you can do almost anything. Leap buildings, run across walls, Hijack armored tanks, glide above a massive (very accurate) replica of New York City (Mostly Manhattan) and unleash pain at will when you detect foes below you, I could go on and on. Weary of battle? low in health? help yourself to an innocent bystander and literally suck the life out of them. Possibilities are endless. Oh, and by the way, how do you actually "suck the life" out of them? Well, just the way the T-1000 used to do it in Terminator 2, you can replicate people on contact and become them while sucking their life energy and making it your own in the process. It's a win-win. (Maybe not for the poor basterd you snatch off the street but it works pretty well for everybody else, a.k.a.....You. - In game jargon you're technically "consuming them"). And not only you can alter your appearance to look like your victims with the push of a button. You also own their knowledge. You know everything they knew which slowly but fascinatingly unravels the plot of the game via the "web of intrigue": A living organic map that connects your victims with each other, with special emphasis on the characters that have knowledge of the mystery behind your powers and maps their previous interactions with each other before their met their doom at your hands. So, when military choppers with enough firepower to start world war 3 come after you, they quickly realize that's not such a good idea, when you catapult yourself into the air, storm the cockpit and do to the pilots things that one day you'll tell your therapist about. And guess what: you just "consumed" a military chopper pilot along with all his life memories including his ability to fly military choppers which is now.......yours. Without even landing it, guess who is flying the chopper now! (Just the way trinity used to do it in "The Matrix" but with LOTS more blood involved). Becoming people is just so much fun I found myself spending hours just infiltrating military bases, and consuming weapons specialists, fighter pilots etc. And the more you do that, the more your skills in that particular discipline are refined. I had a blast while being chased through the city by military squads just to turn around the corner, push a button, become one of them and seeing them run right past me and then get all confused. It would be right there and then when I would resort to one of several methods: 1. Use the Assault rifle now in my hands (comes with the body of the poor soul you just consumed) and shoot everybody in the back while laughing like a maniac. 2. One of my favorites, with a simple button command ACCUSE one of the soldiers of being ME in disguise resulting in the rest of the team shooting him, execution style, no questions asked. HILARIOUS. or 3, reveal my true self and impale everyone in the vicinity with lethal spikes, blades, claws or whichever one of my mutant virus obtained powers I fancy at the time, just to see everybody scream for their lives in despair. Most people compare this game to InFamous, which was released about at the same time and to my surprise is rated higher. I also own InFamous. I played InFamous for about 2 hours and it was OK. Both games are indeed very similar in it's concept but in my opinion Prototype is vastly superior. The InFamous guy was really slow. He climbs buildings and runs at human speed. The Prototype guy leaps buildings, glides to the point of almost-fly and runs at superhuman speed. Playing InFamous, was OK, but at times it felt a bit like a chore. Like I had to play through an annoying not really fun part, just to get to the fun parts people raves about on the web. Playing Prototype was an absolute blast of non-stop fun which I wasn't able to put down since the first minute I played. Expand
  22. TimK.
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    First, the good. Prototype gives you a great sense of being in a real city, and the city is huge and seamless. The powers are generally cool. I don't know what anyone who complains about the art is smoking, but I found it to be fine. The ability to absorb people and disguise yourself is quite fun, as is the over the top ultraviolence. Unfortunately, most of the good is undone by the First, the good. Prototype gives you a great sense of being in a real city, and the city is huge and seamless. The powers are generally cool. I don't know what anyone who complains about the art is smoking, but I found it to be fine. The ability to absorb people and disguise yourself is quite fun, as is the over the top ultraviolence. Unfortunately, most of the good is undone by the bad. The controls are extremely irritating -- it's quite possible to do completely the wrong thing by being off by a meter or two in worldspace. Grabbing, for example, is extremely dodgy. Hit grab while standing, with nothing close by, and you will just make grabby motions and do nothing. Try it while running and it's quite possible to miss your grab because of the timing or (my most frustrating) try to enter a vehicle, which will inevitably be nearly impossible because a rocket-launching sharpshooter will knock you off the vehicle just as you are about to rip the hatch off. That isn't my only gripe with the game design. The missions are torturous; the one where I decided to be done with this game involved trying to blow up three Blackwatch Spectres, which are tank-like vehicles in which the firing controls (machine gun/rocket) are reversed. Thanks for that. The place is swarming with Infected who all target you specifically, so you're fighting the whole military plus all the mutants. I figured the best way to complete this would be to disguise myself as an army guy, walk right up, take over a tank and then use it to kill all the rest. That worked, kind of, until four rocket launching troops spawned on opposite rooftops and rained fire down upon me... destroying the tank I was in in an eyeblink. No problem, I ran away, evaded the strike team by disguising myself, rinse repeat, right? Except I got them down to the last tank, ran back to destroy it... and a bunch of "reinforcements" showed up. Oh, and because the mission wasn't challenging enough... I had no access to my powers at the time. Topping this is the bewildering array of "upgrades" -- dozens and dozens of ways to advance your powers. The fact that you can enhance your powers as you wish using "evolution points" is kind of cool, but the game lacks guidance on how to use them. The help boils down to a one-paragraph instruction in the upgrade guide on what buttons to push. There is no "and now here's a mission that you can only complete by using that power we just gave you" type instruction, and it would be really useful. The story is "meh," pretty much a recycle of Generic Video Game Story #3 ("evil gubmint program gives ordinary guy super powers and amnesia" -- comes right after "space marine confronts demons" and "princess captured, eat mushrooms & rescue her"). There's nothing especially compelling about the protag to make me care why this happened to him, or how he's going to deal with it. Sadly, my verdict on this has to be negative. Sadly, because I've been looking forward to this game for some time. I sorely regret paying full price for this, and I wish there was something I could do about it. Expand
  23. CameronD.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. The first time I played I was completely blown with Alex's abilities and powers. This game is by far the best on the ps3 at the moment by far.
  24. MattB
    Aug 6, 2009
    6
    I will try to keep this simple, Compared to other sandbox games the amount of environment detail is close to none. A few of the powers once upgraded are vary cheap and you could say don't use them like but that takes me to my next point. When you get any where near one of the mutated infected i kid you not they run right at you even if a take is shooting them in the back, it almost I will try to keep this simple, Compared to other sandbox games the amount of environment detail is close to none. A few of the powers once upgraded are vary cheap and you could say don't use them like but that takes me to my next point. When you get any where near one of the mutated infected i kid you not they run right at you even if a take is shooting them in the back, it almost forces you to use cheap tactics (upgraded sword arm jump slam down) its a one shot for the most part. The humans have rockets and they some one can toss you around like nothing. This was a weird game, sometimes you felt like you were a god and nothing could stop you and on the other hand sometimes you just felt helpless. If you want a overall great experience go buy inFAMOUS. I would not suggest buying this but renting. Expand
  25. StrideX
    Jul 25, 2009
    3
    This is interesting because despite my initial thoughts that Infamous was going to be the better game, once I got my hands on it I erased all prejudgements on the game and erased any thoughts on it in comparison to Infamous, Crackdown, Ultimate Destruction and Spiderman 2. While I don't want to be too harsh I can't see why anybody would believe this is a good game to begin with, This is interesting because despite my initial thoughts that Infamous was going to be the better game, once I got my hands on it I erased all prejudgements on the game and erased any thoughts on it in comparison to Infamous, Crackdown, Ultimate Destruction and Spiderman 2. While I don't want to be too harsh I can't see why anybody would believe this is a good game to begin with, the controls are strange, not impossible to grasp but definitely strange when it comes to 3rd person games its hard to get into a rhythm once you start the game, you'll need time to get to grips with the controls The graphics are sub par at best, they are so unspectacular I don't have much to say about them, overall you'd expect better from a game that was 4 years in development, buildings suck and don't break or blow up when Helicopters smash into them. As for Story I'd say, I don't know, not at one point did I get interested in the story, the characters did not help, all of them were awful including Alex, he's about as uninteresting as a character gets, just an angry guy out for revenge, not once did his character develop, not once did he even improve, everyone else is too unimportant to mention. Gameplay was better once the controls became easier to handle, crashing through the streets while being attacked can be enjoyable but I feel it is this aspect of the game that is overrated, at times there was too much chaos, enemies came around too often, while there is a varying set of weapons, all pretty much do one or two combos, and this is what makes the game repetitive despite all the gore which can be humorous at times it remains the same. It doesn't help with Alex's overall lack of style when it comes to fighting, when compared to greats such as Dante, Ryu Hayabusa, or even Spidey he just falls so far short it's unbelievable, his lack of personality doesn't help matters Overall I'd say this game is horribly repetitive and for the most part, boring as hell. If you are looking for a game with depth, non-repetitive gameplay, style, solid controls and interesting story look elsewhere. If you want to wreak havoc for a couple of hours before you throw this in the dust-collecting pile, go right ahead, it's your money that's being thrown away Expand
  26. LewisW
    Jul 16, 2009
    8
    Great game, a few things let it down though. The storyline isnt that good, and the game can get frustrating at times. But the powers are fantastic, and running around and jumping up buildings and cut people in half is very satisfying!
  27. Thatperson
    Jul 11, 2009
    8
    Errr, This game is...pretty good actually. You get to go everywhere, it's almost constant action, and you get flat out awesome powers (he he heh...). Had a rough day? Go boot this up. After sliding on some dead bodies and turning your enemies into little puddles of gore, I think this may be fun for you. If you want a story, however, You'll be disappointed. It's rather Errr, This game is...pretty good actually. You get to go everywhere, it's almost constant action, and you get flat out awesome powers (he he heh...). Had a rough day? Go boot this up. After sliding on some dead bodies and turning your enemies into little puddles of gore, I think this may be fun for you. If you want a story, however, You'll be disappointed. It's rather lackluster in comparison to the gameplay. The graphics are also dumbed down due to the massive amount of action on-screen. But despite this, you have to admit, you can be freakin' kickass. So if you want to do something awesome, remember: In this game, you can karate kick a helicopter, and win. Expand
  28. GamerPro
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    A lot of people and game critics are correct, it's one of those games where you have to do the same thing over and over again and the missions do get fairly boring. HOWEVER i still love it. Its like GTA 5 in a Resident Evil world but with a badass monster/virus guy who looks like a modern day Altair but has awesome powers, weapons, moves and upgrades like God of War. A blend of 4 of A lot of people and game critics are correct, it's one of those games where you have to do the same thing over and over again and the missions do get fairly boring. HOWEVER i still love it. Its like GTA 5 in a Resident Evil world but with a badass monster/virus guy who looks like a modern day Altair but has awesome powers, weapons, moves and upgrades like God of War. A blend of 4 of the best games ever. Its a must have game definitely if your a real gamer. Expand
  29. joshs
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    Disappointment if you are a big gamer this game will seem rather childish it was hyped up but unfortunately did not deliver unlike red faction and inFAMOUS who exceeded my expectations.
  30. JacobP.
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    Ever play 'Flower' on PSN or 'Electroplankton' for the DS? No? Me neither. Know what those games have in common though? No? Well, from what I've read, they're not 'games' per se but trinkets you can kick around and relax with. For me, that's what Prototype strikes me as: it's not the greatest game out there, but after a long and toiling Ever play 'Flower' on PSN or 'Electroplankton' for the DS? No? Me neither. Know what those games have in common though? No? Well, from what I've read, they're not 'games' per se but trinkets you can kick around and relax with. For me, that's what Prototype strikes me as: it's not the greatest game out there, but after a long and toiling day earning your daily dollar it's fun to return home, boot up Prototype, lay back and casually enjoy the mayhem on screen. You play as Alex Mercer, second cousin to Canadian weasel Rick Mercer and the product of genetic tampering gone too, too far. You've gained superhuman powers and can lay waste to the city, blow things up, throw around trucks and cars and hijack tanks for 'splosions galore. Alex himself is grim and moody, but otherwise tolerable-- except for that damn hoodie he wears all throughout the game. God, I'd love to go up and yank that thing off! And tell him to stand up straight while I was at it! When I first returned home after renting Prototype, to be frank I was a bit biased. I knew InFamous had come out a few weeks earlier and that not only was it an exclusive to the PS3 but also had a lot more work go into it. In terms of music, presentation, cutscenes and graphics InFamous wins over Prototype; hands down. I was perpetually surprised though as I played through Prototype. The cutscenes take themselves way too seriously, so if there's another person in the room you can count on smart-assed comments and your peers substituting cheeky dialogue whenever there's a pause in character interaction. Which can add to the fun, granted: think MST3K. However, there are a few well done plot twists in the game. I can remember my eyebrows shooting up my forehead when Alex's mysterious informant was revealed, and I certainly enjoyed Alex tearing down and causing havoc for the PMC Blackwatch, a not-so-subtle reference to it's real-life inspiration Blackwater. Naming the villainous PMC after Blackwater was clever; nuff said. All things aside though- if you've played The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction for last generation consoles, you've played Prototype. This game was made by the same team behind Hulk: UD, and it shows. Even the 'hints' scattered around the city are back, along with the 'critical mass' move. The game is fun but short as hell, and once you've beaten it there is zero incentive to play any further. Games like these function well because of their mission based design, and once Alex completes all his tasks, the longevity of the title sinks like a stone. That brings me to my final point. Anyone here still go to Penny Arcade? I do, maybe once a month, where I happened upon the character Gabe literally screaming that you should buy it. Shame on you, Penny Arcade. Endorsing Prototype? What, did they give you another free DS? Here's the link: http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2009/6/19/ Save your money, folks. This game is great as a rental but if you buy it it'll just wind up collecting dust because of it's short lifespan. Don't waste your cash! The Economic Crisis isn't over yet! Expand
  31. MarvinC
    Jun 27, 2009
    7
    It's a good game that's all I really have to say about it. The story is decent but it's so pointless to even care about the characters there's almost zero development for them. The graphics on the PC are acceptable but the ones for the console are way too unpolished it's fine graphics don't make the game but they should have used the opening cinema pre It's a good game that's all I really have to say about it. The story is decent but it's so pointless to even care about the characters there's almost zero development for them. The graphics on the PC are acceptable but the ones for the console are way too unpolished it's fine graphics don't make the game but they should have used the opening cinema pre rendered cutscene for all of the other cutscenes so it would have looked better. As for the gameplay it's pretty fun although it's a bit repetitive. Some of the controls are very unintuitive such as cannonball how on earth do they expect me to press square and circle and hold it in the middle of a heated battle? The side missions besides infiltration feel tacked on like time trials and kill as many enemies as you can. Also some parts make little to no sense such as one fight where Alex can get stunned by a stun baton. Overall it's a good game however it suffers what Assassins Creed and many sandbox games suffer from as well and that's being reptitive. Overall buy it if you must but I would suggest renting it. Expand
  32. NakettiS.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    I don't understand on what drugs or personal vendetta some of the official reviews have been on. The game is amazing. The freedom and easy of moving and doing what you want to do in a Sandbox New York is unbelievable. I have always wanted to experience being a half god in a crowded city and this is the first deliverance of that for me. Technologically excellent game. The plot is I don't understand on what drugs or personal vendetta some of the official reviews have been on. The game is amazing. The freedom and easy of moving and doing what you want to do in a Sandbox New York is unbelievable. I have always wanted to experience being a half god in a crowded city and this is the first deliverance of that for me. Technologically excellent game. The plot is beautifully executed but could be more interesting. Awesome game, though. Expand
  33. StevenR.
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    If you enjoy doing the same thing over and over and over and over then youll probably like this game. It has its moments where its fun but overall its pretty dull and gets old after a few hours of play. Worst part about the game is the graphics and horrible physics.
  34. JackH
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    This game is fun, has it's thrills, tons of moves, made me feel like more of a badass than i have in most other games. There is a lot to do, albeit a lack of a story to really give two craps about. That plus the spurts in high difficulty (unevenly done at times) subtracts 2 points from this game. Graphics, good enough for what it is. The game has a lot going on in it, especially This game is fun, has it's thrills, tons of moves, made me feel like more of a badass than i have in most other games. There is a lot to do, albeit a lack of a story to really give two craps about. That plus the spurts in high difficulty (unevenly done at times) subtracts 2 points from this game. Graphics, good enough for what it is. The game has a lot going on in it, especially during fights...had the graphics been much nicer it probably would have caused a lot of lag in intense fights...i'll take a hit to graphics over lag ANY day. Good game, worth the purchase. Expand
  35. MikeS
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. The only thing I am going to say is to those considering playing this game, read the good user reviews and then the bad ones. Doesn't it seem like the people who knock the game the most seem to base their evidence on vicious rhetoric or a matter of taste? Also, a game being "too hard" should never be a knock, ever. If its too hard then you need to practice, my friend. Fantastic game. The only thing I am going to say is to those considering playing this game, read the good user reviews and then the bad ones. Doesn't it seem like the people who knock the game the most seem to base their evidence on vicious rhetoric or a matter of taste? Also, a game being "too hard" should never be a knock, ever. If its too hard then you need to practice, my friend. Incredibly rewarding game that is worth the price of admission Expand
  36. JayB
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    I really wish that everyone could see this game for what it is. A very mediocre and bland action game at best. Fun upgradeables and shapeshifting tied in with vehicular manslaughter is a relative blast. I would be lieing if i were to say that driving a tank down NYC's sidewalk over 1000's of pedestrians wasnt one of the better moments of my recent days. But people open yourI really wish that everyone could see this game for what it is. A very mediocre and bland action game at best. Fun upgradeables and shapeshifting tied in with vehicular manslaughter is a relative blast. I would be lieing if i were to say that driving a tank down NYC's sidewalk over 1000's of pedestrians wasnt one of the better moments of my recent days. But people open your eyes and see the nearly broken combat and ugly ugly ugly ugly game. Oh and did I say the game is ugly? The missions bore me and its darn easy. With the exception of few missions that are just a pain in my back side that make me want to just give up and not play anymore. My final verdict is this game is a rent at best!!! Expand
  37. AdamB.
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    A real fun game. Any flaws can be easily overlooked because of the sheer mayhem, power, and crazy fun it is to play one powerful dark anti-hero. The only people who I can see having a problem with this are graphics-junkies, casual gamers, and people who can't quite ever get used to the controls. A great game: go get it!
  38. TylerM
    Jun 17, 2009
    4
    What should have been good was only to be drowned out by the bad. It is hard to even start to describe the lacking of quality within this title. Being that I work in a game environment, I am constantly asked why I did not like it, and that maybe I should give it another chance. Well my answer is no, I played it for a good few hours, only to leave feeling that I had wasted my money. No What should have been good was only to be drowned out by the bad. It is hard to even start to describe the lacking of quality within this title. Being that I work in a game environment, I am constantly asked why I did not like it, and that maybe I should give it another chance. Well my answer is no, I played it for a good few hours, only to leave feeling that I had wasted my money. No matter what people try to say, I am not harsh, I just can't lie to myself and cough up that this is a 'great' game. It is not all bad though, that is why it gets a 4. Since it tried to immitate a sandbox free roamer, and I give it that. Also another beautiful aspect about this title is the action and the epic battle scenes. It is loaded with blood and gore unlike most titles, and deserves an applaud for its gore like qualities as well as some of its battle methods: customizing Alex's stats to the extreme, and using his custom abilities. But it just could not do it. All of the acrobatic stunts only stood to way down the capabilities that a common super hero should have. From missing roof-top after roof-top, and being knocked off of tanks too many times to count; I felt 0 satisfaction in any of the games actionized styles. Not to mention the lack of gravity only stands to impair this title more so. When you run up a building, Alex goes at the exact same speed as if he were running on the ground. That is crazy, and throwing a car is like throwing card board. When I throw a car at a heli copter, I expect it to hit it just soley based on the amount of inertia and speed that must be thrust outward to hit the copter. But magically the copter is fast enough to escape. One last refutation: certain enemies are to hard/tricky to kill( I have beaten extremly hard fights before so don't think I couldn't do it, it just was not rewarding when I did kill them). Trying to beat this game on normal mode can seem as though it were a chore; one mission to another and that is it. The story, although it tried to be drawn out well, there was something about its feel that kept the story from being one that is empathetic. I could not feel Alex's pain. He just seemed like an angry punk. The voice acting was only mediocre and it will be forgetable. Ultimately, I believe the fate of this title will rest in the bargain bin a few years from now only wanting to have lived up to the titles of its time being held behind the nice glass with a big price tag. Expand
