Rage PlayStation 3

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 336

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    This game has potential. I am not denying this in the least. It throws out amazing ideas and concepts, but just doesn't follow through on them. I'm hoping to see something that expands upon the game soon, but until then, this will be getting a mediocre score. It does, however, look amazing. 6/10.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    This game was a dissappointment. Whereas it did deliver in some gameplay, in virtually every other area it did not. This game has great ideas, and potential even in a setting and genre where many games exist, i.e. fallout 3, borderlands etc. this game was set in a setting where a great story could have emerged. Fallout and borderlands did not have strong stories, and in thisThis game was a dissappointment. Whereas it did deliver in some gameplay, in virtually every other area it did not. This game has great ideas, and potential even in a setting and genre where many games exist, i.e. fallout 3, borderlands etc. this game was set in a setting where a great story could have emerged. Fallout and borderlands did not have strong stories, and in this post-apoctolyptic setting, few games have established story over gameplay. For gameplay it delivers. For story it dissappoints. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    The ID Tech 5 engine suffers from enormous amounts of texture pop-ins to get the game to run at 60 FPS. The loading/saving times are atrocious, and the saving system felt outdated - the game also didn't feel the need to assist me during combat and gave me the middle finger if I happened to forget to buy ammo for a mission. I once died from jumping on an elevator going downwards because ofThe ID Tech 5 engine suffers from enormous amounts of texture pop-ins to get the game to run at 60 FPS. The loading/saving times are atrocious, and the saving system felt outdated - the game also didn't feel the need to assist me during combat and gave me the middle finger if I happened to forget to buy ammo for a mission. I once died from jumping on an elevator going downwards because of the fall damage, which makes no sense according to the laws of physics. The story wasn't even vaguely interesting, and the missions seemed sort of random and didn't build up to anything. The game had so much content that didn't add to the main storyline, and a lot of weapons/equipment to choose from without a good load-out system to back it up during combat. The over-the-top scary music felt forced and annoying, similarly with the low-pitch speaking British enemies. A lot of things in the FPS genre has been improved upon since the days of Doom, and id Software has chosen not to implement a lot of contemporary ideas, such as a talking Main Character, in addition to a modern Checkpoint system - which is understandable in stealth games which requires a lot of planning and decision making, but not in a Modern Shooter. And the ideas they have chosen to take on often lacks in comparisons to competitors, such as the mini-map GPS system, RPG elements, different ammo types, and vehicle combat. Most of the story revolves around doing errands for other characters, leaving only a couple of hours for the actual Main Story. The ending didn't give me any closure, and seemed like they just decided to wrap it up and call it the day once the engine was polished and ran smoothly on all systems. That said, the ID Tech 5 engine is the only good thing to write home about in regards to this release, and although it has many flaws, it also has moments of beauty, such as the scenery present when walking about in the wasteland - and the combat isn't half-bad either. The enemy AI is perhaps more intelligent than most other games. Though in comparison to all the other shooters this year, this game falls short. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Rage is a very fun game. The graphics are really good, the guns all feel really well, and the enemy A.I is great. So why the low score? While this game is very fun while in combat outside of that it is very boring. The story is also very bland and just involves a bunch of go here talk to this person, then go kill bandits or mutants then come back. If they had fleshed out the story more toRage is a very fun game. The graphics are really good, the guns all feel really well, and the enemy A.I is great. So why the low score? While this game is very fun while in combat outside of that it is very boring. The story is also very bland and just involves a bunch of go here talk to this person, then go kill bandits or mutants then come back. If they had fleshed out the story more to make you want to keep playing this could have been the game of the year. Also the car combat and multiplayer are ok, but they feel out of place. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game! It was solid enough in it's FPS core mechanics for me to play through it (albeit in a short time, maybe 9-10 hours in which I did pretty much all the side "jobs"), but dammit, the rest just sucked. The driving parts were boring and repetitive. The graphics are good but try looking at something up close and it feels like it's back to Doom days. But mostI really wanted to like this game! It was solid enough in it's FPS core mechanics for me to play through it (albeit in a short time, maybe 9-10 hours in which I did pretty much all the side "jobs"), but dammit, the rest just sucked. The driving parts were boring and repetitive. The graphics are good but try looking at something up close and it feels like it's back to Doom days. But most disappointing is the fact that the plot and the bad guys, which shows glimpses of possibly being interesting at the start, just disappears at the end like it was totally forgotten. I'd say wait till this hits the bargain bin at Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    The game is pretty fun, but it is a cookie cutter game. I bought the game brand new for 20 bucks and I do not regret it, however, the game itself is boring to an extent. It is not like Borderlands where you can explore the game insanely and know every single side of the world, you really can only go in a straight line and the storyline is rather linear because you really do not have anyThe game is pretty fun, but it is a cookie cutter game. I bought the game brand new for 20 bucks and I do not regret it, however, the game itself is boring to an extent. It is not like Borderlands where you can explore the game insanely and know every single side of the world, you really can only go in a straight line and the storyline is rather linear because you really do not have any sort of control as to where you go. There is no, "let's go over here now," because the game has a set path already. A fun pick up if you're trying to kill time, but I would not sweat it if you did not want to fork out the bucks for it. The gameplay is fun, the graphics are fluid, sometimes the texture pop in pisses me off, but the only downside as noted before is the single road gameplay. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    6
    Disappointing. Rage has been on peoples radars ever since the first trailer, it promised a stunning open world action RPG, with great visuals. What we got was an arcade racing game with shooter elements. Besides looting, buying and selling, there are no Role Playing elements in this game, you don't level up, you don't have tons of upgradable guns, the story is almost non existent andDisappointing. Rage has been on peoples radars ever since the first trailer, it promised a stunning open world action RPG, with great visuals. What we got was an arcade racing game with shooter elements. Besides looting, buying and selling, there are no Role Playing elements in this game, you don't level up, you don't have tons of upgradable guns, the story is almost non existent and boring fetch quest type with no decisions or memorable characters. The racing parts of this game feel completely alien to the shooting ones, it feels like a completely different game. I still can't believe how ID screwed up this game with poor gameplay and design decisions with such a great idea and style. The visuals look stunning...on a screenshot, a shooter, especially a 60 fps shooter is all about movement, and the visuals completely degenerate in that area. Textures load every time you turn, every goddamn time, leaving 80% of the game looking like a horrid PS2 title. So what are you left with once you notice the obvious shortcoming? A solid first person shooter with an out of place racing mechanic, not an RPG you hoped for. This is a rent. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    Rage had a good intro and the set up was decent enough but it never gets better. The characters are forgettable, the story is even more so and you just don't care about what's going on. The gameplay and graphics were pretty topnotch though and the post-apocalyptic setting was gorgeous but you start to feel how linear it all really is. This was marketed as an open world experience and iRage had a good intro and the set up was decent enough but it never gets better. The characters are forgettable, the story is even more so and you just don't care about what's going on. The gameplay and graphics were pretty topnotch though and the post-apocalyptic setting was gorgeous but you start to feel how linear it all really is. This was marketed as an open world experience and i never got to feel that. Another disappointment was how the shooting segments are placed in corridors and it never gives you the chance to shoot enemies in the desert. You're mostly in your car the entire time you're outside but don't get me wrong the car gameplay is great and easily one of the best if not the best part of the game. And finally, to put the nail in the coffin on one of the worst stories ever, the ending was complete and utter **** Not to spoil anything for people who haven't played it but trust me when i say you're gonna be going "WTF?" when you realize you've just reached the ending. So to sum up, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, some good boss battles and amazing post-apocalyptic world mixed with a disappointing story, forgettable characters, little to no character customization, mediocre side quests and linear experience. 6/10 (I really wanna give it a lower score but gameplay-wise it was a lot of fun) Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2015
    7
    Let me begin saying that i expected this game to be similar to other Bethesda titles such as Elder Scrolls or Fallout. What i got was completly different. Theres alot of things that are good in this game, but unfortunatly there is also alot of bad additions to this title.

    First lets start off with the story. The game is set in the year 2205, 106 years after the near extinction of the
    Let me begin saying that i expected this game to be similar to other Bethesda titles such as Elder Scrolls or Fallout. What i got was completly different. Theres alot of things that are good in this game, but unfortunatly there is also alot of bad additions to this title.

    First lets start off with the story. The game is set in the year 2205, 106 years after the near extinction of the Human Race. Before a Asteroid hit the Earth, the Goverment established The Ark Program. Similar to Fallout in this way, the ark program made several of Vaults throughout America, but unfortunatly there was a corupt general that made it his duty to only unleash certain people from the Ark Program, i dont understand how a general can do this, but eventually he forms The Authority, a Dictator like Goverment in control of the people in the wasteland. For some reason your Ark malfunctions and you are unleashed into the wasteland to find yourself fighting alongside the resistance (actually more or less by yourself) and must help overthrow The Authority. Its a cool little plot, nothing we havent heard of before, but nice. The only problem i see with the story is the fact it wasnt as indepth or long as i expected it to be. i finished the game 7 hours in, and really if you werent paying attention, you wouldnt even know you were on the last mission.

    As for the gameplay, theres alot more to talk about. first of all, theres a ton of guns at your disposal. This includes Assault Rifles, Rocket Launchers, Crossbows, Snipers, LMG's, Pistols etc. Nothing too crazy, but enough. Theres also a wide selection of ammo types for each gun. For example, you can have regular pistol ammo, or you can choose the Fatboys or Killbursts.

