User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 319

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is often given a lot of flak.

    I also have my criticism:
    The world does not feel like a free-roam exploration world like it hints to be
    and there is nearly absolutely nothing to explore outside action-determined-areas.

    Also, spoiler alert,

    the ending was highly unsatisfactory!

    But...
    Having said that,
    i will also say:

    I absolutely LOVED playing this game!

    The graphics are excellent.

    Game-play is very fluid, very easy to play
    and difficulty is balanced throughout the game.

    And
    the surroundings (in said action-determined-areas) are extremely immersive!

    For the obvious pitfalls of the game, non the less:
    I think Rage is a greatly detailed, highly immersive, fun,shooter!
    Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    6.1 by user score, really? are you pothead? cmom, this is a amazing game, incrible, better than FallOut 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    I liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiked the game Rage very much !
    It was different, fun to play, etc.
    But the end of the game was a dissapointment ...
    Suddenly the game was finished.

    I REALY hope there will be another game of Rage in the future and a much longer gameplay
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    Rage had a good intro and the set up was decent enough but it never gets better. The characters are forgettable, the story is even more so and you just don't care about what's going on. The gameplay and graphics were pretty topnotch though and the post-apocalyptic setting was gorgeous but you start to feel how linear it all really is. This was marketed as an open world experience and i never got to feel that. Another disappointment was how the shooting segments are placed in corridors and it never gives you the chance to shoot enemies in the desert. You're mostly in your car the entire time you're outside but don't get me wrong the car gameplay is great and easily one of the best if not the best part of the game. And finally, to put the nail in the coffin on one of the worst stories ever, the ending was complete and utter **** Not to spoil anything for people who haven't played it but trust me when i say you're gonna be going "WTF?" when you realize you've just reached the ending. So to sum up, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, some good boss battles and amazing post-apocalyptic world mixed with a disappointing story, forgettable characters, little to no character customization, mediocre side quests and linear experience. 6/10 (I really wanna give it a lower score but gameplay-wise it was a lot of fun) Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    El potencial de "Rage" logra narrar de manera lucrativa una fascinante historia que se desarrolla en La Tierra post apocalíptica; con gráficos increíbles y demás. Sabía que una empresa tan poderosa y prestigiosa como ID no me iba a decepcionar y mucho menos con este juegaso. Se los recomiendo a los que les gusten los juegos first person shooter y conducir vehículos personalizados.
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    the game is fine and all but i wanted a first person shooter, not twisted metal, if they didnt force you to shoot all those cars i would of given a better score.
  7. dpc
    Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Played this when it came out and was underwhelmed. Whoever kept touting the "rpg" aspect of it did a disservice to a game that while certainly not Skyrim, does allow you to upgrade your car and whatnot in a fun way. I picked it up again recently for under $15 and I'm having a total blast a lot more fun for some reason than when I first played. I think because I've done the Fallouts and Borderlands, that comparison is not as in my face and I'm really enjoying it for what it is. And as a balls out FPS with incredible graphics and gameplay it is a real success. Well worth your time and money. Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Great game period. Granted not perfect but obviously its combo of incredible graphics, textures, gorgeously fitting color pallet, and stunning frame rate (60fps) make it a visual masterpiece with best in class aesthetics dominating its commonly compared borderlands and fallout 3 bretheren in this department. Guns feel heavy, gunshots sound aggressive and badass, and enemies react to every shot they are hit with in a realistic way with impressively animated deaths. The animators at id software knocked it out the park with the games many fluid and jaw dropping animations, from crazed mutants ravenously coming after you, to salty bandits flailing back from gunfire ultimately spinning and falling face first to their death these animations are handled with a smoothness and degree of movement not often(if ever) seen in the video game industry. The sound shines with the vaunted John Goodman lending his voice acting talents. The game isn't short with all the side quests and loot hunting offered as well as a very arcade like but enjoyable racing and vehicle combat section (though a bit easy). The weapons are varied enough with all guns and crossbow having several different ammo types, but the clear cut star of your arsenal is the innovative and devilishly fun wing stick. The wing stick is a type of three bladed boomerang that you throw at your enemies for frequent decapitations and severed limbs, it also can be upgraded to target enemies,do more damage, and return to your hand like a boomerang (did i mention it can slice the head off of multiple enemies in a row).You also find or buy blueprints in the wasteland which build new weapons/guns, upgradable turrets and robots, and even a mini remote controlled truck with bombs attached to it which you can remote detonate (also useful for scouting out enemy camps). You do however rehash the same levels at times with minor differences but with having to make such detailed landscapes it's understandable. The game includes many enjoyable mini games such as five finger fillet, a guitar hero like game called strum, and a very fun card game similar to magic the gathering with picture cards of different in game characters and factions that you find throughout the wasteland to strengthen your deck(trust me i am not a card or magic t.g. fan but this is fun). The world isn't as big as fallout but it is as big as it needs to be.It has a fun but not as varied separate coop campaign and online multiplayer in the form of exciting vehicle combat races. I know it isn't the 4 player coop of borderlands but unless you are the type who is compulsive about having 50,000 guns and cell shaded graphics it might be a better all around game than the first borderlands(i do love borderlands by the way). People say Rage doesn't have a story and it has an "okay" if not fleshed out enough story but borderlands though it is entertaining has basically no story at all(you are on pandora- now find this vault).Some found Rage to have a weak ending? Not half as dissapointing as borderlands ending (can anyone say they were pleased with what they found in the vault?) Overall Rage is a breath of fresh air that beckons back to id's yesteryear of gaming (doom,quake) the combat is in your face and aggressive differing from this generation's Gears of Wear totally cover based pop and shoot style of combat (when i am a badass muscle bound space marine i don't want to spend 75% of the game on my knees, i know a few gals who hangout on the corner they can give marcus pheonix a pair of kneepads they spend alot of time on their knees too).Rage has a ton of nostalgic eastereggs too, if you are a Doom,wolfenstein, Quake or id fan you need to get this game for the eastereggs alone! I won't spoil it but let's just say these eastereggs are very.....interactive. The sad thing is that Rage2 was in the works but seeing how Rage undersold they cancelled production and killed the would be series. This was new IP from the fathers of FPS and after all that time they delivered, and after getting their feet wet in this generation with Rage i can assume building on Rage's engine and the experience with Rage would have prepped them to deliver even bigger on Rage2 (can you imagine what that game would of looked like.) Rage is a very strong game and worth the experience it should have sold 5mil. Rage gets a 9 out of 10. Expand
  9. May 25, 2013
    8
    I would like to give Rage a 7 or less, since it does come with quite many bugs and visual problems. But there is just something about it that keeps dragging me back! First of all, the gunfights are some of the best around. The animations of the enemies looks very realistic, and the world has that rugged, Mad Max 2 kind of atmosphere. I can imagine this is what Fallout 4 will eventually look like, with more freedom of course.

    As for the negatives: During certain cut scenes the audio breaks, which can be annoying. The characters you meet will sometimes suffer from the age old "audio out of sync with lip movements" problem which is, to say the least, irritating. Finally, the textures load very slowly in this game. As soon as you look in a new direction, the objects near you will start to load their textures, somewhat breaking the immersion.

    Technical issues aside, Rage is a blast to play, outside and inside your vehicle, much thanks to the awesome shooting mechanics. If you like post-apocalypse, this is a game for you!
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2013
    8
    Think Bioshock without the benefit of a good story. It wasn't necesearily that the story was bad, there was just no story growth, you never really understand what/who the "bad guys" of the game were,they gave a little at the end, but there was no communication at all. Other than the story the gameplay was pretty diverse and fun. The car combat really suprised me, lots of ways to kill; very fun. The guns were like bioshock, different ammos, instead of vigors, there's wingsticks, grenades, bots, etc The A.I was pretty good too. I recommend experimenting with different weapons and switching up your ammo's so you won't get bored. This game might've been a little too easy as it seems like their's infinite amount of ammo you can have, but this is a good game. Expand
  11. May 17, 2013
    0
    Rocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires no skill, just dumb luck and you will fail continuously while you rage at the game, hence the name of the game. What a shame, because this game woudl be completely bad-ass if not for that stupid feature that spoils the rest of the game. Rocket Rally is so bad, that the person or people responsible for implementing it into the game deserve to be send to prison for the stress they caused to players. Expand
  12. May 13, 2013
    8
    Rage is an absolutely beautiful game! The post apocalyptic world that its set in is by far the star of this game!! Along with this, Rage also has some brutal and satisfying combat and those are the things that you need to come for, because the story of this game is definitely the weakest link and pales in comparison to the rest of the experience.
  13. May 8, 2013
    1
    A Rip off of Fallout and a waste of money. The game's pop in texture was abysmal. Storyline was quite boring and multilayer was insanely infuriating because of how dumb it was I didn't have fun playing. Driving mechanics are quite odd too. The game seemed dull and very ordinary. The only thing thats good is the graphics but aside from that...its all garbage.
  14. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    Honestly i expected more from id Software. Unlikable characters (i mean ALL of them with the idiot sitting in the toilet or whatever that is taking prize number one). The story is very shallow and doesn't come together AT ALL. The action is not the worse that i've seen but it´s not the best either. The game on the PS3 looks bad and the textures take way too long to load up. And don't even make talk about that stupid multyplayer concept... Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Lasting Appeal:
    RAGE is a great shooter and quite fun to play once you forget about the world it is set in. Having such a diverse world in this kind of game makes you want to explore and find out
    about this history of the game. The absence of any real story makes the game feel ultimatly forgettable and the lack of an online competitive mode that is of the same genre to the main
    game
    will leave you unsatisfied and never returning to this game upon completion. Even if you are a hardcore fan of Post Apocolyptic worlds, the game doesnt have more than 10-20
    (being generous) hours of content in it that will keep you playing. I would reccommend renting it or purchasing on sale just for the experience of the shooting in the single player campaign. In the end it feels like a fun but unfinished shooter that ends too quickly.

    Trophy Difficulty:
    Medium.

    Story: 3/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Graphics: 6/10
    Sound: 8/10
    Lasting Appeal: 5/10

    Read my full review: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/rage-review/
    Expand
  16. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    Rage has some excellent moments and some rather dull ones. This will appeal to the majority of FPS fans as its a very good game. However, the game has a few too many dull missions that might try and make you not want to come back to the game. This is the reason Rage isn't as any where near as good as Crysis 2. The shooting here is exceptional though and feels realistic. A very good game indeed. Much better than CoD Blops. Expand
  17. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Rage recently entered the $20 (AUD) bargain bin making this one of the best value game purchases available.. Rage is a great first person shooter, that takes elements from all over the place, it isn't quite sure what it wants to be, but does a pretty good job of being a jack of all trades game..
    It looks good, it sounds good, and it plays fantastically, the only reason for a rating below
    7 for this game would be people approaching it with 2 high expectations, this a great game, and worth at least a single run through, and for how cheap it is, you won't regret it.. Expand
  18. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Cost me £5 for the Anarchy Edition and its a great game very similar to Borderlands but with superior shooting from id , the AI from the enemy is a pleasure to experience.
    First thing i did was max up the sensitivity and yes i noticed the texture pop up but you know what........it still looks and amazing and runs faster than a rocket.

    Negative comment - Multiplayer..........fun
    but come on guys...i want deathmatch and CTF on foot , buggies should be optional not compulsory. Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I did enjoy RAGE alot to be fair, granted, it isn't long like the other games created, but, it adds a little twist to it, as opposed to swords, spells etc, Good racing tracks/computers, Guns and Bigger Guns!
  20. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    For a game developed for 8-10 year old hardware this was still a poor effort. Some nice concepts that in no way compensate for what feels like a mash up of other peoples games. Bloody awful at release and still unplayable for now if you are used to any present generation PC FPS. I am told that this was the first time my friends lad ever returned a game he rented early so he could rent something else and not waste the weekend. On the PC, I thought it was just unplayable. It felt old but not in any sort of classic, pleasant reminiscence sort of way.. Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    AWESOME graphics + great music + old-school shooter + enemies AI + big map to explore + Mad Max + Borderlands + Fallout 3 + John Camrack + boogies + races + cooperative online multiplayer missions + online competitive fighting races
  22. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    id software is back on top form with this knock-out shooter. Rage is set in a post apocalyptic future after an asteroid hits the Earth, only a small handful of humanity survived and you attempt to rebuild humanity through help of the Resistance. The game it only lasts you around 12 hours for a straight run, 18 hours roughly to do all the side missions and extras. Rage is not a long game and its story is fairly weak with a cop-out ending but the shooting is masterful and the graphics are gob smacking. Usually I wouldn't rate a game this high without a impressive story to back it up but Rage has that old timely feel to it that has managed to blend into modern shooter mechanics making it a near perfect shooter. Expand
  23. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    Funny look, nasty, varied enemies and funny residents delight from the first moment. Control passes liquid from the hand. A bit too flat and predictable, the story is presented.
  24. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    I loved this game, unfortunately there wasn't much of it! I loved the mix of vehicles but I feel like the game could have made use of them better. The weapons were it's saving grace, loved the different kinds of ammo available. The characters were really neat, with a wide scope of personalities and behaviors. However, the game was just too short! It was disappointing when I realized that I had beat the game....it just didn't feel like the end. The story didn't feel resolved to me. Oh well, good game anyway, but it had potential to be a lot more. 8/10 Expand
  25. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    This game had interesting gameplay ideas, sadly most fall flat on their face, in similiar matter to another FPS called Brink. The gunplay is terrible at times due to enemies being walking bullet sponges, able to take 2 shots to the head to be killed. Combine this with the lack of different we aponry and you have a pretty generic shooter the only redeeming element in combat being the wingsticks. Sure the graphics are pretty but I couldn't give 2 **** about graphics. If you want an interesting and long lasting apocalypse game then just go get Fallout for the PC. 7/10 Expand
  26. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    Rage is a good game. Would've expected something different from Id and Bethesda, but it is a fun game. Started on Nightmare difficulty for the trophy, and that already picks away the fun and replaces it with rage... (Yeah ha ha ha). Most people (one of which, myself) will probably need to get used to the shooting in the game. 'Firing from the hip' is an impossible job (probably because you do damage like **** on Nightmare) mostly because of the mutants, pumped with steroids, jumping all over the place. I like the style, I like the interactions, the people, the voice acting, the gameplay.. Simply: This game is awesome. Indeed it has some negatives. I haven't found that many yet, but I'm already needing help with the 'quests' and saw that the game is quite short. Yet, it's worth every penny of my 20 bucks which I paid (and it's the Anarchy Edition too) so if you might stumble upon a copy for that price, you wouldn't regret it. Expand
  27. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Excellent Graphics, Sound, Game play, Story and really fun Vehicle Combat. Only thing I wish they had more DLC as well Team Death Match online. Also a more customize options for the character would have been a plus; but still I enjoy purchasing upgrades at the outlets. These would have made my score a 10.
  28. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    While Rage's story may not be so memorable, where Rage really shines is bringing its post-apocalyptic world to life. The expansive crumbling landscapes are easily some of the best looking open world graphics. The characters and quests may not be very interesting, but the solid gameplay makes them enjoyable. Weapons feel powerful and unique and constantly moving enemies adds an intense challenge. Voice acting is solid and character animations look incredible. Environments are believable and mini-games and car combat add immersion to Rage's vast landscape. While not very original, Rage succeeds where it counts.. it's fun to play! Expand
  29. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooter that portends good things if they can combine Id's amazing shooter engine with Bethesda's top-notch storytelling.
  30. Apr 17, 2012
    6
    Disappointing. Rage has been on peoples radars ever since the first trailer, it promised a stunning open world action RPG, with great visuals. What we got was an arcade racing game with shooter elements. Besides looting, buying and selling, there are no Role Playing elements in this game, you don't level up, you don't have tons of upgradable guns, the story is almost non existent and boring fetch quest type with no decisions or memorable characters. The racing parts of this game feel completely alien to the shooting ones, it feels like a completely different game. I still can't believe how ID screwed up this game with poor gameplay and design decisions with such a great idea and style. The visuals look stunning...on a screenshot, a shooter, especially a 60 fps shooter is all about movement, and the visuals completely degenerate in that area. Textures load every time you turn, every goddamn time, leaving 80% of the game looking like a horrid PS2 title. So what are you left with once you notice the obvious shortcoming? A solid first person shooter with an out of place racing mechanic, not an RPG you hoped for. This is a rent. Expand
  31. Apr 15, 2012
    2
    Now normally I would have given Rage a good score. Good graphics, nice idea with changeable ammo types, a surprisingly enjoyable online multiplayer for the 30 minutes, mutant bash. Unfortunately there are quite a few problems. The AI is very predictable, the story I found fairly weak (especially the ending) and to finish it all off I played Borderlands before this. In fact I was discussing with a friend who had recently bought this game and all the things he thought were good in this game were the same as Borderlands: Shotguns firing rockets, the buggies, the environment. Even the enemies are quite similar just with less variation. Another downside was the co-op. I initially thought it would, again, be similar to Borderlands with the entire world to explore and things like arenas in which you can test each others skill and weapons. But no. Instead the creators decided it would be a good idea to get COD: MW2 spec ops missions and put them together with less interesting plots and much harder to kill enemies. Finally we get to the crafting and all I can say is Dead Rising with less skill and more luck. My overall viewpoint on Rage is that it is some of the best features of multiple games, patched together well, but then made much worse. Lucky I bought it for only £10. Expand
  32. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Sadly, RAGE is an unplayable game, because it causes horrendous headaches and eye pain within 10 minutes of gameplay.
    Do not waste your money on this torture.
  33. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Great gunplay, good visuals, a nice style, and amazing animation. Story isn't anything special, and the world is pretty boring. There are some sidequests and you can create some items, but this isn't an RPG, even if it reminds you of Fallout 3 and Borderlands. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a 'different' kind of shooter. iD software could've done better, but this fresh idea is executed well. Expand
  34. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Let me start out by saying rage is a great game that just went into the wrong direction from which it should of gone.First off this is a action/fps game, but with a huge world and racing and tons of gore*which I love*however I feel like Id soft meant Rage to be a fps/rpg like Borderlands in the beginning but took out the rpg elements for whatever reason they had and went with fps/action/racing which works well, But I think rage would of been way better and gotten better reviews if id soft would of made rage a rpg/shooter instead,but non the less rage is a good game which everyone should try.and Id soft if you do decide to make a sequel to rage please use a rpg element like borderlands did and I promise you will strike a gold mine. Expand
  35. Mar 14, 2012
    4
    I tried to like this game, but it really just wasn't that good. The environment graphics were quite nice though the characters didn't look great and were animated poorly, but it just wasn't that interesting. The game ends very suddenly in a way like its setting you up for a much more impressive sequel, but its not a game deserving of a sequel imo. Either that or they got sick of making it so rushed a quick ending out.
    It felt a bit like a chore at times, and the racing/driving stuff can get pretty annoying. The shooting is generally good but its a bit easy on normal mode (usually I suck at FPS but this was a breeze) and can get to be a chore when its just waves of easily killable mutants running at you and you can't leave the area until you've shot them all.
    Expand
  36. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    The game is pretty fun, but it is a cookie cutter game. I bought the game brand new for 20 bucks and I do not regret it, however, the game itself is boring to an extent. It is not like Borderlands where you can explore the game insanely and know every single side of the world, you really can only go in a straight line and the storyline is rather linear because you really do not have any sort of control as to where you go. There is no, "let's go over here now," because the game has a set path already. A fun pick up if you're trying to kill time, but I would not sweat it if you did not want to fork out the bucks for it. The gameplay is fun, the graphics are fluid, sometimes the texture pop in pisses me off, but the only downside as noted before is the single road gameplay. Expand
  37. Mar 2, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure what the professional reviewers were smoking or drinking to give this game an 80 plus rating. It contains so many problems. I suspect the reviewers concentrated only on the graphics which are really really well done. However, good graphics should be a compliment to the game not the sole criteria by which the game is judged. Just off the top of my head, enemies mutter the same two or three lines "He's over here" or some obsenity I can't put in print here. Game is very linear fetchquest. You go see a character who is a stand still animation mainly saying "Can you help me out?" Over and over. The game is quite linear. The enemies are challenging yet idiots. You can pop one in the head and blood will splatter on the piller behind him but he is totally fine right. Able to just stand there again. Perhaps it would be attention to detail to not have the blood splatter til the character is actually injured to death. And on top of that who gets shot in the head and just kinda hangs out waiting to get popped again? The enemies also retreat on you when it would be a better option to mob you. Essentially they allow you to easily transverse an area by making their attack weaker and less intelligent. Apart from this game having beautiful graphics and being a shooter game it has so many shortcomings. Don't get me wrong this can be a fun game but to get a high rating it also has to have some top end features, which is does not apart from the graphics and graphics alone. Expand
  38. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    I got RAGE for different reasons. I wanted a new and fresh FPS and i know how respected developer iD is and it was being published by Bethesda, the creators of some of my favorite games such as Skyrim and Fallout 3. In a way, RAGE does what both developers put on the table, it feels like a combination of an open world and a strong FPS. After that though, it falls flat on being a perfect game. Everyone agrees on one thing though, what it gets right. The game runs super smooth, the combat is near perfect, and the visuals are stunning. The enemy AI is some of the best iv ever seen, they react to your movements and when you shoot them they aren't bullet sponges, they will grab their arm or limp towards you without remorse or care that they are missing a limb. It feels great to play those moments and the visuals make it that much better, looking like one of the best games iv ever seen. The gun types are impressive and there is different types of ammo you can use, so in a way it feels like a combination of Fallout and Bioshock. After all the good things though, it shows its faults. This game must have ADD because you never stay with one idea or story line for very long. If you get bored with a town after a while, don't worry. You wont stay long and then never hear about it again. Did you like a certain character? Too bad, they were there just to get you to point B, then they have no more use. The story just goes everywhere but at the same time nowhere, so it there is no emotional tie to anything. There is also one gameplay aspect that frustrates me. This game is one of those games that NEEDS a good check point system, and this has a terrible one. To get a good challenge out of this game, playing it on hard is the best way to go, but dying will send you almost strait back to the beginning, and some of the areas aren't small. I dont want to keep having to save my game every 5 minutes just to make sure i don't go all the back to where i started. Sadly, its just something you have to deal with, for while this has faults, this game does make you want to keep going to see where you will go next. There are some great characters to see, and some landscapes that will make you picking your jaw off the ground, but you have to drag yourself though a story that tries much to hard to be interesting and a an open world that relies heavily on vehicles to get around, making everything feel smaller then it really is. But if you look past its problems, RAGE could be a fresh and beautiful FPS that might be the fix that you need from military based shooters. Expand
  39. Feb 23, 2012
    5
    When you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailers it looked very promising . Then i got to play it and the first thing i noticed right off the bat was just how god awful the texture pop in was . yes thoose graphics and facial animations look great when they don't take 5 seconds to load up. now texture pop ups to me is a small gripe if the game play is solid and fun and story is entertaining ... unfortunitly Rage doesnt do much better there eather. the gun play is good and solid and wepon selection great but the story is so abysmally dull you will not give a crap on what is going on. also the missions are just very very bland and repetitive . this game borrows heavily from boarderlands with out the fun, 4 player co-op or HUGE open world to run through. had this game had a huge open world , better missions, a some what a decent story . it could have been a pretty good game worth $60 as it is ... its not even worth renting because of ID's retarded move to lock out some of the the games story content if you dont buy it new. id say im glad i only payed $18 for this new on Amazon only 2 months after it came out but i kind of can't but i atleast can say i am glad i didn't pay $60 for it because if i did it would get a lower score. it took me 3 months to finish the game because i was so bored with the game and not because it was long . it's only about 12 hours which actauly isn't bad for a FPS game but when its so boring i cant play it longer then 20-30 min at a sit down because i know longer give a crap... well that says alot about the game. Expand
  40. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    This game has great graphic and awesome gun play it makes you feel as though every bullet does something. the problem with the game is its so linear there are barely any side quests the story isnt that good and the online is bad. the good news is that all the guns are cool with good ammo types a bunch of different factions citys and the way each faction works works differently to kill you overall give this game a try its very fun Expand
  41. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game! It was solid enough in it's FPS core mechanics for me to play through it (albeit in a short time, maybe 9-10 hours in which I did pretty much all the side "jobs"), but dammit, the rest just sucked. The driving parts were boring and repetitive. The graphics are good but try looking at something up close and it feels like it's back to Doom days. But most disappointing is the fact that the plot and the bad guys, which shows glimpses of possibly being interesting at the start, just disappears at the end like it was totally forgotten. I'd say wait till this hits the bargain bin at Expand
  42. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Great new IP from ID ! Manages to capture the intensity of a apocalyptic aftermath very well. Despite the technical flaws on console due to low RAM an intense fight out in the wasteland. Many people had issues with the ending, but overall it was very very thrilling to get there
  43. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I wasn't particularly excited about Rage. But I bought it anyway, because I was aching to trade some games in, so I thought I'd give Rage a shot. And I am incredibly happy I did so. I'm not the biggest FPS fan and I do have 2 COD games and some Battlefield games but other than that first person shooters aren't my game of choice. But there is something about Rage... Rage is amazing and is definitely the best FPS of 2011. It has incredible visuals, fantastic AI, great (but few) weapons, fantastic animation and a so-so story. It certainly isn't the best game I've played and does have a few problems, such as a bad save system, fairly boring story, and not very fun exploration and some texture pop in. But this game is simply not to be missed. It has some of the best FPS gameplay I have ever played and EVERY bullet that hits an enemy feels powerful because every bullet has an effect. Rage is a fantastic game and I strongly recommend it. Expand
  44. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Not a bad game at all. For me it is the perfect "in between" game. The game fits my needs. I like racing and I like FPS. So a combo between racing and shooting sounded really good to me.

    I also bought this game because a lot of people claimed the graphics where the best of this generation. Well "a lot of people" didn't play Crysis 2 then.... Crysis 2 still has the best graphics this
    generation.

    Overall Rage is solid game, shooting is solid and fun, racing is solid and fun, graphics are solid... Story however is absence... and your character is a mute.., which always is a negative in my opinion.
    Expand
  45. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    Crappy game all around, from screen tearing to dumb as a rock storyline. Texture pop-ins and developers keeping silent about any and all issues show how much they care about this rat crap they made. Worth a buy when it's 10 bucks, which should be soon seeing as it's dropped to 20 at a ton of places. Shame on ID being put in Bethesda's grimy money hungry stable of D- developers. Pure garbage, stay away! Expand
  46. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    The game is ordinary and hard to even play without a quest marker and map, i don't like getting stuck in games and this game has no hub or nothing so it gets boring. They should stick to making engines only, there games are ordinary.
  47. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    Good: Graphically the game looks amazing! The screen tearing didnt bother me, it was acceptiable. Game play is sily smooth, with amazing feeling when you have gun battles. Atmosphere is scary when youre exploring the dead city. The music and sound effects are great as well.

    Bad: The whole "Racing" I found to be very childish, it felt like it was just filler to make the game seem longer.

    Story, had a very good start. But then it just became not intresting. The ending of the game, felt like it was rushed. The game had alot of potential, but it just felt like a small area to play in and the gameplay was very linear. Overall I wanted my experience to last in this world, but it was too short and not deep enough.
    Expand
  48. Dec 15, 2011
    1
    Bland, boring fetch quests, terrible ending ( Probably one of the worst ive seen in my years of gaming) Devs with no class blaming hardware and drivers, Carmack should stick to rockets, because gaming isnt his thing. This game sucks
  49. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Rage is an interesting title to say the least, I'm generally not a fan of this Genre, but this looked different. After a slow start to the learning curve, it's not long before you dashing round on missions. The graphics are quite nice, with plenty of detail around the dusty ruins of the post apocalyptic landscape that's a decent size, what would of been nice is a better mapping system, allowing you see see the scale, giving you the feel that your experiencing a world filled with adventure. It's an interesting story, and theirs a neat collection of weapons on show here too. The racing elements are barely exciting, as they seem all to easy, giving the feel sometimes of a gap filler, it's certainly no mad max espionage, but still nice to see the effort here.

    Overall nice graphics, decent story, and a sizeable adventure, even though the missions feel more like errand running back and forth sometimes, their is no question that it's worth a purchase, it's simply a fallout fps, with a few niche ideas thrown in to break the usual tone. It's a noble attempt and one to be expanded upon.
    Expand
  50. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Smooth, sometimes beautiful graphics, and great audio effects. but the gameplay could have been so much more, you can feel that the game oozes potential. especially the ending is a big 'huh? that was it?' moment.
  51. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    The ID Tech 5 engine suffers from enormous amounts of texture pop-ins to get the game to run at 60 FPS. The loading/saving times are atrocious, and the saving system felt outdated - the game also didn't feel the need to assist me during combat and gave me the middle finger if I happened to forget to buy ammo for a mission. I once died from jumping on an elevator going downwards because of the fall damage, which makes no sense according to the laws of physics. The story wasn't even vaguely interesting, and the missions seemed sort of random and didn't build up to anything. The game had so much content that didn't add to the main storyline, and a lot of weapons/equipment to choose from without a good load-out system to back it up during combat. The over-the-top scary music felt forced and annoying, similarly with the low-pitch speaking British enemies. A lot of things in the FPS genre has been improved upon since the days of Doom, and id Software has chosen not to implement a lot of contemporary ideas, such as a talking Main Character, in addition to a modern Checkpoint system - which is understandable in stealth games which requires a lot of planning and decision making, but not in a Modern Shooter. And the ideas they have chosen to take on often lacks in comparisons to competitors, such as the mini-map GPS system, RPG elements, different ammo types, and vehicle combat. Most of the story revolves around doing errands for other characters, leaving only a couple of hours for the actual Main Story. The ending didn't give me any closure, and seemed like they just decided to wrap it up and call it the day once the engine was polished and ran smoothly on all systems. That said, the ID Tech 5 engine is the only good thing to write home about in regards to this release, and although it has many flaws, it also has moments of beauty, such as the scenery present when walking about in the wasteland - and the combat isn't half-bad either. The enemy AI is perhaps more intelligent than most other games. Though in comparison to all the other shooters this year, this game falls short. Expand
  52. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    After all the hype this game got, i am extremely crushed to my core. The graphics aren't event that good and the world that your given is rather small. Its like a mix of borderlands and fallout 3, but made rubbish, well, rubbish is a strong word. Very average to say the least. You cant even level up, leaving all the repetitive tasks you have to do pointless, it might be worth a rental at most
  53. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    5.7 that is waay to low of a score than what the game actually deserves, its by no means a classic from id but its still a damn good game and i don't regret buying it. The graphics are amazing for a 5 year old machine, the guns feel really good and sound good and the driving is actually very well done. The only problem i had with this game is that it did get a little repetitive towards the end but that doesn't last to long, i thoroughly enjoyed it, just because people had high expectations and it didn't meet them doesn't mean you should bash this game, i recommend this game to everyone especially fps fans it really is a great game. Expand
  54. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Very interesting combination of Fallout 3, Borderlands and your average shooter. But more on the shooter/action side. The addition of races makes it a curious (yet very functional) package. And BREATHTAKING scenery makes this a very beautiful game to look at. There's nothing here we haven't seen before: shooting mutants in the head; sidequesting for spare parts; sewers; wastelands; weapons; abandoned villages where survivors struggle; pseudo open world etc. Actually, my only complaint is the 8GB MANDATORY installation. I mean, c'mon, 8GB?? Apart from that, great game, lots of personality. I'm not a 1st person shooter enthusiast and I really liked this one. If you are even slightly curious about it it's worth a try. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Rage is a hybrid FPS-vehicular action game with a focus on single player campaign with some multi-player elements. Core mechanics and single-player: Rage is a fun game to play. It runs at a constant 60 FPS which lends itself to smoother. more responsive controls than some other console shooters. Rage is divided into 3 parts: shooting, driving around and racing in your car and talking with NPC characters which pushes along the fairly light plot line. Shooting feels great, as I said before. The guns are by-the-books style FPS weapons but each has a small twist thanks to a ammo system that allows you to find or build new ammo for your weapons. This ranges from turning your pistol into a magnum to turning the shotgun into a grenade launcher. There are also constructable devices and sentries/robots that are pretty fun to toss out in a firefight and watch that little drone tear up a bunch of mutants. Speaking of which Rage has some of the most diverse enemies I've seen in perhaps any FPS. Each enemies belongs to a different tribe, each with their own personality. Mutants are frantic rushers, Ghosts have a taste for the acrobatics and the Authority use more sophisticated squad tactics like assembling behind a shield-carrier. There's also some crazy (almost kinda racist) cavemen and engineer-types that deploy remote controlled bomb-cars after you, and will retreat intelligently (towards friends) from combat when outmatched. The car gameplay is a little more dicey. The physics can be bizarre, don't be surprised if you find yourself being flung around in ways you'd never expect. There also tends to be more harassment from bandits than there should be, it gets a little tiring. Driving does have a basic thrill to it, just jumping in your car and tearing hell across the wasteland provides a refreshing change of pace. The environments are diverse and utterly gorgeous. You hardly see the same texture twice, everything is distinct and wonderful to explore. The art direction here is almost second to none, even though the texture streaming can be a little annoying at times it doesn't hold this game back from being one of the most visually rewarding experiences around. The single player game is about 15 hours long, mine stretched closer to 20 but I did everything I could.
    Multi-player: This is where the game gets a little weak. There are two multi-player modes: co-op FPS and vehicular combat modes. The co-op FPS mode, or "wasteland legends" is kind of neat but generally not very much fun. It's a little laggy and doesn't feel like it was designed to be the focus of the game. It's just kinda dull, not that bad or anything. The vehicular mode is more fully-featured, with unlockable cars, weapons and items you can use. It all boils down to racing around and trying to take out other people while catching these glowing-point things that give you points. It can be pretty exciting, but it can also be pretty frustrating due to the bizarre car physics. And when I say bizarre, I mean it. These physics are whack. So if you go with Rage, go for the single-player. I'm sure you can find it in a bargain bin somewhere already. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys single-player shooters with a little Zelda and Mario Kart thrown in, but don't mistake this for another Borderlands, the two games are hardly anything alike.
    Expand
  56. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Rage is a very fun game. The graphics are really good, the guns all feel really well, and the enemy A.I is great. So why the low score? While this game is very fun while in combat outside of that it is very boring. The story is also very bland and just involves a bunch of go here talk to this person, then go kill bandits or mutants then come back. If they had fleshed out the story more to make you want to keep playing this could have been the game of the year. Also the car combat and multiplayer are ok, but they feel out of place. Expand
  57. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    One of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch on textures), few can beat this.
  58. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    The definition of a mediocre game. Many things detract from an experience that could of contended with the other holiday blockbusters, only some of which I will mention. The lack of guns available really impacts the amount of fun to be had in each individual hostile encounter, with each mission always requiring the trip back to stock up on the assault rifle ammo. Linear hallways and roads soon become an reoccurring theme, with the top-notch AI trying its best to impress with acrobatic manoeuvres and random gun play. Now for Rage's main selling point, its graphics. E3 demos and footage released afterwards showcased the outstanding technical marvel that iD had created, but unfortunately, well for my copy at least, Rage is plagued with 2-3 second delays in texture loading. This may not sound too bad, but with Rage's frantic AI jumping all over the place, each time you look around your greeted with PS2 looking graphics. This review may sound quite negative, but there are very few aspects worthy of praise, rather a quick nod and a mumbled grunt of approval. Rage could of been better, grmph. Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Has SO much potential, but texture popping ruins everything beautiful about the game, and in this day and age it's unacceptable to have a game just walking from person to person telling you what to do, it get's very boring. Worth a play when it drops in price, just cannot wait for Doom 4.
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    I liked Rage. It wasn't what I was fearing - which was Borderlands vs. Brink (HATED both of them). Rage actually piqued my interest with the title, the concept and the actual game's intrigue at the onset. The story does fall apart, quickly. There aren't enough reminders that you are from the past and don't really know the world you are in. Things do get interesting mid-way with the build up's realization of the antagonistic entity. I was infuriated by the unbelievably difficult (to me anyway) last couple of levels .... Killing me repeatedly to keep me in the game a few extra minutes, fine. BUT blasting my head off the second I reenter 100+ times is a little ridiculous.

    I'm not even going to discuss the ending, because its just too painful. Multiplayer is fun and addictive, at first, tires quickly. and has little at all to do with the game. i like racing games, but the tie in here was a little awkward (so is the spelling of that word ... ever notice?).
    Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    This game was a dissappointment. Whereas it did deliver in some gameplay, in virtually every other area it did not. This game has great ideas, and potential even in a setting and genre where many games exist, i.e. fallout 3, borderlands etc. this game was set in a setting where a great story could have emerged. Fallout and borderlands did not have strong stories, and in this post-apoctolyptic setting, few games have established story over gameplay. For gameplay it delivers. For story it dissappoints. Expand
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game... the graphics are awesome... its tons of fun and the story is simple and interesting. It doesn't to put you into a world of amazing characters and a deep story line with absolute freedom in game play... but what I do promise is that you will be amazed by its awesome visuals fun gameplay and just downright pure entertainment.
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Rage is a strange game, I loved the setting and I found the combat a great deal of fun (no one does weapon empowerment quite like id), graphically it looks stunning - although the texture pop-in is extremely noticeable - however the lack of real story was a problem, I think the days of a silent protagonist are behind us. I want a fully formed character, with a history, not some faceless nobody. The ending is something of a disapoinment too. I was hoping for more big boss battles. Although I will say it was a nice change of pace from the average shooter these days, and I really enjoyed the driving elements. It's not a classic by any means but it's solid. Nice to see that id still have something to offer. Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Rage is my biggest let down of the year. the story is poor and the action is repetitive.I could go on about rage all day but all i need to say is the on the PS3 this game is as good as broken. The graphic pop in and screen tare is that bad i couldn't play it . to top this ID showed of the game saying it was on the PS3 when it quite clearly wasn't as we would have all seen the shoddy job they did on the ps3. Very poor. i will not be buying another ID game again Expand
  65. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    RAGE at first slightly disappointed me, the start is pretty mediocre, however getting past the first mission you'll unlock a gem of a game, producing some mindblowing moments here and there. Possibly the best part of this game is the online mode Road Rage, it somehow comes together to produce one of the most engaging online experiences I've had for some time. This is an ideal game to get you hyped up for the pre-Christmas releases. Expand
  66. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Not perfect but great fun. FPS gameplay is frenetic and different ammo choices really cool. Pity the enemy AI is pretty non-existent making the game far to easy and strategy rather formulaic, but in the heat of battle with mutants coming from all angles it excels.
  67. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Rage is an interesting mix of Fallout 3 and Borderlands with the sort of spin on first person shooting that only ID can recreate. Despite the complaints about texture pop-in, you're more likely to ignore little technicaly faults like that when you're knee deep in bandits shooting at you. I do appreciate that it has a much more mature, darker style of gameplay and the graphics are generally pretty damn astounding. The real letdown comes from the fact that even with the small abundance of side missions, the game is really quite short. Say, within the 10-12 hour range. It's still good for a short ride though, just don't go in expecting the depth and exploration elements that are more familiar with Bestheda's other games Expand
  68. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    I have PS3 and PC version of RAGE and both are broken. I bought PC version on launch but being an AMD/ATi graphic card user, I could not run the game. Id's John Carmack simply blame AMD for the issue which is very unprofessional. It took more than a week for a patch to be release but the game suffers from texture pop in. I gave up the PC version and bought the PS3 version. The PS3 version looks like **** and suffers from the exact same texture pop in. That's totally unacceptable!!! Killzone 3 and Uncharted 2/3 show off the PS3 hardware correctly, id software spent 5 **** years to develop this broken piece of **** I will not buy another product from id or Bethesda ever again. Expand
  69. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    First off, this is NOT an RPG, so for all those who think you're getting Fallout V2.0, think again. Frankly I have to wonder if you've ever played an id game before. I will make it very simple, instead of a cut scene to get you to the next level you have to go talk to someone in town, then drive to the location, finish the level then drive back to town to get another mission... a lot like how Borderlands works, and other then the setting and the fact you can drive that's where the Borderlands similarities end... this isn't Borderlands V2.0. This is an FPS hybrid, in that in between missions you can go shopping to stock up, play some mini games and do some racing. As to the NPCs and towns, there isn't much of a story, just enough to send you on your way to the next level. But what there is, is done very well, the voice acting is well done, the NPC animations are top notch and there is real nice attention to detail, like NPCs wont talk to you unless they are actually looking at you and will just stop talking if you walk away during a conversation. Also the towns NPCs, and atmosphere, change based on where you are in the story.

    You've seen all the complaining about the texturepop, and it is if you 'focus' on it, very noticeable. But this is a case of not seeing the forest for the trees. This is without a doubt the most visually beautiful and immersive FPS environment ever to grace the PS3, add to that great sound effects and the levels in this game are the most alive and detailed I've ever seen... One particular moment that I remember is standing in a sewer level, water is leaking out pipe joints, steams blowing out of other pipes there's a low mist on the water, electrical shorts going off and sound effects flooding my room, you have seehear it to believe it. At its heart this is a pure FPS, and that element's near perfect, from the enemy AI, enemy animations, levels and the weapons. The driving part of the game is, well, awesome and lame. The driving itself is perfect, the gadgets are great and blowing up vehicles in the wasteland is a blast... unfortunately the races are too easy and the wasteland itself (semi-open world between mission levels) is, other then the few groups of vehicles you run into, a ghostland, and other then, the sewers and some plants there's no reason whatsoever to explore and no threat to exploring. This is one of three places I think id really dropped the ball, the others being the ending and the fact the game is way too easy. The good
    -GFX, best graphics ever seen for an FPS on the PS3.
    -Sound, brings the world alive like no other.
    -Enemy AI, I dare say the best I've ever seen in a FPS.
    -Enemy Animations, again the best seen in a FPS, and a huge variety.
    -Weapons, sound and feel perfect, not realistic, over the top done just right.
    -Vehicles, handle well and have good weapons and gadgets.

