Ragnarok Odyssey ACE PlayStation 3

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Buy On
  1. 90
    Combat feels faster and more fluid than most other similar games.
  2. Apr 9, 2014
    87
    If you don’t mind a little grinding for better weapons and equipment, putting the time into ROA can be a very rewarding and enjoyable time spent.
  3. 66
    Ragnarok Odyssey ACE provides almost double the content of the original and adds some successful new features, but fails to fix all the problems. Overall, it likely won't change the position of fans or critics.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    60
    Enjoying Ragnarok Odyssey: ACE hinges on enjoying the original, because this is the same game that was released in 2012 with more content.
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    60
    While it’s the way to go compared to its original PS Vita only release in 2012, Ragnarok Odyssey ACE might not be the Monster Hunter replacement you’re looking for, that being said with the implementation of cross play it might just keep you busy for a while.
  6. 60
    Ragnarok Odyssey ACE is more of the same, a lot more of the same, and the current assortment of new content and gameplay improvements may not be enough to warrant the steep $40 price tag, even for veteran aficionados of the cult action-RPG series.
  7. May 5, 2014
    50
    Ragnarok Odyssey ACE is a good game to play in bursts because it doesn't demand a lot of one's attention or time. It's even more enjoyable when you have a friend to share it with. Unfortunately, there's just not enough variety in terms of missions or gameplay to keep the game engaging.
  8. Apr 3, 2014
    50
    Ragnarok Odyssey Ace learned its tricks in the school of MMO fundamentals, and though character customizations are initially fun, the shine quickly wears off in the face of levels and battles as repetitive as they are unrewarding.
  9. Apr 7, 2014
    30
    Ragnarok Odyssey ACE tries its best to salvage last year’s disappointing Vita-only action-RPG with a few new gameplay mechanics and expanded content, but the minor fixes can’t come close to patching the fundamentally boring core.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    great game!!! perfect fun game for the ps vita!!! good rpg, good controls and good story. i would definitely recommend this to anyone withgreat game!!! perfect fun game for the ps vita!!! good rpg, good controls and good story. i would definitely recommend this to anyone with a vita who loves rpgs!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    for what the game is, a boss hunting / co op game i really enjoy it.
    not sure why the reviews are so bad? maybe those people didn't know what
    for what the game is, a boss hunting / co op game i really enjoy it.
    not sure why the reviews are so bad? maybe those people didn't know what they were getting into or something. the game is cool though. i really like the cross save / cross play. it will be around for a long time.

    i suggest looking into video reviews or some footage.
    *shrug* i enjoy it
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2016
    7
    Not good, not bad. Most positive thing i can say is they made something different.. This is not an RPG, it is an action game, and veryNot good, not bad. Most positive thing i can say is they made something different.. This is not an RPG, it is an action game, and very twitch/fastpaced at that. Its most like Ninja Gaiden on Xbox, or Shinobi, in my opinion. There are no "levels" to your character. You buy skills with gold. No world map, select what you want to do from a list. Graphics are extremely impressive on both PS3 & Vita.

    Most negative thing i can say is no game should have a camera/targetting this bad. I mean really, if this was a Gamecube or Dreamcast game, it would have been considered an absolutely horrible camera/targetting system even back then... IMO it just doesn't really work, i encourage you to try targetting the closest enemy to you and see how many times it actually works.. Plenty reason not to play the game, and there are unfortunately many more i won't go into, official reviews cover them well. So many useless features/etc that feel obviously tacked on and annoying as well.

    To close with a positive note, i think this game is graphically & gameplay-wise better than White Knight Chronicle, but the flaws make it worth skipping unless you're really patient. As of 2016 you can still sometimes find one or two parties online.
    Full Review »