User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 312 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 312

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    Rage has some excellent moments and some rather dull ones. This will appeal to the majority of FPS fans as its a very good game. However, the game has a few too many dull missions that might try and make you not want to come back to the game. This is the reason Rage isn't as any where near as good as Crysis 2. The shooting here is exceptional though and feels realistic. A very good game indeed. Much better than CoD Blops. Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    Rage is a good game. Would've expected something different from Id and Bethesda, but it is a fun game. Started on Nightmare difficulty for the trophy, and that already picks away the fun and replaces it with rage... (Yeah ha ha ha). Most people (one of which, myself) will probably need to get used to the shooting in the game. 'Firing from the hip' is an impossible job (probably because you do damage like **** on Nightmare) mostly because of the mutants, pumped with steroids, jumping all over the place. I like the style, I like the interactions, the people, the voice acting, the gameplay.. Simply: This game is awesome. Indeed it has some negatives. I haven't found that many yet, but I'm already needing help with the 'quests' and saw that the game is quite short. Yet, it's worth every penny of my 20 bucks which I paid (and it's the Anarchy Edition too) so if you might stumble upon a copy for that price, you wouldn't regret it. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    While Rage's story may not be so memorable, where Rage really shines is bringing its post-apocalyptic world to life. The expansive crumbling landscapes are easily some of the best looking open world graphics. The characters and quests may not be very interesting, but the solid gameplay makes them enjoyable. Weapons feel powerful and unique and constantly moving enemies adds an intense challenge. Voice acting is solid and character animations look incredible. Environments are believable and mini-games and car combat add immersion to Rage's vast landscape. While not very original, Rage succeeds where it counts.. it's fun to play! Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    Funny look, nasty, varied enemies and funny residents delight from the first moment. Control passes liquid from the hand. A bit too flat and predictable, the story is presented.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    the game is fine and all but i wanted a first person shooter, not twisted metal, if they didnt force you to shoot all those cars i would of given a better score.
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    AWESOME graphics + great music + old-school shooter + enemies AI + big map to explore + Mad Max + Borderlands + Fallout 3 + John Camrack + boogies + races + cooperative online multiplayer missions + online competitive fighting races
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    Honestly i expected more from id Software. Unlikable characters (i mean ALL of them with the idiot sitting in the toilet or whatever that is taking prize number one). The story is very shallow and doesn't come together AT ALL. The action is not the worse that i've seen but it´s not the best either. The game on the PS3 looks bad and the textures take way too long to load up. And don't even make talk about that stupid multyplayer concept... Expand
  8. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I did enjoy RAGE alot to be fair, granted, it isn't long like the other games created, but, it adds a little twist to it, as opposed to swords, spells etc, Good racing tracks/computers, Guns and Bigger Guns!
  9. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Cost me £5 for the Anarchy Edition and its a great game very similar to Borderlands but with superior shooting from id , the AI from the enemy is a pleasure to experience.
    First thing i did was max up the sensitivity and yes i noticed the texture pop up but you know what........it still looks and amazing and runs faster than a rocket.

    Negative comment - Multiplayer..........fun
    but come on guys...i want deathmatch and CTF on foot , buggies should be optional not compulsory. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Lasting Appeal:
    RAGE is a great shooter and quite fun to play once you forget about the world it is set in. Having such a diverse world in this kind of game makes you want to explore and find out
    about this history of the game. The absence of any real story makes the game feel ultimatly forgettable and the lack of an online competitive mode that is of the same genre to the main
    game
    will leave you unsatisfied and never returning to this game upon completion. Even if you are a hardcore fan of Post Apocolyptic worlds, the game doesnt have more than 10-20
    (being generous) hours of content in it that will keep you playing. I would reccommend renting it or purchasing on sale just for the experience of the shooting in the single player campaign. In the end it feels like a fun but unfinished shooter that ends too quickly.

    Trophy Difficulty:
    Medium.

    Story: 3/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Graphics: 6/10
    Sound: 8/10
    Lasting Appeal: 5/10

    Read my full review: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/rage-review/
    Expand
  11. May 13, 2013
    8
    Rage is an absolutely beautiful game! The post apocalyptic world that its set in is by far the star of this game!! Along with this, Rage also has some brutal and satisfying combat and those are the things that you need to come for, because the story of this game is definitely the weakest link and pales in comparison to the rest of the experience.
  12. May 8, 2013
    1
    A Rip off of Fallout and a waste of money. The game's pop in texture was abysmal. Storyline was quite boring and multilayer was insanely infuriating because of how dumb it was I didn't have fun playing. Driving mechanics are quite odd too. The game seemed dull and very ordinary. The only thing thats good is the graphics but aside from that...its all garbage.
  13. May 25, 2013
    8
    I would like to give Rage a 7 or less, since it does come with quite many bugs and visual problems. But there is just something about it that keeps dragging me back! First of all, the gunfights are some of the best around. The animations of the enemies looks very realistic, and the world has that rugged, Mad Max 2 kind of atmosphere. I can imagine this is what Fallout 4 will eventually look like, with more freedom of course.

    As for the negatives: During certain cut scenes the audio breaks, which can be annoying. The characters you meet will sometimes suffer from the age old "audio out of sync with lip movements" problem which is, to say the least, irritating. Finally, the textures load very slowly in this game. As soon as you look in a new direction, the objects near you will start to load their textures, somewhat breaking the immersion.

    Technical issues aside, Rage is a blast to play, outside and inside your vehicle, much thanks to the awesome shooting mechanics. If you like post-apocalypse, this is a game for you!
    Expand
  14. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Great game period. Granted not perfect but obviously its combo of incredible graphics, textures, gorgeously fitting color pallet, and stunning frame rate (60fps) make it a visual masterpiece with best in class aesthetics dominating its commonly compared borderlands and fallout 3 bretheren in this department. Guns feel heavy, gunshots sound aggressive and badass, and enemies react to every shot they are hit with in a realistic way with impressively animated deaths. The animators at id software knocked it out the park with the games many fluid and jaw dropping animations, from crazed mutants ravenously coming after you, to salty bandits flailing back from gunfire ultimately spinning and falling face first to their death these animations are handled with a smoothness and degree of movement not often(if ever) seen in the video game industry. The sound shines with the vaunted John Goodman lending his voice acting talents. The game isn't short with all the side quests and loot hunting offered as well as a very arcade like but enjoyable racing and vehicle combat section (though a bit easy). The weapons are varied enough with all guns and crossbow having several different ammo types, but the clear cut star of your arsenal is the innovative and devilishly fun wing stick. The wing stick is a type of three bladed boomerang that you throw at your enemies for frequent decapitations and severed limbs, it also can be upgraded to target enemies,do more damage, and return to your hand like a boomerang (did i mention it can slice the head off of multiple enemies in a row).You also find or buy blueprints in the wasteland which build new weapons/guns, upgradable turrets and robots, and even a mini remote controlled truck with bombs attached to it which you can remote detonate (also useful for scouting out enemy camps). You do however rehash the same levels at times with minor differences but with having to make such detailed landscapes it's understandable. The game includes many enjoyable mini games such as five finger fillet, a guitar hero like game called strum, and a very fun card game similar to magic the gathering with picture cards of different in game characters and factions that you find throughout the wasteland to strengthen your deck(trust me i am not a card or magic t.g. fan but this is fun). The world isn't as big as fallout but it is as big as it needs to be.It has a fun but not as varied separate coop campaign and online multiplayer in the form of exciting vehicle combat races. I know it isn't the 4 player coop of borderlands but unless you are the type who is compulsive about having 50,000 guns and cell shaded graphics it might be a better all around game than the first borderlands(i do love borderlands by the way). People say Rage doesn't have a story and it has an "okay" if not fleshed out enough story but borderlands though it is entertaining has basically no story at all(you are on pandora- now find this vault).Some found Rage to have a weak ending? Not half as dissapointing as borderlands ending (can anyone say they were pleased with what they found in the vault?) Overall Rage is a breath of fresh air that beckons back to id's yesteryear of gaming (doom,quake) the combat is in your face and aggressive differing from this generation's Gears of Wear totally cover based pop and shoot style of combat (when i am a badass muscle bound space marine i don't want to spend 75% of the game on my knees, i know a few gals who hangout on the corner they can give marcus pheonix a pair of kneepads they spend alot of time on their knees too).Rage has a ton of nostalgic eastereggs too, if you are a Doom,wolfenstein, Quake or id fan you need to get this game for the eastereggs alone! I won't spoil it but let's just say these eastereggs are very.....interactive. The sad thing is that Rage2 was in the works but seeing how Rage undersold they cancelled production and killed the would be series. This was new IP from the fathers of FPS and after all that time they delivered, and after getting their feet wet in this generation with Rage i can assume building on Rage's engine and the experience with Rage would have prepped them to deliver even bigger on Rage2 (can you imagine what that game would of looked like.) Rage is a very strong game and worth the experience it should have sold 5mil. Rage gets a 9 out of 10. Expand
  15. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    Rage had a good intro and the set up was decent enough but it never gets better. The characters are forgettable, the story is even more so and you just don't care about what's going on. The gameplay and graphics were pretty topnotch though and the post-apocalyptic setting was gorgeous but you start to feel how linear it all really is. This was marketed as an open world experience and i never got to feel that. Another disappointment was how the shooting segments are placed in corridors and it never gives you the chance to shoot enemies in the desert. You're mostly in your car the entire time you're outside but don't get me wrong the car gameplay is great and easily one of the best if not the best part of the game. And finally, to put the nail in the coffin on one of the worst stories ever, the ending was complete and utter **** Not to spoil anything for people who haven't played it but trust me when i say you're gonna be going "WTF?" when you realize you've just reached the ending. So to sum up, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, some good boss battles and amazing post-apocalyptic world mixed with a disappointing story, forgettable characters, little to no character customization, mediocre side quests and linear experience. 6/10 (I really wanna give it a lower score but gameplay-wise it was a lot of fun) Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    El potencial de "Rage" logra narrar de manera lucrativa una fascinante historia que se desarrolla en La Tierra post apocalíptica; con gráficos increíbles y demás. Sabía que una empresa tan poderosa y prestigiosa como ID no me iba a decepcionar y mucho menos con este juegaso. Se los recomiendo a los que les gusten los juegos first person shooter y conducir vehículos personalizados.
  17. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    I liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiked the game Rage very much !
    It was different, fun to play, etc.
    But the end of the game was a dissapointment ...
    Suddenly the game was finished.

    I REALY hope there will be another game of Rage in the future and a much longer gameplay
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]