Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    92
    Overall, I was very surprised with how much fun Rainbow Moon was and would highly recommend any fans of RPGs to buy the game. If you have fifteen dollars you will find there is no better way to spend your money, if you don't I'd recommend saving up to buy this game.
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    90
    With more features than we can fit in a review and an epic quest that can last up to 100 hours, Rainbow Moon is completely worthy of a boxed retail release. Instead, Rainbow Moon launched itself on PSN in the hopes to break our social lives, rather than our wallets. RPG fans, this one is not to be missed.
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    87
    The bottom line is that Rainbow Moon is put together fantastically well. It really is a very solid and complete package from top to bottom. There's enough depth to satisfy even the most hardcore, the blending of strategy and traditional elements is both innovative and extraordinary, the feel and style is just beautiful, and yeah, the hours can really melt away.
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    83
    Even though Rainbow Moon does push the retro adventuring vibe, it is an absolute joy to play. If you played RPGs in the 1990s, developers SideQuest Studios have made a game for you. If you've never played an isometric strategic RPG before, it's still a game for you. In fact, everyone should play Rainbow Moon.
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    83
    Rainbow Moon bedazzles with its classic turn based tactics in front of scenic backdrops. Story and characters could be better, but exploring the huge world, fighting countless battles and nurturing your heroes will keep you busy for weeks and months.
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Rainbow Moon is a game that I couldn't help but come away from with pleasant feelings. It's not revolutionary, but it's well-executed and knows exactly what it wants to be. There is a certain type of player out there who is going to absolutely love this game, and get hours upon hours of enjoyment out of it. The only question you have to ask yourself is if you are that kind of player. If not, at least try it out for the sweet music!
  7. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    An addictive, time-consuming take on grinding and grid-based battles. It lacks innovation, but it's very enjoyable and extremely lengthy. [Oct 2012, p.59]
  8. Does Rainbow Moon pack enough gameplay to pass 15 dollars worth of time? Absolutely, and then some. [Oct 2012, p.84]
  9. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    In conclusion, Rainbow Moon is a very good effort. Although the story isn't quite as gripping as it could have been, the substance is spot on. Rainbow Moon has a perfect learning curve, with a great balance of gradually easing in new abilities, and giving the player a chance to get the hang of them.
  10. Jul 30, 2012
    80
    If you're looking for an old school JRPG that is demanding and will keep you in front of your TV screen for hours upon hours, Rainbow Moon is ideal for you.
  11. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    For a fistful of bucks you will receive a surprisingly good-old-fashioned-tactic-RPG that deserves all of your attention.
  12. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    It's hard to ask for more from such a complete product. This is a must have for everyone hungering for a new strategic role playing game.
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Through a combination of streamlining what is a genuinely complicated game and using a simple but effective presentation, the developers have one of the best downloadable games PS3 has ever seen.
  14. 80
    The game is a huge time sink in terms of exploration and leveling, making it a perfect way to while away the summer doldrums.
  15. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    A great tactical RPG that more or less mixes the turn-based combat of the early Final Fantasy games with the strategic joy that was Vandal Hearts. It's not the best game ever – among others, the story is lacking – but we definitely recommend it to fans of the genre.
  16. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    A top-tier Strategic RPG no doubt, packed with tons of different quests. It'll take fans of the genre to the long forgotten old-school gameplay style. It's not as deep as other comrades on its field, but it's the best choice to enjoy ourselves in a dusty role playing game for the summer break.
  17. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    This is not an unoriginal game. SideQuest Studios was looking just for this, an old-school RPG, but with updated graphics. It has mixed influences and this causes some weird results, but it works despite the classic genre flaws: repetitiveness. If you like classic RPG, this game is worth every cent.
  18. Jun 30, 2012
    80
    The rub with Rainbow Moon is that it's a time investment, and it's not a time investment those of you who don't like grinding RPGs will want to make. But for those of you that do enjoy a solid, old-school grind, spending time with Rainbow Moon is time well spent, especially considering Rainbow Moon costs a meager $15. Put bluntly, that's a hell of a value.
  19. Aug 6, 2012
    79
    It's a great tactical RPG that ticks all the boxes: Nice graphics, very retro-like sounds and ambient as well as a very thorough battle system. For only 12,99 it's a steal!
  20. Jul 22, 2012
    78
    There's a lot for old-school RPG fans to love in Rainbow Moon, and the price of admission is a bargain. I just wish the story were better.
  21. Jul 17, 2012
    78
    With six playable main characters with upgradeable weapons, armor and accessories, more than 20 challenging dungeons and a fascinating story that lasts over 40 hours, Rainbow Moon is the perfect game for all grind-based RPG fan.
  22. Jul 5, 2012
    78
    The only real drawback of Rainbow Moon is its lack of novelty. For everything else, the game proves to be well developed and able to entertain beginners and experts of the genre.
  23. Jul 5, 2012
    78
    Rainbow Moon it´s a classic RPG with tons of missions to complete, good graphics and a very engaging battle system.
  24. Rainbow Moon looks like an old school Japanese RPG, but it is actually made by Germans. It is a decent homage to JRPG's, but also made us long for the real classics. The combat system is great, but the excessive grinding sort of spoils the fun. [September 2012, p.87]
  25. Sep 24, 2012
    75
    Despite its flaws, Rainbow Moon has a lot going for it. With an amazing levelling/combat system and solid visuals and story, there are many worse games in this genre. It is also worth mentioning the value for money here. If Rainbow Moon hooks you, it's around 200 hours of game play for the 100% and all for only £9.99 (£7.99 for Playstation Plus members). However its lack of balance and time required for completion is sure to put off some players who will not find what they are looking for on this expedition.
  26. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Rainbow Moon has some weaknesses, but its great tactical combat system, deep character growth and amazing length (for a downloadable title), make it a great buy for any rpg fan out there.
  27. Jul 6, 2012
    75
    Rainbow Moon offers a lot of content for a small price. It contains great retro-graphics and a pleasant soundtrack. Unfortunately, a lot of your time will be spend on grinding and that, combined with dull fights, makes for an average game.
  28. Aug 24, 2012
    74
    One for number crunchers. [Oct 2012, p.87]
  29. It all becomes weirdly addictive. [Sept 2012, p.109]
  30. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    A Japanese rpg from Germany. Even with a couple of flaws, this game is a real treat. It's charming and the battles are challenging.
  31. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    There is fun to be had, as I have said, and if you have an itch for nostalgia that needs scratching, love role playing games and have a ton of time to play this summer, then Rainbow Moon is definitely worth the fifteen dollar admission price.
  32. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    It's a huge game, in other words, and it's tough enough to ensure that you'll move through it fairly carefully. Throw in a scrappy kind of handicraft charm, ignore a selection of little annoyances, and Rainbow Moon becomes a bit of a blast.
  33. Aug 17, 2012
    68
    Yes, Rainbow Moon is a flawed SRPG, but I know that a number a serious genre fans will absolutely fall in love.
  34. Aug 7, 2012
    68
    You can block routes off with loot, and most battles descend into simply turtling into a corner, playing the boring, easy route. A shame, as it's otherwise solid. [Issue#221, p.81]
  35. Jul 20, 2012
    68
    There's a lot to experience for a $15 downloadable game, as long as you enjoy the battle system.
  36. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    If you are a fan of the classic experience grinding and snail's pacing design principles of yesterday, Rainbow Moon has a lot to offer.
  37. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    Rainbow Moon has simple gameplay, and a charming and colorful look. Both the look and soundtrack is very retro, and seems to be a tribute to old classics. Is you're a fan of strategic RPGs, you'll find a lot to love here. I, on the other hand, found it more of a chore.
  38. Aug 23, 2012
    60
    If the game had an engaging story and actually felt more like a "game" than a procedural chore, I would have been committed to finishing it properly. Instead Rainbow Moon offers you the gameplay you love, with none of the charm or interest.
  39. Aug 16, 2012
    60
    Rainbow Moon is not a bad game, but it's not a particularly good one either. It has a few nice tweaks to circumvent some of the frustrations of JRPG's and tactics games, but it adds some new frustrations of its own.
  40. Aug 6, 2012
    60
    The game is filled with problems that bring down the overall experience and enjoyment. I'm sure some gamers will enjoy the grind and character building, but with so many other great Strategy RPGs (especially on the PSN), I do wonder why gamers would want to take part in something with a story that is close to non-existent, has no character personality, and features pacing that starts ridiculously slow.
  41. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    It's this grind, more than anything else, which drags down Rainbow Moon, dividing your time almost equally between genuinely enjoyable dungeon-crawling and frustrating, level-building slog. It's a real shame, as the game has great ideas and a lot of retro charm to it, but it's hard to justify investing so much time into it when you're not really enjoying yourself.