  39. TylerH
    Jun 17, 2009
    4
    I don't know what to fully think. Either my expectations were too high, or I'm just playing a different game from all those that rate this so high. I played this for about 4 hours straight the first day it came out, and haven't touched it since. The graphics are a major disappointment. Yes, the game takes place in new york (alot to render), rather extensive area to cover... I don't know what to fully think. Either my expectations were too high, or I'm just playing a different game from all those that rate this so high. I played this for about 4 hours straight the first day it came out, and haven't touched it since. The graphics are a major disappointment. Yes, the game takes place in new york (alot to render), rather extensive area to cover... but there's just nothing that's appealing to actually look at or do. The side missions feel like random crap thrown together to extend game play, probably only took a few hours to come up with/create. Difficulty can be frustrating, action is repetitive. Gore is so-so. While I like the fact that games are finally slowly becoming more violent and true to life (should events like what are portrayed in whatever game happen), it doesn't make it any more fun, its actually kinda funny. Plot doesnt appear very intuitive or thought out, nothing to really like about the main character, voice acting could have been better. Overall, just a very sub-par game that should of been released around $30 instead of $60. No lasting effect, spend money elsewhere. Rent if need to try. Expand
  40. DirkG
    Jun 16, 2009
    5
    Mixed Emotions. Game is entertaining but the control is totally clumsy and so is the camera. Infamous is much better, even though it has some control problems as well.
  41. KyleR
    Jun 15, 2009
    5
    Fair enough, the combat is nice and its set in a big open New York, but the city itself is just purely window dressing. Its purely a case of 'Go to mission, kill stuff, go to mission, kill stuff" If you're expecting a deeper experience, leave well alone.
  42. JayB
    Jun 14, 2009
    6
    Game is decently fun. Plenty of up-close action, decent, but not great, graphics. OK story. Unfortunately I must compare it to inFAMOUS, which is a far greater game. inFAMOUS is an easy 9. Prototype is, sadly, a mere 6. Mindless fun, but forgettable fun. Nothing new or interesting happening. It just feels like less effort was put into it.
  43. DanteM.
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This is by far the best game i have played all year.And yes I have played inFAMOUS in my opinion [PROTOTYPE] surpasses it by far in terms of gameplay, sounds, the upgrading system, and the powers... oh the powers creates such an interesting and diverse experience. The story is very in depth and the web of intrigue is a very unique way to present the story. Not similar to me in anyway to This is by far the best game i have played all year.And yes I have played inFAMOUS in my opinion [PROTOTYPE] surpasses it by far in terms of gameplay, sounds, the upgrading system, and the powers... oh the powers creates such an interesting and diverse experience. The story is very in depth and the web of intrigue is a very unique way to present the story. Not similar to me in anyway to hulk UD, assassin's creed , or GTA IV. Expand
  44. AlS
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    It's true the graphics aren't superb, but I could care less when I'm having so much fun causing unlimited mayhem. Every time I get a new mission it's easy to get sidetracked for an hour just roaming around the city. This game is a 10 on the pure fun scale.
  45. mikew
    Jun 14, 2009
    2
    Prototype just plain sucks the graphics,controls and story are terrible there are more pop ins than Ive seen on any game to date and the gameplay is repetitive after 30 mins if anything a rental but you shouldn't waste your money on it.
  46. EricB.
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    Prototype is a game that has a large concept, and achieves it partially. It's action-packed from beginning to end, and it gives us something we haven't really seen for a couple of years, and that's quality fun. The gameplay: At first when you play Prototype you feel overwhelmed by it's greatness. The powers and abilities are over-the-top. The parkour is absolutely Prototype is a game that has a large concept, and achieves it partially. It's action-packed from beginning to end, and it gives us something we haven't really seen for a couple of years, and that's quality fun. The gameplay: At first when you play Prototype you feel overwhelmed by it's greatness. The powers and abilities are over-the-top. The parkour is absolutely amazing, and it's just excellent feeling like Alex Mercer. But then as you dig deeper, the game shows off it's biggest issue, and that's repetition. For example, the whip fist power is fun and cool to use if you want to take down choppers, but as you use the same methods OVER and OVER again, you begin to lose the thrill the power once had. The same applies to all moves and powers. Story: The story is slightly linear but it engages you through a few unexpected twists and does a decent job of delivering, even if the rest of the cut-scenes after the intro are slightly mediocre. Presentation: This is a hard thing to talk about because the presentation is so mixed. Alex's animations are excellent, some of the opposition he faces have great animation and all in all in that department it's great. The city on the other hand failed to completely impress me. The shadowing is decent, but some of the textures look downright awful. The building do have a fair amount of detail up close in comparison to other games, but the clipping errors, the over gloominess, and the lack of New York atmosphere ruins some parts of the game. Gameplay: 9 Story: 8 Presentation: 7 8 out of 10. Expand
  47. JesseH.
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. I was completely hooked the moment I started the game and have been playing it almost non-stop since it came out. Lived up to several years of hype from me, back from when it was announced.
  48. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2009
    7
    Was it just me or did the game get boring way too fast. I mean it's pretty frustrating but I would have preferred a game that had more lasting appeal. Don't get me wrong, it's fun for like the first 10 hours, but then it just gets repetitive. I had no incentive to play it again. I suggest renting it first.
  49. Jamie
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    Prototype is definatly one of the best open world games you can get. The main reason for this is the huge amount of variety. With roughly 9 individual ability's, all of which have individual move sets, the ability to drive tanks, transport and attack helicopters as well as the mix of infected and millitary zones gives the player the tools to do what they want, how they want. This is Prototype is definatly one of the best open world games you can get. The main reason for this is the huge amount of variety. With roughly 9 individual ability's, all of which have individual move sets, the ability to drive tanks, transport and attack helicopters as well as the mix of infected and millitary zones gives the player the tools to do what they want, how they want. This is where Prototype succeds most, by succsefully giving you easy control to a incredibly powerful creature and making you FEEL good about it. Expand
  50. brenty
    Jun 13, 2009
    8
    Good game overall, fun, fast and full of destruction. the only problem with this game is the overall story, the ways in which it's told and the sdie missions having nothing to do with the main missions. the story was a good idea, and the method was a good idea, but the story simply isn't intresting engouh to keep up captivated. also you care very little about the characters whichGood game overall, fun, fast and full of destruction. the only problem with this game is the overall story, the ways in which it's told and the sdie missions having nothing to do with the main missions. the story was a good idea, and the method was a good idea, but the story simply isn't intresting engouh to keep up captivated. also you care very little about the characters which is never a good thing. the power though and the amount of upgrades u get for each is great. the ideas and look of the game give it an 8, but there are drawback both in gameplay and in storytelling which keep it from a 9 or 10. Expand
  51. JohnK
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    One of the best games i played in years. its a mixture of hulk ultimate destruction with more better powers and blood and gore. This game has graphics like saints row which is not a bad thing. the story is good it will draw you in. THIS GAME IS ADDICTING.
  52. ChrisS.
    Jun 13, 2009
    8
    It can be a lot of fun just for the sheer amount of destruction and chaos you can cause on screen. All with a very smooth frame rate - albeit one that is smooth at the expense of the downgraded graphics. Draw distances are pretty poor, and the textures are Xbox 1, Ps2 quality. The missions are fun enough, but I found the lock on targeting system to not be to my liking. It's too much It can be a lot of fun just for the sheer amount of destruction and chaos you can cause on screen. All with a very smooth frame rate - albeit one that is smooth at the expense of the downgraded graphics. Draw distances are pretty poor, and the textures are Xbox 1, Ps2 quality. The missions are fun enough, but I found the lock on targeting system to not be to my liking. It's too much of a pain to hit the target you want, especially if you are using any of the soldier weapons. Using your own biological powers works great though, and the auto targeting isn't as much of a necessity. Ii can understand why they went with this system over Infamous' free targeting, since Prototype is a much faster paced game , and is much more hectic. Very fun game, but again, the graphics and targeting system are what made the game feel unfinished. Expand
  53. willh
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. running up walls, jumping from building to building, using civilians as surfboards. this game has everything and is a strong contender for game of the year.
  54. DavidS.
    Jun 12, 2009
    7
    A game that combines excellent depth in it's gameplay with very fluid controls (except for some aerial combos) and camera is hindered by the lackluster presentation and sometime overly stressful and frustrating combat. If you want to compare this to inFamous, I would have to say that this game is more for people who just want to blow everything to pieces and not really give a crap A game that combines excellent depth in it's gameplay with very fluid controls (except for some aerial combos) and camera is hindered by the lackluster presentation and sometime overly stressful and frustrating combat. If you want to compare this to inFamous, I would have to say that this game is more for people who just want to blow everything to pieces and not really give a crap about anything else. The entertainment value here is great, but not long lasting. I'd recommend renting this one for the weekend. Expand
  55. AnonymousMC
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    all the infamous comparisons can stop now. it is nothing like it. while infamous had a few bugs...this has a lot. the pop up completely takes me away from the experience and although graphics aren't everything, this is just a bad game graphically during gameplay. how am i supposed to hunt for orbs when i can't see the damned things until they are right in front of my face?all the infamous comparisons can stop now. it is nothing like it. while infamous had a few bugs...this has a lot. the pop up completely takes me away from the experience and although graphics aren't everything, this is just a bad game graphically during gameplay. how am i supposed to hunt for orbs when i can't see the damned things until they are right in front of my face? blood does not make a game...but people seem to love it for some reason...so hey, lets put it everywhere! that will sell a game! this game is not a 10, 9, or even an 8...but it's not a 0 either. it's just okay. rent it and save your $60 for something else. Expand
  56. MeNotU
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    Great game. Finally a game where you are a powerful being, and actually feel like it as well. Fun to play - with old school concepts (power ups, new moves, level ups etc.) Also has a decent story to boot :) The Graphics could do with an upgrade, but other than that, the game itself is enjoyable.
  57. EvanB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    I do not know how 1UP and such gave this game such mediocore reviews. Why do they complain about the controls? The controls are mostly flawless and easy to use in my opinion. Are they just bad at the game? This is the funnest sandbox I've ever played! All the cool abilities never get old, The missions are very fun so far, and the free-roaming is at its best. I recommend it to anyone.
  58. GregW.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Great game. It will inevitably be compared to inFamous, which is unfair to both games, as they're pretty different. inFamous is more of a "shooter," and Prototype is a brawler. inFamous has better graphics, but Prototype is overall a much more entertaining game.
  59. JoeL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    It took what The Incredible Hulk started, and delivered an even more engaing experience. The mayhem is balanced, difficult at times, and fun. Lots and lots of fun. That being said...it's just TOO much like The Incredible Hulk to be a 10. It needed an extra few months of combat overhauling.
  60. EthanC.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    The reality of it is that this game is Crackdown on crack. Except everything is more realistic, the screaming and horrified bystanders just make me all tingly inside.
  61. MarkVandenB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Shapeshifting. Brutal combat. Stealth. The Patsy... awesome game!
  62. JimbWitchunter
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Frantic and truly fun.
  63. JustinB.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Prototype has some flaws but they don't distract from the amazing game it is. Prototype set out to do many things, making New York, awesome superpowers, open world, etc. And all these things are done perfectly without much flaw. I loved this game and will be playing it for a long time to come
  64. ChrisA.
    Jun 11, 2009
    6
    This game has some very big flaws that take away from the overall fun, but there is a lot of fun there to start. Not great, not terrible, just meh.
  65. AnonymousMC
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    In prototype you are a super powered infected dead guy who runs amuk in New York on a personal vandetta to get revenge on those that made you what you are. Oh and you get to kill zombies, hijack helicopters while they're flying, use the blades of that helicopter to chop up people on the ground, run straight up any surface, shape shift into an enemy and walk around undetected, and aIn prototype you are a super powered infected dead guy who runs amuk in New York on a personal vandetta to get revenge on those that made you what you are. Oh and you get to kill zombies, hijack helicopters while they're flying, use the blades of that helicopter to chop up people on the ground, run straight up any surface, shape shift into an enemy and walk around undetected, and a myriad of other things. What part of that doesn't sound cool? With all the detail they put into making the combat visceral, adding multiple ways to attempt missions, multiple types of side missions, and multiple types of hidden items in the environment it's easier to forgive the un-polished graphics, which are honestly the only thing I really have to complain about. Expand
  66. KyleH.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    This is a great game. The controls for locomotion are a bit shakey at first, but once you get them down it's off to the races. The powers are amazing, even if there are one or two that I will probably never use. It's a sick game, and really fun.
  67. NickP.
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Even tho graphics aren't top-notch, the games is really entertainig. The story is well scripted,the powers are really well structured & the AI can be really challenging from time to time.
  68. AndrewL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Prototype is an endless source of random carnage with the most unreal level of satisfaction. While chopping things to bits has lost its charm over the years, there is no stopping you losing that sinister smile on your face when you whip out the claws and start hacking. Or leaping from building to building carrying a car, only to throw it full strength at a helicopter. It's hard to Prototype is an endless source of random carnage with the most unreal level of satisfaction. While chopping things to bits has lost its charm over the years, there is no stopping you losing that sinister smile on your face when you whip out the claws and start hacking. Or leaping from building to building carrying a car, only to throw it full strength at a helicopter. It's hard to turn the game off once starting. The story is so great that as you slowly, slowly get more hints towards Alex Mercer's origin and that extra step to his revenge, you're in suspense. With countless sandbox items to add to gameplay like 'events' (my favourite is the building jumping ones) that aren't there just for PS3 Trophies and more fun, they actually pay off with EP (evolution points). The more EP the more upgrades you can afford, and it goes without saying, the more upgraded your powers are the more devastating your attacks are, theyve perfected this RPG style in that there are significant changes between level 1 moves and level 2. While flaws in graphics are there, especially during in-game cinematics, you have to forgive the game for such impeccable, long-lasting gameplay. New York City is monstrously huge, crossing one part of town to the next to see the effects of the Infected is a spectacle. Especially while you glide across the skyline with a strike team and horde of creatures on your tail. It is a necessity for any gamers collection, without a doubt. 10/10 Expand
  69. JamesC.
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Whilst there is an enormous amount of fun to be had with destroying everything on site in every possible way, the missions lack variety and the graphics are bland. However, the frame rate never falls and the amount of powers in the game is extraordinary
  70. LanceI.
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Has some great ideas, didn't pull them all of as planned but is still an action-packed carnage fest that will keep you interested throughout the game, and even afterwards collecting the hints and landmark tokens for hours.
  71. JohnP.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    it is a very good game.it have very good graphics and a perfect gameplay and the scenario is very good.
  72. James
    Jun 10, 2009
    7
    Great feeling of power and destruction but the fun doesn't last forever and the disguise mechanic is pretty disappointing.
  73. WizosB.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    The great control system + massive ammount of upgradeable power + gore as far as the eye can see makes prototype a must get. This is the type of game I've been waiting for on the next gen consoles a classic GTA style with loads of action content. This game really puts the POWER at your finger tips.
  74. R.M.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Prototype spanks Infamous like it's a little bitch! No doubt to anyone on the fence about which game to pick up, cross my heart, Prototype is a lot more fun! Infamous looks cool, but from this gamer the compliments stop there. It's boring!! Prototype on the other hand is balls out crazy fun GTA style with sweeter powers! Ahh!! It's Awesome!!!
  75. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing story unique gameplay mechanics overall best game of the summer.
  76. KasperM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Haven't had this much fun in a single-player game for a long time. A big thumbs up from me, only thing I didn't like was being able to just run around up and down buildings etc etc without anyone getting suspicious unless you had any sort of weapon out (even within military bases).
  77. GhislainG.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Gameplay is addictive and fluid. The parkour is flawless. Visual effects are well done. The only down is how good it looks. Graphics must have been cut down to permit better gameplay, a good choice!
  78. BryceS.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game to me is all around satisfying and has alot to offer and keeps players coming back for more. It is true a few things could have been improved upon, but for such a huge sandbox game and being one of the first of its kind I give it props. If a player had to choose between this and Infamous I would say go with this because of the fast paced action, and all around because it has This game to me is all around satisfying and has alot to offer and keeps players coming back for more. It is true a few things could have been improved upon, but for such a huge sandbox game and being one of the first of its kind I give it props. If a player had to choose between this and Infamous I would say go with this because of the fast paced action, and all around because it has much more to offer. Expand
  79. Nickb
    Jun 10, 2009
    0
    Game is so boring, crap graphics, ok gameplay, no multiplayer.
  80. VonDain
    Jun 9, 2009
    0
    Huge dissapointment. Poor graphics, clunky controls, bad ai, bad animations. Horrible game.
  81. KP
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Brilliant game, fun, makes you feel strong, storyline nice. I love surfing with people then throwing them at cars(Doesn't everyone). The only problem that kept me from giving this the ten is that there was no co-op. I think it would be pretty sweet if they wouldn't have cut it, though I guess having it now has its perks.
  82. HaroldL.
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    honestly i played this E3 and it felt very repetitive. its the same thing over and over again. visually the game looks like a glorified xbox 1 game. there's hardly anything impressive about it. GTA 4 came out a year ago and looks miles better than prototype. also the character is very porrly designed, it feels very pretentious, as if they were trying to create a mysterious main honestly i played this E3 and it felt very repetitive. its the same thing over and over again. visually the game looks like a glorified xbox 1 game. there's hardly anything impressive about it. GTA 4 came out a year ago and looks miles better than prototype. also the character is very porrly designed, it feels very pretentious, as if they were trying to create a mysterious main character and thought "hey lets give him a hoodie". the voice over by Barry Pepper sounds waaay to over the top. All in all, this game lacks style, substance, finesse, class....and just tries to wow the player by giving them excess gore to the opint of it being funny rather than disturbing (think slasher flicks and evil dead),....too much is not always good. Expand
  83. AlexW.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Definitely a good game; target system took me a minute to get used to but other than that it is very good.
  84. RobertS.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    The game is incredibly fun, addicting and mind-blowingly action-packed.
  85. DaleC.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It is hard to define a game that you have desired on a subconscious level but could never yourself define. Prototype embodies the game I never knew I have always needed. Never has such power been displayed in a game. Some movies have chased it, some music echoes it, but Prototype defines what is like to be all powerful and not the least bit apologetic about igniting that power all over It is hard to define a game that you have desired on a subconscious level but could never yourself define. Prototype embodies the game I never knew I have always needed. Never has such power been displayed in a game. Some movies have chased it, some music echoes it, but Prototype defines what is like to be all powerful and not the least bit apologetic about igniting that power all over the streets of a virtual New York City . Kudos Radical entertainment Kudos. Expand
  86. Kevin
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    extreme combat is exellent. outstanding gameplay and is very fun.cool story.graphics need more work.maps need more detail.
  87. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    Bought it at $20. Fun game, the controls are easy, i had good times killing and wreaking havoc to people. Missions are unique and memorable for gamers like me. Upgrades are cool too.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Still, you won't ever have played a sandbox game that creates so much carnage and offers so many ways to play.
  2. 90
    I suspect that some people will find their enthusiasm drained more than mine by the shallow enemy gene pool, but even they're bound to get swept away by the myriad pleasures of tearing up town as a ghoulish and preternaturally fleet-footed shape-shifter.
  3. Prototype is one of the best games to release this generation and is definitely the best game to drop in 2009 (so far). Outside of the lackluster stealth and disguising mechanic, the brutal combat, huge open-world, varied challenges, and utterly satisfying gameplay makes this a must-have title for any serious gamer's collection. Get ready to put your life on hold!