• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Puppeteer is a brand new franchise developed exclusively for PlayStation 3 by SCE JAPAN Studio. Set in a magical puppeteer's theatre, this title introduces you to a strange and fantastic world, where the environment is constantly changing. Players experience a rich, dark fairytale where surprises lurk around every corner. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    It's one of the most original and captivating games of the year — on any platform — and for $40 you can't go wrong.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    90
    Amazing atmosphere and a fantastic character design make Puppeteer a marvelous 2D platformer.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    90
    The game that lucky little boy’s Dad created is dark, charming, and wildly varied, with a merge of English and Japanese imagery.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    Puppeteer does a really nice job of overwhelming us with so much well-executed eccentricity, not much else matters. And frankly, there’s nothing else like it.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Incredible presentation and neat elements of improvisation makes this a must have for any theater enthusiast.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Yes, Puppeteer looks amazing. Yes, it's something different. But no, it's not that good as expected. Therefore the game is simply too simple.
  7. It’s a game that tries way too hard to be funny, quirky and different, which is the surest way to end up as anything but.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This game is pure magic. From the characters to the set changes, the platforming to the levels, the humor to the charm, you cant disagree this game is beautiful in every way. Its more then just the graphics, which are a downright marvel. The music is a magnificent opus of cellos and violins, tubas and trumpets..... ...it makes you smile like a young child. This game has so much going for it and its been a joy to play from beginning to where I am at. Sometimes I just want a game to get lost in and have a complete joy playing from start to finish and not worry about leaderboards and difficulty levels....Puppeteer is that game. Its a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Um espetáculo de jogo ! uma experiencia fantástica em um mundo vivo controles respondem bem a dublagem Brasileira esta acima da media Mias um grande exclusivo da SONY ! Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    It was the best what i've seen for a lot of time on my TV set. It's cute, nice, interesting. And you should understand that is just typical PS3's game. It's not a Call of Duty. It's happy time with your girlfriend of family. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    You can remember this game as an another magical platformer beside the rayman. The story telling and the voice acting are great and characters (Picarina is my personal favorite) are awesome too Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This sadly is one of the most over looked games ever. It is truly a gem and proves that originality still exists in the gaming industry, This game I believe is a must play, it is truly an amazing and unique experience. Collapse
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    So, when I picked this game up (and with all the trailers and such) I had a feeling it would be some sort of Little Big Planet rip off. It is NOT. It has "that look", I agree, and being a cartoonesque, 2D platformer also makes us believe this is a generic LBP. Again, it is NOT. "The Puppeteer" is a gorgeous game, a true product of love and very unique on its own. Charming atmosphere, characters, beautiful scenery, fun gameplay (with a cool gimmick of finding different heads), great voice acting (though the actors never agree on how to call the protagonists name, "Kutaro") and challenging some times. Another great example of indie masterpiece to be added to the PS3 swan's song. Must be played. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Nice idea and trailers made me look forward for this game. Unfortunately, stiff controls, low framerate, and most of all the terrible writing (the narration and dialogs are really stupid) make this game annoying and boring. If that wasn't enough, the mentioned narration is even more boring by being toooo daaaamn sloooow! And it tries way too hard to be funny (did I mention it's stupid?) and most of the voice acting is ridiculous and annoying too (like the Sheep, but that's just one of many!). What the hell, how could they have such a beautiful idea for a game and make such crap? I want my money back! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews