rain PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
rain Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by PlayStation C.A.M.P!, the creative minds behind TOKYO JUNGLE and Echochrome rain is developed exclusively for the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system as a digital download through the PlayStation Network. rain is the enchanting tale of a boy who chases after a girl withDeveloped by PlayStation C.A.M.P!, the creative minds behind TOKYO JUNGLE and Echochrome rain is developed exclusively for the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system as a digital download through the PlayStation Network. rain is the enchanting tale of a boy who chases after a girl with an invisible silhouette. After discovering that the girl is being hunted by ghostly creatures, he embarks on his own journey into the mysterious world of rain to save her. Upon entering the world he discovers that he has also become invisible and he must learn to navigate through the unknown, using the rain to guide and protect him. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    87
    Rain is a wonderful, atmospheric game that’s too short but well worth the experience. It takes turns that I never expected it to.
  3. Rain drops shows more than just silhouettes, with its great take on atmosphere and beautiful musical score, Rain is a classic.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    This original game wants you to relax. Its good design, excellent soundtrack and outstanding narrative are paired with a classic-style control system. This system is one of the shortcomings of the game, besides the general feeling of being discouraged from replaying any level we've already finished.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    I think Rain, with its simple design and story, is best for families to play together or gamers looking for a relaxing weekend jaunt. It is for the most part quite lovely, but it lacks both the narrative and visual punches that could have ascended it to more worldly appeal and acclaim.
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    65
    Rain tries to tug at the heartstrings, but I never felt connected to the characters.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    30
    Like an actual storm itself, the game expends all of its invigorating freshness within the first 10 minutes, and what follows is more of a tedious and waterlogged slog.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almostRain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    In short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and onceIn short Rain is beautiful,short,sad and immersive. Like every game it does come with flaws....the main ones being how short it is and once you beat it that's pretty much it....however if you can immerse yourself in this beautiful,stunning world then you will come out of this game like me amazed Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    This was a very unique and Good game, from both the style of which the story is told down to the game play itself. It is not a long game butThis was a very unique and Good game, from both the style of which the story is told down to the game play itself. It is not a long game but it is an engrossing one with some bit replayability also. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Imaginative, thoughtful, and endearing, however, I thought it was too short and not challenging enough; more an auditory/visual treat thanImaginative, thoughtful, and endearing, however, I thought it was too short and not challenging enough; more an auditory/visual treat than game that will challenge you 7.5/10 Expand
  5. May 13, 2016
    8
    Rain is an adventure video game developed by SCE Japan Studio published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation 3 video gameRain is an adventure video game developed by SCE Japan Studio published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation 3 video game console. The player takes up the role as a young boy who is invisible and can only be seen when standing in the pouring rain. When walking under shelter outside the rain, the boy cannot be seen and can only be tracked by his watery footprints. The player utilizes the visibility of the boy, and other creatures, in the rain to solve various puzzles and tasks throughout the game. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2014
    7
    Valutare Rain non è facile. Avrete già capito da soli, leggendo questa recensione, che questo videogioco non è adatto a tutti e che purtroppoValutare Rain non è facile. Avrete già capito da soli, leggendo questa recensione, che questo videogioco non è adatto a tutti e che purtroppo in pochi sapranno apprezzarlo. Pur mostrandosi con un’idea originale non ne sfrutta il potenziale e cade nella sua stessa semplicità che porterà il giocatore a dover ripetere le stesse azioni per le 3-4 ore che gli saranno necessarie a completare il gioco. Una volta terminato, iniziando una nuova partita troverete sparsi per le strade dei ricordi che racconteranno il passato dei due bambini. Se ritenete di poter metter da parte l’azione e la frenesia a cui i videogiochi ci hanno abituato e gli darete un’occasione, Rain vi prenderà per mano e vi catturerà con la sua malinconia. Ma se pensate di non potervi concedere una pausa dalle vostre guerriglie online, rilassandovi guardando la pioggia cadere sui vostri schermi, non considerate l’acquisto di questa poetica esperienza. La scelta è quindi vincolata ai vostri gusti personali, per questo non ritengo di poter consigliarne l’acquisto, anche se la qualità del titolo è indubbiamente buona. Aprirete gli ombrelli per ripararvi dalla pioggia o vi lascerete trasportare da questa fiaba? Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This game was good looking but boy was it boring. The "puzzles" aren't much of a puzzle if it is obvious. It introduces concepts that IThis game was good looking but boy was it boring. The "puzzles" aren't much of a puzzle if it is obvious. It introduces concepts that I thought would get harder but they just disappear. Lots of just walking around in the rain. Hardest part was sometimes you couldn't figure out where you were because you are invisible and only have footprints to locate. Story was arty nonsense. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers