Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    78
    Rainbow Moon it´s a classic RPG with tons of missions to complete, good graphics and a very engaging battle system.
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    83
    Rainbow Moon bedazzles with its classic turn based tactics in front of scenic backdrops. Story and characters could be better, but exploring the huge world, fighting countless battles and nurturing your heroes will keep you busy for weeks and months.
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    68
    There's a lot to experience for a $15 downloadable game, as long as you enjoy the battle system.
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    75
    Despite its flaws, Rainbow Moon has a lot going for it. With an amazing levelling/combat system and solid visuals and story, there are many worse games in this genre. It is also worth mentioning the value for money here. If Rainbow Moon hooks you, it's around 200 hours of game play for the 100% and all for only £9.99 (£7.99 for Playstation Plus members). However its lack of balance and time required for completion is sure to put off some players who will not find what they are looking for on this expedition.
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    60
    Rainbow Moon is not a bad game, but it's not a particularly good one either. It has a few nice tweaks to circumvent some of the frustrations of JRPG's and tactics games, but it adds some new frustrations of its own.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    60
    The game is filled with problems that bring down the overall experience and enjoyment. I'm sure some gamers will enjoy the grind and character building, but with so many other great Strategy RPGs (especially on the PSN), I do wonder why gamers would want to take part in something with a story that is close to non-existent, has no character personality, and features pacing that starts ridiculously slow.
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    60
    If the game had an engaging story and actually felt more like a "game" than a procedural chore, I would have been committed to finishing it properly. Instead Rainbow Moon offers you the gameplay you love, with none of the charm or interest.
  8. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    It's a huge game, in other words, and it's tough enough to ensure that you'll move through it fairly carefully. Throw in a scrappy kind of handicraft charm, ignore a selection of little annoyances, and Rainbow Moon becomes a bit of a blast.
  9. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    For a fistful of bucks you will receive a surprisingly good-old-fashioned-tactic-RPG that deserves all of your attention.
  10. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    It's hard to ask for more from such a complete product. This is a must have for everyone hungering for a new strategic role playing game.
  11. Jul 5, 2012
    78
    The only real drawback of Rainbow Moon is its lack of novelty. For everything else, the game proves to be well developed and able to entertain beginners and experts of the genre.
  12. Jul 22, 2012
    78
    There's a lot for old-school RPG fans to love in Rainbow Moon, and the price of admission is a bargain. I just wish the story were better.
  13. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    If you are a fan of the classic experience grinding and snail's pacing design principles of yesterday, Rainbow Moon has a lot to offer.
  14. Jul 30, 2012
    80
    If you're looking for an old school JRPG that is demanding and will keep you in front of your TV screen for hours upon hours, Rainbow Moon is ideal for you.
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    Rainbow Moon has simple gameplay, and a charming and colorful look. Both the look and soundtrack is very retro, and seems to be a tribute to old classics. Is you're a fan of strategic RPGs, you'll find a lot to love here. I, on the other hand, found it more of a chore.
  16. Aug 17, 2012
    68
    Yes, Rainbow Moon is a flawed SRPG, but I know that a number a serious genre fans will absolutely fall in love.
  17. Aug 24, 2012
    74
    One for number crunchers. [Oct 2012, p.87]
  18. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    The pieces are in place for a fine adventure, but Rainbow Moon's shallow mechanics have limited appeal.
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    50
    The game starts out at a tortoise's pace and never gains any speed. It's a 20-hour game that's stretched out twice as long as it should be.
  20. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    In conclusion, Rainbow Moon is a very good effort. Although the story isn't quite as gripping as it could have been, the substance is spot on. Rainbow Moon has a perfect learning curve, with a great balance of gradually easing in new abilities, and giving the player a chance to get the hang of them.
  21. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Through a combination of streamlining what is a genuinely complicated game and using a simple but effective presentation, the developers have one of the best downloadable games PS3 has ever seen.
  22. Aug 28, 2012
    42
    Overall Rainbow Moon seems to fall flat on the fun scale. The fights are rather boring once a player understands the enemy AI and the controls. Overall, it's a SRPG that leaves much to be desired. Did we find gold at the end of this Rainbow? Unfortunately not.
  23. Aug 17, 2012
    35
    Despite having some control issues, Rainbow Moon gets most of the core gameplay right. Unfortunately, the game's horrible pacing and insane difficulty makes this impossible to recommend. This would have been a better product if the developers weren't so preoccupied with microtransactions!
  24. Aug 6, 2012
    79
    It's a great tactical RPG that ticks all the boxes: Nice graphics, very retro-like sounds and ambient as well as a very thorough battle system. For only 12,99 it's a steal!
  25. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    An addictive, time-consuming take on grinding and grid-based battles. It lacks innovation, but it's very enjoyable and extremely lengthy. [Oct 2012, p.59]
  26. Jun 30, 2012
    80
    The rub with Rainbow Moon is that it's a time investment, and it's not a time investment those of you who don't like grinding RPGs will want to make. But for those of you that do enjoy a solid, old-school grind, spending time with Rainbow Moon is time well spent, especially considering Rainbow Moon costs a meager $15. Put bluntly, that's a hell of a value.
  27. Jul 25, 2012
    92
    Overall, I was very surprised with how much fun Rainbow Moon was and would highly recommend any fans of RPGs to buy the game. If you have fifteen dollars you will find there is no better way to spend your money, if you don't I'd recommend saving up to buy this game.
  28. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    It's this grind, more than anything else, which drags down Rainbow Moon, dividing your time almost equally between genuinely enjoyable dungeon-crawling and frustrating, level-building slog. It's a real shame, as the game has great ideas and a lot of retro charm to it, but it's hard to justify investing so much time into it when you're not really enjoying yourself.
  29. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    A Japanese rpg from Germany. Even with a couple of flaws, this game is a real treat. It's charming and the battles are challenging.
  30. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    A top-tier Strategic RPG no doubt, packed with tons of different quests. It'll take fans of the genre to the long forgotten old-school gameplay style. It's not as deep as other comrades on its field, but it's the best choice to enjoy ourselves in a dusty role playing game for the summer break.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    This game has really struck a chord with me. I set the game to hard and kicked off with as little supplies as possible. I wanted to grind myThis game has really struck a chord with me. I set the game to hard and kicked off with as little supplies as possible. I wanted to grind my way to glory! I certainly have not been disappointed. The developers have done a great job at guiding the player into the experience they have crafted without overwhelming hand holding. I love a game that makes me feel like i'm discovering something. As an example, I attempted my first battle without a sword. I quickly realized that I was ill-prepared. A short jaunt down the trail, some dialog with the locals, and I found myself prepared for basic battle. The game provided me tutorials on what I discovered. The game did not tell me when, where, and what I needed to do the whole way. It was a fine blend of discovery and tutorial.

    The strategic battle is my favorite part of the game so far. The move scheme, sub-turns, skills, and the unconditional escape make the battles very satisfying and scales very nicely. As you character evolves you are able to strategically handle more and more enemies. In recent years I've become more of an action-RPG fan. But, this game has captivated me. The combat is very satisfying.

    Standard functions like healers and stores are available for staying healthy and buying new junk. The side quests provide that additional challenge to pick up some additional experience, pearls, gold, and equipment. I did find the idea of a "savant" who is used to upgrade attributes in exchange for pearls to be a new one for me. I like the idea. But, it does provide for a bit of a sigh when i have to travel back to a town to find one. The nice part about it though is that you don't have to wait to "level up" in order to update your attributes or spend your attribute points when you level up. You can hoard pearls and wait around to see how your character needs to develop in response to the baddies that are blocking your path to fame and fortune. The storyline is pretty standard so far. But, I have not had a chance to fully experience it. However, I am not entirely focused on the the story since the battles and building up my character are my focus right now. I have yet to experience utilizing material slots, equipment comparison, picking up additional members of my group of my character.

    My only criticism is that due to the orientation of the screen during battle it is often easy to move in the wrong direction.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    6
    I'm still a little up in the air about this game, seeing as I'm not super-far in it yet. However, there are a few things that I wanted to talkI'm still a little up in the air about this game, seeing as I'm not super-far in it yet. However, there are a few things that I wanted to talk about. First off, it's not really a strategy game. It's more of your typical turn-based RPG. Though you do move around a tiled arena, not much actual strategy comes into play, besides just positional tactics. The rest is pretty standard RPG stuff, like when to use which skills and when to block; that sort of stuff. I began on hard/adventurous and I ended up restarting the game on normal, because the grind is a horrendous. The way it works is that you'll encounter a new monster in which you cannot sustain several consecutive battles with, forcing you to go back to the weaker monsters until you are strong enough. This process repeated itself several times, until I decided to restart.

    Another thing is the other characters. It's a frustrating double-edged sword. On one hand, it's nice to have the extra damage, but on the other hand only characters that land the finishing blow get rainbow pearls (sort of a currency for buying stats when you level). I can't describe what a horrible mechanic this is. It really cripples the strategy element, because I'm constantly having to worry about which characters land the killing blow so that they can get stat points. It doesn't really add any depth, because most of the time it just contradicts whatever established strategy you may have. Kind of like in Oblivion, where you had to carefully plan what skills you were leveing in order to get decent stats bonuses each level. It's poor design, frustrating and not fun. I'm forced to use characters in situations that I don't want because I need them to finish enemies off. Likewise, in Oblivion, I had to use skills that I didn't want to in order to stay ahead of the curve. Ugh.

    Lastly, I don't really like the way they handled the darkness and food systems. Darkness (like when you're in a cave or when it's dark out) requires that you have torches lit. You can find them or buy them almost anywhere, they don't have terribly long lifespans, and they take up room in your inventory. I don't feel that it was implemented well because it's annoying when you don't have them, but they're not all that hard to acquire; it doesn't really add to the immersion. It's just something else to keep track of, and it doesn't affect any other aspects of the game so far. Food is kind of the same situation; it's not hard to get, but you still need to carry it for when your characters get hungry. Again, it just doesn't really add anything to the game, and it just feels like it was thrown in for the hell of it.

    A few positives are the music and the colorful visuals. Those kind of things really vary from person to person, though. One thing the game does that I really, really like are the random battles. The way it works is that when you are walking around, you'll get prompted with a battle. It tells you how many of what monsters, and you can choose to engage. I've grown a little tired of randomized battles over the years, and this totally fixes my qualms with them. It's simple, but genius in my opinion. My only issue is that sometimes the prompt doesn't last very long (like less than a second), so I've missed a few battles that way. But it's fine most of the time. Not all of the combat is randomized, though. There are several persistent enemies on the map in which you have to bump into to initiate combat. Much of the time those mobs block paths, so it's mandatory.

    I also wanted to mention the questing system, not necessarily as a negative or a positive. It has the whole yellow exclamation point thing (which MMOs have made me hate) for the main quest, but all of the side quests are tucked within the dialogue of the NPCs. They don't tell you exactly where or how to complete them (i.e. it doesn't put a marker on your map). However, they're pretty simple at this point (like get this rare drop from this monster). Overall, I think it's a nice mix of giving the player direction, but leaving some to be discovered.

    There's a crafting system of sorts. Weapons and armor have slots in which you can place in certain drops from monsters that give you extra stats. I'm not sure how deep the system gets, but it's pretty simplistic, early on anyway.

    I'm taking a little break from it for now. I may go back to it, but it feels I'd just be forcing myself to at this point.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Buyers Remorse
    I purchased this game after hearing "It's a throwback to Final Fantasy Tactics!" Far from it. If you want your FFT fix try out Disgaea or try the demo out and decide for yourself.
    Full Review »