Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rainbow Moon is a strategic RPG with a strong emphasis on character development.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    92
    Overall, I was very surprised with how much fun Rainbow Moon was and would highly recommend any fans of RPGs to buy the game. If you have fifteen dollars you will find there is no better way to spend your money, if you don't I'd recommend saving up to buy this game.
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Through a combination of streamlining what is a genuinely complicated game and using a simple but effective presentation, the developers have one of the best downloadable games PS3 has ever seen.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    An addictive, time-consuming take on grinding and grid-based battles. It lacks innovation, but it's very enjoyable and extremely lengthy. [Oct 2012, p.59]
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Rainbow Moon has some weaknesses, but its great tactical combat system, deep character growth and amazing length (for a downloadable title), make it a great buy for any rpg fan out there.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    It's a huge game, in other words, and it's tough enough to ensure that you'll move through it fairly carefully. Throw in a scrappy kind of handicraft charm, ignore a selection of little annoyances, and Rainbow Moon becomes a bit of a blast.
  6. Aug 23, 2012
    60
    If the game had an engaging story and actually felt more like a "game" than a procedural chore, I would have been committed to finishing it properly. Instead Rainbow Moon offers you the gameplay you love, with none of the charm or interest.
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    35
    Despite having some control issues, Rainbow Moon gets most of the core gameplay right. Unfortunately, the game's horrible pacing and insane difficulty makes this impossible to recommend. This would have been a better product if the developers weren't so preoccupied with microtransactions!

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    I don't remember when i last time enjoyed a game on PS3 that much like when playing Rainbow Moon.
    Fun and challenging battles on Hard were
    you have to use tactic, lots of places to explore, stats to upgrade, weapon customization, great music, cute and colorful graphic. Not mention 80h+ of fun gameplay made it worth the price.
    Some may say it lack of story, yes it don't have one because it don't need one. There are some short funny dialogs and it worked for me.
    My best buy on PSN and one of the most addictive games i played in a long time and i have 14y of gaming behind me.
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Rainbow Moon es un RPG de estrategia donde las batallas se llevan a cabo en un área dividida en una cuadricula, al estilo de final fantasy tactics por ejemplo.

    Los gráficos del juego son vividos, coloridos y muy agradables a la vista.

    Tienes en frente toda una aventura por delante que te tomará más de 40 horas para terminarla y eso sin tomarte el tiempo de hacer todos los side quests que tiene. Además cabe destacar que tiene un trofeo por jugar por 100 horas y otro por tener uno de tus personajes en nivel 500 (puedes llevarlo hasta el lvl 999 si quieres).

    De verdad que si eres un fan de los RPG o quieres un juego en el que perderte, no lo pienses más y cómpralo, es divertido y un estilo de juego que se extraña mucho en esta generación.
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Awesome game. It takes you right back to the roots of gaming. The turn based battle system is unique and totally addictive. The game world looks stunning. Took me more than 60 hours to play through the main game and it feels like there is still so much left to do. Worth the price of a full retail disc game, yet only costs 15$. I can recommend this game to everyone! Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    Rainbow Moon is a fun turn based rpg slightly old-school retro game play with decent top down graphics. The story is average but fun and you can set so many difficulties hard with lots of supplie easy with no supplies or hard with nothing . the game starts off slowly then after a few hours with little extra tactics and elements adding to the basic stratedgy of the game and finally meeting your 2nd team mate . R moon is a fun game you can go at your own pace you are never forced forward and can replay battles as many times as you want while building grinding xp or heath upgrades. A Nice surprise for a store title easily worth the entrance fee. with a 40hour main campaign and 100hours plus if you want too complete all the side quests. Quaint ,fun,and as challenging as you want. Recomended. Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    A fantastic throwback to retro-gaming with great graphics, addicting gameplay and an unbeatable price. You will spend anywhere between 40-100 hours with the game, depending on how many side quests you choose and it will cost you only 15$. If you miss the days of Final fantasy Tactics and even Chrono Trigger, Rainbow Moon is a nostalgia trip worth taking. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2012
    6
    I'm still a little up in the air about this game, seeing as I'm not super-far in it yet. However, there are a few things that I wanted to talk about. First off, it's not really a strategy game. It's more of your typical turn-based RPG. Though you do move around a tiled arena, not much actual strategy comes into play, besides just positional tactics. The rest is pretty standard RPG stuff, like when to use which skills and when to block; that sort of stuff. I began on hard/adventurous and I ended up restarting the game on normal, because the grind is a horrendous. The way it works is that you'll encounter a new monster in which you cannot sustain several consecutive battles with, forcing you to go back to the weaker monsters until you are strong enough. This process repeated itself several times, until I decided to restart.

    Another thing is the other characters. It's a frustrating double-edged sword. On one hand, it's nice to have the extra damage, but on the other hand only characters that land the finishing blow get rainbow pearls (sort of a currency for buying stats when you level). I can't describe what a horrible mechanic this is. It really cripples the strategy element, because I'm constantly having to worry about which characters land the killing blow so that they can get stat points. It doesn't really add any depth, because most of the time it just contradicts whatever established strategy you may have. Kind of like in Oblivion, where you had to carefully plan what skills you were leveing in order to get decent stats bonuses each level. It's poor design, frustrating and not fun. I'm forced to use characters in situations that I don't want because I need them to finish enemies off. Likewise, in Oblivion, I had to use skills that I didn't want to in order to stay ahead of the curve. Ugh.

    Lastly, I don't really like the way they handled the darkness and food systems. Darkness (like when you're in a cave or when it's dark out) requires that you have torches lit. You can find them or buy them almost anywhere, they don't have terribly long lifespans, and they take up room in your inventory. I don't feel that it was implemented well because it's annoying when you don't have them, but they're not all that hard to acquire; it doesn't really add to the immersion. It's just something else to keep track of, and it doesn't affect any other aspects of the game so far. Food is kind of the same situation; it's not hard to get, but you still need to carry it for when your characters get hungry. Again, it just doesn't really add anything to the game, and it just feels like it was thrown in for the hell of it.

    A few positives are the music and the colorful visuals. Those kind of things really vary from person to person, though. One thing the game does that I really, really like are the random battles. The way it works is that when you are walking around, you'll get prompted with a battle. It tells you how many of what monsters, and you can choose to engage. I've grown a little tired of randomized battles over the years, and this totally fixes my qualms with them. It's simple, but genius in my opinion. My only issue is that sometimes the prompt doesn't last very long (like less than a second), so I've missed a few battles that way. But it's fine most of the time. Not all of the combat is randomized, though. There are several persistent enemies on the map in which you have to bump into to initiate combat. Much of the time those mobs block paths, so it's mandatory.

    I also wanted to mention the questing system, not necessarily as a negative or a positive. It has the whole yellow exclamation point thing (which MMOs have made me hate) for the main quest, but all of the side quests are tucked within the dialogue of the NPCs. They don't tell you exactly where or how to complete them (i.e. it doesn't put a marker on your map). However, they're pretty simple at this point (like get this rare drop from this monster). Overall, I think it's a nice mix of giving the player direction, but leaving some to be discovered.

    There's a crafting system of sorts. Weapons and armor have slots in which you can place in certain drops from monsters that give you extra stats. I'm not sure how deep the system gets, but it's pretty simplistic, early on anyway.

    I'm taking a little break from it for now. I may go back to it, but it feels I'd just be forcing myself to at this point.
    Collapse
  7. May 2, 2014
    0
    for anyone looking for a GOOD turn based strategy (tactics) RPG as I was I recommend to stay away from Rainbow Moon. The main concern here that the game relies solely on stats for the challenge. For instance character must have 20 strength to kill this enemies and unless he does no amount of tactics will allow player to progress as options are limited/non existent. This game boils down to press X on enemies 9999999999999999999999999999999 times while grinding for stats through gear or levels. Unless you enjoy killing uninspiring enemies that do exactly the same thing with just different amount of damage based on stats stay away from this.
    If you would like a good turn based combat go back to any disgaea/ff tactics/ tactics ogre/vagrant story/xcom/growlancer/fantasy wars and so on.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews