• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 1, 2013
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    Rain is a beautiful experience for PS3. A creative and charming adventure with all the flavors of Sony Japan Studio.
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    85
    It is short, but Rain gives you tons of magical, suspenseful and emotional moments.
  3. 88
    Rain isn’t the longest game I’ve ever played, nor is it the most frantic or thrilling, but it is definitely an incredibly enjoyable and engaging tale of two children lost in the cold, dark of night.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    75
    Not enough gameplay for kids and the story is too weak for adults. Rain is not perfect but it’s one of those games that gives PS3 its unique character. [12/2013, p.65]
  5. 84
    If you are looking for a game that’s a non-stop thrill ride, you should look somewhere else. But if you want to connect with a game in a way that you aren’t used to, want to feel something, or just love buckets of precipitation–rain is the game for you. At $15, there isn’t really anything else like it.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    If you have a PS3 and can roll with the kind of plaintive adventure Rain revels in, it’s one of the year’s most interesting peculiarities.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Rain is not quite the model of refinement that some of its PlayStation Network peers have been, but it's an overwhelmingly amiable, effectively cultivated little adventure. Calming and scary, amusing and sorrowful, Rain is a game that jogs calmly through a gamut of emotions, rather than sprints headlong into mood whiplash, and it's incredibly difficult to ever dislike it, even during its twitchier moments. Rain is, above all, a most balmy experience.
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    I became invested in the characters almost immediately and found the game very accessible. It's perhaps a little too easy or too linear for some, and I would have appreciated another gameplay mechanic or two, but I found the design and difficulty to be perfectly fitting for the type of game this is.
  9. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Rain is a creative and charming adventure that provides a refreshing set of twists beyond what we’re used to. Nearly everything it does it does with a sense of style and grace, but it’s also easy to feel as if Rain’s ideas could have been fleshed out even more had the project had a bigger scope to it.
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Rain is the latest game out of Sony Japans PlayStation C.A.M.P.-initiative, and it's the one most focused on story-telling. Through a rainy town, an invisible boy searches for a friendly face, an invisible girl. Through narrow alleyways and abandoned factories, the quest to banish loneliness and isolation goes on. A touching, moving and sublime beauty hangs over Rain, and the story delivers quite an impact.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Just like the weather, Rain arouses different feelings. Some people may consider it as a melancholic, familiar phenomenon, while other might see it as a purely magical moment. Because at the end of the road, it's just a question of interpretation, like art.
  12. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    Rain won't tax players the way other puzzle-platformers might, but what it lacks in challenge it more makes up for in atmosphere and story. An aching, moody title, it will nonetheless charm those who brave its inclement climes.
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Rain brings up the poet in you. With a beautiful soundtrack, refined story and a style that oozes beauty, it keeps you looking for a deeper meaning. That makes for an intriguing experience, although the stylish bubble has a tendency of breaking and the simple gameplay becomes an obstacle.
  14. Oct 19, 2013
    77
    This is a beautiful and brave adventure with an inescapable sense of melancholy. [Dec 2013, p.66]
  15. Oct 1, 2013
    87
    Rain is a wonderful, atmospheric game that’s too short but well worth the experience. It takes turns that I never expected it to.
  16. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    While not as intriguing or long-lasting as something like Tokyo Jungle, I think PS3 players will still find themselves enraptured by the unique design of Rain's water-soaked world.
  17. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    With an emotional story and great sense of style, Rain should be one of this year's best games. Unfortunately it's marred by a story that ends far too soon and puzzles that are never challenging. Even with those problems, fans of ICO and stealth action will find a lot to like about Rain. At least for the three hours it lasts.
  18. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    In the end, Rain is a beautifully crafted game on the PlayStation 3 which proves that sometimes less is more. It is well narrated and features some sturdy gameplay that I could happily recommend to all gamers who want something a little different. Given that, Rain is also an emotional experience that successfully draws the player into this dream like world of rain.
  19. Oct 8, 2013
    80
    Rain is the next downloadable game by Sony, that shows perfectly why the PlayStation Network-titles are made. Short, intriguing experiences that centralize the player. This mysterious world is beautiful and creates a memorable experience for the player. It's a shame that it takes a while to get going and uses a lot of text, but after an hour or two no one will care anymore.
  20. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    This original game wants you to relax. Its good design, excellent soundtrack and outstanding narrative are paired with a classic-style control system. This system is one of the shortcomings of the game, besides the general feeling of being discouraged from replaying any level we've already finished.
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    While Rain offers interesting puzzles, in the end, it falls short and its ideas are never fully developed. The concept is simple: you are only visible when exposed to the rain. The theme and the atmosphere of the game are gorgeous, unique and exciting, the problem is the execution: the story lacks pacing and it gets dull sometimes. Other than that, Rain it's worth a download. It should be the perfect companion for a rainy day.
  22. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    Through complementary presentation, pacing, and the ease of the puzzles, the game’s rain mechanic transcends gimmickry and effectively serves both the gameplay and the narrative.
  23. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    One of the most sensible experiences of the year, RAIN is pure feelings in a simple tale of boy meets girl and scape from monsters. The shadow of ICO is undoubtedly planning over SCE Japan Studio's new creature, but the makers of Puppeteer manage to give its creature an unique personality. Beautiful, lyrical, and extraordinary deep in feelings, RAIN makes itself Debussy's Claire de Lune to touch us and make us part of its own rain.
  24. Rain drops shows more than just silhouettes, with its great take on atmosphere and beautiful musical score, Rain is a classic.
  25. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    Rain is a melancholic poem that grabs you as you play it and stays with you after you turn off your PS3.
  26. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    Rain is a moving yet quiescent exploration of a very real emotion. It manages an unsettling but tranquil tale that wants you to confront your own fears of being alone. It does so with story and gameplay in unison, though it could have told us a lot more by saying a little less.
  27. Mar 11, 2014
    86
    Rain is sad, beautiful and highly playable. [Nov 2013]
  28. 80
    The game does manage to immerse players in Rain‘s world and the sound team in particular has done a fantastic job. The results of their work will likely draw an emotional response from Rain‘s intended audience. For people looking to play a game, this is not Rain’s foremost concern. For people looking to experience a narrative, Rain is for you.
  29. A three-hour experience that is equally touching, haunting and well worth your time. [December 2013, p82]
  30. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    Rain is an anxious emotion — something that pulled me in with a setting so charming that I wanted to spend time there even when I was on edge.
  31. Oct 1, 2013
    83
    The story loses us every now and then, the control isn’t always spot-on, and there were missed design and gameplay opportunities. But the result is what matters. What matters is that we feel as if we’re part of something attractively surreal, an interactive endeavor with intrigue and a bit of philosophy, a distinct style and ambiance that is simple yet memorable.
  32. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    A unique and highly atmospheric game you just can't help but finish in one sitting... though that leads us towards its biggest shortcoming: it's too short and perhaps a bit too easy as well.
  33. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    A wet and mild ride through a spirit-infested city, Rain is soaked with smart stealth-lite systems and awe-inducing presentation. The simple puzzles and short running time wash away some of its triumphs, and it certainly won’t leave you streaming like Japan Studio’s most memorable excursions, but the adventure will still linger on your lips like a kiss under a dark cloud.
  34. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    A simply beautiful experience, and a perfect example of the kinds of games which Sony have tried to foster on their platforms over the last few years.
  35. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    If Tokyo Jungle didn't make you believe in C.A.M.P, Rain certainly will. With all of the doom and gloom about how Japan can't compete with Western megahits, it's definitely refreshing to see these smaller projects feel so tightly designed and well-realized. In a world where Ico was the hit it should have been, we would have been seeing games like Rain a lot sooner than 2013.
  36. Oct 1, 2013
    88
    From the very first video, you already knew whether Rain was for you or not. It's short and simple. Actually, it's always trying to tell you what to do next, preventing you from even attempting to think how to solve a situation, which is something hard to understand and annoying. But if you can forgive this, you'll live an experience that no other game can give you.
  37. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    With similarities to the likes of ICO, Shadow of The Colossus and last year's Journey, it's another exceptional entry in Sony's arthouse-inspired run of games that it consistently does so well.
  38. Apr 19, 2014
    75
    Without any multiplayer, exploration, or any other significant points of interest, Rain is a short, easy ride you'd be hard-pressed to venture into more than once.
  39. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The only thing we don’t like about Rain is its playtime: it’s too short, we want to enjoy more of this game. A stunning display of story, with a magnificent soundtrack and we haven’t even talked about the gameplay yet. Puzzling in the rain has never been this beautiful and good.
  40. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    4
    Sadly, rain doesn't make anything out of it's interesting wet vs. dry concepts, instead let's you walk through an extremely linear gameworldSadly, rain doesn't make anything out of it's interesting wet vs. dry concepts, instead let's you walk through an extremely linear gameworld and do the same, simple, boring and uninspired stuff you've done in too many similar games before. Push a box here to climb up there. Pull a lever here, jump there. The graphics, while pretty, are technically surprisingly weak and the story is exactly what you'd expect. The solutions to each area are obvious but the game still holds your hand throughout the game and tells you what to do before you even get to try anything. It's not that you can't have good moments with this game, it's just that it's so forgettable and uninspired. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    In short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and onceIn short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and once you beat it that's pretty much it....however if you can immerse yourself in this beautiful,stunning world then you will come out of this game like me amazed. Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almostRain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Full Review »