Ratchet & Clank Collection PlayStation 3

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Also known as "The Ratchet & Clank Trilogy" - Ratchet & Clank Collection includes Ratchet & Clank, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando, and Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal all remastered.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    100
    Whether you're a seasoned veteran or new to the franchise, you have every reason to dive into these games in all their HD glory.
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    90
    These are some of the best platform/ shooting games ever created. Just buy them without any hesitation!
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    88
    A fine HD-update of the first three Ratchet & Clank -platform adventures. [Aug 2012]
  4. It's clear that Insomniac was light years ahead of its peers. The combination of jumping, strafing and shooting incredibly fun guns is as addictive as ever. The graphics have also been beautifully upgraded. It's one of the best looking HD collections we've seen so far. [July 2012, p.78]
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    It's more than just a nostalgia trip, mind; this is a trilogy that plays great, looks even better and gels together more seamlessly than any other HD collection I've played to date.
  6. When you've got a series that lets you transform foes into sheep and demands you save tourists from feral intergalactic squirrels, whinging over resolutions seems smaller than its dinky droid sidekick.
  7. May 24, 2012
    60
    This is a well remastered compilation of three solid titles. They transitioned pretty well to the HD (and 3D) format, thanks to an artistic direction that didn't try to do too much at the time, with cartoony textures and models. The games themselves have the qualities and shortcomings of the originals. Nonetheless, the relevance of those games compared to the PS3 episodes may be questioned if you're not a die hard fan of the series.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I absolutely have no idea why people are hating on this game this is one of my childhood franchises in one collection and is one of the mostI absolutely have no idea why people are hating on this game this is one of my childhood franchises in one collection and is one of the most fun platformers i have ever played. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing. PERIOD. People say its hard to finish these games today, unless you've played them before. NO. Besides the first game, the series hasAmazing. PERIOD. People say its hard to finish these games today, unless you've played them before. NO. Besides the first game, the series has aged extremely well. Even a newcomer will enjoy both games. As for separate scores, I will give the original an 8/10, the 3rd a perfect 10/10, and the 2nd an 11/10, and even thats not doing it justice!!! Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This is the best HD Classics Collection that I have seen, classify the first place (with God of War and Sly Collection on the second and thirdThis is the best HD Classics Collection that I have seen, classify the first place (with God of War and Sly Collection on the second and third place). I loved to madness the first and the third chapter, and the work done on the graphics is commendable. However, we hope that Insomniac releases patch to remedy the problems that have been added such as the lack of music of the final battle in the original, the compression of the screens retailers Gadgetron always in the original and some small defect in the bodies of the characters in a few moments .
    There is also a multiplayer online R & C3 that was not there before. I seem to play PS3 games with some damage chart, thanks to the refined level design and graphics aged very well. What can I say ... thanks to Idol Minds and Insomniac Games.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    These games are amazing! These take me back to my old ps2 days and they still rock. The new polish and upgrade for the ps3 has been doneThese games are amazing! These take me back to my old ps2 days and they still rock. The new polish and upgrade for the ps3 has been done brilliantly and these games still impress as much as they ever did. Challenging, funny, inventive and immersive, all 3 of the games still off er great gameplay and will keep you entertained for ages Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    3 of the greatest PS2 games ever conceived await you in this collection. Ratchet & Clank, Ratchet & Clank : Going Commando, & Ratchet & Clank3 of the greatest PS2 games ever conceived await you in this collection. Ratchet & Clank, Ratchet & Clank : Going Commando, & Ratchet & Clank : Up Your Arsenal. All three beautifully remastered in HD. Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    9
    In the playstation 2 era ratchet and clank was my favourite game franchise. I got number 3 with my console and loved it and got the others to,In the playstation 2 era ratchet and clank was my favourite game franchise. I got number 3 with my console and loved it and got the others to, thats why I was so excited for this collection. Lets start with the first game, R&C1 is the worst of these 3 but not a bad game at all, it establishes the timeless shoot and jump gameplay that all the games have used it just a shame ratchet isn't very likeable. 2 on the other hand fixes all of the issues with the first one adding tons of variety and new gameplay like ship piloting as well as upgradeble weapons that are now a series staple. 3 on the other hand takes out some variety in exchange for higher polish, this one is the most enjoyable of the set but its a shame the developer rushed this game's port to meet the twice delayed release date, as such this game is glitchier than the original version. All 3 games have brilliant graphics thanks to the cartoony visuals. This is a great value for money set. 9/10 Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2015
    6
    To begin with. the trilogy of Ratchet and Clank was brilliant from the start. I give the original versions of the games on the PS2 at least aTo begin with. the trilogy of Ratchet and Clank was brilliant from the start. I give the original versions of the games on the PS2 at least a 9/10. The collection, however, is not as perfect. The games are quite old now, but they still hold up graphically, and the gameplay is still awesome. The only complaint that I absolutely have to make, is the fact that the people behind this remaster, did a horrible job. The graphics and sound glitch out within 10 minutes of play most of the time, and the glitches are so noticeable, you can tell they ignored addressing them. 2 years on, they rereleased the collection for PS Vita as well. It has even more glitches in it. They even did a Jak and Daxter collection, but it had HORRIBLE lag on PS Vita, and it still had glitches in it. 2 great game series that weren't done justice. If you have a PS2, I recommend that you just play the original games instead. Yes, the graphics are blurrier and the features aren't as responsive, but there are practically no bugs in the original games, so the collection holds pretty much every single bug that wasn't there previously. If you have no choice however, I recommend this collection. The people who ported it did create nearly every bug in the game, but you can still enjoy the game with the new HD visuals. The trophies are incorrectly decided too. 1 million bolts gets you a SILVER trophy. That takes way longer than you would think too. Beating the game is much easier, but that gets you a gold. So, the people who worked on the collection most likely had no emotional connection with the games, because they rushed it by the end and it feels like a half assed rerelease. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews