Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    96
    Minor quibbles aside, we here at GamingExcellence have never been so happy to be so enraged. It's a great day for gaming when we can welcome id Software back into our living rooms and computer desks. RAGE is an easy candidate for the best game of the year, and was well worth the wait. Don't miss it.
  2. 90
    Rage is the complete package that fans of shooters, RPGs, and buggy racers have been waiting for. Combined with its jaw-dropping visual presentation, Rage easily one of the best games of the year.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    Rage is an amazing game, but we can't help but feel that it doesn't reach its full potential. While the shooting and the racing often works brilliantly, a rather weak story, repetitive missions and a lot of graphical errors ultimately make for a disappointing game.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Rage is a beautiful game that looks equally stunning with or without the hefty installation (which reduces the load times and is optional on the 360 but required on the PS3), so regardless of which platform you play on, you'll find a rich and rewarding adventure that sets a new visual standard for the postapocalyptic wasteland.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage is a fun first person shooter, and a marvel to look at. Unfortunately it is let down by a weak story and presentation.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    If you think first person shooters take themselves a little too seriously, Rage is the game for you. If you like shotguns, explosions, imaginative ammunition types and crossbows then Rage is the game for you. It's an unapologetic love letter to the classic FPS gameplay that inspired the most popular genre in modern gaming and it updates enough that it doesn't feel in the least bit dated.
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    The knuckle-whitening, often horror-infused experiences inside of RAGE are essential to the vernacular of modern shooters. The pretty case they come in is not.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 126
  2. Negative: 29 out of 126
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make itAwesome game! amazing graphics, fun story, racing cars is a cool twist. It's a really great shooter with unique elements that make it different than a standard military type FPS. The graphics are worth the price of admission alone! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Beautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that'sBeautiful graphics and easily the best looking game ever made. (if you can ignore the unacceptable screen-tearing).Rage doesn't do much that's new.In fact,some gameplay elements are archaic in nature;the quest structure for example.I enjoyed the vehicles a great deal,and didn't mind the arcade style driving.The FPS mechanics are typical id software,which is to say that they are great though the game descends into corridor shooting a lot,which the developers made famous in the 90's.All in all,the amazing visuals,fun vehicle elements and upgrades add a couple of points to what is essentially an old school FPS. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Graphics, voice acting, controls, mini games, car racing, intense battles, and quests/story worth reading. These are some of the great thingsGraphics, voice acting, controls, mini games, car racing, intense battles, and quests/story worth reading. These are some of the great things I've noticed so far. The fact that the game only lasts about 10-15 hours with doing every side quest etc and a weak multiplayer make me give it a 8/10. It is obvious where ID put their efforts. Funny thing is all these idiots giving it below a 5(which in NO WAY it deserves) will probably give Modern Warfare 3 a 10. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    One of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch onOne of the best FPSes I have played of late let down by its lack of Coop and multiplayer modes. Controls and graphics (ther than the glitch on textures), few can beat this. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    6
    Disappointing. Rage has been on peoples radars ever since the first trailer, it promised a stunning open world action RPG, with great visuals.Disappointing. Rage has been on peoples radars ever since the first trailer, it promised a stunning open world action RPG, with great visuals. What we got was an arcade racing game with shooter elements. Besides looting, buying and selling, there are no Role Playing elements in this game, you don't level up, you don't have tons of upgradable guns, the story is almost non existent and boring fetch quest type with no decisions or memorable characters. The racing parts of this game feel completely alien to the shooting ones, it feels like a completely different game. I still can't believe how ID screwed up this game with poor gameplay and design decisions with such a great idea and style. The visuals look stunning...on a screenshot, a shooter, especially a 60 fps shooter is all about movement, and the visuals completely degenerate in that area. Textures load every time you turn, every goddamn time, leaving 80% of the game looking like a horrid PS2 title. So what are you left with once you notice the obvious shortcoming? A solid first person shooter with an out of place racing mechanic, not an RPG you hoped for. This is a rent. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    5
    When you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailersWhen you think of a game from ID you think of some good solid games like Doom . Rage had alot of hype and from the screen shots and trailers it looked very promising . Then i got to play it and the first thing i noticed right off the bat was just how god awful the texture pop in was . yes thoose graphics and facial animations look great when they don't take 5 seconds to load up. now texture pop ups to me is a small gripe if the game play is solid and fun and story is entertaining ... unfortunitly Rage doesnt do much better there eather. the gun play is good and solid and wepon selection great but the story is so abysmally dull you will not give a crap on what is going on. also the missions are just very very bland and repetitive . this game borrows heavily from boarderlands with out the fun, 4 player co-op or HUGE open world to run through. had this game had a huge open world , better missions, a some what a decent story . it could have been a pretty good game worth $60 as it is ... its not even worth renting because of ID's retarded move to lock out some of the the games story content if you dont buy it new. id say im glad i only payed $18 for this new on Amazon only 2 months after it came out but i kind of can't but i atleast can say i am glad i didn't pay $60 for it because if i did it would get a lower score. it took me 3 months to finish the game because i was so bored with the game and not because it was long . it's only about 12 hours which actauly isn't bad for a FPS game but when its so boring i cant play it longer then 20-30 min at a sit down because i know longer give a crap... well that says alot about the game. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    Rocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires noRocket Rally... remove that garbage from the game and this game is an easy 10/10. Rocket Rally is this part of the game that requires no skill, just dumb luck and you will fail continuously while you rage at the game, hence the name of the game. What a shame, because this game woudl be completely bad-ass if not for that stupid feature that spoils the rest of the game. Rocket Rally is so bad, that the person or people responsible for implementing it into the game deserve to be send to prison for the stress they caused to players. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.