  42. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    The pieces are in place for a fine adventure, but Rainbow Moon's shallow mechanics have limited appeal.
  43. Sep 20, 2012
    50
    Despite its fantastic, straightforward combat, Rainbow Moon is a game that buckles under the weight of its bloated runtime.
  44. There is no story. There is no characterisation; just bland characters and blander NPCs with stupid names like "Ed Orable" who speech-bubble the same banal crap over and over again. What this game ultimately boils down to is playing a ton of repetitive and often laborious turn based battles in a bid to do nothing much at all. It's an RPG without the "RP," and the "G" that's left doesn't really have much to say for itself. [September 2012, p73]
  45. Aug 9, 2012
    50
    The game starts out at a tortoise's pace and never gains any speed. It's a 20-hour game that's stretched out twice as long as it should be.
  46. Aug 2, 2012
    50
    Despite its flaws Rainbow Moon is a decent option for fans of the SRPG genre at a very approachable initial price.
  47. Jul 18, 2012
    50
    Rainbow Moon isn't terrible, just terribly dull. It's functional and fun to look at, but the lack of story, character arcs, and creative mechanics makes it a chore to play.
  48. 50
    There's an obvious love here for the genre, and retro gaming in general, but as strategic role-players go this is far from a grandmaster.
  49. Aug 28, 2012
    42
    Overall Rainbow Moon seems to fall flat on the fun scale. The fights are rather boring once a player understands the enemy AI and the controls. Overall, it's a SRPG that leaves much to be desired. Did we find gold at the end of this Rainbow? Unfortunately not.
  50. Aug 17, 2012
    35
    Despite having some control issues, Rainbow Moon gets most of the core gameplay right. Unfortunately, the game's horrible pacing and insane difficulty makes this impossible to recommend. This would have been a better product if the developers weren't so preoccupied with microtransactions!
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    This game has really struck a chord with me. I set the game to hard and kicked off with as little supplies as possible. I wanted to grind my way to glory! I certainly have not been disappointed. The developers have done a great job at guiding the player into the experience they have crafted without overwhelming hand holding. I love a game that makes me feel like i'm discovering something. As an example, I attempted my first battle without a sword. I quickly realized that I was ill-prepared. A short jaunt down the trail, some dialog with the locals, and I found myself prepared for basic battle. The game provided me tutorials on what I discovered. The game did not tell me when, where, and what I needed to do the whole way. It was a fine blend of discovery and tutorial.

    The strategic battle is my favorite part of the game so far. The move scheme, sub-turns, skills, and the unconditional escape make the battles very satisfying and scales very nicely. As you character evolves you are able to strategically handle more and more enemies. In recent years I've become more of an action-RPG fan. But, this game has captivated me. The combat is very satisfying.

    Standard functions like healers and stores are available for staying healthy and buying new junk. The side quests provide that additional challenge to pick up some additional experience, pearls, gold, and equipment. I did find the idea of a "savant" who is used to upgrade attributes in exchange for pearls to be a new one for me. I like the idea. But, it does provide for a bit of a sigh when i have to travel back to a town to find one. The nice part about it though is that you don't have to wait to "level up" in order to update your attributes or spend your attribute points when you level up. You can hoard pearls and wait around to see how your character needs to develop in response to the baddies that are blocking your path to fame and fortune. The storyline is pretty standard so far. But, I have not had a chance to fully experience it. However, I am not entirely focused on the the story since the battles and building up my character are my focus right now. I have yet to experience utilizing material slots, equipment comparison, picking up additional members of my group of my character.

    My only criticism is that due to the orientation of the screen during battle it is often easy to move in the wrong direction.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Buyers Remorse
    I purchased this game after hearing "It's a throwback to Final Fantasy Tactics!" Far from it. If you want your FFT fix try out Disgaea or try the demo out and decide for yourself.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    I don't remember when i last time enjoyed a game on PS3 that much like when playing Rainbow Moon.
    Fun and challenging battles on Hard were
    you have to use tactic, lots of places to explore, stats to upgrade, weapon customization, great music, cute and colorful graphic. Not mention 80h+ of fun gameplay made it worth the price.
    Some may say it lack of story, yes it don't have one because it don't need one. There are some short funny dialogs and it worked for me.
    My best buy on PSN and one of the most addictive games i played in a long time and i have 14y of gaming behind me.
    Full Review »