Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 180
  2. Negative: 33 out of 180
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2016
    5
    This is one of those games where you wonder who on earth thought that it would be a good idea to make this game. Because seriously, when does a party game not end in disaster? Time and time again have we been shown that only Mario can pull off such a game. All 4 One is arguably the only Ratchet and Clank game that is not worth playing. It's not terrible, but it has nothing that wouldThis is one of those games where you wonder who on earth thought that it would be a good idea to make this game. Because seriously, when does a party game not end in disaster? Time and time again have we been shown that only Mario can pull off such a game. All 4 One is arguably the only Ratchet and Clank game that is not worth playing. It's not terrible, but it has nothing that would compel you to buy it, or even play it if you already have it. The co-op is bearable if you can find someone to play the game with, but playing by yourself is no fun at all. It's not much of a wonder that Ratchet and Clank burned out for a few years shortly after this game came out. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2016
    9
    It looks fun, obviously better than rise of lyric, but this game i believe had to be just like double dragon meets fat princess, it was too easy, captain qwark never shuts up though
  3. Jan 7, 2016
    6
    Perhaps the only real speed bump in the Ratchet and Clank series, All 4 One is an expendable title. Whilst it does make for some fun LittleBigPlanet type gameplay with friends or family, it doesn't have enough magic or content to sustain it.
  4. Nov 21, 2014
    8
    It's unfortunate that this game gets so much hate. I have played every single R&C game and there isn't one that I haven't enjoyed. No this isn't the traditional experience but that doesn't mean I didn't have a damn good time playing it. Although I played through this game a few times with two friends and we turned it into a drinking game..... how could you not have a good time. I neverIt's unfortunate that this game gets so much hate. I have played every single R&C game and there isn't one that I haven't enjoyed. No this isn't the traditional experience but that doesn't mean I didn't have a damn good time playing it. Although I played through this game a few times with two friends and we turned it into a drinking game..... how could you not have a good time. I never played it single player but I think those complaining shouldn't have even bothered playing the game. This game is a must to play with friends or family so of course you'll hate it if you play alone. The dialogue is witty and funny as always, the gameplay was a blast to play with friends and the laughs were endless. Screw the haters, this is another excellent entry into my favorite gaming franchise of all time. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    4
    Awful gameplay, plain characters, uninteresting story... Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One is the worst game I've got to play this 2014 and it's a waste of both Insomniac developers and the Ratchet series.
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    I've never played a ratchet and clank game before but I had a lot of fun playing this with friends (up to 4 on one console). It was funny but could have been funnier and the gameplay can get repetitive even though there are different gameplay mechanics mixed.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    bad story,characters look like baby's and auto fixed camera is really anoying
    so i am a big ratchet and clank fan but this just wasn't good i mean it's worth playing but the story is really bad and the weapons aren't really cool at all gameplay is a big problem as well and abcourse the new controls are a bit frustrating so is there a good thing about this game
    well the online option is
    bad story,characters look like baby's and auto fixed camera is really anoying
    so i am a big ratchet and clank fan but this just wasn't good i mean it's worth playing but the story is really bad and the weapons aren't really cool at all gameplay is a big problem as well and abcourse the new controls are a bit frustrating so is there a good thing about this game
    well the online option is probably the best what they have done too the game because the rest is just not nice the new character design makes ratchet and clank look like a game for baby's
    +:online play
    -:bad story
    -:bad character design
    -:bad gameplay
    -:no special wow weapons
    -:bad gadjects
    Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    Just like mario 3d land this game has ugly designs a bad story and no replay value size matters on the psp is a much better game than this crap. I couldn't finish it uncharted 3 has a crap ton of plot holes making the story atrocious.
  9. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    The easiest way to describe All 4 One is a right step in the wrong direction. Approaching this title with low expectations will provide an enjoyable title with very strong co-operative play, but it's hardly a typical Ratchet adventure like A Crack In Time. All 4 One does well in that there's a strong emphasis on teamwork. While online this can be a hit and miss, with a few friends huddledThe easiest way to describe All 4 One is a right step in the wrong direction. Approaching this title with low expectations will provide an enjoyable title with very strong co-operative play, but it's hardly a typical Ratchet adventure like A Crack In Time. All 4 One does well in that there's a strong emphasis on teamwork. While online this can be a hit and miss, with a few friends huddled around your PS3, you will have an absolute ball with this game. There's a slight learning curve for newcomers to the series, so pick patient friends, or friends with experience in the franchise. The problem with All 4 One is that it was treated as a core entry to the franchise. If it were sold at half the price as a downloadable title similar to Quest for Booty, and not a core entry in the series, it would be a far better received title. A major point of note is that the AI that is used in single player is very well programmed, a real team worker. Aside from the odd clumsy failure to dodge, the AI does an exceptional job helping you solve the puzzles and progress through levels which would trump any lesser AI. My only gripe is that without more than 2 players, you'll only ever have Ratchet and Clank, with the other two characters awkwardly appearing for cutscenes to vanish one they're through. Another issue is the online bugs. I'm not sure why, but I can't play online without triggers failing to work, the Vac-U jamming up and all kinds of other strange issues happening. Once I switch it offline, the problems cease. Aside from these gripes, and maybe a few small framerate issues, All 4 One is a fun title, but pick it up cheap. It's not worth full price, but it's great fun if you don't expect the world. Final Score 7.0/10 Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    If you can play this game with three other friends because if you play it alone it gets old pretty fast, the game-play gets repetitive really fast, their are some really interesting puzzles here an there but not many of them are. The cut-scenes are really good and so is the story but it is quickly undermined by its repetitive gameplay. This is a decent game that shows some potential,If you can play this game with three other friends because if you play it alone it gets old pretty fast, the game-play gets repetitive really fast, their are some really interesting puzzles here an there but not many of them are. The cut-scenes are really good and so is the story but it is quickly undermined by its repetitive gameplay. This is a decent game that shows some potential, especially towards the end of the game, but potential does not make a good game, capitalizing on that potential does and this game does the opposite. Expand
  11. May 27, 2013
    6
    This is one of those games where it's fun until your friend has to go and you find yourself playing alone. While this game has an excellent coop experience the game fails to deliver as solid of a single player experience as it does in the multiplayer. That accompanied with some pretty annoying bugs and a god awful partner AI and gameplay that feels quite tedious after the first few hoursThis is one of those games where it's fun until your friend has to go and you find yourself playing alone. While this game has an excellent coop experience the game fails to deliver as solid of a single player experience as it does in the multiplayer. That accompanied with some pretty annoying bugs and a god awful partner AI and gameplay that feels quite tedious after the first few hours of this game make it seem sub-par when compared to the rest of the R&C speaking of the rest of the series, this game brings very little to the table in terms of new weaponry and instead reuses weapons from previous games. Don't be mistaken though. As i previously stated this game is excellent to play with a friend or two and the online coop works pretty nicely as well. I had almost no connection issues when playing. The game's two major strong points are the charming characters and humor that will have you chuckling at the screen and some pretty fantastic looking environments. And the new weapons that they DO bring out are fantastic... except for the R.Y.N.O... all of those puzzles for a mech suit that holds you back more than anything. Anyways; to conclude this review. This isn't a bad game. But I don't think that this would be a very good entry to the series for people who are interested. In short. If you liked previous ratchet and clank games. You'll probably enjoy this. Just don't go in expecting a game of the same quality and polish as a crack in time. Expand
  12. May 15, 2013
    5
    So heres the thing, I love Ratchet & Clank it is one of my favourite gaming franchises but All 4 One misses the mark. The developer tried to change up the gameplay with the 4 player co-op idea but I miss old Ratchet. Those games were alot more fun and had a better story than this one. Also the action on screen gets too chaotic with 4 players at once. The weapons too, while imaginative lackSo heres the thing, I love Ratchet & Clank it is one of my favourite gaming franchises but All 4 One misses the mark. The developer tried to change up the gameplay with the 4 player co-op idea but I miss old Ratchet. Those games were alot more fun and had a better story than this one. Also the action on screen gets too chaotic with 4 players at once. The weapons too, while imaginative lack the charm that they had in the previous games. I wanted to Love this game but with these issues and the fact that A crack in Time before it was so much better are the biggest downfall. Please Insomniac go back to the way it was!! Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    The worst game of the series? Yes... but living up to the standard ACIT has set for the rest of the series isn't something easily lived up to.
    All 4 One is definitely a fun game. The only thing that pull the score down for me are a huge amount of small and not so small bugs, both with the sometimes lacking AI and bugs (mostly in online mode) that prevent boss fights from going ahead to
    The worst game of the series? Yes... but living up to the standard ACIT has set for the rest of the series isn't something easily lived up to.
    All 4 One is definitely a fun game. The only thing that pull the score down for me are a huge amount of small and not so small bugs, both with the sometimes lacking AI and bugs (mostly in online mode) that prevent boss fights from going ahead to the next phase.
    I did not pick up the game at launch and looking back on it after playing the game I don't think it's worth a premium either (imo almost no game is) but all in all for 10-15 bucks this is a game is still a must have for every fan of the series.
    Expand
  14. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    This game disgraces its predecessors.
  15. Dec 31, 2012
    6
    Es el primer juego de Ratchet al que he jugado. Los gráficos son buenos, el sistema de mezclar plataformas con acción me ha gustado, en la acción es un juego bastante dinámico, pero lo estropea la cámara que el jugador no controla y que entorpece los movimientos constantemente y te hace fallar en los saltos, ya que te impide calcular bien las distanciasEs el primer juego de Ratchet al que he jugado. Los gráficos son buenos, el sistema de mezclar plataformas con acción me ha gustado, en la acción es un juego bastante dinámico, pero lo estropea la cámara que el jugador no controla y que entorpece los movimientos constantemente y te hace fallar en los saltos, ya que te impide calcular bien las distancias de salto. La posibilidad de elegir personajes me ha gustado, pero no el tener que llevar a un compañero controlado por la máquina que hace el trabajo por ti y ha veces se bloquea y comete fallos. Un compañero controlado por la IA que nunca se protege y muere constantemente. El argumento es bastante simplón y se hace largo el juego. Expand
  16. Dec 23, 2012
    6
    It's the worst game in the series.
  17. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    This game is meh, It has more flaws that positives, but is still a solid release. It's a lot of fun with friends, but glitches, a bad saving system, and unskippable long cutscenes, some which play for each character when they come in, hold this game back from slightly above averageness. The Graphics are good, but the story is stupid. Still its a lot of fun with friends.
  18. Oct 3, 2012
    1
    I can't believe that they have completely destroyed a game that I grew up with. I really hope they gonna do something about this. R.I.P Ratchet & Clank, 2002 - 2009.
  19. Sep 19, 2012
    3
    I'm a long time fan of the ratchet series and all i can say about this game is: WTQ Insomniac. They changed almost everything i loved about the series from controls and game play to the visual style and they made it childish and the humor is just down right repetitive, lame and predictive. So, in short, rather buy one of the others or the HD trilogy.
  20. Sep 11, 2012
    4
    I give it a 4 for four player co-op
  21. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    good game1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  22. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    I'm not sure what they were smoking to make such a drastic change to an already fantastic series. In my opinion, Ratchet and clank All 4 one is the biggest flop of the series and it sort of brings down Insomniac's high pedigree of producing amazing games. Aside from the obvious focus on 4 player co op, the camera angle (which is not manual) is such a frustrating thing to deal withI'm not sure what they were smoking to make such a drastic change to an already fantastic series. In my opinion, Ratchet and clank All 4 one is the biggest flop of the series and it sort of brings down Insomniac's high pedigree of producing amazing games. Aside from the obvious focus on 4 player co op, the camera angle (which is not manual) is such a frustrating thing to deal with especially when you can't judge how far of a jump it is between safety and inevitable death. On top of that the A.I is simply lacking, well, Intelligence, I can't even remember how many times Clank just up and decided to do things that were completely unnecessary. Things like Clank just jumping to his death, running away or when Clank just suddenly deciding he no longer wants to be with his companion adds to the already frustrating game play of this game. Never before have I ever, (and I mean ever) just up and decided to not even pursue a Ratchet and Clank game before, after countless A.I fails, stupid plot and the unchangeable camera angle have made me not even pick this game up any more.

    Thought I admire the quirky sense of humour that made this series so great, it still can't save this game from its own horrible game play mechanics, and that's why, in my opinion, it deserves a 5/10.
    Expand
  23. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    Ratchet & clank : all 4 one , it's my first Ratchet & clank game from this series when i try it i was shocked & ask my self : why i didn't try this fun before .? the story line is non-stop action with new weapons , co-op , great boss fight . i really love this game . it have a challenge when you play with friends or brothers : who will get the most kills . bolts , skins ? my rate in thisRatchet & clank : all 4 one , it's my first Ratchet & clank game from this series when i try it i was shocked & ask my self : why i didn't try this fun before .? the story line is non-stop action with new weapons , co-op , great boss fight . i really love this game . it have a challenge when you play with friends or brothers : who will get the most kills . bolts , skins ? my rate in this game is 8 10 Expand
  24. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    From start to finish Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One is another excellent edition to the series, Obtained through PS Plus for free, I can honestly say that the entire time I was playing the game I had wished I supported the developer when it came out; this purchase is worth the asking price. The 4 person co-op campaign runs great but I did find significant slowdown when running with 4 peopleFrom start to finish Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One is another excellent edition to the series, Obtained through PS Plus for free, I can honestly say that the entire time I was playing the game I had wished I supported the developer when it came out; this purchase is worth the asking price. The 4 person co-op campaign runs great but I did find significant slowdown when running with 4 people online. I found the sweet spot to be either play with one person on solo. I thought the game while playing solo that the AI counterpart very serviceable. The weapons are a good mix of old and new and are just as fun now as before to upgrade while collecting bolts. Camera angles can be problematic now that they are fixed i place, but it seems this was necessary to off the 4 player simultaneous co-op.

    My major complaint with the came comes with the checkpoint system. Although there are jump points in each area to limit travel you are forced to watch cutscene after cutscene in some locations before being able to advance. This would be fine if it was your one and only playthrough but when you need to restart chapters to farm bolts or trophies it can become annoying. Unforgivable is the fact that you need to watch the weapon introduction videos for each character you select while being unable to skip them at any point in time.

    Other than those small complaints, trophies easy (4 away from platinum), game play is as fun as ever. This ride is worth the price of admission, especially if that admission cost is Free with Playstation Plus.
    Expand
  25. May 30, 2012
    6
    Before I start this review I just want to say that, I love the Ratchet and Clank series. But this game is more of a party game for kids. The camera is zoomed back even if your only playing by yourself. Theirs not many new wepions which is dissaponting for a R&C game. The story mode is short, but some of the cutsences and chatter between characters is funny, I'll give it that. The gameBefore I start this review I just want to say that, I love the Ratchet and Clank series. But this game is more of a party game for kids. The camera is zoomed back even if your only playing by yourself. Theirs not many new wepions which is dissaponting for a R&C game. The story mode is short, but some of the cutsences and chatter between characters is funny, I'll give it that. The game dosent officer much of a challange. So to make a long story short, this game is really only for kids, I played all the Ratchet and Clank games sence the beggining, and this one is by far y least favorite. Come on Ted and team, make anouther REAL Ratchet and Clank game, please. Expand
  26. May 28, 2012
    9
    FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DO NOT WANT TO READ THE FULL REVIEW, SKIP TO BOTTOM

    Why must people compare this game to A Crack In Time and Tools of Destruction. It is nothing like those games, and was not made to be anything like those games. If you can recall, there was much crying about "Oh, wouldn't it be cool if Ratchet & Clank had co-op modes". Well, Insomniac managed to address that issue.
    FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DO NOT WANT TO READ THE FULL REVIEW, SKIP TO BOTTOM

    Why must people compare this game to A Crack In Time and Tools of Destruction. It is nothing like those games, and was not made to be anything like those games. If you can recall, there was much crying about "Oh, wouldn't it be cool if Ratchet & Clank had co-op modes". Well, Insomniac managed to address that issue. So, if you want a direct sequel and familiar, stand Ratchet & Clank gameplay, don't look here. However, that is to say, it is not a terrible game. Far from it. If you are only going to play it by yourself, just go for a rental. There are only 1-2 playthroughs that will actually yield fun and is around 10 hours the first time and 6-8 the second. However, if you have friends readily available (online & offline), BUY THIS GAME. It is so much fun, and even thought it cant get quite chaotic it is quite possibly the best multiplayer experience I have had since Mario Kart Double Dash and Mario Party 2.

    By yourself, it's not any different than the next crazed platformer/shooter. If you have friends and can manage not to take a game too seriously, pick this game up

    Single Player: 6/10
    Multiplayer: 10/10
    Graphics = 8/10
    Lasting Appeal (Replay Value) = 9.5/10
    Gameplay = 9.5/10
    Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    This is my first Ratchet & Clank game and after playing this I'm curious about the characters and story up to this point and might try out the other games I'm not sure yet, why did I decide to jump into the series so late and with this game? well honestly I got it just because it came with my PS3 otherwise I probably would have looked over it, it's pretty fun for a multiplayer/cooperativeThis is my first Ratchet & Clank game and after playing this I'm curious about the characters and story up to this point and might try out the other games I'm not sure yet, why did I decide to jump into the series so late and with this game? well honestly I got it just because it came with my PS3 otherwise I probably would have looked over it, it's pretty fun for a multiplayer/cooperative collecting focused game and obviously gets better with friends, the graphics and sound are great, it provides some laugh out loud moments the further you progress, and if you play alone the teammate AI is generally very good but screws up when you need it most and pretty badly at that, it's a good game but it has some big issues that hold it back from being anything more than just good, for instance like I said it's based on co-op with friends so the first thing you are going to want to do is call your friends over and have a blast, the problem is that every time you stop playing your friends are going to have to start from scratch, that's right they lose their experience, bolts, and most importantly guns which brings frustration, so the best way to make sure everyone stays on the some level is to each buy a copy of the game and play online but not only does this take away the fun of having your buddies in arm punching range, you also have to deal with the online pass issue (online passes are really starting to anger me and need to be done away with in my opinion, but that's a story for another time) which means you'll all have to pay the whole asking price in order to buy it new, of course you could forget co-op all together and play by yourself which is still fun, another complaint of mine is that guns and bolts can't be transfered between you individual characters which means you'll have to stick with one throughout the entire game and then play through it other times with your other characters, that and the fact that there's no way to save in the middle of a level which means you'll have to wait until the end of a level in order for your progress to save and most of these levels take a little while to complete so make sure you have time to complete one before you have to start playing, but all in all these issues don't hinder the funny story and characters, the fun game play, or this from being a good and fun game but they do hold it back from greatness, after playing this I'm curious to see what else the series has to offer and I do think it's a good game worth at least a rental even with it's flaws. Expand
  28. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Everything from R&C is here but at times it does some questionable things, the Co-op focus is not needed. The gameplay is classic, so no real problem with it. The stupid thing is that weapon upgrades must be bought and aren't very exciting nor explained what they do. We get more repeats in weapons, which is ok for the bigger games which have 30 weapons (except ACiT sigh) but this game hasEverything from R&C is here but at times it does some questionable things, the Co-op focus is not needed. The gameplay is classic, so no real problem with it. The stupid thing is that weapon upgrades must be bought and aren't very exciting nor explained what they do. We get more repeats in weapons, which is ok for the bigger games which have 30 weapons (except ACiT sigh) but this game has about ten and there's no real reason to use them at all... Story is well done and some of the best R&C has gotten, storytelling is terrible, which has stunted the whole thing. Graphics are bright and colourful and still look amazing but... Ratchet is fur-less and booble-head, Clank is too big, Qwark just looks even more weird and Neferious is purple and short. NOT GOOD. As for everything else, music is good, multiplayer is GLITCHY! And is one of the worst I've ever played. Not bad though, I still think it is worth a purchase. Expand
  29. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    Whether you're a fan of the famous duo from Sony or just a player who wants fun, Ratchet Clank: All 4 One & is a game that is very worth it. The game offers an immense amount of trophies, goals, skills and other resources that encourage the player to embark on several occasions on the same adventure. Some small errors can disrupt Yes the pace of game, but if you're playing with friends,Whether you're a fan of the famous duo from Sony or just a player who wants fun, Ratchet Clank: All 4 One & is a game that is very worth it. The game offers an immense amount of trophies, goals, skills and other resources that encourage the player to embark on several occasions on the same adventure. Some small errors can disrupt Yes the pace of game, but if you're playing with friends, these problems end up in endless laughter. Expand
  30. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Its a great game. The good thing about this one is that you can now play as Nefarious. Its very challenging and filled with a variety of things to destroy.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    70
    It's hard to genuinely dislike a game like All 4 One. While it's obviously and quite severely flawed in a lot of ways, it's also possessed of a certain irreverent charm that – while derivative – is often enough to keep you playing irrespective of the fact that you're not really having a great deal of fun. [Dec 2011, p69]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    70
    Alluring platformer of classic shape offers 4-people in cooperative mode but it is not able to reach technical finesse. Fixed cameras and boss fights are among the features that need improvement. [Dec 2011]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    80
    The amount of satisfaction you can get from this new Ratchet & Clank mainly depends on your expectations. This is not a direct sequel of the Future-series, but if you are looking for a cool party game with your favorite characters, you can't go wrong with this game. [Nov 2011, p.90]