• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Puppeteer is a brand new franchise developed exclusively for PlayStation 3 by SCE JAPAN Studio. Set in a magical puppeteer's theatre, this title introduces you to a strange and fantastic world, where the environment is constantly changing. Players experience a rich, dark fairytale where surprises lurk around every corner. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    It's one of the most original and captivating games of the year — on any platform — and for $40 you can't go wrong.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    90
    Amazing atmosphere and a fantastic character design make Puppeteer a marvelous 2D platformer.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    90
    The game that lucky little boy’s Dad created is dark, charming, and wildly varied, with a merge of English and Japanese imagery.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    Puppeteer does a really nice job of overwhelming us with so much well-executed eccentricity, not much else matters. And frankly, there’s nothing else like it.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Incredible presentation and neat elements of improvisation makes this a must have for any theater enthusiast.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Yes, Puppeteer looks amazing. Yes, it's something different. But no, it's not that good as expected. Therefore the game is simply too simple.
  7. It’s a game that tries way too hard to be funny, quirky and different, which is the surest way to end up as anything but.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This game is pure magic. From the characters to the set changes, the platforming to the levels, the humor to the charm, you cant disagree this game is beautiful in every way. Its more then just the graphics, which are a downright marvel. The music is a magnificent opus of cellos and violins, tubas and trumpets..... ...it makes you smile like a young child. This game has so much going for it and its been a joy to play from beginning to where I am at. Sometimes I just want a game to get lost in and have a complete joy playing from start to finish and not worry about leaderboards and difficulty levels....Puppeteer is that game. Its a masterpiece. Collapse
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This game has an imagination of it's own.
    I've rarely seen such simple gameplay elements done in such a fun way, and it's all done within a
    beautiful universe and with fun characters. It's almost criminal that this game isn't selling better.
    We basically have another psyconauts on our hands.
    Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. Don't pay any attention to Puckman's review... this game is not like LBP at all (both this game and LBP are amazing though).

    The quick time events are not lazy. Play Kingdom Hearts 2... that game has lazy quick time (the only button you push is Triangle). This game mixes it up and brings a different element of gameplay to the game.....See what I mean about Puckman? He doesn't know what he's talking about.....

    further proof he doesn't know what he is talking about......
    He mentions how the game gives the wrong head when you need it..... that's because you need to FIND the head first before the game gives it you (you'll know what I mean if you play the game). Puckman never understood that concept... that is why he is confused.

    The writing, jokes, and voice acting are very well done. Game play it great, hardly ever missed a jump or attack... and if I did, it was my fault, not the games fault.

    The level designs are unique and fun. There is one type of level design (in several levels) I didn't care for... but I must admit it brought variety to the game and a great element of fun, and I know other people probably love it.

    Very rarely does a game prompt me to leave a review on metacritic.... I've left 9 reviews (before this).... usually I have to hate a game or love it. I have a couple of yellow reviews I think. Anyway, my point is I've played well over 200 video games and Puppeteer was so good that I just had to leave a review for it.

    If you watch the trailers, and think you'll like it... then you'll love it. I had really big hopes for this game...and I was worried I was over hyping it for myself. I did that with GTA V Online... I over hyped that and it was a disappointment..... well Puppeteer lived up to my expectations..... it's that good.
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    You can remember this game as an another magical platformer beside the rayman. The story telling and the voice acting are great and characters (Picarina is my personal favorite) are awesome too Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    It's funny. It's edgy. It's beautiful. It's Spongebob Squarepants' silliness meets Rocko's Modern Life's ballsiness meets Tim Burton's creepy uncanniness. It's everything you were looking for in a weird game you didn't know you always wanted. (oh, and voice acting is perfect and the music is breathtaking, didn't know where to put that in)

    For some idiot reason, the game's only $39.99 full-price so BUY IT NOW!!!!
    Expand
  6. May 18, 2014
    8
    Now, this is how a modern day 2D platformer should be done! On the surface Puppeteer is a traditional platform game that pays homage to the great 2D platformers of the 16-Bit era but at the same time it also features many innovative ideas, surprises and a very modern look that give it a fresh contemporary feel.
    There isn't much I can say that other reviews havn't already said but the reason it gets an 8 (still a very good score) and not a 9 or 10 is due to a couple of minor issues that stop this being up there with the all time greats of the genre (such as Sonic 2 or Super Mario World). For all it's sold gameplay and originality some of the level design felt a bit linier and parts of the gameplay could have been expanded even more - swapping heads in particular wasn't used to its full potential as the heads didn't actually give you different abilities or change the gameplay the just gave you access to bonus stages and secrets. It's also way to easy; Sure, there are a few challenging sections here and there but they are few and far between and towards the end of the game I had amassed over 80 lives without even trying!!!
    These issues are not game breaking though and overall the spellbinding graphics (even better with a 3D TV!), great controls, solid yet imaginative gameplay, innovative ideas and presentation make this a must play for fans of the genre and one of the best 2D platformers of recent times. It just falls short of an all time classic.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Nice idea and trailers made me look forward for this game. Unfortunately, stiff controls, low framerate, and most of all the terrible writing (the narration and dialogs are really stupid) make this game annoying and boring. If that wasn't enough, the mentioned narration is even more boring by being toooo daaaamn sloooow! And it tries way too hard to be funny (did I mention it's stupid?) and most of the voice acting is ridiculous and annoying too (like the Sheep, but that's just one of many!). What the hell, how could they have such a beautiful idea for a game and make such crap? I want my money back! Expand

See all 32 User Reviews