rain PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
rain Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by PlayStation C.A.M.P!, the creative minds behind TOKYO JUNGLE and Echochrome rain is developed exclusively for the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system as a digital download through the PlayStation Network. rain is the enchanting tale of a boy who chases after a girl withDeveloped by PlayStation C.A.M.P!, the creative minds behind TOKYO JUNGLE and Echochrome rain is developed exclusively for the PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system as a digital download through the PlayStation Network. rain is the enchanting tale of a boy who chases after a girl with an invisible silhouette. After discovering that the girl is being hunted by ghostly creatures, he embarks on his own journey into the mysterious world of rain to save her. Upon entering the world he discovers that he has also become invisible and he must learn to navigate through the unknown, using the rain to guide and protect him. Expand
  • Developer: SCE Japan Studio
  • Genre(s): Miscellaneous, Action Adventure, Fantasy, General, General, Fantasy, Linear
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E10+
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    The night I finished “rain”, I fell asleep thinking about the story and what had transpired during the journey. Then the next morning I awoke thinking about it once more. While I didn’t have any clear ideas as to what it all meant, I was left with the undeniable feeling that I had experienced something exceptional.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    87
    Rain is a wonderful, atmospheric game that’s too short but well worth the experience. It takes turns that I never expected it to.
  3. Rain drops shows more than just silhouettes, with its great take on atmosphere and beautiful musical score, Rain is a classic.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    This original game wants you to relax. Its good design, excellent soundtrack and outstanding narrative are paired with a classic-style control system. This system is one of the shortcomings of the game, besides the general feeling of being discouraged from replaying any level we've already finished.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    I think Rain, with its simple design and story, is best for families to play together or gamers looking for a relaxing weekend jaunt. It is for the most part quite lovely, but it lacks both the narrative and visual punches that could have ascended it to more worldly appeal and acclaim.
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    65
    Rain tries to tug at the heartstrings, but I never felt connected to the characters.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    30
    Like an actual storm itself, the game expends all of its invigorating freshness within the first 10 minutes, and what follows is more of a tedious and waterlogged slog.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Rain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almostRain has to be my best purchase this year! With a beautiful soundtrack and wonderful atmosphere I got sucked into the world of rain almost immediately. It's the type of game that only comes around once every couple of years. Everything was so perfect there's nothing i can say i would change. If i had to pick one word to describe this game it would "Simple". Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This is what could be if Silent Hill was a fairytail. I absolutely loved an atmosphere, world design and music. The end is pretty muchThis is what could be if Silent Hill was a fairytail. I absolutely loved an atmosphere, world design and music. The end is pretty much predictable, however I still loved it. 10 0f 10. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand how some people do not see the beauty in this game. The water colors at the prologue and ending were just outstanding, sure it made it a little hard to see things, but its WATERCOLOR. The music was very good in my opinion it had that sorrow feeling of the two being trapped in the European city, most likely Italy. The story was probably familiar, we've all seen those cheesy movie. But at the end when the Unknown crushed the boy I was generally shocked. I thought that monster was dead and the girl left because she thought the boy was like her, really sick, was just a little sad.

    At that one part in the story where the girl finds her real home and then sees her sick little body and tries to wake herself up, that was done well. It was sad. Could you imagine being trapped in a rainy world then finding your sick body in a bed not waking up? Then afterwards when the Unknown came into the house and chased the girl away I thought she was gone for good. Then she popped back up again in The Unknown Town, where you had to find a way through the city to meet with her again and finally up an end the the creature of the night by opening the doors of the real city.

    The camera angles were a bit weird and hard to control at times and there were probably bugs, but its not a perfect game. No game is. Not your Call of Duty, your MineCraft or even The Last of Us. They aren't perfect games.

    Now I think early on most people gave this game negativity because 'lack of game play', I don't think people of this generation appreciate games like this anymore. It wasn't about the game play, but the experience and story.

    I love how the watercolors were implanted instead of making it a rainy cut-scene. It gives an art style you don't see in games nowadays and it still manages to uphold that watery feel to the game.

    It's a short game only 8 chapters long, but I promise you won't regret it if you're into these kind of games.
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Like an E-rated "LIMBO," "Rain" is a beautiful, dark, atmospheric piece that has a more innocent heart at its core. It is the perfect game toLike an E-rated "LIMBO," "Rain" is a beautiful, dark, atmospheric piece that has a more innocent heart at its core. It is the perfect game to play during a quiet, rainy, lonely evening at home. The story is simplistic and doesn't come with any real 'twists' or surprises at any point, but it works for the kind of experience that the game is intended to provide. If you've enjoyed independent artsy games along the vein of LIMBO, Journey, and Unfinished Swan, then this is exactly the kind of experience you'd come to expect, and it fits nicely as another example of the many independent games which have come out in recent years which could be considered "art." Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2017
    8
    Play this in a rainny day. If you love the rain and the old style gameplay of PSX games. Rain is for you. Is not pretentious. Is not tooPlay this in a rainny day. If you love the rain and the old style gameplay of PSX games. Rain is for you. Is not pretentious. Is not too complex. Is simple, maybe a bit too much for some people but it is a different lovely game. For sensitive people in a special mood maybe. The game is for all ages ;) Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2014
    8
    Playing 'Rain' was a lovely experience. It is a charming and beautiful game that I thoroughly enjoyed. It is a puzzle game aimed more at aPlaying 'Rain' was a lovely experience. It is a charming and beautiful game that I thoroughly enjoyed. It is a puzzle game aimed more at a relaxing time with the innovative theme, rather than fast paced action, which for once I enjoyed and preferred.

    There were a few occasions where the art layout of the streets created a bit of confusion with the puzzles - such as escaping the 'Unknown' and trying to run up stairs which weren't part of the gameplay space. If it were for these I would have given it a higher rating, but well worth the small price tag.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This game was good looking but boy was it boring. The "puzzles" aren't much of a puzzle if it is obvious. It introduces concepts that IThis game was good looking but boy was it boring. The "puzzles" aren't much of a puzzle if it is obvious. It introduces concepts that I thought would get harder but they just disappear. Lots of just walking around in the rain. Hardest part was sometimes you couldn't figure out where you were because you are invisible and only have footprints to locate. Story was arty nonsense. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers