User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 319

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    3
    I'm just going to come out and say it. Rage is a disappointment. There are a few things Rage does well, such as variety in ammo types (like in Bioshock) and having a consistent framerate of 60 frames per second (which never drops) with good graphics to boot. However, there are also a few things Rage doesn't do right, such as texture pop-in, the driving sequences, and the story.

    The combat
    in Rage is good old FPS fun and the variety in using different ammo types makes the gameplay stand out from other FPS's. You can also craft helpful items that can help you get the edge over enemies, such as bandages, exploding RC cars, and even three sided boomerangs with steel blades on them, which is pretty cool. The graphics are also great, especially from a distance, but most textures look terrible up close. Not much of a surprise there though, given the overall scope of the graphics. Rage is also the most fluid game I've played in terms of framerate. Its always at 60 and never drops. This might not sound that impressive, but keep in mind this is on a console thats around 5-6 years old.

    However, Rage seems to fall flat on its face with the story. I've played 4 hours of it and I can tell you now that it has absolutely no connection to the story whatsoever. I'll explain this the best I can without spoiling it. The first hour of the game sees you meeting a character that helps you get started and all that, which is pretty much essential. The next 3 hours, however, see you go to a town and do errands for people, namely the Mayor and Sheriff. You'll be asking yourself what the point of all these errands is and if they're related to the story, and your questions will be answered at around the 4 hour mark when you meet a character that is part of a discourse that seems to be central to the story.

    Another thing that Rage doesn't do right is the driving sequences. You'll be driving everywhere from point A to point B and it just feels like filler. There is no incentive to go exploring, and killing the bandits in their buggies gets tedious. There is also texture pop-in, which is very subtle in some parts, but almost unbearable in others.

    Overall, Rage could have been a good game, but never really delivered. The story is rather weak, the first 4 hours of the game are completely pointless (and considering people are saying its around the 9 hour mark, thats a huge worry), the driving sequences are merely filler, and ultimately it seems as if ID couldn't decide if they wanted to make an FPS or an RPG. For a game to have been in development for around 4 years and won a range of "Best in Show" awards at E3 2010, this is a big letdown. I give it a 3/10. This game is only worth a rent. It is not worth $60US/$100AUD at all.
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0/10 because it's unplayable with the horrendous screen tearing.

    yes, I have updated drivers, yes, I googled solutions, tried forcing vsync, etc. all of that did not fix the problem & for a good developed game, should not be necessary in the first place.

    Junk, don't waste your money.
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    1
    What a goofy way to build a game. Id has never wowed me with story, but this story is so tacked it blows my mind. The texture pop-in actually made me sick and forced me to take long breaks between attempts at playing. I have NEVER seen anything like it. Turning your head causes EVERYTHING to reload. EVERYTHING, close and far, inside or outside. In an FPS that is about the worst thing I can imagine.

    It gets a 2 because the gun play is fun, the AI if fun, and driving is fun. I suggest renting it first to see if you can handle to bad design.
    Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    Was very disappointed in amount of game play. Very linear, no dialogue choices, predictable AI and weak ending. I like the graphics and new engine but NOT a $60 game. I am not factoring in graphics/crashing issues on release.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    I hate to be a downer, but this game disappointed me from the start.. and I didn't even have that high of expectations for it tbh. Graphically, its superior for any multiplatform release to date.. unless you turn your head, all the textures reload.. its worse then the unreal engine which does the same thing from time to time (which ive always felt was one of the worst engines used). It doesn't effect gameplay, its just annoying and distracts you. Otherwise, the environment looks engaging. Invisible walls and guided paths are everywhere. You basically go in a straight line, occasionally diverted by a rock so its a slight curve, and then your back in a straight line again. It wasn't suppose to be a linear game, yet thats exactly what it is. The plot is one of the most basic and boring ones that I've seen for a long time. Dialogue is plain and the voice acting isn't much better. I tried to like this game, I did.. But I never could enjoy it enough to warrant its purchase. You have no customization in your character, and you get to use about 6 different guns. You'll just use the assault rifle when its clear its the most powerful. The game borrows ideas heavily from Borderlands, such as the mission structure, which is just - Go to point A, kill same enemy 12 times, Return to base. Repeat.. And it tries to use some of Fallout's ideas, but never gets it right. Such as some of the enemies are generic rip offs from those used in F3 and New Vegas.. Overall, if I was starting to have fun, it was killed quickly. Driving is repetitive and boring. If you want a good authentic "post apocalyptic" experience, go with Fallout... as this is pretty much just the in-bred retarded child of Fallout 3 and Borderlands... Its only pro - better graphics.. should have spent all that time developing a plot! Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    0
    Total waste of $60. This game looks and plays like a cheap knock off of Borderlands and Fallout. Graphics look great-as long as you're STANDING STILL. Draw times/distances are crap and the driving mechanics are lame to say the least. Not to mention the limited multiplayer options. I bought this game in hopes of doing the full campaign with my fiacee. Instead we're stuck with just playing some BS side missions. Thanks Bethesda, I haven't felt this screwed since prom night Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    Mmmmm, many years in development and we get a hodgepodge or amalgam of game ideas that represent some of the finest ideas of yesterday, mashed together for lukewarm effect. . . RAGE lives up to its name IF pop-in, draw-in, flickering, muddy textures, hub-world style banal fetch quests and collection quests IRK you- However, the B I G G E S T pita (for me) was the DEV suggestion of possible EXPLORATION only to find on-rails gameplay, glass walls, distant impostors galore and a minimap that often only highlights the small navigable terrain with small slivers of BLUE splashed in smaller-measure across a larger map expanse which ONLY argued that the world is smallish and limited to predetermined treks. In fact, after DLing the sewer DLC at launch, finishing a few remaining introductory quests which also included a freeform exercise of clearing-out the Arc sewers, a job board tacked-up against the exterior wall of the Second Chance bar at Wellspring OFFERED THE SAME QUEST again, noting that it had already been done, but the muties had moved back in, so go do it once more!?! Recycled, barren, boring and less than impressive, overall, RAGE represents Id's best effort after a reported 6+ years of development? Expand
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period! Pity I can't get a full refund :-( Wont be touching an ID Software game again, Once burnt....
  9. Oct 17, 2011
    3
    Terrible game from a developer that hasn't proven itself since Quake 2. Avoid this, unless you really need something to do, I could see dropping 20 bucks but no more then that. Lackluster story, ending, level design is absolute **** Hell getting the final gun, I didn't even use it thinking there was a main boss, but no. Shame on ID for a bunch of hype for nothing. Mini games in a game..you know something is wrong then. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2011
    0
    Rage is unfinished. The PS3 version of the game is full of technical issues which include but are not limited to: severe texture pop-in (probably the worst I've ever seen), horrendous screen tearing in the hub cities and sound skipping. The ending also has to be one of the worst in recent history, it looks like id software ran out of time/money and just called it day when the game was 3/4 finished. The engine is deplorable. There are basically no physics. Everything except enemies is nailed to the ground, you can throw a grenade under a table and then watch it implode with the table staying completely intact. The pre-baked lighting is also obvious. Rage is a good looking game as long as you don't get too close to anything. Because once you get close to an object you can see how low-res all the textures really are, aside from that I've also encountered objects which didn't seem to have any textures at all. I can understand that they had to dumb down the textures on consoles to keep the 60 frames per second but the low-res textures plague even the PC version (which was unplayable at release and had no options to customize your graphics settings). Id Software seriously need to stop trying to reinvent the wheel and just concentrate on making good games. In some cases like the PS3 and PC version I'd even say that they should concentrating on making a working game first. The state in which this game was released is unaccaptable. This is the last time I put money in the pockets of Id software/Bethesda, and this is coming from a long time Id Software fan that has owned all their games since Wolfenstein 3D.This was my most anticipated game of 2011 and that only adds insult to injury. Stay away from this poorly polished, slapped together and disappointing title. There are way better games coming out that are all more worth your time than this. Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    4
    This game has great graphics but that's about all it has going for it. It's almost like iD really wanted to make a Borderlands clone and then forgot to include everything that made Borderlands so enjoyable.
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    4
    I tried to like this game, but it really just wasn't that good. The environment graphics were quite nice though the characters didn't look great and were animated poorly, but it just wasn't that interesting. The game ends very suddenly in a way like its setting you up for a much more impressive sequel, but its not a game deserving of a sequel imo. Either that or they got sick of making it so rushed a quick ending out.
    It felt a bit like a chore at times, and the racing/driving stuff can get pretty annoying. The shooting is generally good but its a bit easy on normal mode (usually I suck at FPS but this was a breeze) and can get to be a chore when its just waves of easily killable mutants running at you and you can't leave the area until you've shot them all.
    Expand
  13. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    Rage is certainly the emotion I expressed in response to this "game". The cataclysmically poor release of Rage if anything, symbolises of John Carmack flushing his job and legacy down the toilet. Rage gives the impression of a game larger than it really is, while failing to meet even the lowest of expectations and even sinking below the realms of mediocrity into the stinking depths of absolute crap. The Arc? Resistance? Foes called the Security? Oh sorry, Authority? The threadbare story that actually does exist in this game is simply pilfered from Brink, a substandard game in its own right. Slap together all the WORST bits of Borderlands and you have Rage.

    Combat consists of mind-numbing corridor shooting, padded out by twice as much running/driving to and from objectives. That's it.

    From the start, I wasn't even able to play it. For some asinine reason, Carmack thought it'd be a great idea to develop software for console systems that were already obsolete rather than the PC which is used itself to actually CODE the game, and so constantly at the fore. So thanks to id Softwareâ
    Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    Rage ?
    Hell yeh,I was perfectly calm before making the mistake of playing this poor excuse for a video game.
    This game's been done & re done so many times that nobody cares anymore,If I wanted to run around shooting stuff (in a video game) I'd play Grand Theft Auto which would mean I would be able to shoot stuff,drive stuff & crash stuff,
    Alternatively I could blow £40 on
    Rage & just walk around & shoot stuff,

    WHICH ONE WOULD YOU CHOOSE ?

    Think carefully before answering this question,especially those of you that were at the back of the que when the brains were being handed out,

    Yes this means you !
    Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    I have PS3 and PC version of RAGE and both are broken. I bought PC version on launch but being an AMD/ATi graphic card user, I could not run the game. Id's John Carmack simply blame AMD for the issue which is very unprofessional. It took more than a week for a patch to be release but the game suffers from texture pop in. I gave up the PC version and bought the PS3 version. The PS3 version looks like **** and suffers from the exact same texture pop in. That's totally unacceptable!!! Killzone 3 and Uncharted 2/3 show off the PS3 hardware correctly, id software spent 5 **** years to develop this broken piece of **** I will not buy another product from id or Bethesda ever again. Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2011
    3
    Having so much hype gave me the impression that this was going to be a good game, but then once it was in my playstation i was dissapointed for the first time from anything ID softsoftware has ever made. Im a huge fan of doom and wolfenstein, one of my favorite games of all time was Doom 3. But once you get into Rage and start doing fetch quests and are kept in a linear area, you start to realize how much smoke and mirrors rage hid behind. The amazing trailers and stand out premier gameplay made it seem like a good game. But dont waste your time with this sad waste of memory on your ps3, including you have the amount to even play it, xbox has 3 disks to play this game, ps3 has one yet the GB is enough to make you question buying it. 40gb ps3 owners pass this one Expand
  17. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    Crappy game all around, from screen tearing to dumb as a rock storyline. Texture pop-ins and developers keeping silent about any and all issues show how much they care about this rat crap they made. Worth a buy when it's 10 bucks, which should be soon seeing as it's dropped to 20 at a ton of places. Shame on ID being put in Bethesda's grimy money hungry stable of D- developers. Pure garbage, stay away! Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    The game is ordinary and hard to even play without a quest marker and map, i don't like getting stuck in games and this game has no hub or nothing so it gets boring. They should stick to making engines only, there games are ordinary.
  19. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    Honestly i expected more from id Software. Unlikable characters (i mean ALL of them with the idiot sitting in the toilet or whatever that is taking prize number one). The story is very shallow and doesn't come together AT ALL. The action is not the worse that i've seen but it´s not the best either. The game on the PS3 looks bad and the textures take way too long to load up. And don't even make talk about that stupid multyplayer concept... Expand
  20. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    For a game developed for 8-10 year old hardware this was still a poor effort. Some nice concepts that in no way compensate for what feels like a mash up of other peoples games. Bloody awful at release and still unplayable for now if you are used to any present generation PC FPS. I am told that this was the first time my friends lad ever returned a game he rented early so he could rent something else and not waste the weekend. On the PC, I thought it was just unplayable. It felt old but not in any sort of classic, pleasant reminiscence sort of way.. Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2011
    1
    Bland, boring fetch quests, terrible ending ( Probably one of the worst ive seen in my years of gaming) Devs with no class blaming hardware and drivers, Carmack should stick to rockets, because gaming isnt his thing. This game sucks
  22. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Sadly, RAGE is an unplayable game, because it causes horrendous headaches and eye pain within 10 minutes of gameplay.
    Do not waste your money on this torture.
  23. Apr 15, 2012
    2
    Now normally I would have given Rage a good score. Good graphics, nice idea with changeable ammo types, a surprisingly enjoyable online multiplayer for the 30 minutes, mutant bash. Unfortunately there are quite a few problems. The AI is very predictable, the story I found fairly weak (especially the ending) and to finish it all off I played Borderlands before this. In fact I was discussing with a friend who had recently bought this game and all the things he thought were good in this game were the same as Borderlands: Shotguns firing rockets, the buggies, the environment. Even the enemies are quite similar just with less variation. Another downside was the co-op. I initially thought it would, again, be similar to Borderlands with the entire world to explore and things like arenas in which you can test each others skill and weapons. But no. Instead the creators decided it would be a good idea to get COD: MW2 spec ops missions and put them together with less interesting plots and much harder to kill enemies. Finally we get to the crafting and all I can say is Dead Rising with less skill and more luck. My overall viewpoint on Rage is that it is some of the best features of multiple games, patched together well, but then made much worse. Lucky I bought it for only £10. Expand
  24. May 17, 2013
    0
    Rocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires no skill, just dumb luck and you will fail continuously while you rage at the game, hence the name of the game. What a shame, because this game woudl be completely bad-ass if not for that stupid feature that spoils the rest of the game. Rocket Rally is so bad, that the person or people responsible for implementing it into the game deserve to be send to prison for the stress they caused to players. Expand
  25. May 8, 2013
    1
    A Rip off of Fallout and a waste of money. The game's pop in texture was abysmal. Storyline was quite boring and multilayer was insanely infuriating because of how dumb it was I didn't have fun playing. Driving mechanics are quite odd too. The game seemed dull and very ordinary. The only thing thats good is the graphics but aside from that...its all garbage.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]