Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    96
    Minor quibbles aside, we here at GamingExcellence have never been so happy to be so enraged. It's a great day for gaming when we can welcome id Software back into our living rooms and computer desks. RAGE is an easy candidate for the best game of the year, and was well worth the wait. Don't miss it.
  2. 90
    Rage is the complete package that fans of shooters, RPGs, and buggy racers have been waiting for. Combined with its jaw-dropping visual presentation, Rage easily one of the best games of the year.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    Rage is an amazing game, but we can't help but feel that it doesn't reach its full potential. While the shooting and the racing often works brilliantly, a rather weak story, repetitive missions and a lot of graphical errors ultimately make for a disappointing game.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Rage is a beautiful game that looks equally stunning with or without the hefty installation (which reduces the load times and is optional on the 360 but required on the PS3), so regardless of which platform you play on, you'll find a rich and rewarding adventure that sets a new visual standard for the postapocalyptic wasteland.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage is a fun first person shooter, and a marvel to look at. Unfortunately it is let down by a weak story and presentation.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    If you think first person shooters take themselves a little too seriously, Rage is the game for you. If you like shotguns, explosions, imaginative ammunition types and crossbows then Rage is the game for you. It's an unapologetic love letter to the classic FPS gameplay that inspired the most popular genre in modern gaming and it updates enough that it doesn't feel in the least bit dated.
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    The knuckle-whitening, often horror-infused experiences inside of RAGE are essential to the vernacular of modern shooters. The pretty case they come in is not.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 122
  2. Negative: 29 out of 122
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Beautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that's new.In fact,some gameplay elements are archaic in nature;the quest structure for example.I enjoyed the vehicles a great deal,and didn't mind the arcade style driving.The FPS mechanics are typical id software,which is to say that they are great though the game descends into corridor shooting a lot,which the developers made famous in the 90's.All in all,the amazing visuals,fun vehicle elements and upgrades add a couple of points to what is essentially an old school FPS. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Graphics, voice acting, controls, mini games, car racing, intense battles, and quests/story worth reading. These are some of the great things I've noticed so far. The fact that the game only lasts about 10-15 hours with doing every side quest etc and a weak multiplayer make me give it a 8/10. It is obvious where ID put their efforts. Funny thing is all these idiots giving it below a 5(which in NO WAY it deserves) will probably give Modern Warfare 3 a 10. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    I got RAGE for different reasons. I wanted a new and fresh FPS and i know how respected developer iD is and it was being published by Bethesda, the creators of some of my favorite games such as Skyrim and Fallout 3. In a way, RAGE does what both developers put on the table, it feels like a combination of an open world and a strong FPS. After that though, it falls flat on being a perfect game. Everyone agrees on one thing though, what it gets right. The game runs super smooth, the combat is near perfect, and the visuals are stunning. The enemy AI is some of the best iv ever seen, they react to your movements and when you shoot them they aren't bullet sponges, they will grab their arm or limp towards you without remorse or care that they are missing a limb. It feels great to play those moments and the visuals make it that much better, looking like one of the best games iv ever seen. The gun types are impressive and there is different types of ammo you can use, so in a way it feels like a combination of Fallout and Bioshock. After all the good things though, it shows its faults. This game must have ADD because you never stay with one idea or story line for very long. If you get bored with a town after a while, don't worry. You wont stay long and then never hear about it again. Did you like a certain character? Too bad, they were there just to get you to point B, then they have no more use. The story just goes everywhere but at the same time nowhere, so it there is no emotional tie to anything. There is also one gameplay aspect that frustrates me. This game is one of those games that NEEDS a good check point system, and this has a terrible one. To get a good challenge out of this game, playing it on hard is the best way to go, but dying will send you almost strait back to the beginning, and some of the areas aren't small. I dont want to keep having to save my game every 5 minutes just to make sure i don't go all the back to where i started. Sadly, its just something you have to deal with, for while this has faults, this game does make you want to keep going to see where you will go next. There are some great characters to see, and some landscapes that will make you picking your jaw off the ground, but you have to drag yourself though a story that tries much to hard to be interesting and a an open world that relies heavily on vehicles to get around, making everything feel smaller then it really is. But if you look past its problems, RAGE could be a fresh and beautiful FPS that might be the fix that you need from military based shooters. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game! It was solid enough in it's FPS core mechanics for me to play through it (albeit in a short time, maybe 9-10 hours in which I did pretty much all the side "jobs"), but dammit, the rest just sucked. The driving parts were boring and repetitive. The graphics are good but try looking at something up close and it feels like it's back to Doom days. But most disappointing is the fact that the plot and the bad guys, which shows glimpses of possibly being interesting at the start, just disappears at the end like it was totally forgotten. I'd say wait till this hits the bargain bin at Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    5
    When you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailers it looked very promising . Then i got to play it and the first thing i noticed right off the bat was just how god awful the texture pop in was . yes thoose graphics and facial animations look great when they don't take 5 seconds to load up. now texture pop ups to me is a small gripe if the game play is solid and fun and story is entertaining ... unfortunitly Rage doesnt do much better there eather. the gun play is good and solid and wepon selection great but the story is so abysmally dull you will not give a crap on what is going on. also the missions are just very very bland and repetitive . this game borrows heavily from boarderlands with out the fun, 4 player co-op or HUGE open world to run through. had this game had a huge open world , better missions, a some what a decent story . it could have been a pretty good game worth $60 as it is ... its not even worth renting because of ID's retarded move to lock out some of the the games story content if you dont buy it new. id say im glad i only payed $18 for this new on Amazon only 2 months after it came out but i kind of can't but i atleast can say i am glad i didn't pay $60 for it because if i did it would get a lower score. it took me 3 months to finish the game because i was so bored with the game and not because it was long . it's only about 12 hours which actauly isn't bad for a FPS game but when its so boring i cant play it longer then 20-30 min at a sit down because i know longer give a crap... well that says alot about the game. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Sadly, RAGE is an unplayable game, because it causes horrendous headaches and eye pain within 10 minutes of gameplay.
    Do not waste your money
    on this torture. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.