• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by PlayStation C.A.M.P!, the creative minds behind TOKYO JUNGLE and Echochrome rain is developed exclusively for the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system as a digital download through the PlayStation Network. rain is the enchanting tale of a boy who chases after a girl with an invisible silhouette. After discovering that the girl is being hunted by ghostly creatures, he embarks on his own journey into the mysterious world of rain to save her. Upon entering the world he discovers that he has also become invisible and he must learn to navigate through the unknown, using the rain to guide and protect him. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    87
    Rain is a wonderful, atmospheric game that’s too short but well worth the experience. It takes turns that I never expected it to.
  3. Rain drops shows more than just silhouettes, with its great take on atmosphere and beautiful musical score, Rain is a classic.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    This original game wants you to relax. Its good design, excellent soundtrack and outstanding narrative are paired with a classic-style control system. This system is one of the shortcomings of the game, besides the general feeling of being discouraged from replaying any level we've already finished.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    A competent, though uncomplicated, puzzle effort, with a decidedly average storytelling style. The invisibility mechanic is also a wonderful idea, yet flawed in execution. Rain has moments of greatness, particularly in the way it is framed, but overall, it drizzles to a close.
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    65
    Rain tries to tug at the heartstrings, but I never felt connected to the characters.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    30
    Like an actual storm itself, the game expends all of its invigorating freshness within the first 10 minutes, and what follows is more of a tedious and waterlogged slog.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This is what could be if Silent Hill was a fairytail. I absolutely loved an atmosphere, world design and music. The end is pretty much predictable, however I still loved it. 10 0f 10. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    One of the best gaming artistic experiences I ever had. Set in a European city, probably Paris, in a wet raining night, escaping from what it is the metaphor of an illness. In terms of gameplay it may seem a bit weak, but that its not what the games focus on, it is all about the experience. Also you bet you will still manage to die anyway. I have been a bit disappointed by the ending, that like the prologue turned into a water colours clip. But apart from that the journey gives what intended to, what any lover of raining days does expect. It can't be missed, you won't regret it. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Like an E-rated "LIMBO," "Rain" is a beautiful, dark, atmospheric piece that has a more innocent heart at its core. It is the perfect game to play during a quiet, rainy, lonely evening at home. The story is simplistic and doesn't come with any real 'twists' or surprises at any point, but it works for the kind of experience that the game is intended to provide. If you've enjoyed independent artsy games along the vein of LIMBO, Journey, and Unfinished Swan, then this is exactly the kind of experience you'd come to expect, and it fits nicely as another example of the many independent games which have come out in recent years which could be considered "art." Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Nice "indie style game", great story in the line of Journey and others. Great songs but a little repetitive. In 3-4 hours you can beat the game but as a great replay value. I ever recommend this type of games, are really pleasant! Sorry forr my english and greatings from Spain, Enjoy this game! Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    The game is great stealth game that is very pretty and has great sound design that unfortunately overstays its welcome.

    The game's premise
    is interesting, enough to keep you until the end to find out what's going on. And the ending does wrap things up quite nicely, with some great Fridge Brilliance concepts. The premise of a boy lost in a strange world of invisible creatures that only appear because the rain is falling on them keeps you on your toes, always wondering if one of those things is going to jump out into the rain and eat you dead. The stealth element is wonderfully done, with you knowing well when you're hidden and when you're visible. There's very few times in the game when you as the player can't deduce where he is, as things like footprints and upturned dust and items always provide clues to where your character is moving.

    The music and visual design are very well done, though the beginning and ending cutscenes with the vague watercolor style may feel a little misplaced. The soft constant rain is soothing and the sound of enemy feet tense. The narrative, told through floating words, is wonderfully done, though it can be taken as a lot of telling instead of showing sometimes. I could feel my character's unease when walking away from encounters with enemies, as he folded his hands and glanced about, and as he shielded his eyes against the rain, peering into the darkness around him. The level design and camera can be annoying sometimes, with the way forward not always properly marked or highlighted, and the camera sometimes favoring the vista over seeing where your character should be standing. That being said, unless you specifically jump, it is often times impossible to run your character off a ledge he wasn't supposed to jump off, which means you can focus a little more on the vistas presented. The game has a hints system, but it is selective as to when you're allowed to see the hints, and when it does, they're just telling you the logic behind the puzzle, which most of the time you've already figured out; what would be better in the few times you need a hint would be to point out the place in the landscape you need to go, which it what it often times does without your prompt with movable boxes and climbable ladders.

    Unfortunately, the game paradoxically is both too short and too long. Many gameplay elements are introduced, used once or twice, and then completely forgotten about. For example, a gameplay element in the first chapter, breaking down scaffolding, is needed to get to the level exit, but is never used again afterwards. There's a great element introduced later about moving cover that is used maybe twice immediately after it was introduced. The story feels like it reaches its climax in chapter 5, only for it to continue for another 3 chapters after with repeated gameplay. The story during these last 3 chapters feels like it's stuck on loop, with gameplay using mechanics only from the first chapter and none of the later ones, and will have you saying "Oh, come on! Not again!" right up until the actually quite excellent ending.

    If you like stealth gameplay, it's a must get. Just be forewarned that you may be a little irritated by how long it feels like its going, and by how long it actually went.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This game was good looking but boy was it boring. The "puzzles" aren't much of a puzzle if it is obvious. It introduces concepts that I thought would get harder but they just disappear. Lots of just walking around in the rain. Hardest part was sometimes you couldn't figure out where you were because you are invisible and only have footprints to locate. Story was arty nonsense. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews