User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 310

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    This game has potential. I am not denying this in the least. It throws out amazing ideas and concepts, but just doesn't follow through on them. I'm hoping to see something that expands upon the game soon, but until then, this will be getting a mediocre score. It does, however, look amazing. 6/10.
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    k well here's one of my highly anticipated games of 2011. i got my hands on rage at 8 pm monday and it is now tues 6 am and i am closing in on the games final hours of gameplay. usually i try not to rate a game w/o finishing it from front to back first but i know that many will wake up in the morning wanting to get an idea of what to expect w/ rage and whether or not you should buy it or not. I really did not know what to expect and as we know id software is the mother of the fps genre so being a huge fan of doom and quake i couldnt wait to see how they stacked up w/ next gen consoles. I must say that i immediately saw what these mega textures could do from the first moment upon leaving my hatch/pod and it was beautiful how nicely the world came to life clouds,rocks etc but i did notice that it was not perfect and tearing as well as these textures seem to fight it self at times as if saying "engine overload" . but as far as graphics well its hard to argue that it is one of the best displays on console to date, and the tearing doesnt stop the eyes from wanting to see more, lets put it that way. so graphics are B+.. the "wasteland hybrid" atv is the first time you will be in a vehicle and i was a bit surprised at the tight handling and response of the atv and then later the buggy. and the buggy can be raced for upgrades and weapon mods and is actually a fun time behind the wheel. so i cant help but think that this is feeling a lot like borderlands because as soon as i meet the locals after being rescued i am given a mission involving bandits. while speaking on the missions i will say that although its not as tedious as borderlands as far as side quests and looting it also does have that feel of go to point A and then go to B and then back to A, but just not as much of it. and yes some of the npc you meet are wonderfully crafted and designed but the voice acting is either spot on or just way off. but more importantly are the mundane tasks they ask of you, go light some firecrackers, fetch some buggy parts and grab supplies 50 yards from here,so i just wished while spending the time talking to the well made npc's i would get a better story or mission, well not to be found yet. but it does not take away from the nicely designed npc's and the not so nice (usually merchants) you will encounter along the way. the story finally starts to pick up and so do the weapons and different bullets and "crafting". one can craft a grinding lock pick to a turret to a few other"unique" devices which are a fun part of this game, and no work bench needed, just instructions along with ingredients/material. and i found a handful of "mini games" which were a fun spin on gambling and the "eye of judgement" type game was my fav.. 4 guys rolling dice w/ holograms of 3 mutants and a cowboy and the roll decides your how many shots you can have per turn. 5 finger fillet also makes a showing. the guns/weapons felt really good, the sniper rifle actually felt like one and the shotgun which can be upgraded to a grenade launcher,has a few kinds of ammo just like the hand gun and one round can be told from the other w/ being able to feel and see the harder impact or the damage done to enemies. the peasants gun (pistol) can be coupled w/ a monocular which is described as being a peice of binocular "the good half" so you will hold the gun in one while peeking in the monocular w/ the other, pretty funny how it works. but as far as the weapons, well there are just enough. not too many to get lost in the slight changes from one to the next and not too few to crave more or seem like its lacking. just enough to know and feel each one and learn very quickly the guns strengths and weakness. the wingblade is also a very cool 2 bladed boom-a-rang w/ a handle, but will only come back if you miss or just take out an arm or a leg. and if it gets lodged in the enemies head, you can get it back and can also craft them w/ the manual and materials.the enemies are not the most brilliant a.i i have ever seen, but not the dumbest either. they do get harder to fight as you progress but its their body reaction which is awesome, because they react to where and how they get shot or hit. the animations are very nice and funny at times. the sounds and music are not top notch but they are very good, and the sound effects were also down well. but overall i can simply say that there isnt much to speak of which hasnt been done already. i would say refer to borderlands as far as an idea of the style of game this is, i mean its not a bad thing just feels like the same in many ways, only that the graphics and gameplay/mechanics stand apart, the theme is very sim. but that is a compliment in a lot of ways,just felt like i played this game before.the graphics are great and this is where the game shines,and the controls are good but the story lacks and i feel like this is a well made game but one which is too familiar. its worth a play,but not a day1 must. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    3
    I'm just going to come out and say it. Rage is a disappointment. There are a few things Rage does well, such as variety in ammo types (like in Bioshock) and having a consistent framerate of 60 frames per second (which never drops) with good graphics to boot. However, there are also a few things Rage doesn't do right, such as texture pop-in, the driving sequences, and the story.

    The combat
    in Rage is good old FPS fun and the variety in using different ammo types makes the gameplay stand out from other FPS's. You can also craft helpful items that can help you get the edge over enemies, such as bandages, exploding RC cars, and even three sided boomerangs with steel blades on them, which is pretty cool. The graphics are also great, especially from a distance, but most textures look terrible up close. Not much of a surprise there though, given the overall scope of the graphics. Rage is also the most fluid game I've played in terms of framerate. Its always at 60 and never drops. This might not sound that impressive, but keep in mind this is on a console thats around 5-6 years old.

    However, Rage seems to fall flat on its face with the story. I've played 4 hours of it and I can tell you now that it has absolutely no connection to the story whatsoever. I'll explain this the best I can without spoiling it. The first hour of the game sees you meeting a character that helps you get started and all that, which is pretty much essential. The next 3 hours, however, see you go to a town and do errands for people, namely the Mayor and Sheriff. You'll be asking yourself what the point of all these errands is and if they're related to the story, and your questions will be answered at around the 4 hour mark when you meet a character that is part of a discourse that seems to be central to the story.

    Another thing that Rage doesn't do right is the driving sequences. You'll be driving everywhere from point A to point B and it just feels like filler. There is no incentive to go exploring, and killing the bandits in their buggies gets tedious. There is also texture pop-in, which is very subtle in some parts, but almost unbearable in others.

    Overall, Rage could have been a good game, but never really delivered. The story is rather weak, the first 4 hours of the game are completely pointless (and considering people are saying its around the 9 hour mark, thats a huge worry), the driving sequences are merely filler, and ultimately it seems as if ID couldn't decide if they wanted to make an FPS or an RPG. For a game to have been in development for around 4 years and won a range of "Best in Show" awards at E3 2010, this is a big letdown. I give it a 3/10. This game is only worth a rent. It is not worth $60US/$100AUD at all.
    Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0/10 because it's unplayable with the horrendous screen tearing.

    yes, I have updated drivers, yes, I googled solutions, tried forcing vsync, etc. all of that did not fix the problem & for a good developed game, should not be necessary in the first place.

    Junk, don't waste your money.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    So many haters. The PC community is the worst. Thankfully I got this on PS3. No lag issues on PS3 and only one disk compared to 360's three. Lot of people complaining about the creator and such, who cares talk about the game. So i'm going to compare this to games I know. Borderlands. So much like borderlands, go to people for quests, go to area, kill guys, go back to person. The missions and such are less varied than borderlands but it's also a much smaller game. Its hard not to think of borderlands when playing this if you have played borderlands. Even the car bits remind me. The graphics are like borderlands mixed with photo-realism to make a gorgeous style/setting when the graphics are all loaded in. So far this game has mad texture pop in and it's distracting in large areas. In smaller areas it's much better and looks fantastic. Unlike Borderlands however this is not an RPG. People are comparing it to Fallout 3/new vegas also, this is a FPS people with some RPG elements. Lots of games now have RPG elements and it can't be a crazy awesome RPG by Bethesda because they have been making Skyrim. So compare it the FPS games out there. Much better than most I think. Better setting/story then modern warfare games single player (especially 2) and not far behind black ops. The story is ok yes but what games of this nature (FPS) ever have an amazing story? Until Christopher Nolan writes a game this story is just fine, predictable and cliche but not terrible as people are saying. But it comes down to gameplay and this game is fun to play. I have no idea why so many people are complaining about how horrible this game is or why it seems to be getting spammed with negative scores. Go play G.I. Joe and tell me Rage is a bad game! It has some technical hick-ups but for the most part it runs and plays fine. The quests are about going to a new area and killing people because this is a shooter, you go and shoot things in new areas. What else do you want to be doing? The cars are a nice break and the mini games are fun a couple of times. Haven't touched multiplayer yet as it's only been a day and I have to work too. But I saw too many bad reviews so I had to say I am enjoying this game a lot and I do not feel bad about dropping $60 on it. If you are worried wait a week or more and look online, you can find it cheaper. Glyde/game market $50 right over there -------------------------------------> Anyway giving it a 9/10 because I dislike cry babies who are never satisfied. Not a perfect game but what ones really are and in the end a very enjoyable ride. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Rage is an interesting mix of Fallout 3 and Borderlands with the sort of spin on first person shooting that only ID can recreate. Despite the complaints about texture pop-in, you're more likely to ignore little technicaly faults like that when you're knee deep in bandits shooting at you. I do appreciate that it has a much more mature, darker style of gameplay and the graphics are generally pretty damn astounding. The real letdown comes from the fact that even with the small abundance of side missions, the game is really quite short. Say, within the 10-12 hour range. It's still good for a short ride though, just don't go in expecting the depth and exploration elements that are more familiar with Bestheda's other games Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone!
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    1
    What a goofy way to build a game. Id has never wowed me with story, but this story is so tacked it blows my mind. The texture pop-in actually made me sick and forced me to take long breaks between attempts at playing. I have NEVER seen anything like it. Turning your head causes EVERYTHING to reload. EVERYTHING, close and far, inside or outside. In an FPS that is about the worst thing I can imagine.

    It gets a 2 because the gun play is fun, the AI if fun, and driving is fun. I suggest renting it first to see if you can handle to bad design.
    Expand
  9. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Graphics, voice acting, controls, mini games, car racing, intense battles, and quests/story worth reading. These are some of the great things I've noticed so far. The fact that the game only lasts about 10-15 hours with doing every side quest etc and a weak multiplayer make me give it a 8/10. It is obvious where ID put their efforts. Funny thing is all these idiots giving it below a 5(which in NO WAY it deserves) will probably give Modern Warfare 3 a 10. Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    Was very disappointed in amount of game play. Very linear, no dialogue choices, predictable AI and weak ending. I like the graphics and new engine but NOT a $60 game. I am not factoring in graphics/crashing issues on release.
  11. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    I hate to be a downer, but this game disappointed me from the start.. and I didn't even have that high of expectations for it tbh. Graphically, its superior for any multiplatform release to date.. unless you turn your head, all the textures reload.. its worse then the unreal engine which does the same thing from time to time (which ive always felt was one of the worst engines used). It doesn't effect gameplay, its just annoying and distracts you. Otherwise, the environment looks engaging. Invisible walls and guided paths are everywhere. You basically go in a straight line, occasionally diverted by a rock so its a slight curve, and then your back in a straight line again. It wasn't suppose to be a linear game, yet thats exactly what it is. The plot is one of the most basic and boring ones that I've seen for a long time. Dialogue is plain and the voice acting isn't much better. I tried to like this game, I did.. But I never could enjoy it enough to warrant its purchase. You have no customization in your character, and you get to use about 6 different guns. You'll just use the assault rifle when its clear its the most powerful. The game borrows ideas heavily from Borderlands, such as the mission structure, which is just - Go to point A, kill same enemy 12 times, Return to base. Repeat.. And it tries to use some of Fallout's ideas, but never gets it right. Such as some of the enemies are generic rip offs from those used in F3 and New Vegas.. Overall, if I was starting to have fun, it was killed quickly. Driving is repetitive and boring. If you want a good authentic "post apocalyptic" experience, go with Fallout... as this is pretty much just the in-bred retarded child of Fallout 3 and Borderlands... Its only pro - better graphics.. should have spent all that time developing a plot! Expand
  12. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I personally like this game. Graphics are good, controls are good, plot's above average, and gameplay is just plain awesome. Only things I dislike are the racing part of multiplayer; it gets boring very quickly. Also, I both do & don't like the sniper rifle, both reasons are because you don't have to lead your target, its literally point and shoot. While convenient, its unrealistic. I would give it a 9, but if you read other comments you realize some people have mistaken this for the RAGE PC page and talk about the issues on PC, therefore I shall give it a 10. Ah, who am I kidding, I'd give it a 10 anyway, but seriously guys, go talk about the PC problems on the PC page. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    I was so looking forward to this game, and of it's technological potential. Unfortunatly the ID tech 5 engine needs some tweaks as I have a lot of pop-up and the quality of the texture overall is mixed. Having a blast with the races though, too bad it's the online thing you can do online (I would've expected at least a deatchmatch and team deatchmatch option). overall just a moderate but mostly enjoyable experience Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    0
    Total waste of $60. This game looks and plays like a cheap knock off of Borderlands and Fallout. Graphics look great-as long as you're STANDING STILL. Draw times/distances are crap and the driving mechanics are lame to say the least. Not to mention the limited multiplayer options. I bought this game in hopes of doing the full campaign with my fiacee. Instead we're stuck with just playing some BS side missions. Thanks Bethesda, I haven't felt this screwed since prom night Expand
  15. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    Mmmmm, many years in development and we get a hodgepodge or amalgam of game ideas that represent some of the finest ideas of yesterday, mashed together for lukewarm effect. . . RAGE lives up to its name IF pop-in, draw-in, flickering, muddy textures, hub-world style banal fetch quests and collection quests IRK you- However, the B I G G E S T pita (for me) was the DEV suggestion of possible EXPLORATION only to find on-rails gameplay, glass walls, distant impostors galore and a minimap that often only highlights the small navigable terrain with small slivers of BLUE splashed in smaller-measure across a larger map expanse which ONLY argued that the world is smallish and limited to predetermined treks. In fact, after DLing the sewer DLC at launch, finishing a few remaining introductory quests which also included a freeform exercise of clearing-out the Arc sewers, a job board tacked-up against the exterior wall of the Second Chance bar at Wellspring OFFERED THE SAME QUEST again, noting that it had already been done, but the muties had moved back in, so go do it once more!?! Recycled, barren, boring and less than impressive, overall, RAGE represents Id's best effort after a reported 6+ years of development? Expand
  16. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Smooth, sometimes beautiful graphics, and great audio effects. but the gameplay could have been so much more, you can feel that the game oozes potential. especially the ending is a big 'huh? that was it?' moment.
  17. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Well so far i will score a 9 , havent finished yet maybe a 10 when finished. This game is brilliant, it's freash and real good fun. dont listen to the negative reviews. The graphics are great although you can tell that its alot for the system to handle. one thing remember to save game on a regular basis. one thing that is annoying is the loading times when you die. Have fun with this game i sure as hell am :) Felicrux : this game has Potenial WTF. this game is brilliant. Expand
  18. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period!Terrible-Period! Pity I can't get a full refund :-( Wont be touching an ID Software game again, Once burnt....
  19. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    I think this is a great game. It does feel like a mash up of a hand full of other games, (some of which the developer has created anyways), but that doesn't take anything away from it. it has a few texturing issues, and some missions are a bit ridiculous, but as you play through it gets alot better. The guns are great and they feel and sound great. There is a lot to do and see, and it is alot of fun. I recommend it. Expand
  20. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Beautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that's new.In fact,some gameplay elements are archaic in nature;the quest structure for example.I enjoyed the vehicles a great deal,and didn't mind the arcade style driving.The FPS mechanics are typical id software,which is to say that they are great though the game descends into corridor shooting a lot,which the developers made famous in the 90's.All in all,the amazing visuals,fun vehicle elements and upgrades add a couple of points to what is essentially an old school FPS. Expand
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Fluidity is the first thing I noticed when I played the game. I love the randomness, reminds me of a mixture of fallout3 and borderlands. I am enjoying it very much, I was very shocked to look up the rating after playing the game to see it so low. People, if you have a console that supprts this game, "GET IT".
  22. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Good graphics, good sound, good racing, good AI, impressive arsenal, amazing shooting! Thanks id. Go Doom 4 and Rage 2 :) Haters gonna hate.
  23. Oct 17, 2011
    3
    Terrible game from a developer that hasn't proven itself since Quake 2. Avoid this, unless you really need something to do, I could see dropping 20 bucks but no more then that. Lackluster story, ending, level design is absolute **** Hell getting the final gun, I didn't even use it thinking there was a main boss, but no. Shame on ID for a bunch of hype for nothing. Mini games in a game..you know something is wrong then. Expand
  24. Oct 21, 2011
    0
    Rage is unfinished. The PS3 version of the game is full of technical issues which include but are not limited to: severe texture pop-in (probably the worst I've ever seen), horrendous screen tearing in the hub cities and sound skipping. The ending also has to be one of the worst in recent history, it looks like id software ran out of time/money and just called it day when the game was 3/4 finished. The engine is deplorable. There are basically no physics. Everything except enemies is nailed to the ground, you can throw a grenade under a table and then watch it implode with the table staying completely intact. The pre-baked lighting is also obvious. Rage is a good looking game as long as you don't get too close to anything. Because once you get close to an object you can see how low-res all the textures really are, aside from that I've also encountered objects which didn't seem to have any textures at all. I can understand that they had to dumb down the textures on consoles to keep the 60 frames per second but the low-res textures plague even the PC version (which was unplayable at release and had no options to customize your graphics settings). Id Software seriously need to stop trying to reinvent the wheel and just concentrate on making good games. In some cases like the PS3 and PC version I'd even say that they should concentrating on making a working game first. The state in which this game was released is unaccaptable. This is the last time I put money in the pockets of Id software/Bethesda, and this is coming from a long time Id Software fan that has owned all their games since Wolfenstein 3D.This was my most anticipated game of 2011 and that only adds insult to injury. Stay away from this poorly polished, slapped together and disappointing title. There are way better games coming out that are all more worth your time than this. Expand
  25. Oct 27, 2011
    4
    This game has great graphics but that's about all it has going for it. It's almost like iD really wanted to make a Borderlands clone and then forgot to include everything that made Borderlands so enjoyable.
  26. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    This is some of the best fun I have had in a while with a FPS game. The driving sections are not really needed and don't add anything to the gameplay, apart from breaking up the hugely enjoyable shooting sections. The FPS/shooting parts of the game is where is excels, the weapons make this game an absolute laugh at times, enemies are quick if a little too 'pop n duck' at times. Story is not really there and it is very linear, but I personally prefer a less open world as I don't like to spend a lifetime within a game.

    Given 10 to counter the poor reviews which is unfair. (8)

    Recommended.
    Expand
  27. Mar 14, 2012
    4
    I tried to like this game, but it really just wasn't that good. The environment graphics were quite nice though the characters didn't look great and were animated poorly, but it just wasn't that interesting. The game ends very suddenly in a way like its setting you up for a much more impressive sequel, but its not a game deserving of a sequel imo. Either that or they got sick of making it so rushed a quick ending out.
    It felt a bit like a chore at times, and the racing/driving stuff can get pretty annoying. The shooting is generally good but its a bit easy on normal mode (usually I suck at FPS but this was a breeze) and can get to be a chore when its just waves of easily killable mutants running at you and you can't leave the area until you've shot them all.
    Expand
  28. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    this carries on a trend I am 100% behind, being a move away from modern warfare and tactical ops games. Rage reminds me why I fell in love with shooters 16-odd years ago. its eminently playable, stylistically beautiful, smooth and full of character. the natural evolution of the id pedigree and a bloody fun game!
  29. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Rage is a mixed bag. Great visuals, silky smooth framerate, solid gunplay, fun driving.... its a technical acheivement, no doubt. It's the design and creativity (or lacktherof) that brings it down a notch or two. A game like this is screaming for some humor, and the few attempts are feeble indeed. The NPC's have no personality whatsoever and are all pretty generic. Even the mutant deathmatch game show host is very "yawn." When creating a game that was no doubt influenced by Borderlands to some extent, its a shame that id didn't learn anything about humor and memorable NPC's. The story, world and ending are also very limited and forgettable. I had a decent time playing this game, but the lack of multiplayer modes, lack of innovation and lack of personality make me feel like id missed to mark on this one. Expand
  30. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    Rage is certainly the emotion I expressed in response to this "game". The cataclysmically poor release of Rage if anything, symbolises of John Carmack flushing his job and legacy down the toilet. Rage gives the impression of a game larger than it really is, while failing to meet even the lowest of expectations and even sinking below the realms of mediocrity into the stinking depths of absolute crap. The Arc? Resistance? Foes called the Security? Oh sorry, Authority? The threadbare story that actually does exist in this game is simply pilfered from Brink, a substandard game in its own right. Slap together all the WORST bits of Borderlands and you have Rage.

    Combat consists of mind-numbing corridor shooting, padded out by twice as much running/driving to and from objectives. That's it.

    From the start, I wasn't even able to play it. For some asinine reason, Carmack thought it'd be a great idea to develop software for console systems that were already obsolete rather than the PC which is used itself to actually CODE the game, and so constantly at the fore. So thanks to id Softwareâ
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Ultimately, RAGE is soulless and short-lived. Jack up the difficulty for more of a challenge, but underneath a few stand-out moments is a shooter that's been outclassed and out gunned. [Dec 2011, p78]
  2. There is not a lot of leveling or depth to be found in Rage, but you can have some fun with building your own weapons and toying around with several gadgets. We particularly liked the remote controlled cars that can be equipped with explosives. [Nov 2011, p.82]
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    79
    A weak, aimless story and limited freedom to explore betray the fun, varied and creative combat in this beautiful post-apocalyptic wasteland. [Christmas 2011, p.104]