Rage PlayStation 3

Rage Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 352 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    96
    Minor quibbles aside, we here at GamingExcellence have never been so happy to be so enraged. It's a great day for gaming when we can welcome id Software back into our living rooms and computer desks. RAGE is an easy candidate for the best game of the year, and was well worth the wait. Don't miss it.
  2. 90
    Rage is the complete package that fans of shooters, RPGs, and buggy racers have been waiting for. Combined with its jaw-dropping visual presentation, Rage easily one of the best games of the year.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    Rage is an amazing game, but we can't help but feel that it doesn't reach its full potential. While the shooting and the racing often works brilliantly, a rather weak story, repetitive missions and a lot of graphical errors ultimately make for a disappointing game.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Rage is a beautiful game that looks equally stunning with or without the hefty installation (which reduces the load times and is optional on the 360 but required on the PS3), so regardless of which platform you play on, you'll find a rich and rewarding adventure that sets a new visual standard for the postapocalyptic wasteland.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage is a fun first person shooter, and a marvel to look at. Unfortunately it is let down by a weak story and presentation.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    If you think first person shooters take themselves a little too seriously, Rage is the game for you. If you like shotguns, explosions, imaginative ammunition types and crossbows then Rage is the game for you. It's an unapologetic love letter to the classic FPS gameplay that inspired the most popular genre in modern gaming and it updates enough that it doesn't feel in the least bit dated.
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    The knuckle-whitening, often horror-infused experiences inside of RAGE are essential to the vernacular of modern shooters. The pretty case they come in is not.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 123
  2. Negative: 25 out of 123
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make itAwesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Beautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that'sBeautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that's new.In fact,some gameplay elements are archaic in nature;the quest structure for example.I enjoyed the vehicles a great deal,and didn't mind the arcade style driving.The FPS mechanics are typical id software,which is to say that they are great though the game descends into corridor shooting a lot,which the developers made famous in the 90's.All in all,the amazing visuals,fun vehicle elements and upgrades add a couple of points to what is essentially an old school FPS. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    k well here's one of my highly anticipated games of 2011. i got my hands on rage at 8 pm monday and it is now tues 6 am and i am closing in onk well here's one of my highly anticipated games of 2011. i got my hands on rage at 8 pm monday and it is now tues 6 am and i am closing in on the games final hours of gameplay. usually i try not to rate a game w/o finishing it from front to back first but i know that many will wake up in the morning wanting to get an idea of what to expect w/ rage and whether or not you should buy it or not. I really did not know what to expect and as we know id software is the mother of the fps genre so being a huge fan of doom and quake i couldnt wait to see how they stacked up w/ next gen consoles. I must say that i immediately saw what these mega textures could do from the first moment upon leaving my hatch/pod and it was beautiful how nicely the world came to life clouds,rocks etc but i did notice that it was not perfect and tearing as well as these textures seem to fight it self at times as if saying "engine overload" . but as far as graphics well its hard to argue that it is one of the best displays on console to date, and the tearing doesnt stop the eyes from wanting to see more, lets put it that way. so graphics are B+.. the "wasteland hybrid" atv is the first time you will be in a vehicle and i was a bit surprised at the tight handling and response of the atv and then later the buggy. and the buggy can be raced for upgrades and weapon mods and is actually a fun time behind the wheel. so i cant help but think that this is feeling a lot like borderlands because as soon as i meet the locals after being rescued i am given a mission involving bandits. while speaking on the missions i will say that although its not as tedious as borderlands as far as side quests and looting it also does have that feel of go to point A and then go to B and then back to A, but just not as much of it. and yes some of the npc you meet are wonderfully crafted and designed but the voice acting is either spot on or just way off. but more importantly are the mundane tasks they ask of you, go light some firecrackers, fetch some buggy parts and grab supplies 50 yards from here,so i just wished while spending the time talking to the well made npc's i would get a better story or mission, well not to be found yet. but it does not take away from the nicely designed npc's and the not so nice (usually merchants) you will encounter along the way. the story finally starts to pick up and so do the weapons and different bullets and "crafting". one can craft a grinding lock pick to a turret to a few other"unique" devices which are a fun part of this game, and no work bench needed, just instructions along with ingredients/material. and i found a handful of "mini games" which were a fun spin on gambling and the "eye of judgement" type game was my fav.. 4 guys rolling dice w/ holograms of 3 mutants and a cowboy and the roll decides your how many shots you can have per turn. 5 finger fillet also makes a showing. the guns/weapons felt really good, the sniper rifle actually felt like one and the shotgun which can be upgraded to a grenade launcher,has a few kinds of ammo just like the hand gun and one round can be told from the other w/ being able to feel and see the harder impact or the damage done to enemies. the peasants gun (pistol) can be coupled w/ a monocular which is described as being a peice of binocular "the good half" so you will hold the gun in one while peeking in the monocular w/ the other, pretty funny how it works. but as far as the weapons, well there are just enough. not too many to get lost in the slight changes from one to the next and not too few to crave more or seem like its lacking. just enough to know and feel each one and learn very quickly the guns strengths and weakness. the wingblade is also a very cool 2 bladed boom-a-rang w/ a handle, but will only come back if you miss or just take out an arm or a leg. and if it gets lodged in the enemies head, you can get it back and can also craft them w/ the manual and materials.the enemies are not the most brilliant a.i i have ever seen, but not the dumbest either. they do get harder to fight as you progress but its their body reaction which is awesome, because they react to where and how they get shot or hit. the animations are very nice and funny at times. the sounds and music are not top notch but they are very good, and the sound effects were also down well. but overall i can simply say that there isnt much to speak of which hasnt been done already. i would say refer to borderlands as far as an idea of the style of game this is, i mean its not a bad thing just feels like the same in many ways, only that the graphics and gameplay/mechanics stand apart, the theme is very sim. but that is a compliment in a lot of ways,just felt like i played this game before.the graphics are great and this is where the game shines,and the controls are good but the story lacks and i feel like this is a well made game but one which is too familiar. its worth a play,but not a day1 must. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    One of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch onOne of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch on textures), few can beat this. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooterIt's a good thing that the main storyline is so short, otherwise the game wouldn't hold much interest for very long. As it is, a solid shooter that portends good things if they can combine Id's amazing shooter engine with Bethesda's top-notch storytelling. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-personThis is a game that lacks an identity. I have played 20 hours so far, and I don't know if the developers wanted this to be a first-person shooter, or a racing game. The racing portion was well-made. The vehicles have decent handling and the power-ups make the races quite a bit more interesting by forcing the player to strategize and adapt while racing. The vehicle customization is enjoyable, although the selections lacked depth. Vehicle driving consumes a large portion of the first 20 hours of the game. The first-person portion was a bit of a let down to me. The quests are monotonous and repetitive. Small, uni-directional environments make for an uninteresting quest experience. The weapons are difficult to aim, and it seems as though all of the weapons have the same damage effects as well as the same sound effects. The enemies are either over-powered or under-powered, and have incredibly bad A.I. Also, there is no cover system implemented in this game, and your character can often be shot or killed through objects, making for a frustrating gaming experience. Through the first 20 hours of game play, very little information is given on the background of your character (or other characters), and this alienates the player from the game world. There is no feeling of immersion and there is no emotional bond with this game. However, the portion I was really impressed with was the graphics rendering. This game is almost certainly the best-looking PS3 game I have ever played. The game has an impressive environment and art direction. The most impressive graphics feature, however, is that the environment doesn't blur when there is movement on-screen, or when panning the camera. Graphics-wise, this game is beautiful. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    Rocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires noRocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires no skill, just dumb luck and you will fail continuously while you rage at the game, hence the name of the game. What a shame, because this game woudl be completely bad-ass if not for that stupid feature that spoils the rest of the game. Rocket Rally is so bad, that the person or people responsible for implementing it into the game deserve to be send to prison for the stress they caused to players. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.