    The Bad
    -Wasteland, other then vehicles is vacant... K there's the towers, seriously though they are lame, a bunch of random dudes running around would have been so much better... Deathrace a la Rage!
    -Game is, with very few exceptions, WAY too easy, seriously, nightmare = normal... too many empty areas, populate those and beef up the numbers in the levels and this game would have been GOTY.
    -The ending is utterly lame, got to be one of the worst in gaming history, feels like you're just about to get into a serious fight but nope that was it, game over.
    Expand
  70. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    The game starts with a story that shows great promise and game play that feels genuinely unique, the enemy AI was very fast and exciting, the driving aspects handle well and felt fresh. Then after about an hour or so, you start to realize that these aspects never evolve into anything more. The gun play never changes and after the first few levels its excitement wears off. The driving mechanics are solid but there's no where interesting to drive to. The story had a decent premise but all the NPCs are shallow and their missions do little to develop the plot. These are the underlying issues that plague the game, however, I could go on to list a number of smaller things that really irked me as well. While I did enjoy my time with RAGE, I feel it ultimately failed to do what it set out to accomplish and at a time when there are so many better games on the market, I find it difficult to recommend. Expand
  71. Oct 27, 2011
    4
    This game has great graphics but that's about all it has going for it. It's almost like iD really wanted to make a Borderlands clone and then forgot to include everything that made Borderlands so enjoyable.
  72. Oct 26, 2011
    3
    Having so much hype gave me the impression that this was going to be a good game, but then once it was in my playstation i was dissapointed for the first time from anything ID softsoftware has ever made. Im a huge fan of doom and wolfenstein, one of my favorite games of all time was Doom 3. But once you get into Rage and start doing fetch quests and are kept in a linear area, you start to realize how much smoke and mirrors rage hid behind. The amazing trailers and stand out premier gameplay made it seem like a good game. But dont waste your time with this sad waste of memory on your ps3, including you have the amount to even play it, xbox has 3 disks to play this game, ps3 has one yet the GB is enough to make you question buying it. 40gb ps3 owners pass this one Expand
  73. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    decent game.... at first Iwas disappointed because I was expecting an open world game, with a shooter pace! Well I didnt get that. Its pretty linear and despite looking "Fallout-ish" it defintately isnt. That being said, its still pretty fun. The driving is fun and the audio is really good. They do a great job of keeping you on the edge of your seat. Especially n the dead city. All in all its a good game. Dont expect fallout, and dont expect DOOM.... just take it for what it is, and enjoy, Expand
  74. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I am here to pay my respect to ID Software, and because i am getting really tired of all those people whining and **** about ID's latest product. I do really feel bad for the Pc gamers when Rage was just released. But, i was thinking, (And this is pure speculation from my side, and not based on any facts.) that it was not completely ID's fault, that Rage had so many problems on PC, when it came out, because if i am not mistaken ID has to listen to Bethesda nowadays, and they could have forced ID to release Rage in it's almost finished condition, but then again this is pure speculation from my side. I also dislike Pc gamers putting their experiences in the Ps3 section of Metacritic ! Please stick to your own page, because you give Ps3 gamers the wrong impression. I bought this game on Ps3, but my Pc could also handle this game, i simply choose the Ps3 version because i prefer gaming on my big screen, with my surround system, on my comfortable couch :). I always had a thing for ID's games, back since 1990 when i started playing the first Commander Keen, when i was 10 years old. After that i played a lot of Id's games, like the Commander Keen series, Wolfenstein 3D, Spear Of Destiny, Doom 1,2,3 and add ons, Herretic, Hexen, etc etc. I also played doom on many different systems, like the Sega 32x, but i also managed to get Doom 1 & 2 working on my Amiga 1200, unofficially that is :) ... using Adoom ;-). When i first started playing Rage on my Ps3, i was overwhelmed by the graphics and the stable frame rate, but also the sound, which sounds very "crispy" in DTS (Only a handful of games on Ps3 are DTS compatible, most are only Dolby Digital.) All the problems Rage has on Pc, are not to be found in the Ps3 version, except for some very light screen tearing from time to time, and the Texture pop in, which i do find a bit annoying, and i still hope this can be fixed. I am an easy gamer, i play games for the fun of playing, i do not need a lot of competition, and i do not need to prove myself to others when playing my favourite games. So i started playing Rage on easy, and was dropped in it's amazing world. The atmosphere, the vibe, and the things you notice when playing in a "relaxed" condition are simply amazing ! and truly remarkable !. From a gentle dust wind, to flies flying over rotting corpses :-) there's a lot of detail to be found in this game, if you take the time to notice it. When i first arrived at Wellspring, i was truly overwhelmed by the amount of detail, like when you walk in the alley where it's dripping with water, i like to stand still at those moments, and just listen to the sound when i move my camera to hear the dripping from the back to the front, and looking at the wonderful created environment. Honestly, at the beginning when i just arrived at Wellspring the first 10 minutes, i was just looking at buildings and people, thinking wow... this is amazing. The shooting is pretty old school, and from time to time pretty intense, but to me, that's a good thing. (I do would like a little bit of extra ammo though... hehe :-) ) The racing aspect has also been implemented wonderfully, and creates this extra dimension in Rage, as quite a racing fan, to me, this extra feature was a real treat. The car / buggy handling is very tight, and controls really well ! Because of the stable frame rate at 60fps, the driving is really smooth and therefore a true delight. To me everything in Rage works well, the wastelands are also truly amazing and the level design is superb. Even tough the multiplayer may not be al that, i really enjoyed the couple of matches i played so far, also because i seem te be pretty good at it. The multiplayer looks and feels a little bit like Hardware Online Arena on Ps2, it's really nice for an hour or something, and can be easily picked up at any time, it's quite good actually, but should have been a little bit better. All & all to me, Rage is a true masterpiece that just needs a little more polishing, Rage really has that ID vibe throughout the whole game which i like very much. I also would like te thank Id for the Wolfenstein & Doom easter egs hidden in the game ! (I found out by youtube) they really put a smile on my face ! Thank you once more Id for making the beautiful game ! I am really looking forward to Doom 4 :-). Expand
  75. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    A solid but ultimately disappointing shooter. Graphics look amazing when stood still or in wide open areas but as soon as you get close to things you can't help but be distracted by texture pop up. Exploration is mostly pointless as there is probably less than 1% items found in fallout. Story is very weak. If you could take the graphics ( without pop up), vehicles and guns from this and combine with everything else from fallout you would have the game of the decade. After 1 playthrough approx 15 hours there is absolutely no reason to ever pick this up again. Expand
  76. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period! Pity I can't get a full refund :-( Wont be touching an ID Software game again, Once burnt....
  77. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    This game was definetly over hyped and being that it took 5 years with no dead line to reach, makes this game probably the flop of the year for sure. Graphics are the best around and it seems that id just soley concentrated on that alone. Even so the graphics with this game engine needs 2-3 seconds to load the textures when moving the camera. So even the graphics have issues. The linear missions, length, multiplayer, and ending just make me wonder what was id doing for 5 years BESIDES hyping this game up. They definetly should be ashamed and they are, for they just postponed DOOM 4 indefintly. Expand
  78. Oct 21, 2011
    0
    Rage is unfinished. The PS3 version of the game is full of technical issues which include but are not limited to: severe texture pop-in (probably the worst I've ever seen), horrendous screen tearing in the hub cities and sound skipping. The ending also has to be one of the worst in recent history, it looks like id software ran out of time/money and just called it day when the game was 3/4 finished. The engine is deplorable. There are basically no physics. Everything except enemies is nailed to the ground, you can throw a grenade under a table and then watch it implode with the table staying completely intact. The pre-baked lighting is also obvious. Rage is a good looking game as long as you don't get too close to anything. Because once you get close to an object you can see how low-res all the textures really are, aside from that I've also encountered objects which didn't seem to have any textures at all. I can understand that they had to dumb down the textures on consoles to keep the 60 frames per second but the low-res textures plague even the PC version (which was unplayable at release and had no options to customize your graphics settings). Id Software seriously need to stop trying to reinvent the wheel and just concentrate on making good games. In some cases like the PS3 and PC version I'd even say that they should concentrating on making a working game first. The state in which this game was released is unaccaptable. This is the last time I put money in the pockets of Id software/Bethesda, and this is coming from a long time Id Software fan that has owned all their games since Wolfenstein 3D.This was my most anticipated game of 2011 and that only adds insult to injury. Stay away from this poorly polished, slapped together and disappointing title. There are way better games coming out that are all more worth your time than this. Expand
  79. Oct 19, 2011
    5
    Disappointing. The game world is stunning and seems very large, but its so linear. The missions are super repetitive. The guns seem weak.
    Borderland is a clear reference point, and is a superior game.
    I've given up after only a few hours play and I shall be trading it in.
  80. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! Id software, many thanks for your games!
    This one is awesome! It has a perfect gameplay, a perfect soundtrack, the driving sequence are really cool, the animations are incredible. The only thing i've hated is the texture issues!
    But, who cares, the games is awesome as it is
  81. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-person shooter, or a racing game. The racing portion was well-made. The vehicles have decent handling and the power-ups make the races quite a bit more interesting by forcing the player to strategize and adapt while racing. The vehicle customization is enjoyable, although the selections lacked depth. Vehicle driving consumes a large portion of the first 20 hours of the game. The first-person portion was a bit of a let down to me. The quests are monotonous and repetitive. Small, uni-directional environments make for an uninteresting quest experience. The weapons are difficult to aim, and it seems as though all of the weapons have the same damage effects as well as the same sound effects. The enemies are either over-powered or under-powered, and have incredibly bad A.I. Also, there is no cover system implemented in this game, and your character can often be shot or killed through objects, making for a frustrating gaming experience. Through the first 20 hours of game play, very little information is given on the background of your character (or other characters), and this alienates the player from the game world. There is no feeling of immersion and there is no emotional bond with this game. However, the portion I was really impressed with was the graphics rendering. This game is almost certainly the best-looking PS3 game I have ever played. The game has an impressive environment and art direction. The most impressive graphics feature, however, is that the environment doesn't blur when there is movement on-screen, or when panning the camera. Graphics-wise, this game is beautiful. Expand
  82. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    Rage ?
    Hell yeh,I was perfectly calm before making the mistake of playing this poor excuse for a video game.
    This game's been done & re done so many times that nobody cares anymore,If I wanted to run around shooting stuff (in a video game) I'd play Grand Theft Auto which would mean I would be able to shoot stuff,drive stuff & crash stuff,
    Alternatively I could blow £40 on
    Rage & just walk around & shoot stuff,

    WHICH ONE WOULD YOU CHOOSE ?

    Think carefully before answering this question,especially those of you that were at the back of the que when the brains were being handed out,

    Yes this means you !
    Expand
  83. Oct 17, 2011
    3
    Terrible game from a developer that hasn't proven itself since Quake 2. Avoid this, unless you really need something to do, I could see dropping 20 bucks but no more then that. Lackluster story, ending, level design is absolute **** Hell getting the final gun, I didn't even use it thinking there was a main boss, but no. Shame on ID for a bunch of hype for nothing. Mini games in a game..you know something is wrong then. Expand
  84. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    I am about 4 - 5 hours into the game and I enjoy it tremendously. This game has some insane graphics. Hands down one of the best to date. The game is superb combination of first person shooter, role playing and racing game. It is refreshing to play this game after boring single player call of duty type games over and over again. I love all small details in this game. Side missions are cool and fun to play. .Mutant bash TV is just awesome [remains me of old game called Smash TV] The game has some crazy looking, superb weapons with different types of ammunition. There are several types of vehicles in this game. Vehicles can be customized with weapons and decals. Rage is great game. You should definitely give it a try. Expand
  85. Oct 16, 2011
    5
    I just wanted to emphasize that, in the PS3 version at least, the texture pop-in is VERY noticeable, to the point of detracting significantly from the experience. A lot of reviewers have been praising Rage's graphics, and when they have had time to load they do look good. But you can see them loading all too well. It's disappointing because graphics are probably this game's strongest feature.
  86. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Yeah it might not win any awards for originality, but its sure to win some awards for being downright enjoyable! Only slight gripe with it are the loading times, but you soon forget about that once you start shooting mutants or authority ^_^
  87. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    It's a first person shooter with driving bits in that are on par with a decent driving game. Shooting mechanics are are some of the best you will find on PC or Console. The enemy AI is some of the best on the market when using their ability to use use the terran to their advantage. Story is ok, its not going to win any awards but keeps the game ticking along nicely.

    I have both the 360
    and PC version, after some pain with the PC drivers game runs good, with the PC just having sharper graphics. Overall great game from ID. Just remember its a shooter not a RPG and its the best shooter and looker so far. Expand
  88. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Man i fell for the hype. What a let down. It a smaller copy version of Borderland. Period. I finished it in 13 hours. COME ON. First was the horrible graphic of tearing screen staring straight at me. AND they said they have done the testing before releasing the game. SURE oh please.
    This is what you get when you design a game for the console first then the PC. Water-down,
    unplayable, and limited choices.
    Borderland took me 30 to 40 hours because i enjoy driving around looking at the scenery. WHERE THE scenery in this game? Other than the city part, not much.
    I would advise to stay away from this game until they get it fixes properly and added at least to more maps.
    Seriously i got shot thousand of time and I don't need to repair or upgrade up battle suit??????
    Expand
  89. Oct 15, 2011
    0
    Total waste of $60. This game looks and plays like a cheap knock off of Borderlands and Fallout. Graphics look great-as long as you're STANDING STILL. Draw times/distances are crap and the driving mechanics are lame to say the least. Not to mention the limited multiplayer options. I bought this game in hopes of doing the full campaign with my fiacee. Instead we're stuck with just playing some BS side missions. Thanks Bethesda, I haven't felt this screwed since prom night Expand
  90. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    This game could have been better. I mean, there are a great variety of good points: great gameplay, outstanding visuals... But, the game let's us go at the main part. The story is disappointing, we can't really get immersed in the world of Rage. The game could have been longer too, it took me 11 hours to finish, which is disappointing too. After finishing the story, we can't continue to roam in the world of Rage; it was a great point in other games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 (After buying the "Broken steel" DLC).

    It isn't a complete failure, but it could have been better. It's still a good game, but you could wait a couple of months before buying it.
    Expand
  91. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    Was very disappointed in amount of game play. Very linear, no dialogue choices, predictable AI and weak ending. I like the graphics and new engine but NOT a $60 game. I am not factoring in graphics/crashing issues on release.
  92. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I dont get it. Reviewers criticize Rage for being not intuitive and repetetive etc. But games like Killzone 3 or Resistance 3 (not saying that these games suck, i also enjoyed them) or Call of Duty / Battlefield receive overhyped reviews and scores. I mean common, Rage offers: - Races - Open World like gameplay - Superp Shooting - Great enemy animations - Side-JObs - Mini-Games - Collectibles - Coop-Multiplayer
    - Crafting (Upgradeable items)
    - Different Ammo-Types
    - Different Cars (Upgradeable)
    - Armor (Upgradeable)
    - Really nice GFX

    So what else do you want?!!??!?!?!?!? What did Killzone 3 or Resistance 3 etc. do so significantly better?? If you enjoyed games like Borderlands, Fallout etc. give it a try! 99% That you'll enjoy this game as much as i do right now.
    Expand
  93. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    game is phenomenal... defientely oozes with content, gameplay, modes, graphics. Do everything the game has to offer and it will last you 20+ hours easily. Some of the best vehicles, enemies, AI, and weapons/invetory system i've ever seen.

    MP vehicle challenges are a blast, and coop is very challenging.

    10/10. Great job id & bethesda!
  94. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Rage is a very interesting game. It is one of the best looking games to date on consoles and PC. The gameplay isn't revolutionary in any sort of way, but it is extremely fun. Although this isn't one of the best games this year, this delivers one of the most fun fps experiences this year and is a blast first time around.
  95. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    A really enjoyable game. So many great elements to it. The story was compelling although it lost speed towards the end. Beautiful graphics and great game play. It's definitely worth picking up and playing. These people giving this game such low scores obviously have no idea how to properly rate games. This game is not a below average game and should not be getting such piss poor scores.
  96. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Rage is a mixed bag. Great visuals, silky smooth framerate, solid gunplay, fun driving.... its a technical acheivement, no doubt. It's the design and creativity (or lacktherof) that brings it down a notch or two. A game like this is screaming for some humor, and the few attempts are feeble indeed. The NPC's have no personality whatsoever and are all pretty generic. Even the mutant deathmatch game show host is very "yawn." When creating a game that was no doubt influenced by Borderlands to some extent, its a shame that id didn't learn anything about humor and memorable NPC's. The story, world and ending are also very limited and forgettable. I had a decent time playing this game, but the lack of multiplayer modes, lack of innovation and lack of personality make me feel like id missed to mark on this one. Expand
  97. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    Rage is certainly the emotion I expressed in response to this "game". The cataclysmically poor release of Rage if anything, symbolises of John Carmack flushing his job and legacy down the toilet. Rage gives the impression of a game larger than it really is, while failing to meet even the lowest of expectations and even sinking below the realms of mediocrity into the stinking depths of absolute crap. The Arc? Resistance? Foes called the Security? Oh sorry, Authority? The threadbare story that actually does exist in this game is simply pilfered from Brink, a substandard game in its own right. Slap together all the WORST bits of Borderlands and you have Rage.

    Combat consists of mind-numbing corridor shooting, padded out by twice as much running/driving to and from objectives. That's it.

    From the start, I wasn't even able to play it. For some asinine reason, Carmack thought it'd be a great idea to develop software for console systems that were already obsolete rather than the PC which is used itself to actually CODE the game, and so constantly at the fore. So thanks to id Softwareâ
    Expand
  98. Oct 11, 2011
    7
    Rage is a FPS with awesome graphics, array of weapons to choose from and well done voice acting. Missing from the game is a well thought out story and the ability to explore more of the devastated world with your vehicle. This is not an open world game. This feels more like Borderlands than Fallout 3. As others have said, there is potential here but what you do with that potential is all that matters. ID Software has failed in bringing a different FPS than others have. But if that was there goal than this was a success. They have followed the safe path and released another linear and boring storyline FPS which theirs nothing wrong with if that's your type of game. This game is not all bad as stated before. Game play is somewhat addictive and they do have some interesting weapons and gadgets. Bottom line is if companies are going to take 7 years in creating a video game it better be worth the wait. Scores: Game play 4/5, sound 4/5, graphics 5/5, fun factor 3/5, replay value 3/5. Expand
  99. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    I hate to be a downer, but this game disappointed me from the start.. and I didn't even have that high of expectations for it tbh. Graphically, its superior for any multiplatform release to date.. unless you turn your head, all the textures reload.. its worse then the unreal engine which does the same thing from time to time (which ive always felt was one of the worst engines used). It doesn't effect gameplay, its just annoying and distracts you. Otherwise, the environment looks engaging. Invisible walls and guided paths are everywhere. You basically go in a straight line, occasionally diverted by a rock so its a slight curve, and then your back in a straight line again. It wasn't suppose to be a linear game, yet thats exactly what it is. The plot is one of the most basic and boring ones that I've seen for a long time. Dialogue is plain and the voice acting isn't much better. I tried to like this game, I did.. But I never could enjoy it enough to warrant its purchase. You have no customization in your character, and you get to use about 6 different guns. You'll just use the assault rifle when its clear its the most powerful. The game borrows ideas heavily from Borderlands, such as the mission structure, which is just - Go to point A, kill same enemy 12 times, Return to base. Repeat.. And it tries to use some of Fallout's ideas, but never gets it right. Such as some of the enemies are generic rip offs from those used in F3 and New Vegas.. Overall, if I was starting to have fun, it was killed quickly. Driving is repetitive and boring. If you want a good authentic "post apocalyptic" experience, go with Fallout... as this is pretty much just the in-bred retarded child of Fallout 3 and Borderlands... Its only pro - better graphics.. should have spent all that time developing a plot! Expand
  100. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    This game is like getting 3 games in one. The campaign by itself is fun with a GTA style mission system and great gun play. A little light in the story dept. but most FPS games are so I'm really not going to complain about it. The texture loading is minimal and for graphics that look this good I'm not going to complain as it really has no effect on game play. There are some decent upgrades for both weapons and vehicles not to mention you can collect items and create your own stuff similar to games like Oblivion of Fallout. You also get an awesome online Mad Max road warrior style 4 player car combat mode that is really fun and frantic! This mode alone makes the game worth it to me. This is car combat done better than I have ever seen anyplace else perhaps excluding Twisted Metal.

    On top of that you get an online two player co-op mode very similar to spec-ops in the CoD series. This is great fun especially trying to beat all the level on the hardest difficulty with a buddy. There is a ton of quality and fun packed into one single game here so nobody should miss RAGE!
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]