    Theres also a decent variety of Enemy types including Bandits, Mutants, Authority Soldiers, and super mutants. Each enemy type have to be attacked differently for best results. for example, the mutants are best killed with a shotgun, to which the authority soldiers are killed the greatest with a LMG. You dont have to change your playstyle too much, but just slightly.

    When it comes to the vehicle's and their uses, they play very similar to Jax and Daxter 3. They are fun to use, and race with. But the problem i saw was that there wasnt really that many important upgrades for your vehicle. There was also no use to upgrade your vehicle, most of the time, you could just zoom past your enemies without a fight on the road, which was sorta dissapointing.

    The next point i want to talk about is the crafting system. throughout the game you will find many items lying around. some are just used to cash in for money, but others can help you craft items such as RC Car Bombs, Bandages, Body Infusions, and Lock Grinders. The problem with this crafting system is that none of the Craft able items really make much of the difference. The only items i crafted were the bandages and Lock Grinders. The rest were sort of pointless, unless your a really **** player, or are on a harder difficulty.

    When it comes to the characters in the game, i believed that each were very unique in their own way. Although most didnt matter what so ever to the games story, or gameplay.

    When it comes to the AI, i believed there were very few problems. The one problem i saw were the Boss Battles, i saw no point in having them because they were incredibly easy. One boss for example only took 3 rocket shots to kill.

    One thing i must talk about that i believe the game could have changed is the Defibrillator System. In the game you have two Defib slots, basically self revive. The only way to fill them is to kill enemies, so its technically not overly OP. But i believe that they should have only given you 1 slot, or made it longer to refill. i definitely got saved by it numerous times when i should have been dead.

    Another problem i saw with the game, was the high number of pointless quests. most of the time they were very quick and easy. very few times were there actually quests that proved to be lengthy and challenging. You also didnt get much rewards or incentive for doing quests other than advancing in the story.

    As for the technical side of the game, i saw that the game had alot of issues. You will frequently see Texture Pop ins everywhere you go. and also when you look far distances you will see a coating or blur o your screen, it was very odd. These are minor, nothing game breaking. But they are there.

    As for the multiplayer, i was very disappointed. I expected them to bring the fun center gameplay from the game to the Multiplayer, but instead they just decided to put in Vehicle Combat modes. The Multiplayer could have been alot of fun and create replay ability.

    Overal i think the game was actually fun. But seeing that the game had several problems that could have been avoided, im going to have to give it a lower score. If they would have fixed the many problems i stated this could have been a 10/10. But im afraid im going to have to give it a 7/10
    Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2014
    7
    This game will leave saying wtf a lot of times! Wtf are the graphics beautiful, wtf is the setting awesome and unfortunately WTF is this game short. Rage has a lot of potential but somehow Bethesda decided to kill alot of it. It could be a awesome openworld experience but instead it is just a good FPS with some nice twists.
  11. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Smooth, sometimes beautiful graphics, and great audio effects. but the gameplay could have been so much more, you can feel that the game oozes potential. especially the ending is a big 'huh? that was it?' moment.
  12. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Rage is an interesting mix of Fallout 3 and Borderlands with the sort of spin on first person shooting that only ID can recreate. Despite the complaints about texture pop-in, you're more likely to ignore little technicaly faults like that when you're knee deep in bandits shooting at you. I do appreciate that it has a much more mature, darker style of gameplay and the graphics are generallyRage is an interesting mix of Fallout 3 and Borderlands with the sort of spin on first person shooting that only ID can recreate. Despite the complaints about texture pop-in, you're more likely to ignore little technicaly faults like that when you're knee deep in bandits shooting at you. I do appreciate that it has a much more mature, darker style of gameplay and the graphics are generally pretty damn astounding. The real letdown comes from the fact that even with the small abundance of side missions, the game is really quite short. Say, within the 10-12 hour range. It's still good for a short ride though, just don't go in expecting the depth and exploration elements that are more familiar with Bestheda's other games Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    After all the hype this game got, i am extremely crushed to my core. The graphics aren't event that good and the world that your given is rather small. Its like a mix of borderlands and fallout 3, but made rubbish, well, rubbish is a strong word. Very average to say the least. You cant even level up, leaving all the repetitive tasks you have to do pointless, it might be worth a rental at most
  14. Feb 23, 2012
    5
    When you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailers it looked very promising . Then i got to play it and the first thing i noticed right off the bat was just how god awful the texture pop in was . yes thoose graphics and facial animations look great when they don't take 5 seconds to load up. nowWhen you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailers it looked very promising . Then i got to play it and the first thing i noticed right off the bat was just how god awful the texture pop in was . yes thoose graphics and facial animations look great when they don't take 5 seconds to load up. now texture pop ups to me is a small gripe if the game play is solid and fun and story is entertaining ... unfortunitly Rage doesnt do much better there eather. the gun play is good and solid and wepon selection great but the story is so abysmally dull you will not give a crap on what is going on. also the missions are just very very bland and repetitive . this game borrows heavily from boarderlands with out the fun, 4 player co-op or HUGE open world to run through. had this game had a huge open world , better missions, a some what a decent story . it could have been a pretty good game worth $60 as it is ... its not even worth renting because of ID's retarded move to lock out some of the the games story content if you dont buy it new. id say im glad i only payed $18 for this new on Amazon only 2 months after it came out but i kind of can't but i atleast can say i am glad i didn't pay $60 for it because if i did it would get a lower score. it took me 3 months to finish the game because i was so bored with the game and not because it was long . it's only about 12 hours which actauly isn't bad for a FPS game but when its so boring i cant play it longer then 20-30 min at a sit down because i know longer give a crap... well that says alot about the game. Expand
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure what the professional reviewers were smoking or drinking to give this game an 80 plus rating. It contains so many problems. I suspect the reviewers concentrated only on the graphics which are really really well done. However, good graphics should be a compliment to the game not the sole criteria by which the game is judged. Just off the top of my head, enemies mutter the sameI'm not sure what the professional reviewers were smoking or drinking to give this game an 80 plus rating. It contains so many problems. I suspect the reviewers concentrated only on the graphics which are really really well done. However, good graphics should be a compliment to the game not the sole criteria by which the game is judged. Just off the top of my head, enemies mutter the same two or three lines "He's over here" or some obsenity I can't put in print here. Game is very linear fetchquest. You go see a character who is a stand still animation mainly saying "Can you help me out?" Over and over. The game is quite linear. The enemies are challenging yet idiots. You can pop one in the head and blood will splatter on the piller behind him but he is totally fine right. Able to just stand there again. Perhaps it would be attention to detail to not have the blood splatter til the character is actually injured to death. And on top of that who gets shot in the head and just kinda hangs out waiting to get popped again? The enemies also retreat on you when it would be a better option to mob you. Essentially they allow you to easily transverse an area by making their attack weaker and less intelligent. Apart from this game having beautiful graphics and being a shooter game it has so many shortcomings. Don't get me wrong this can be a fun game but to get a high rating it also has to have some top end features, which is does not apart from the graphics and graphics alone. Expand
  16. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    This game was definetly over hyped and being that it took 5 years with no dead line to reach, makes this game probably the flop of the year for sure. Graphics are the best around and it seems that id just soley concentrated on that alone. Even so the graphics with this game engine needs 2-3 seconds to load the textures when moving the camera. So even the graphics have issues. TheThis game was definetly over hyped and being that it took 5 years with no dead line to reach, makes this game probably the flop of the year for sure. Graphics are the best around and it seems that id just soley concentrated on that alone. Even so the graphics with this game engine needs 2-3 seconds to load the textures when moving the camera. So even the graphics have issues. The linear missions, length, multiplayer, and ending just make me wonder what was id doing for 5 years BESIDES hyping this game up. They definetly should be ashamed and they are, for they just postponed DOOM 4 indefintly. Expand
  17. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    Good: Graphically the game looks amazing! The screen tearing didnt bother me, it was acceptiable. Game play is sily smooth, with amazing feeling when you have gun battles. Atmosphere is scary when youre exploring the dead city. The music and sound effects are great as well.

    Bad: The whole "Racing" I found to be very childish, it felt like it was just filler to make the game seem longer.
    Good: Graphically the game looks amazing! The screen tearing didnt bother me, it was acceptiable. Game play is sily smooth, with amazing feeling when you have gun battles. Atmosphere is scary when youre exploring the dead city. The music and sound effects are great as well.

    Bad: The whole "Racing" I found to be very childish, it felt like it was just filler to make the game seem longer.
    Story, had a very good start. But then it just became not intresting. The ending of the game, felt like it was rushed. The game had alot of potential, but it just felt like a small area to play in and the gameplay was very linear. Overall I wanted my experience to last in this world, but it was too short and not deep enough.
    Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Rage is my biggest let down of the year. the story is poor and the action is repetitive.I could go on about rage all day but all i need to say is the on the PS3 this game is as good as broken. The graphic pop in and screen tare is that bad i couldn't play it . to top this ID showed of the game saying it was on the PS3 when it quite clearly wasn't as we would have all seen the shoddy jobRage is my biggest let down of the year. the story is poor and the action is repetitive.I could go on about rage all day but all i need to say is the on the PS3 this game is as good as broken. The graphic pop in and screen tare is that bad i couldn't play it . to top this ID showed of the game saying it was on the PS3 when it quite clearly wasn't as we would have all seen the shoddy job they did on the ps3. Very poor. i will not be buying another ID game again Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    The definition of a mediocre game. Many things detract from an experience that could of contended with the other holiday blockbusters, only some of which I will mention. The lack of guns available really impacts the amount of fun to be had in each individual hostile encounter, with each mission always requiring the trip back to stock up on the assault rifle ammo. Linear hallways and roadsThe definition of a mediocre game. Many things detract from an experience that could of contended with the other holiday blockbusters, only some of which I will mention. The lack of guns available really impacts the amount of fun to be had in each individual hostile encounter, with each mission always requiring the trip back to stock up on the assault rifle ammo. Linear hallways and roads soon become an reoccurring theme, with the top-notch AI trying its best to impress with acrobatic manoeuvres and random gun play. Now for Rage's main selling point, its graphics. E3 demos and footage released afterwards showcased the outstanding technical marvel that iD had created, but unfortunately, well for my copy at least, Rage is plagued with 2-3 second delays in texture loading. This may not sound too bad, but with Rage's frantic AI jumping all over the place, each time you look around your greeted with PS2 looking graphics. This review may sound quite negative, but there are very few aspects worthy of praise, rather a quick nod and a mumbled grunt of approval. Rage could of been better, grmph. Expand
  20. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    This game had interesting gameplay ideas, sadly most fall flat on their face, in similiar matter to another FPS called Brink. The gunplay is terrible at times due to enemies being walking bullet sponges, able to take 2 shots to the head to be killed. Combine this with the lack of different we aponry and you have a pretty generic shooter the only redeeming element in combat being theThis game had interesting gameplay ideas, sadly most fall flat on their face, in similiar matter to another FPS called Brink. The gunplay is terrible at times due to enemies being walking bullet sponges, able to take 2 shots to the head to be killed. Combine this with the lack of different we aponry and you have a pretty generic shooter the only redeeming element in combat being the wingsticks. Sure the graphics are pretty but I couldn't give 2 **** about graphics. If you want an interesting and long lasting apocalypse game then just go get Fallout for the PC. 7/10 Expand
  21. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-person shooter, or a racing game. The racing portion was well-made. The vehicles have decent handling and the power-ups make the races quite a bit more interesting by forcing the player to strategize and adapt while racing. The vehicle customization isThis is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-person shooter, or a racing game. The racing portion was well-made. The vehicles have decent handling and the power-ups make the races quite a bit more interesting by forcing the player to strategize and adapt while racing. The vehicle customization is enjoyable, although the selections lacked depth. Vehicle driving consumes a large portion of the first 20 hours of the game. The first-person portion was a bit of a let down to me. The quests are monotonous and repetitive. Small, uni-directional environments make for an uninteresting quest experience. The weapons are difficult to aim, and it seems as though all of the weapons have the same damage effects as well as the same sound effects. The enemies are either over-powered or under-powered, and have incredibly bad A.I. Also, there is no cover system implemented in this game, and your character can often be shot or killed through objects, making for a frustrating gaming experience. Through the first 20 hours of game play, very little information is given on the background of your character (or other characters), and this alienates the player from the game world. There is no feeling of immersion and there is no emotional bond with this game. However, the portion I was really impressed with was the graphics rendering. This game is almost certainly the best-looking PS3 game I have ever played. The game has an impressive environment and art direction. The most impressive graphics feature, however, is that the environment doesn't blur when there is movement on-screen, or when panning the camera. Graphics-wise, this game is beautiful. Expand
  22. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Rage is a mixed bag. Great visuals, silky smooth framerate, solid gunplay, fun driving.... its a technical acheivement, no doubt. It's the design and creativity (or lacktherof) that brings it down a notch or two. A game like this is screaming for some humor, and the few attempts are feeble indeed. The NPC's have no personality whatsoever and are all pretty generic. Even the mutantRage is a mixed bag. Great visuals, silky smooth framerate, solid gunplay, fun driving.... its a technical acheivement, no doubt. It's the design and creativity (or lacktherof) that brings it down a notch or two. A game like this is screaming for some humor, and the few attempts are feeble indeed. The NPC's have no personality whatsoever and are all pretty generic. Even the mutant deathmatch game show host is very "yawn." When creating a game that was no doubt influenced by Borderlands to some extent, its a shame that id didn't learn anything about humor and memorable NPC's. The story, world and ending are also very limited and forgettable. I had a decent time playing this game, but the lack of multiplayer modes, lack of innovation and lack of personality make me feel like id missed to mark on this one. Expand
  23. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    A solid but ultimately disappointing shooter. Graphics look amazing when stood still or in wide open areas but as soon as you get close to things you can't help but be distracted by texture pop up. Exploration is mostly pointless as there is probably less than 1% items found in fallout. Story is very weak. If you could take the graphics ( without pop up), vehicles and guns from this andA solid but ultimately disappointing shooter. Graphics look amazing when stood still or in wide open areas but as soon as you get close to things you can't help but be distracted by texture pop up. Exploration is mostly pointless as there is probably less than 1% items found in fallout. Story is very weak. If you could take the graphics ( without pop up), vehicles and guns from this and combine with everything else from fallout you would have the game of the decade. After 1 playthrough approx 15 hours there is absolutely no reason to ever pick this up again. Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    I liked Rage. It wasn't what I was fearing - which was Borderlands vs. Brink (HATED both of them). Rage actually piqued my interest with the title, the concept and the actual game's intrigue at the onset. The story does fall apart, quickly. There aren't enough reminders that you are from the past and don't really know the world you are in. Things do get interesting mid-way withI liked Rage. It wasn't what I was fearing - which was Borderlands vs. Brink (HATED both of them). Rage actually piqued my interest with the title, the concept and the actual game's intrigue at the onset. The story does fall apart, quickly. There aren't enough reminders that you are from the past and don't really know the world you are in. Things do get interesting mid-way with the build up's realization of the antagonistic entity. I was infuriated by the unbelievably difficult (to me anyway) last couple of levels .... Killing me repeatedly to keep me in the game a few extra minutes, fine. BUT blasting my head off the second I reenter 100+ times is a little ridiculous.

    I'm not even going to discuss the ending, because its just too painful. Multiplayer is fun and addictive, at first, tires quickly. and has little at all to do with the game. i like racing games, but the tie in here was a little awkward (so is the spelling of that word ... ever notice?).
    Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Has SO much potential, but texture popping ruins everything beautiful about the game, and in this day and age it's unacceptable to have a game just walking from person to person telling you what to do, it get's very boring. Worth a play when it drops in price, just cannot wait for Doom 4.
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    One of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch on textures), few can beat this.
  27. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooter that portends good things if they can combine Id's amazing shooter engine with Bethesda's top-notch storytelling.
  28. Oct 16, 2011
    5
    I just wanted to emphasize that, in the PS3 version at least, the texture pop-in is VERY noticeable, to the point of detracting significantly from the experience. A lot of reviewers have been praising Rage's graphics, and when they have had time to load they do look good. But you can see them loading all too well. It's disappointing because graphics are probably this game's strongest feature.
  29. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    This game could have been better. I mean, there are a great variety of good points: great gameplay, outstanding visuals... But, the game let's us go at the main part. The story is disappointing, we can't really get immersed in the world of Rage. The game could have been longer too, it took me 11 hours to finish, which is disappointing too. After finishing the story, we can't continue toThis game could have been better. I mean, there are a great variety of good points: great gameplay, outstanding visuals... But, the game let's us go at the main part. The story is disappointing, we can't really get immersed in the world of Rage. The game could have been longer too, it took me 11 hours to finish, which is disappointing too. After finishing the story, we can't continue to roam in the world of Rage; it was a great point in other games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 (After buying the "Broken steel" DLC).

    It isn't a complete failure, but it could have been better. It's still a good game, but you could wait a couple of months before buying it.
    Expand
  30. Oct 11, 2011
    7
    Rage is a FPS with awesome graphics, array of weapons to choose from and well done voice acting. Missing from the game is a well thought out story and the ability to explore more of the devastated world with your vehicle. This is not an open world game. This feels more like Borderlands than Fallout 3. As others have said, there is potential here but what you do with that potential is allRage is a FPS with awesome graphics, array of weapons to choose from and well done voice acting. Missing from the game is a well thought out story and the ability to explore more of the devastated world with your vehicle. This is not an open world game. This feels more like Borderlands than Fallout 3. As others have said, there is potential here but what you do with that potential is all that matters. ID Software has failed in bringing a different FPS than others have. But if that was there goal than this was a success. They have followed the safe path and released another linear and boring storyline FPS which theirs nothing wrong with if that's your type of game. This game is not all bad as stated before. Game play is somewhat addictive and they do have some interesting weapons and gadgets. Bottom line is if companies are going to take 7 years in creating a video game it better be worth the wait. Scores: Game play 4/5, sound 4/5, graphics 5/5, fun factor 3/5, replay value 3/5. Expand
  31. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    I think this is a great game. It does feel like a mash up of a hand full of other games, (some of which the developer has created anyways), but that doesn't take anything away from it. it has a few texturing issues, and some missions are a bit ridiculous, but as you play through it gets alot better. The guns are great and they feel and sound great. There is a lot to do and see, and it isI think this is a great game. It does feel like a mash up of a hand full of other games, (some of which the developer has created anyways), but that doesn't take anything away from it. it has a few texturing issues, and some missions are a bit ridiculous, but as you play through it gets alot better. The guns are great and they feel and sound great. There is a lot to do and see, and it is alot of fun. I recommend it. Expand
  32. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    The game starts with a story that shows great promise and game play that feels genuinely unique, the enemy AI was very fast and exciting, the driving aspects handle well and felt fresh. Then after about an hour or so, you start to realize that these aspects never evolve into anything more. The gun play never changes and after the first few levels its excitement wears off. The drivingThe game starts with a story that shows great promise and game play that feels genuinely unique, the enemy AI was very fast and exciting, the driving aspects handle well and felt fresh. Then after about an hour or so, you start to realize that these aspects never evolve into anything more. The gun play never changes and after the first few levels its excitement wears off. The driving mechanics are solid but there's no where interesting to drive to. The story had a decent premise but all the NPCs are shallow and their missions do little to develop the plot. These are the underlying issues that plague the game, however, I could go on to list a number of smaller things that really irked me as well. While I did enjoy my time with RAGE, I feel it ultimately failed to do what it set out to accomplish and at a time when there are so many better games on the market, I find it difficult to recommend. Expand
  33. Oct 19, 2011
    5
    Disappointing. The game world is stunning and seems very large, but its so linear. The missions are super repetitive. The guns seem weak.
    Borderland is a clear reference point, and is a superior game.
    I've given up after only a few hours play and I shall be trading it in.
  34. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Not perfect but great fun. FPS gameplay is frenetic and different ammo choices really cool. Pity the enemy AI is pretty non-existent making the game far to easy and strategy rather formulaic, but in the heat of battle with mutants coming from all angles it excels.
  35. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    I got RAGE for different reasons. I wanted a new and fresh FPS and i know how respected developer iD is and it was being published by Bethesda, the creators of some of my favorite games such as Skyrim and Fallout 3. In a way, RAGE does what both developers put on the table, it feels like a combination of an open world and a strong FPS. After that though, it falls flat on being a perfectI got RAGE for different reasons. I wanted a new and fresh FPS and i know how respected developer iD is and it was being published by Bethesda, the creators of some of my favorite games such as Skyrim and Fallout 3. In a way, RAGE does what both developers put on the table, it feels like a combination of an open world and a strong FPS. After that though, it falls flat on being a perfect game. Everyone agrees on one thing though, what it gets right. The game runs super smooth, the combat is near perfect, and the visuals are stunning. The enemy AI is some of the best iv ever seen, they react to your movements and when you shoot them they aren't bullet sponges, they will grab their arm or limp towards you without remorse or care that they are missing a limb. It feels great to play those moments and the visuals make it that much better, looking like one of the best games iv ever seen. The gun types are impressive and there is different types of ammo you can use, so in a way it feels like a combination of Fallout and Bioshock. After all the good things though, it shows its faults. This game must have ADD because you never stay with one idea or story line for very long. If you get bored with a town after a while, don't worry. You wont stay long and then never hear about it again. Did you like a certain character? Too bad, they were there just to get you to point B, then they have no more use. The story just goes everywhere but at the same time nowhere, so it there is no emotional tie to anything. There is also one gameplay aspect that frustrates me. This game is one of those games that NEEDS a good check point system, and this has a terrible one. To get a good challenge out of this game, playing it on hard is the best way to go, but dying will send you almost strait back to the beginning, and some of the areas aren't small. I dont want to keep having to save my game every 5 minutes just to make sure i don't go all the back to where i started. Sadly, its just something you have to deal with, for while this has faults, this game does make you want to keep going to see where you will go next. There are some great characters to see, and some landscapes that will make you picking your jaw off the ground, but you have to drag yourself though a story that tries much to hard to be interesting and a an open world that relies heavily on vehicles to get around, making everything feel smaller then it really is. But if you look past its problems, RAGE could be a fresh and beautiful FPS that might be the fix that you need from military based shooters. Expand
  36. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Rage is an interesting title to say the least, I'm generally not a fan of this Genre, but this looked different. After a slow start to the learning curve, it's not long before you dashing round on missions. The graphics are quite nice, with plenty of detail around the dusty ruins of the post apocalyptic landscape that's a decent size, what would of been nice is a better mapping system,Rage is an interesting title to say the least, I'm generally not a fan of this Genre, but this looked different. After a slow start to the learning curve, it's not long before you dashing round on missions. The graphics are quite nice, with plenty of detail around the dusty ruins of the post apocalyptic landscape that's a decent size, what would of been nice is a better mapping system, allowing you see see the scale, giving you the feel that your experiencing a world filled with adventure. It's an interesting story, and theirs a neat collection of weapons on show here too. The racing elements are barely exciting, as they seem all to easy, giving the feel sometimes of a gap filler, it's certainly no mad max espionage, but still nice to see the effort here.

    Overall nice graphics, decent story, and a sizeable adventure, even though the missions feel more like errand running back and forth sometimes, their is no question that it's worth a purchase, it's simply a fallout fps, with a few niche ideas thrown in to break the usual tone. It's a noble attempt and one to be expanded upon.
    Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Rage is a strange game, I loved the setting and I found the combat a great deal of fun (no one does weapon empowerment quite like id), graphically it looks stunning - although the texture pop-in is extremely noticeable - however the lack of real story was a problem, I think the days of a silent protagonist are behind us. I want a fully formed character, with a history, not some facelessRage is a strange game, I loved the setting and I found the combat a great deal of fun (no one does weapon empowerment quite like id), graphically it looks stunning - although the texture pop-in is extremely noticeable - however the lack of real story was a problem, I think the days of a silent protagonist are behind us. I want a fully formed character, with a history, not some faceless nobody. The ending is something of a disapoinment too. I was hoping for more big boss battles. Although I will say it was a nice change of pace from the average shooter these days, and I really enjoyed the driving elements. It's not a classic by any means but it's solid. Nice to see that id still have something to offer. Expand
  38. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    This game has great graphic and awesome gun play it makes you feel as though every bullet does something. the problem with the game is its so linear there are barely any side quests the story isnt that good and the online is bad. the good news is that all the guns are cool with good ammo types a bunch of different factions citys and the way each faction works works differently to kill youThis game has great graphic and awesome gun play it makes you feel as though every bullet does something. the problem with the game is its so linear there are barely any side quests the story isnt that good and the online is bad. the good news is that all the guns are cool with good ammo types a bunch of different factions citys and the way each faction works works differently to kill you overall give this game a try its very fun Expand
  39. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    While Rage's story may not be so memorable, where Rage really shines is bringing its post-apocalyptic world to life. The expansive crumbling landscapes are easily some of the best looking open world graphics. The characters and quests may not be very interesting, but the solid gameplay makes them enjoyable. Weapons feel powerful and unique and constantly moving enemies adds an intenseWhile Rage's story may not be so memorable, where Rage really shines is bringing its post-apocalyptic world to life. The expansive crumbling landscapes are easily some of the best looking open world graphics. The characters and quests may not be very interesting, but the solid gameplay makes them enjoyable. Weapons feel powerful and unique and constantly moving enemies adds an intense challenge. Voice acting is solid and character animations look incredible. Environments are believable and mini-games and car combat add immersion to Rage's vast landscape. While not very original, Rage succeeds where it counts.. it's fun to play! Expand
  40. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    Funny look, nasty, varied enemies and funny residents delight from the first moment. Control passes liquid from the hand. A bit too flat and predictable, the story is presented.
  41. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    the game is fine and all but i wanted a first person shooter, not twisted metal, if they didnt force you to shoot all those cars i would of given a better score.
  42. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Lasting Appeal:
    RAGE is a great shooter and quite fun to play once you forget about the world it is set in. Having such a diverse world in this kind of game makes you want to explore and find out
    about this history of the game. The absence of any real story makes the game feel ultimatly forgettable and the lack of an online competitive mode that is of the same genre to the main game
    Lasting Appeal:
    RAGE is a great shooter and quite fun to play once you forget about the world it is set in. Having such a diverse world in this kind of game makes you want to explore and find out
    about this history of the game. The absence of any real story makes the game feel ultimatly forgettable and the lack of an online competitive mode that is of the same genre to the main
    game will leave you unsatisfied and never returning to this game upon completion. Even if you are a hardcore fan of Post Apocolyptic worlds, the game doesnt have more than 10-20
    (being generous) hours of content in it that will keep you playing. I would reccommend renting it or purchasing on sale just for the experience of the shooting in the single player campaign. In the end it feels like a fun but unfinished shooter that ends too quickly.

    Trophy Difficulty:
    Medium.

    Story: 3/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Graphics: 6/10
    Sound: 8/10
    Lasting Appeal: 5/10

    Read my full review: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/rage-review/
    Expand
  43. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    Rage has some excellent moments and some rather dull ones. This will appeal to the majority of FPS fans as its a very good game. However, the game has a few too many dull missions that might try and make you not want to come back to the game. This is the reason Rage isn't as any where near as good as Crysis 2. The shooting here is exceptional though and feels realistic. A very good gameRage has some excellent moments and some rather dull ones. This will appeal to the majority of FPS fans as its a very good game. However, the game has a few too many dull missions that might try and make you not want to come back to the game. This is the reason Rage isn't as any where near as good as Crysis 2. The shooting here is exceptional though and feels realistic. A very good game indeed. Much better than CoD Blops. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]