• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Puppeteer is a brand new franchise developed exclusively for PlayStation 3 by SCE JAPAN Studio. Set in a magical puppeteer's theatre, this title introduces you to a strange and fantastic world, where the environment is constantly changing. Players experience a rich, dark fairytale where surprises lurk around every corner. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    It's one of the most original and captivating games of the year — on any platform — and for $40 you can't go wrong.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    90
    Amazing atmosphere and a fantastic character design make Puppeteer a marvelous 2D platformer.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    90
    The game that lucky little boy’s Dad created is dark, charming, and wildly varied, with a merge of English and Japanese imagery.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    Puppeteer does a really nice job of overwhelming us with so much well-executed eccentricity, not much else matters. And frankly, there’s nothing else like it.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Incredible presentation and neat elements of improvisation makes this a must have for any theater enthusiast.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Yes, Puppeteer looks amazing. Yes, it's something different. But no, it's not that good as expected. Therefore the game is simply too simple.
  7. It’s a game that tries way too hard to be funny, quirky and different, which is the surest way to end up as anything but.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This game is pure magic. From the characters to the set changes, the platforming to the levels, the humor to the charm, you cant disagree this game is beautiful in every way. Its more then just the graphics, which are a downright marvel. The music is a magnificent opus of cellos and violins, tubas and trumpets..... ...it makes you smile like a young child. This game has so much going for it and its been a joy to play from beginning to where I am at. Sometimes I just want a game to get lost in and have a complete joy playing from start to finish and not worry about leaderboards and difficulty levels....Puppeteer is that game. Its a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This game has an imagination of it's own.
    I've rarely seen such simple gameplay elements done in such a fun way, and it's all done within a
    beautiful universe and with fun characters. It's almost criminal that this game isn't selling better.
    We basically have another psyconauts on our hands.
    Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. Don't pay any attention to Puckman's review... this game is not like LBP at all (both this game and LBP are amazing though).

    The quick time events are not lazy. Play Kingdom Hearts 2... that game has lazy quick time (the only button you push is Triangle). This game mixes it up and brings a different element of gameplay to the game.....See what I mean about Puckman? He doesn't know what he's talking about.....

    further proof he doesn't know what he is talking about......
    He mentions how the game gives the wrong head when you need it..... that's because you need to FIND the head first before the game gives it you (you'll know what I mean if you play the game). Puckman never understood that concept... that is why he is confused.

    The writing, jokes, and voice acting are very well done. Game play it great, hardly ever missed a jump or attack... and if I did, it was my fault, not the games fault.

    The level designs are unique and fun. There is one type of level design (in several levels) I didn't care for... but I must admit it brought variety to the game and a great element of fun, and I know other people probably love it.

    Very rarely does a game prompt me to leave a review on metacritic.... I've left 9 reviews (before this).... usually I have to hate a game or love it. I have a couple of yellow reviews I think. Anyway, my point is I've played well over 200 video games and Puppeteer was so good that I just had to leave a review for it.

    If you watch the trailers, and think you'll like it... then you'll love it. I had really big hopes for this game...and I was worried I was over hyping it for myself. I did that with GTA V Online... I over hyped that and it was a disappointment..... well Puppeteer lived up to my expectations..... it's that good.
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    You can remember this game as an another magical platformer beside the rayman. The story telling and the voice acting are great and characters (Picarina is my personal favorite) are awesome too Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    This is the most underappreciated game I've seen in a long time. It is alarming to see **** games like Watch Dogs rack up sales because teenage boys don't know better and because news outlets want clicks/views from those teenagers resulting in a self fulfilling prophecy. Please tell your friends and family who are gamers to buy this. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    Portata a termine l’avventura, che si compone di 21 livelli per una durata complessiva che si aggira attorno alle 9 ore, avrete ben pochi motivi per riprendere in mano il gioco se non siete in cerca dei collezionabili. Dal menu principale potrete dare un’occhiata ai sei libri illustrati che vi racconteranno ulteriori dettagli sulla storia. Unico “difetto” che mi sento di attribuire a Puppeteer è il livello di sfida. Vedere il “game over” è impossibile e questo potrebbe far annoiare i giocatori che da un platform si aspettano una maggiore difficoltà. Il mio consiglio è comunque quello di giocarlo in due. Gestire in solitaria sia Kutaro che il suo compagno potrebbe risultare scomodo nelle scene più veloci. Con l’avvento della next-gen il mio timore è quello che titoli come questo vengano lasciati sugli scaffali e ingiustamente dimenticati. Onore a Japan Studio che non solo ha voluto cercare di proporre un qualcosa di nuovo ma lo ha fatto in modo sublime, creando una nuova IP dal valore indubbio, in esclusiva e alla fine del ciclo vitale di PlayStation 3.
    E attenzione a non sottovalutarlo, non è “solo” un gioco per bambini…
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Nice idea and trailers made me look forward for this game. Unfortunately, stiff controls, low framerate, and most of all the terrible writing (the narration and dialogs are really stupid) make this game annoying and boring. If that wasn't enough, the mentioned narration is even more boring by being toooo daaaamn sloooow! And it tries way too hard to be funny (did I mention it's stupid?) and most of the voice acting is ridiculous and annoying too (like the Sheep, but that's just one of many!). What the hell, how could they have such a beautiful idea for a game and make such crap? I want my money back! Expand

See all 35 User Reviews