• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 1, 2013
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 76
  2. Negative: 2 out of 76
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The only thing we don’t like about Rain is its playtime: it’s too short, we want to enjoy more of this game. A stunning display of story, with a magnificent soundtrack and we haven’t even talked about the gameplay yet. Puzzling in the rain has never been this beautiful and good.
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    Through complementary presentation, pacing, and the ease of the puzzles, the game’s rain mechanic transcends gimmickry and effectively serves both the gameplay and the narrative.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    With similarities to the likes of ICO, Shadow of The Colossus and last year's Journey, it's another exceptional entry in Sony's arthouse-inspired run of games that it consistently does so well.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    If Tokyo Jungle didn't make you believe in C.A.M.P, Rain certainly will. With all of the doom and gloom about how Japan can't compete with Western megahits, it's definitely refreshing to see these smaller projects feel so tightly designed and well-realized. In a world where Ico was the hit it should have been, we would have been seeing games like Rain a lot sooner than 2013.
  6. 88
    Rain isn’t the longest game I’ve ever played, nor is it the most frantic or thrilling, but it is definitely an incredibly enjoyable and engaging tale of two children lost in the cold, dark of night.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    Rain is a melancholic poem that grabs you as you play it and stays with you after you turn off your PS3.
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    From the very first video, you already knew whether Rain was for you or not. It's short and simple. Actually, it's always trying to tell you what to do next, preventing you from even attempting to think how to solve a situation, which is something hard to understand and annoying. But if you can forgive this, you'll live an experience that no other game can give you.
  9. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    I became invested in the characters almost immediately and found the game very accessible. It's perhaps a little too easy or too linear for some, and I would have appreciated another gameplay mechanic or two, but I found the design and difficulty to be perfectly fitting for the type of game this is.
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    87
    Rain is a wonderful, atmospheric game that’s too short but well worth the experience. It takes turns that I never expected it to.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    In short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and once you beat it that's pretty much it....however if you can immerse yourself in this beautiful,stunning world then you will come out of this game like me amazed. Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    One of the best gaming artistic experiences I ever had. Set in a European city, probably Paris, in a wet raining night, escaping from what it is the metaphor of an illness. In terms of gameplay it may seem a bit weak, but that its not what the games focus on, it is all about the experience. Also you bet you will still manage to die anyway. I have been a bit disappointed by the ending, that like the prologue turned into a water colours clip. But apart from that the journey gives what intended to, what any lover of raining days does expect. It can't be missed, you won't regret it. Full Review »