Ratchet & Clank: Full Frontal Assault Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ratchet & Clank: Full Frontal Assault (known as Ratchet & Clank: QForce in the UK/EU) blends the series’ classic comedy, camera, and controls with a new way to play. Drop into the middle of an intergalactic conflict, choose your weapons, and experience Full Frontal Assault solo, or togetherRatchet & Clank: Full Frontal Assault (known as Ratchet & Clank: QForce in the UK/EU) blends the series’ classic comedy, camera, and controls with a new way to play. Drop into the middle of an intergalactic conflict, choose your weapons, and experience Full Frontal Assault solo, or together with friends online or splitscreen. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    Ratchet and Clank Q-Force proves that after ten years, there is still life in the old Lombax yet that is worthy of consideration – if only there were more mission objectives and levels to enjoy.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    71
    New ideas and a sense of refreshment are being implemented in this new chapter of the Ratchet & Clank adventures, with quite good results.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    The single player mode suffers from a lack of variation, but the competitive and team based multiplayer is a fantastic addition to both the Ratchet & Clank universe and the Tower Defense genre as a whole.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    64
    The exploration is a blast, but the shooting is a bust. Gradually upgrading defenses feels rewarding, but grinding for bolts proves tedious and stressful. In the end, the positives and negative battle to an uneasy stalemate that results in an experience that's simply middling.
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    QForce is quite enjoyable and with the budget price it comes with can certainly be recommended to fans of the franchise. But it's not a "proper" R&C game and certainly not the ideal way to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Insomniac's beloved duo.
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    60
    Enjoyable multiplayer modes are only worth so much when backed by a paltry single player campaign, but taking the budget price tag into account, we can think of worse Christmas stocking-fillers for fans of the series of the tower defense genre.
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    45
    Aside from some moments of classic Ratchet & Clank humor, Full Frontal Assault fails both as a tower defense game and as a means to hold fans of the franchise over until Insomniac delivers a new mainline title.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Very good for al r&C fans! must buy it! its god and has a great graphic as well, i like new characyers hoping that dlc planets will comingVery good for al r&C fans! must buy it! its god and has a great graphic as well, i like new characyers hoping that dlc planets will coming soon! for now we have gold bolts skill points and many other things to collect! welcome back R&C Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Ratchet & Clank: Q-force is a really great game to play, single player or co-operative two player. A
    campaign taking around 6 hours to beat
    Ratchet & Clank: Q-force is a really great game to play, single player or co-operative two player. A
    campaign taking around 6 hours to beat with re-playability and an amazing online strategy mode will keep you going 10 hours+ on this fun game. This game uses the same gameplay formula as it's predecessors but tweaked so that the controls are more efficient and you are able to freely aim and shoot stuff the way you want to with a brilliant arsenal of weapons, new and old (mostly old...), although their could of been a few more weapons, the ones on offer feel great to use. One thing disappointing about this game is the non-interesting story line that does NOT stand up to the one of the future trilogy at all, not being engaging or deep, this unfortunately brings down the score from a 9.5 to a 8.9/10. So, yeah... I give this game a... 8.9/10!
    Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy this game. I am really surprised that so-called game review outlets are giving this such a low score. Also, some user reviewsI really enjoy this game. I am really surprised that so-called game review outlets are giving this such a low score. Also, some user reviews giving it low scores because it is not a "full" R&C release. I am a huge R&C fan. I will be the first to say that All 4 One is a huge disappointment if you are an R&C fan. This game is not All 4 One. Full Frontal Assualt has traditional R&C controls, but takes a new angle on the game. This time around you are protecting the Q-Force base. The game has tower defense elements that help you to defend your base from waves of enemies. However, this is not the entire game. Rachet or the character of your choice has to leave the base to reactivate the planetary defense system on each planet. The game compromises on the tower defense elements you would find in most games. Instead the tower defense elements are more of an assist than anything. The bottom line is that this a a $20 game that in my opinion is worth every penny. It should not be reviewed against a full R&C release because that is not what this is. This is a small game meant to bridge the gap between the next full R&C release, similar to Quest for Booty. The difference is that this game, instead of a short romp through a regular R&C type game, is a fun and creative take on the series. There are challegnes and trophies that be had that make the game even more fun for the R&C fan waiting for what is next in the series. If you cannot approach an R&C title that is shorter and attempting something a little new, don't get this game. If you don't mind something different, this game is polished and great fun. I'm giving this game a 9.0 because of price, polish, and fun. Collapse
  4. Oct 5, 2014
    7
    Without knowing it, Insomniac have created a game that's ahead of its time. I have never heard of Ratchet & Clank before this game, but I canWithout knowing it, Insomniac have created a game that's ahead of its time. I have never heard of Ratchet & Clank before this game, but I can say that it deserves more credit even if it is a spin-off. The reason being is that this is perhaps the most ingeniously accessible MOBA which was released at a time when the genre wasn't as mainstream. There are no tutorials, and there needn't be either. It is extremely intuitive to pick up and play, with third-person controls, solid movement/shooting/combat/platforming. It is fast-paced and there's decent variety in the weapons and enemies. Unlike other MOBAs, this game is more scripted in the campaign and levelling up your weapons and character are persistent. When played co-operatively, this game shines. The tower-defense mechanics are very simple and with a shared currency, there's more emphasis on co-operation and doing what's best for the team rather than the individual. The weapons and levelling are shared when played co-operatively too, so there's never any conflict of who should do/use what. This is a MOBA without menus and with no learning curve which can be played in split-screen. Given the size of the genre nowadays, that's a revolutionary concept. How many MOBAs literally copy DoTA? Almost all. Ratchet & Clank QForce shows that it's possible to do better - by having a fast-paced, pick-up-and-play, singleplayer/co-operative MOBA where there's no mouse-clicking or last-hitting or caring about stats of items, but rather purely gameplay. Of course, it's not particularly deep or require an enormous amount of strategy and planning, but for its target audience the difficulty and depth is perfect. The game's announcer does an excellent job of keeping you up to date on the game state, and playing the objective feels natural rather than a chore. The map design is not bad and having the minimap as well as large map helps to navigate the level. Multiplayer is a strong point of this game too, which continues the "scripted" style by having offensive and defensive phases. In terms of story and campaign length, the game only has five levels and they're quite short but there's replay value in doing the challenges. Quality-wise, the game isn't AAA by any means, and suffers from major frame-rate drops when there are a crazy number of enemies and turrets and weapons and explosions on screen, but otherwise functional. Overall, QForce is a game which future MOBA developers should take inspiration from, because of its accessibility, fun factor, design and exciting combat with cool weapons. Just because it's a casual game doesn't mean it's necessarily bad or boring. Of course it won't provide you with more than 10-15 hours of gameplay, but not every game should aspire to be endless - and not every MOBA should be exactly like the established ones. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    I would like to start off by saying that I am a massive fan of this series, Up Your Arsenal is my favourite game of all time and I came intoI would like to start off by saying that I am a massive fan of this series, Up Your Arsenal is my favourite game of all time and I came into this one with high expectations. I have to say I was mildly disappointed. While certainly not a bad game, Full Frontal Assault suffers from being just so mediocre. There is nothing this game does that another instalment in the series does better. The controls seem wrong, the story is laughable (although the wit is still there), the graphics are way worse than A Crack in Time. The twist to the gameplay this time is that the levels are designed like tower defence missions, this is a good idea but the execution could be better.

    To add insult to injury, the game is only 4 hours in length, although at a $25 price tag this is excusable. As well as the single player the game has a multiplayer mode which is good even when the game launched there was nobody playing it.

    Final Thoughts: Don't buy this game, buy Tools of Destruction and/or A Crack in Time instead.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2017
    4
    so boooooring

    positive + it has potential + colorful graphics +was in the beginning fun (first three missions) negative
    so boooooring

    positive
    + it has potential

    + colorful graphics
    +was in the beginning fun (first three missions)
    negative
    -boooooooring
    - chaotic defence
    -booooooring
    a waste of money
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    Saludos primera mente el juego es una azquerosidad, 30 frames por segundo de un juego corriendo en 60 y acostumbrado a un espectaculo graficoSaludos primera mente el juego es una azquerosidad, 30 frames por segundo de un juego corriendo en 60 y acostumbrado a un espectaculo grafico es simplemente decepcionante. Parece que el que lava los baños en Insonmiac fue quien hizo el juego. El Sr Duran y yo estamos simplementes molesto y eso merece comerse un buen Jack Pablo extra churrasco y darle 5 tortasos a Clank que bastante molesto me tiene. 0 de Score para ti jaja! Expand

See all 34 User Reviews