• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Puppeteer is a brand new franchise developed exclusively for PlayStation 3 by SCE JAPAN Studio. Set in a magical puppeteer's theatre, this title introduces you to a strange and fantastic world, where the environment is constantly changing. Players experience a rich, dark fairytale wherePuppeteer is a brand new franchise developed exclusively for PlayStation 3 by SCE JAPAN Studio. Set in a magical puppeteer's theatre, this title introduces you to a strange and fantastic world, where the environment is constantly changing. Players experience a rich, dark fairytale where surprises lurk around every corner. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    It's one of the most original and captivating games of the year — on any platform — and for $40 you can't go wrong.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    90
    Amazing atmosphere and a fantastic character design make Puppeteer a marvelous 2D platformer.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    90
    The game that lucky little boy’s Dad created is dark, charming, and wildly varied, with a merge of English and Japanese imagery.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    Puppeteer does a really nice job of overwhelming us with so much well-executed eccentricity, not much else matters. And frankly, there’s nothing else like it.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Incredible presentation and neat elements of improvisation makes this a must have for any theater enthusiast.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Yes, Puppeteer looks amazing. Yes, it's something different. But no, it's not that good as expected. Therefore the game is simply too simple.
  7. It’s a game that tries way too hard to be funny, quirky and different, which is the surest way to end up as anything but.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This game is pure magic. From the characters to the set changes, the platforming to the levels, the humor to the charm, you cant disagree thisThis game is pure magic. From the characters to the set changes, the platforming to the levels, the humor to the charm, you cant disagree this game is beautiful in every way. Its more then just the graphics, which are a downright marvel. The music is a magnificent opus of cellos and violins, tubas and trumpets..... ...it makes you smile like a young child. This game has so much going for it and its been a joy to play from beginning to where I am at. Sometimes I just want a game to get lost in and have a complete joy playing from start to finish and not worry about leaderboards and difficulty levels....Puppeteer is that game. Its a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Loved this game. It is truely a unique must play experience. Plus it has co-op and 3d and move. There are some issues like not enoughLoved this game. It is truely a unique must play experience. Plus it has co-op and 3d and move. There are some issues like not enough challenge and some you miss the fun dialogue because you move forward too fast but this game is nothing short of a wonderful spectacle and devilishly entertaining. And has a good length along with good replay. It is very fun and has strong mechanics but my favorite it the art and style characters and dialogue as well as uniqueness that is rare in budgets this large and are only ever found in indie title. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    It was the best what i've seen for a lot of time on my TV set. It's cute, nice, interesting. And you should understand that is just typicalIt was the best what i've seen for a lot of time on my TV set. It's cute, nice, interesting. And you should understand that is just typical PS3's game. It's not a Call of Duty. It's happy time with your girlfriend of family. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    You can remember this game as an another magical platformer beside the rayman. The story telling and the voice acting are great and charactersYou can remember this game as an another magical platformer beside the rayman. The story telling and the voice acting are great and characters (Picarina is my personal favorite) are awesome too Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2014
    9
    8/10? 9/10? What these numbers mean cannot prepare you for how full of wonder Puppeteer is. It's like a box of magic and color, puns and8/10? 9/10? What these numbers mean cannot prepare you for how full of wonder Puppeteer is. It's like a box of magic and color, puns and memorable friends and foes. It is, in my opinion, one of the BEST kid games for PS3 (along with Ni No Kuni and Littlebigplanet 2), but Puppeteer has an ongoing, multifaceted commentary by fairies, witches and much more, that especially adults will enjoy because we recognize the craziness and human comedy of their mentalities. The Western references and the Japanese risk-taking come together marvelously, and the result is such a rare platform fairytale that an 8/10 score would seem ignorant of just how much drama and wonder the journey is packed with. Some games give you 40 hours with bursts of intensity and long stretches of preparations. Puppeteer throws an entire series of 'acts' into one compressed 12-hour pot and mixes it in ways I haven't seen before and don't expect to ever be made like this in other games. It does have weaknesses, though. The difficulty level is narrow throughout the game, comfortably challenging and never super-hard or 'set-your-own-goals hard'. The core 2d setup feels a bit like Littlebigplanet 2's, to a degree where I'd hesitate in owning both games. But then again Puppeteer does much more new with the 2d setup than you can possibly expect, and just the story and characters alone make the game worthwhile. I'd say the voice-acting alone makes the game sufficiently enjoyable, and all the ideas and surprises can be considered icing on the cake.

    I haven't even mentioned that it's set up like a puppet theater performance, and feels 100% as one. The developers have gone to great lengths to make classic game elements into "mechanic tree pieces" and dozens of times it had me smiling at how an element I usually take for granted was re-designed for the puppet context. Absolutely wonderful.
    Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    Portata a termine l’avventura, che si compone di 21 livelli per una durata complessiva che si aggira attorno alle 9 ore, avrete ben pochiPortata a termine l’avventura, che si compone di 21 livelli per una durata complessiva che si aggira attorno alle 9 ore, avrete ben pochi motivi per riprendere in mano il gioco se non siete in cerca dei collezionabili. Dal menu principale potrete dare un’occhiata ai sei libri illustrati che vi racconteranno ulteriori dettagli sulla storia. Unico “difetto” che mi sento di attribuire a Puppeteer è il livello di sfida. Vedere il “game over” è impossibile e questo potrebbe far annoiare i giocatori che da un platform si aspettano una maggiore difficoltà. Il mio consiglio è comunque quello di giocarlo in due. Gestire in solitaria sia Kutaro che il suo compagno potrebbe risultare scomodo nelle scene più veloci. Con l’avvento della next-gen il mio timore è quello che titoli come questo vengano lasciati sugli scaffali e ingiustamente dimenticati. Onore a Japan Studio che non solo ha voluto cercare di proporre un qualcosa di nuovo ma lo ha fatto in modo sublime, creando una nuova IP dal valore indubbio, in esclusiva e alla fine del ciclo vitale di PlayStation 3.
    E attenzione a non sottovalutarlo, non è “solo” un gioco per bambini…
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Nice idea and trailers made me look forward for this game. Unfortunately, stiff controls, low framerate, and most of all the terrible writingNice idea and trailers made me look forward for this game. Unfortunately, stiff controls, low framerate, and most of all the terrible writing (the narration and dialogs are really stupid) make this game annoying and boring. If that wasn't enough, the mentioned narration is even more boring by being toooo daaaamn sloooow! And it tries way too hard to be funny (did I mention it's stupid?) and most of the voice acting is ridiculous and annoying too (like the Sheep, but that's just one of many!). What the hell, how could they have such a beautiful idea for a game and make such crap? I want my money back! Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers