User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 310

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    So many haters. The PC community is the worst. Thankfully I got this on PS3. No lag issues on PS3 and only one disk compared to 360's three. Lot of people complaining about the creator and such, who cares talk about the game. So i'm going to compare this to games I know. Borderlands. So much like borderlands, go to people for quests, go to area, kill guys, go back to person. The missions and such are less varied than borderlands but it's also a much smaller game. Its hard not to think of borderlands when playing this if you have played borderlands. Even the car bits remind me. The graphics are like borderlands mixed with photo-realism to make a gorgeous style/setting when the graphics are all loaded in. So far this game has mad texture pop in and it's distracting in large areas. In smaller areas it's much better and looks fantastic. Unlike Borderlands however this is not an RPG. People are comparing it to Fallout 3/new vegas also, this is a FPS people with some RPG elements. Lots of games now have RPG elements and it can't be a crazy awesome RPG by Bethesda because they have been making Skyrim. So compare it the FPS games out there. Much better than most I think. Better setting/story then modern warfare games single player (especially 2) and not far behind black ops. The story is ok yes but what games of this nature (FPS) ever have an amazing story? Until Christopher Nolan writes a game this story is just fine, predictable and cliche but not terrible as people are saying. But it comes down to gameplay and this game is fun to play. I have no idea why so many people are complaining about how horrible this game is or why it seems to be getting spammed with negative scores. Go play G.I. Joe and tell me Rage is a bad game! It has some technical hick-ups but for the most part it runs and plays fine. The quests are about going to a new area and killing people because this is a shooter, you go and shoot things in new areas. What else do you want to be doing? The cars are a nice break and the mini games are fun a couple of times. Haven't touched multiplayer yet as it's only been a day and I have to work too. But I saw too many bad reviews so I had to say I am enjoying this game a lot and I do not feel bad about dropping $60 on it. If you are worried wait a week or more and look online, you can find it cheaper. Glyde/game market $50 right over there -------------------------------------> Anyway giving it a 9/10 because I dislike cry babies who are never satisfied. Not a perfect game but what ones really are and in the end a very enjoyable ride. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone!
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I personally like this game. Graphics are good, controls are good, plot's above average, and gameplay is just plain awesome. Only things I dislike are the racing part of multiplayer; it gets boring very quickly. Also, I both do & don't like the sniper rifle, both reasons are because you don't have to lead your target, its literally point and shoot. While convenient, its unrealistic. I would give it a 9, but if you read other comments you realize some people have mistaken this for the RAGE PC page and talk about the issues on PC, therefore I shall give it a 10. Ah, who am I kidding, I'd give it a 10 anyway, but seriously guys, go talk about the PC problems on the PC page. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Well so far i will score a 9 , havent finished yet maybe a 10 when finished. This game is brilliant, it's freash and real good fun. dont listen to the negative reviews. The graphics are great although you can tell that its alot for the system to handle. one thing remember to save game on a regular basis. one thing that is annoying is the loading times when you die. Have fun with this game i sure as hell am :) Felicrux : this game has Potenial WTF. this game is brilliant. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Beautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that's new.In fact,some gameplay elements are archaic in nature;the quest structure for example.I enjoyed the vehicles a great deal,and didn't mind the arcade style driving.The FPS mechanics are typical id software,which is to say that they are great though the game descends into corridor shooting a lot,which the developers made famous in the 90's.All in all,the amazing visuals,fun vehicle elements and upgrades add a couple of points to what is essentially an old school FPS. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Fluidity is the first thing I noticed when I played the game. I love the randomness, reminds me of a mixture of fallout3 and borderlands. I am enjoying it very much, I was very shocked to look up the rating after playing the game to see it so low. People, if you have a console that supprts this game, "GET IT".
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Good graphics, good sound, good racing, good AI, impressive arsenal, amazing shooting! Thanks id. Go Doom 4 and Rage 2 :) Haters gonna hate.
  8. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    This is some of the best fun I have had in a while with a FPS game. The driving sections are not really needed and don't add anything to the gameplay, apart from breaking up the hugely enjoyable shooting sections. The FPS/shooting parts of the game is where is excels, the weapons make this game an absolute laugh at times, enemies are quick if a little too 'pop n duck' at times. Story is not really there and it is very linear, but I personally prefer a less open world as I don't like to spend a lifetime within a game.

    Given 10 to counter the poor reviews which is unfair. (8)

    Recommended.
    Expand
  9. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    this carries on a trend I am 100% behind, being a move away from modern warfare and tactical ops games. Rage reminds me why I fell in love with shooters 16-odd years ago. its eminently playable, stylistically beautiful, smooth and full of character. the natural evolution of the id pedigree and a bloody fun game!
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I dont get it. Reviewers criticize Rage for being not intuitive and repetetive etc. But games like Killzone 3 or Resistance 3 (not saying that these games suck, i also enjoyed them) or Call of Duty / Battlefield receive overhyped reviews and scores. I mean common, Rage offers: - Races - Open World like gameplay - Superp Shooting - Great enemy animations - Side-JObs - Mini-Games - Collectibles - Coop-Multiplayer
    - Crafting (Upgradeable items)
    - Different Ammo-Types
    - Different Cars (Upgradeable)
    - Armor (Upgradeable)
    - Really nice GFX

    So what else do you want?!!??!?!?!?!? What did Killzone 3 or Resistance 3 etc. do so significantly better?? If you enjoyed games like Borderlands, Fallout etc. give it a try! 99% That you'll enjoy this game as much as i do right now.
    Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    This game is like getting 3 games in one. The campaign by itself is fun with a GTA style mission system and great gun play. A little light in the story dept. but most FPS games are so I'm really not going to complain about it. The texture loading is minimal and for graphics that look this good I'm not going to complain as it really has no effect on game play. There are some decent upgrades for both weapons and vehicles not to mention you can collect items and create your own stuff similar to games like Oblivion of Fallout. You also get an awesome online Mad Max road warrior style 4 player car combat mode that is really fun and frantic! This mode alone makes the game worth it to me. This is car combat done better than I have ever seen anyplace else perhaps excluding Twisted Metal.

    On top of that you get an online two player co-op mode very similar to spec-ops in the CoD series. This is great fun especially trying to beat all the level on the hardest difficulty with a buddy. There is a ton of quality and fun packed into one single game here so nobody should miss RAGE!
    Expand
  12. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    game is phenomenal... defientely oozes with content, gameplay, modes, graphics. Do everything the game has to offer and it will last you 20+ hours easily. Some of the best vehicles, enemies, AI, and weapons/invetory system i've ever seen.

    MP vehicle challenges are a blast, and coop is very challenging.

    10/10. Great job id & bethesda!
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I've been waiting for this game for a long time. Rage is a great game and I don't understand why people are giving it so much **** It's obvious that id spent a lot of time on this game and really paid a lot of attention to detail. The gameplay is just silky smooth with the new Tech5 engine and I don't believe I've played another FPS that has this good of controls. The graphics are just amazing and the detail even made my wife (who hates video games) stand back in awe. The racing sequences are also amazing; reminds me of Motorstorm quite a bit. As for the flaws and my criticism, the texture popping is noticeable but hasn't deterred me from enjoying the **** out of this game. Also, a full map of the wasteland and waypoints would have been a great addition to the game. Other than that, I'm more than happy with my purchase and have been recommending this game to everyone. Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Man i fell for the hype. What a let down. It a smaller copy version of Borderland. Period. I finished it in 13 hours. COME ON. First was the horrible graphic of tearing screen staring straight at me. AND they said they have done the testing before releasing the game. SURE oh please.
    This is what you get when you design a game for the console first then the PC. Water-down,
    unplayable, and limited choices.
    Borderland took me 30 to 40 hours because i enjoy driving around looking at the scenery. WHERE THE scenery in this game? Other than the city part, not much.
    I would advise to stay away from this game until they get it fixes properly and added at least to more maps.
    Seriously i got shot thousand of time and I don't need to repair or upgrade up battle suit??????
    Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! Id software, many thanks for your games!
    This one is awesome! It has a perfect gameplay, a perfect soundtrack, the driving sequence are really cool, the animations are incredible. The only thing i've hated is the texture issues!
    But, who cares, the games is awesome as it is
  16. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    I am about 4 - 5 hours into the game and I enjoy it tremendously. This game has some insane graphics. Hands down one of the best to date. The game is superb combination of first person shooter, role playing and racing game. It is refreshing to play this game after boring single player call of duty type games over and over again. I love all small details in this game. Side missions are cool and fun to play. .Mutant bash TV is just awesome [remains me of old game called Smash TV] The game has some crazy looking, superb weapons with different types of ammunition. There are several types of vehicles in this game. Vehicles can be customized with weapons and decals. Rage is great game. You should definitely give it a try. Expand
  17. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    It's a first person shooter with driving bits in that are on par with a decent driving game. Shooting mechanics are are some of the best you will find on PC or Console. The enemy AI is some of the best on the market when using their ability to use use the terran to their advantage. Story is ok, its not going to win any awards but keeps the game ticking along nicely.

    I have both the 360
    and PC version, after some pain with the PC drivers game runs good, with the PC just having sharper graphics. Overall great game from ID. Just remember its a shooter not a RPG and its the best shooter and looker so far. Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    5.7 that is waay to low of a score than what the game actually deserves, its by no means a classic from id but its still a damn good game and i don't regret buying it. The graphics are amazing for a 5 year old machine, the guns feel really good and sound good and the driving is actually very well done. The only problem i had with this game is that it did get a little repetitive towards the end but that doesn't last to long, i thoroughly enjoyed it, just because people had high expectations and it didn't meet them doesn't mean you should bash this game, i recommend this game to everyone especially fps fans it really is a great game. Expand
  19. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Excellent Graphics, Sound, Game play, Story and really fun Vehicle Combat. Only thing I wish they had more DLC as well Team Death Match online. Also a more customize options for the character would have been a plus; but still I enjoy purchasing upgrades at the outlets. These would have made my score a 10.
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game... the graphics are awesome... its tons of fun and the story is simple and interesting. It doesn't to put you into a world of amazing characters and a deep story line with absolute freedom in game play... but what I do promise is that you will be amazed by its awesome visuals fun gameplay and just downright pure entertainment.
  21. dpc
    Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Played this when it came out and was underwhelmed. Whoever kept touting the "rpg" aspect of it did a disservice to a game that while certainly not Skyrim, does allow you to upgrade your car and whatnot in a fun way. I picked it up again recently for under $15 and I'm having a total blast a lot more fun for some reason than when I first played. I think because I've done the Fallouts and Borderlands, that comparison is not as in my face and I'm really enjoying it for what it is. And as a balls out FPS with incredible graphics and gameplay it is a real success. Well worth your time and money. Expand
  22. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I am here to pay my respect to ID Software, and because i am getting really tired of all those people whining and **** about ID's latest product. I do really feel bad for the Pc gamers when Rage was just released. But, i was thinking, (And this is pure speculation from my side, and not based on any facts.) that it was not completely ID's fault, that Rage had so many problems on PC, when it came out, because if i am not mistaken ID has to listen to Bethesda nowadays, and they could have forced ID to release Rage in it's almost finished condition, but then again this is pure speculation from my side. I also dislike Pc gamers putting their experiences in the Ps3 section of Metacritic ! Please stick to your own page, because you give Ps3 gamers the wrong impression. I bought this game on Ps3, but my Pc could also handle this game, i simply choose the Ps3 version because i prefer gaming on my big screen, with my surround system, on my comfortable couch :). I always had a thing for ID's games, back since 1990 when i started playing the first Commander Keen, when i was 10 years old. After that i played a lot of Id's games, like the Commander Keen series, Wolfenstein 3D, Spear Of Destiny, Doom 1,2,3 and add ons, Herretic, Hexen, etc etc. I also played doom on many different systems, like the Sega 32x, but i also managed to get Doom 1 & 2 working on my Amiga 1200, unofficially that is :) ... using Adoom ;-). When i first started playing Rage on my Ps3, i was overwhelmed by the graphics and the stable frame rate, but also the sound, which sounds very "crispy" in DTS (Only a handful of games on Ps3 are DTS compatible, most are only Dolby Digital.) All the problems Rage has on Pc, are not to be found in the Ps3 version, except for some very light screen tearing from time to time, and the Texture pop in, which i do find a bit annoying, and i still hope this can be fixed. I am an easy gamer, i play games for the fun of playing, i do not need a lot of competition, and i do not need to prove myself to others when playing my favourite games. So i started playing Rage on easy, and was dropped in it's amazing world. The atmosphere, the vibe, and the things you notice when playing in a "relaxed" condition are simply amazing ! and truly remarkable !. From a gentle dust wind, to flies flying over rotting corpses :-) there's a lot of detail to be found in this game, if you take the time to notice it. When i first arrived at Wellspring, i was truly overwhelmed by the amount of detail, like when you walk in the alley where it's dripping with water, i like to stand still at those moments, and just listen to the sound when i move my camera to hear the dripping from the back to the front, and looking at the wonderful created environment. Honestly, at the beginning when i just arrived at Wellspring the first 10 minutes, i was just looking at buildings and people, thinking wow... this is amazing. The shooting is pretty old school, and from time to time pretty intense, but to me, that's a good thing. (I do would like a little bit of extra ammo though... hehe :-) ) The racing aspect has also been implemented wonderfully, and creates this extra dimension in Rage, as quite a racing fan, to me, this extra feature was a real treat. The car / buggy handling is very tight, and controls really well ! Because of the stable frame rate at 60fps, the driving is really smooth and therefore a true delight. To me everything in Rage works well, the wastelands are also truly amazing and the level design is superb. Even tough the multiplayer may not be al that, i really enjoyed the couple of matches i played so far, also because i seem te be pretty good at it. The multiplayer looks and feels a little bit like Hardware Online Arena on Ps2, it's really nice for an hour or something, and can be easily picked up at any time, it's quite good actually, but should have been a little bit better. All & all to me, Rage is a true masterpiece that just needs a little more polishing, Rage really has that ID vibe throughout the whole game which i like very much. I also would like te thank Id for the Wolfenstein & Doom easter egs hidden in the game ! (I found out by youtube) they really put a smile on my face ! Thank you once more Id for making the beautiful game ! I am really looking forward to Doom 4 :-). Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Great new IP from ID ! Manages to capture the intensity of a apocalyptic aftermath very well. Despite the technical flaws on console due to low RAM an intense fight out in the wasteland. Many people had issues with the ending, but overall it was very very thrilling to get there
  24. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I wasn't particularly excited about Rage. But I bought it anyway, because I was aching to trade some games in, so I thought I'd give Rage a shot. And I am incredibly happy I did so. I'm not the biggest FPS fan and I do have 2 COD games and some Battlefield games but other than that first person shooters aren't my game of choice. But there is something about Rage... Rage is amazing and is definitely the best FPS of 2011. It has incredible visuals, fantastic AI, great (but few) weapons, fantastic animation and a so-so story. It certainly isn't the best game I've played and does have a few problems, such as a bad save system, fairly boring story, and not very fun exploration and some texture pop in. But this game is simply not to be missed. It has some of the best FPS gameplay I have ever played and EVERY bullet that hits an enemy feels powerful because every bullet has an effect. Rage is a fantastic game and I strongly recommend it. Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    AWESOME graphics + great music + old-school shooter + enemies AI + big map to explore + Mad Max + Borderlands + Fallout 3 + John Camrack + boogies + races + cooperative online multiplayer missions + online competitive fighting races
  26. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I did enjoy RAGE alot to be fair, granted, it isn't long like the other games created, but, it adds a little twist to it, as opposed to swords, spells etc, Good racing tracks/computers, Guns and Bigger Guns!
  27. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Great game period. Granted not perfect but obviously its combo of incredible graphics, textures, gorgeously fitting color pallet, and stunning frame rate (60fps) make it a visual masterpiece with best in class aesthetics dominating its commonly compared borderlands and fallout 3 bretheren in this department. Guns feel heavy, gunshots sound aggressive and badass, and enemies react to every shot they are hit with in a realistic way with impressively animated deaths. The animators at id software knocked it out the park with the games many fluid and jaw dropping animations, from crazed mutants ravenously coming after you, to salty bandits flailing back from gunfire ultimately spinning and falling face first to their death these animations are handled with a smoothness and degree of movement not often(if ever) seen in the video game industry. The sound shines with the vaunted John Goodman lending his voice acting talents. The game isn't short with all the side quests and loot hunting offered as well as a very arcade like but enjoyable racing and vehicle combat section (though a bit easy). The weapons are varied enough with all guns and crossbow having several different ammo types, but the clear cut star of your arsenal is the innovative and devilishly fun wing stick. The wing stick is a type of three bladed boomerang that you throw at your enemies for frequent decapitations and severed limbs, it also can be upgraded to target enemies,do more damage, and return to your hand like a boomerang (did i mention it can slice the head off of multiple enemies in a row).You also find or buy blueprints in the wasteland which build new weapons/guns, upgradable turrets and robots, and even a mini remote controlled truck with bombs attached to it which you can remote detonate (also useful for scouting out enemy camps). You do however rehash the same levels at times with minor differences but with having to make such detailed landscapes it's understandable. The game includes many enjoyable mini games such as five finger fillet, a guitar hero like game called strum, and a very fun card game similar to magic the gathering with picture cards of different in game characters and factions that you find throughout the wasteland to strengthen your deck(trust me i am not a card or magic t.g. fan but this is fun). The world isn't as big as fallout but it is as big as it needs to be.It has a fun but not as varied separate coop campaign and online multiplayer in the form of exciting vehicle combat races. I know it isn't the 4 player coop of borderlands but unless you are the type who is compulsive about having 50,000 guns and cell shaded graphics it might be a better all around game than the first borderlands(i do love borderlands by the way). People say Rage doesn't have a story and it has an "okay" if not fleshed out enough story but borderlands though it is entertaining has basically no story at all(you are on pandora- now find this vault).Some found Rage to have a weak ending? Not half as dissapointing as borderlands ending (can anyone say they were pleased with what they found in the vault?) Overall Rage is a breath of fresh air that beckons back to id's yesteryear of gaming (doom,quake) the combat is in your face and aggressive differing from this generation's Gears of Wear totally cover based pop and shoot style of combat (when i am a badass muscle bound space marine i don't want to spend 75% of the game on my knees, i know a few gals who hangout on the corner they can give marcus pheonix a pair of kneepads they spend alot of time on their knees too).Rage has a ton of nostalgic eastereggs too, if you are a Doom,wolfenstein, Quake or id fan you need to get this game for the eastereggs alone! I won't spoil it but let's just say these eastereggs are very.....interactive. The sad thing is that Rage2 was in the works but seeing how Rage undersold they cancelled production and killed the would be series. This was new IP from the fathers of FPS and after all that time they delivered, and after getting their feet wet in this generation with Rage i can assume building on Rage's engine and the experience with Rage would have prepped them to deliver even bigger on Rage2 (can you imagine what that game would of looked like.) Rage is a very strong game and worth the experience it should have sold 5mil. Rage gets a 9 out of 10. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]