Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    We love this. [Issue#221, p.79]
  2. This is a charming and fun adventure that easily earns its place among PSN's elite--and we could all do with a bit more thinking(whether with portals or dimensions)every now and then. [Sept 2012, p.84]
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    86
    Quantum Conundrum is a funny and original title created with great mastery.
  4. It easy to compare this first person puzzler to Valve's Portal, especially if you when you find out that Quantum Conundrum was made by the lead designer of the original Portal. Which also explains why , despite the shabby platforming, it's a pretty enjoyable puzzler. [September 2012, p.87]
  5. Once you earn and understand how to flick between the dimensions (on all four shoulder buttons) Conundrum will have you calling people over to the TV to boast how "S-M-R-T" you are. That joy is offset, however, by Airtight Games' insistence on pinpoint first-person platforming, something that's a source of intermittent frustration. [September 2012, p74]
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    An intelligent, original, and charming puzzler that's held back by awkward platforming and some erratic, often utterly illogical physics. [Aug 2012, p.100]
  7. 80
    Quantum Conundrum is the king of puzzles. Sadly, some of the controls keep it from being king of the genre.
  8. The learning curve is spot on, with each new dimension properly introduced and then quickly integrated with the others, so that you're always making progress and never feel patronised.
  9. Jul 6, 2012
    78
    It's by no means a bad game and in fact, it has all the earmarks of a fantastic game, simply because it's so similar to the godly Portal. But the latter titles were never frustrating, and you felt more pride than relief upon finishing one of the puzzles. Here, glimpses of that brilliance are evident, but we lose sight of them far too often.
  10. Jul 27, 2012
    77
    It is a very, very good series of puzzles. And, (I suppose we can't avoid the elephant in the room any longer) if you've been looking for the smaller, cheaper, nephew to Professor Portal, without the co-op play, the polished presentation, or the laughs, Quantum Conundrum is it.
  11. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Quantum Conundrum's nutty interdimensional experiments don't go off without a hitch, but this inventive first-person puzzler still produces some enjoyable results.
  12. 75
    If you've already played both Portal games to death and are dying to sink your teeth into another mind-bending puzzler, look no further, for Quantum Conundrum will undoubtedly satiate that craving. Just don't expect it to blow you away like jumping through portals for the first time.
  13. Jul 20, 2012
    67
    But overall the game performs on the PS3 without much issue. It's not the best looking game on the market, but I enjoyed the brightly hued color of the stages, despite some of the more repetitious environments that divide the rooms.
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    50
    Too easy for older gamers, and a little over the heads of younger gamers, Quantum Conundrum finds itself in a sort of purgatory between the two, and like a younger brother it can't help but live in the shadow of its older sibling's success.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This game may seem very similar to Portal, but has new game-play skills and other cool things that set it apart. Platforming is way too floaty, which makes it much harder in levels that involve platforming, but that does not make it a bad game, for it is still a great game. The ability to change between 4(5 counting your own) dimensions is a genius idea, and is only a bit similar to Portal, because it involves physics. It is funny mostly, but at times the humor is off. However, this is an excellent game, and you should buy it if you are a fan of hard puzzles, intriguing characters, and physics. Fans of Portal will be delighted. Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    The first thing I have to say is I enjoy the puzzles and levels of which are in this level. And when they are accompanied by beautiful graphics and great voice overs I really enjoyed the game as a whole but there are some problems Firstly while the graphics are good and crisp it does have some texture pop-in during the beginning or end of each level. along with the big doors taking 15 seconds to open there are some impediments to the pace of the game Second of all I would say that the game should have had more levels as I only felt interested in the game in 1 play through.

    Lastly I believe most of the puzzles are WAY too easy and makes the game less enjoyable overall. however I do love the game in spite of the multiple flaws I'm giving the game a 7/10
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    This is a really funny game and a strong bet for any Portal fans. This is first person, physics based puzzle game. You alternate between dimensions to trigger switches and buttons to finish the stage. There are some plataforming elements, such as jumping between points, and in my opnion the game fails on this point - I find the jump button rather unresponsive. The puzzles are very clever and the difficulty is just fine. Art is beautiful and narrative keeps you motivated to continue, also being funny and getting some laughs out of you. The game somewhat stutter on textures between stages, but fortunately it disappears quickly and doesn't really happen on crucial moments, such as during a puzzle. There is some replay value to get the fastest time and fewest moves, if you are into that kind of thing (I, myselft, dislike it). It deserves a strong 8 for its current price. Full Review »